Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee  (Read 9920 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nick123

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« on: March 24, 2014, 07:16:35 pm »
hi all
im in the process of building an arcade cabinet and im just wondering how others have mounted the marquee to the cabinet? my idea is to put t-molding on the two horizontal bits of MDF surrounding the marquee (roof / lower part of marquee) then cut a channel in the MDF between the t-molding and the MDF so the marquee can sit between the MDF and the t-molding if that makes sense. this would only be held by the two horizontal bits of MDF / t-molding but as its only holding plastic of few mm thick im guess its not going to move. only slight concern is my t-molding feels very stiff and am unsure if this will give enough if i ever have to remove the marquee.
i would like to hear how others have mounted the marquee?
I haven't got to even cutting the groove for the t-molding on the cabinet yet, im guessing im about 50% ish done with the build and have most of the stuff or its on order but still haven't ordered any plastics or glass (im thinking of using glass for the monitor) im just trying to get any bits i need ordered before i need them.

Louis Tully

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1800
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2014, 07:38:24 pm »
.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2015, 04:58:10 pm by Louis Tully »

nick123

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2014, 08:03:33 pm »
thank you for your reply louis tully i was hoping for a no screw heads showing cabinet (apart from the control panel) but i was guessing this would happen sooner rather than later and i can see from your pics it will certainly do the job i think a trip to my local hardware store this weekend is coming as this will be easier than cutting a channel in the MDF. thank you for your quick reply.


JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2696
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2014, 11:15:46 am »
Could route a channel in both sides of the MDF so that the plexi fits into place  (ie. make upper channel deeper so the plexi is placed into it and lifted to place in lower channel ) -- For more info on this see Floriske.nl's evo XR cade build thread ( http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,123039.40.html )

Here is a pic that shows how he did the cuts :


thomas_surles

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1488
  • If you build it they will come (they never showed)
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2014, 11:34:16 am »
I found a cheap solution.  Those metal curtain rods, the cheap ones with the slot. Cut off 2 sections with a hack saw and place them on each end. Paint them whatever color and boom cheap ass solution.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16019
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2014, 01:28:32 pm »
I found a cheap solution.  Those metal curtain rods, the cheap ones with the slot. Cut off 2 sections with a hack saw and place them on each end. Paint them whatever color and boom cheap ass solution.

 :o
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Unstupid

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2014, 08:02:16 pm »
Could route a channel in both sides of the MDF so that the plexi fits into place  (ie. make upper channel deeper so the plexi is placed into it and lifted to place in lower channel ) -- For more info on this see Floriske.nl's evo XR cade build thread ( http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,123039.40.html )

Here is a pic that shows how he did the cuts :


The only problem with this method is what to do with the end of the horizontal pieces...  If you cut a slot for tmolding it swill slice through where the channel for the slot for the plexi.. You'd probably have to cut off the part of the tmolding that goes into the slot and just glue the tmolding in place!

njgsx96

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2014, 11:17:08 pm »
I had the same issue when building my cabinet.  I went with 4 L brackets in the 4 corners and used some 3M stickie tack stuff (the technical name of course) that looks like the stuff your credit card is attached to the paper insert your receive in the mail. Got the strongest they had.  it took a bit of work to get the 4 brackets lined up properly so they all grabbed the marquee, but my marquee has been on ever since and is easy to take off if ever necessary.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16019
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2014, 12:29:23 am »
Louis has the best solution, but you could do this as well:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Arcade-Video-Game-Marquee-Retainer-Brackets-2-Pieces-Custom-Length-With-Hardware-/200919849475?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2ec7c19a03

I don't think the screw head thing should be a big deal - after all, I bet 99% of games out there used some sort of retainer/bracket with security screws.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

nick123

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2014, 08:36:02 pm »
i think i will go for the 90 degree angle metal as Louis Tully mentioned. i really like the idea of the marquee retainer bracket that yotsuya mentioned  but i live in the uk and it show they don't deliver to the UK. i was wondering why i hadn't found those before but i guess that's the reason as they are only available to the US.
i also liked the idea JDFan mentioned my main problem here is im no carpenter and Ive borrowed a router with a worn out bit in it and i have a brand new bit for cutting the t-molding the bit that's in the router at the moment ive only used once to cut the hinges in i used for the back of the cabinet. i know its blunt as it burned through about as much MDF as it cut LOL. i did like the monitor bezel that floriske.nl had made as this is the bit im working on currently but im using much thinner wood only as depth is a small issue with my build also what makes it harder is my monitor will rotate when completed so adds more fun to the mix.

many thanks for all the replys i will upload a vid to youtube when finally done and post a link

Caparo8bit

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Hyperspin/Maximus
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #10 on: March 26, 2014, 11:12:55 pm »
Im planning to use Flexible Magnetic Tape .

Caparo8bit

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Hyperspin/Maximus
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #11 on: March 26, 2014, 11:15:28 pm »
also the back cover of my bartop is using this

eds1275

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1971
  • Rock and Roll!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2014, 05:31:47 am »
I use angle iron or plastic painted whatever colour, and then some adhesive-backed velcro. Using velcro lets you adjust how tight your marquee is held on, and also makes it easy to remove to change a bulb or art or whatever.

ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2992
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2014, 09:48:55 am »
Here's how i'm doing it without screws in my Flynn's Build:



I'l use some of this to make the L Bracket work with the magnets:
http://www.leevalley.com/en/wood/page.aspx?p=64339&cat=1,42363,42356





spratkobasa

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 87
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2014, 06:56:50 pm »
Are you using these magnets for the bottom L bracket and the top?

Also home many magnets do you need per bracket?  I got the same aluminum and my braces are 40.5 inch long.  I got the 3/4's L bracket size for my 2/4 inch MDF.


dzorbas

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #15 on: April 01, 2014, 08:08:50 pm »
Use your t-molding to hold it in place.

Have a look here - http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,119998.msg1292961.html#msg1292961

That's my response but the entire thread is about the same topic.

Good luck!

Dino Z.

EMDB

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 843
  • Project RetroCade
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2014, 05:30:37 pm »
I used very cheap poster clips. I bend them open, drilled some holes in the plastic, used inserts in the mdf and was done for 2.50 euros (about $3):

 

 

« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 05:35:03 pm by EMDB »

Caparo8bit

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Hyperspin/Maximus
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #17 on: April 03, 2014, 01:44:33 am »
I used very cheap poster clips. I bend them open, drilled some holes in the plastic, used inserts in the mdf and was done for 2.50 euros (about $3):

 

 


easy  and good idea only bad thing the screws . Need Flat head

Caparo8bit

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Hyperspin/Maximus
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #18 on: April 04, 2014, 01:58:13 pm »
how you guys hold  art on marquee (plexiglass)

Unstupid

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 993
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #19 on: April 05, 2014, 12:48:40 am »
how you guys hold  art on marquee (plexiglass)
sandwich it between 2 pieces of plexiglass

kahlid74

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1361
  • Gaming for a better future!
    • GamersAnon
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #20 on: April 07, 2014, 03:25:22 am »
how you guys hold  art on marquee (plexiglass)

I'll typically get it perfect in between the two sheets of plexiglass and then tape it on the sides down so it doesn't move.

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4416
  • I dont get no respect.
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #21 on: April 10, 2014, 10:45:39 am »
I'll typically get it perfect in between the two sheets of plexiglass and then tape it on the sides down so it doesn't move.

+1 (except for the perfect part, but I do the best I can LOL)

kahlid74

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1361
  • Gaming for a better future!
    • GamersAnon
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #22 on: April 11, 2014, 10:36:06 am »
I'll typically get it perfect in between the two sheets of plexiglass and then tape it on the sides down so it doesn't move.

+1 (except for the perfect part, but I do the best I can LOL)

Haha, yeah perfect from my above statement is more relative to "It's f$^&ing good enough!" after doing it and re-doing it countless times.

nick123

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #23 on: June 21, 2014, 06:10:01 pm »
i ended up using the magnet option only problem me being an idiot i bought aluminum to hold the marquee so i glued metal to the inside of the aluminum the first pic shows the magnets which holds the  marquee and second pic is more or less the finished machine.




ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2992
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #24 on: June 22, 2014, 03:00:37 am »
 :dunno what, no close up shots? I'd like to see how you interpreted the idea.  :D

nick123

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #25 on: June 22, 2014, 09:27:40 am »

in the above pic
brown = MDF
grey = aluminum angle
red = magnet
green = metal (glued to aluminum using araldite)
blue = 2mm polycarbonate x2 with marque sandwiched between












popsicle

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 592
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,104229.msg1102713.html#msg1102713
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #26 on: June 22, 2014, 11:06:30 am »
Quick and easy - clear plastic corner protectors from local big box store.  Sturdy enough to hold 2 pieces of plexi easily and a breeze to drill through and use small wood screws to hold them in.  I painted the back so the outside is just clear plastic.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Trimaco-1-1-8-in-x-1-1-8-in-x-4-ft-Plastic-Corner-Guard-Commercial-01184G/100118843




dkersten

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1299
  • If you are gonna do it, do it right..
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #27 on: July 02, 2014, 04:31:06 pm »
I cut some poplar (smooth grained hardwood, cherry or maple would work just as good) to 1/2" x 3/4", put a slot in it with my thin kerf table saw blade which happens to be just a hair thicker than the plexiglass I bought, then framed the bottom and sides of the marquee opening and cut a piece for the top.  Once the plexi is slid in place, the top piece just slides on and is a press fit.  The bezel around the marquee is only 1/2" and I only had to overcut the plexi by 1/4" all the way around.  The smooth grained hardwood is both strong enough to not split or warp even when cut down to 1/2" and smooth enough to paint to a perfect finish. 

I think it took me maybe 20 minutes to dimension, slot, sand, round over the edges with an 1/8th" roundover, cut and glue and nail into place (used 23ga brad nails, love that little nailer).  Virtually no filler was needed because the tiny brads barely leave a hole



Scorpie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #28 on: July 17, 2014, 10:28:31 am »
I`m thinking about re-using magnets I have lying around from my wedding which was used to hold the flower arrangement on my suit. Those magnets are really strong.

VoltaTom

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2014, 12:57:16 pm »
I'm going to try using these:
http://www.homedepot.ca/product/dynamic-1-2-inches-x-8-feet-corner-guard-clear/978762

It's clear corner guard for walls. It's super cheap. I've painted the inside of it and looks smooth so far. Will take pics later.

fmzip

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!

michelevit

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 401
Re: arcade cabinet how did you mount your marquee
« Reply #31 on: February 25, 2015, 02:59:59 pm »
This is perfect. I also block the back of the dado with some scrap to make it easier to insert the marquee.

Could route a channel in both sides of the MDF so that the plexi fits into place  (ie. make upper channel deeper so the plexi is placed into it and lifted to place in lower channel ) -- For more info on this see Floriske.nl's evo XR cade build thread ( http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,123039.40.html )

Here is a pic that shows how he did the cuts :



  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31