Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: How do you play Q-bert?  (Read 3345 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
How do you play Q-bert?
« on: March 18, 2008, 12:35:20 am »
I don't know how many people really like this game. I always have and have a special stick for it on my panel. I haven't seen anyone mention accounting for this game in their design/set-up and am curious how those of you who do like the game play it?
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

TheShanMan

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1909
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 02:25:33 pm
    • My Arcade (updated 1/30/13)
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2008, 12:44:49 am »
You can alter the keymap for q-bert, using an 8 way, to only register inputs on the diagonals (i.e. requires 2 keys simultaneously). I haven't played it a whole bunch, but it seems to work fine.
My Collection: Mame cab, 34 dedicated cabs, pin, skeeball, coin op air hockey table, and token machine (VAPS, pics at Arcade Crusade, updated 1/30/13 with Sprint 2, Centipede, and Bubbles)

Add Ambience to your mame cab setup

Danny R

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:May 04, 2008, 02:27:43 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2008, 12:56:36 am »
You probably don't hear as much about Q-bert now because its now so easy to program a standard stick for just the diagonals, and one can use a restrictor plate to get the specific feel of the game.  And advanced sticks like the U-360 are a breeze in setting up for the game.

But only a couple years ago there were several designs of control panels that had slightly rotated 4 way joysticks mounted especially for Q-bert, which is what it sounds like you have.

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10083
  • Last login:October 06, 2020, 04:03:24 pm
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2008, 09:50:32 am »
I have Happ Universals, so I just twist the base 45, then turn the dial to 4-way mode.

EDIT: I've since replaced them with U360's and I'm convinced there's no better sticks out there. These play damn near EVERYTHING!
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 08:33:42 am by GinsuVictim »

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7051
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:51 am
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2008, 09:51:21 am »
I use the U360s and it's matter of loading a simple map (totally seamless thanks to FatFingers!)   :cheers:

(+_+)

  • Let me splain.
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 652
  • Last login:July 27, 2012, 09:00:32 pm
  • For I am ]{eyser Soze
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2008, 10:23:07 am »
With my right hand.  ;)

It plays extremely well with my U360.  I'd say infinitely better than my old crappy dedicated 4 way cheapo replica pacman joystick with the small ball. Man, did I hate that piece of crap.

I think it was this one. If anyone disagrees, then it must be that I got 2 lemons.  ::) The one dedicated to Q-Bert and the other to Pacman.

http://www.happcontrols.com/joysticks/5060841125r.htm
This plan is so perfect, it's retarded. -- Peter Family Guy

milhouse

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 174
  • Last login:October 25, 2020, 03:03:37 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2008, 10:40:41 am »
U360 is awesome for q-bert (and congo bongo).

My wife is a big fan and I would have put a dedicated diagonal on my CP, but thankfully I got a U360.  Its great.

Matthew Anderson

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • Last login:September 01, 2020, 04:06:08 pm
  • What does that even mean?
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2008, 10:56:33 am »
Don't hate me for this but....

When I play Q*Bert I play with push buttons....


*DUCKS*

I always go in the direction I want...

You might want to try it.... or not

I have a 6 button + neogeo layout and I just use

XX0
XX0  the x buttons!

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10083
  • Last login:October 06, 2020, 04:03:24 pm
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2008, 11:01:52 am »
^Not a bad idea actually, for those without a proper setup for playing it.

shardian

  • Saint is the evil mastermind
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9218
  • Last login:August 21, 2015, 03:11:31 pm
  • Friends don't let friends build frankenpanels...
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2008, 11:33:26 am »
Back in the day, I had Q-bert for my gameboy. It had two control schemes: one that used the diagonals to control, and another that used the standard UDLR controls, but you had to train yourself that up was actually up/left, and so on. I prefered the latter, thus that is what I use with a standard stick. I've never even played a dedicated Q-Bert, so its all the same to me! ;D

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2008, 12:45:08 pm »
I use the U360s and it's matter of loading a simple map (totally seamless thanks to FatFingers!)   :cheers:

FWIW, you don't even need the map anymore.  Leave the u360 in analog mode and let mame do the exact same conversion but in software.  Mame modeled the analog to digital joystick conversion from u360's; both have 9x9 grids, a diagonal 4-way map, game specific remapping, etc.

So you just need the u360 and a semi-current mame. 
OTOH if you use other emus, you'll need the external remap app.
Robin
Knowledge is Power

Spacedueler

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 111
  • Last login:January 24, 2017, 04:24:45 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2008, 12:49:25 pm »
Unfortunately I'm still in the planning stages of my cab. If I'd stop researching (playing the games) I might get the project started sooner. In the meantime I use the computer number keypad. I works better for me than my analog stick. I use these settings in mame to get the diagonals:

Up - keypad 9
Down - keypad1
Left - keypad 7
Right - keypad 3

Just because I like Qbert I was thinking of using the E-stik from Ultimark as my dedicated 4-way. They say you can switch it to 45 degrees by simply rotating the base while it's mounted on the CP. I think the draw back is the oval vs. round knob for authentic play of most 4way games

Unfortunately to play robotron I'm using the keypad for fire and my analog stick for movement... I gotta get that cab built...

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4540
  • Last login:September 29, 2020, 12:42:02 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2008, 12:55:05 pm »
I have an E-Stick which I got specifically for Qbert and 4 way games.  I now use my 8 way Super with the MAME mapping mentioned by TheShanMan because it's so much easier and works just about as well.

wp34

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4624
  • Last login:February 02, 2021, 12:25:40 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2008, 12:55:35 pm »
I use the U360s and it's matter of loading a simple map (totally seamless thanks to FatFingers!)   :cheers:

FWIW, you don't even need the map anymore.  Leave the u360 in analog mode and let mame do the exact same conversion but in software.  Mame modeled the analog to digital joystick conversion from u360's; both have 9x9 grids, a diagonal 4-way map, game specific remapping, etc.

So you just need the u360 and a semi-current mame. 
OTOH if you use other emus, you'll need the external remap app.

Does this work for 4-way, 2-way games as well?  (Using Mame .122) I would like to try something other than Mala with my U360 but really like how Fatfingers mapping works with it.  Non 8-ways were basically unplayable with my U360 until I got his Mala plug-in configured.  

I'm at work so I can't try it out myself.  ;)

mrserv0n

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 309
  • Last login:May 29, 2013, 08:51:52 am
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #14 on: March 18, 2008, 01:51:54 pm »
did the original qbert cabs stick only move in diagonals?

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10083
  • Last login:October 06, 2020, 04:03:24 pm
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #15 on: March 18, 2008, 01:53:44 pm »
Yes.

Thenasty

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4319
  • Last login:Yesterday at 02:41:58 pm
    • Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical monitor setup.
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #16 on: March 18, 2008, 02:10:21 pm »
What I did with mine  is attached LEAF Switches to my P360 Diagonally (Q-Bert/Congo Bongo) and change the Joystick with a longer shaft. Works great
Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical setup.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=26696.0

Free VGA Breakout Cable
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=38228.0

Ultimate All in One Coin Mech write up (Make your own)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=19200.0

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #17 on: March 18, 2008, 02:18:58 pm »
did the original qbert cabs stick only move in diagonals?

It was a normal 4-way (like pacman), but rotated 45 degrees so it could only do "diagonals", even though to the joystick it was still up, down, left & right.  This is also why mame calls the directions as such.

So yes, and no. ;)


FWIW, you don't even need the map anymore.  Leave the u360 in analog mode and let mame do the exact same conversion but in software.  Mame modeled the analog to digital joystick conversion from u360's; both have 9x9 grids, a diagonal 4-way map, game specific remapping, etc.

So you just need the u360 and a semi-current mame. 
OTOH if you use other emus, you'll need the external remap app.

Does this work for 4-way, 2-way games as well?  (Using Mame .122) I would like to try something other than Mala with my U360 but really like how Fatfingers mapping works with it.  Non 8-ways were basically unplayable with my U360 until I got his Mala plug-in configured. 

Yes.  Mame has automatic default maps for 8-way, 4-way, diagonal 4-way, and (sort of) 2 way games.  If the u360 is in analog mode when mame starts, mame will use the correct map.  You can also make your own maps if you don't like mame's default ones.  More info can be found in docs/config.txt, under -joystick_map option.

Quote
I'm at work so I can't try it out myself.  ;)

I don't know what you're talking about. ;D
Robin
Knowledge is Power

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38216
  • Last login:July 13, 2020, 10:28:49 am
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #18 on: March 18, 2008, 02:26:17 pm »

In Soviet Russia, Q-Bert plays you.

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10083
  • Last login:October 06, 2020, 04:03:24 pm
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #19 on: March 18, 2008, 02:26:52 pm »
Well, when I answered yes, that meant, "Yes, the original was restricted to diagonals." Of course it was a standard 4-way at 45
I didn't get into specifics.

telengard

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 771
  • Last login:Today at 12:27:49 am
  • Yeah, it's a classic! 18+ on BYOAC and still goin
    • S T U R C A D E
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #20 on: March 18, 2008, 05:31:15 pm »
I just finished a module w/ an original Q-bert joystick.  I had a tough time orienting it though.  Looking forward to trying it.

~telengard
S T U R C A D E     M.A.M.E. Cabinet
http://www.briansturk.com/mame.html

fjl

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1152
  • Last login:March 04, 2017, 10:14:04 pm
  • Pixels Rule!
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #21 on: March 18, 2008, 11:20:58 pm »

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10994
  • Last login:December 17, 2020, 11:17:40 pm
  • Awesome face!
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #22 on: March 18, 2008, 11:43:40 pm »
I always saw that as the best possible Q*Bert option out there and is what I have done on multiple machines.

I have Happ Universals, so I just twist the base 45, then turn the dial to 4-way mode.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

genesim

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 810
  • Last login:April 12, 2010, 08:18:42 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #23 on: March 19, 2008, 12:13:16 am »
I use to have the J Stick rotated, but now I have a U360 and it works great.   Just waiting on a tighter restrictor, and all will be perfect.   Great stick!!

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10083
  • Last login:October 06, 2020, 04:03:24 pm
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #24 on: March 19, 2008, 09:48:57 am »
Quote
I always saw that as the best possible Q*Bert option out there and is what I have done on multiple machines.

You're the person who inspired my decision to get Universals.

EDIT: Which, as previously mentioned, have been replaced with U360s.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 08:34:27 am by GinsuVictim »

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #25 on: March 19, 2008, 09:36:45 pm »
I always saw that as the best possible Q*Bert option out there and is what I have done on multiple machines.

I looked that up but it doesn't say specifically. Do you have to open your CP to change it?



Yes.  Mame has automatic default maps for 8-way, 4-way, diagonal 4-way, and (sort of) 2 way games.  If the u360 is in analog mode when mame starts, mame will use the correct map.  You can also make your own maps if you don't like mame's default ones.  More info can be found in docs/config.txt, under -joystick_map option.

That's outta sight. I didn't know that.


What I did with mine  is attached LEAF Switches to my P360 Diagonally (Q-Bert/Congo Bongo) and change the Joystick with a longer shaft. Works great

Do you have any pictures of that?
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10083
  • Last login:October 06, 2020, 04:03:24 pm
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #26 on: March 20, 2008, 08:28:10 am »
Quote
I looked that up but it doesn't say specifically. Do you have to open your CP to change it?

I have a flip-up panel on the front of my CP. I just reach in to twist the base/dial.

EDIT: Not anymore. U360s...
« Last Edit: April 28, 2008, 08:36:10 am by GinsuVictim »

stan2323

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 258
  • Last login:March 06, 2020, 09:10:26 pm
  • Major Retired USS Enterprise Commanding
    • My home page
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #27 on: March 20, 2008, 08:51:15 am »
Don't hate me for this but....

When I play Q*Bert I play with push buttons....


*DUCKS*

I always go in the direction I want...

You might want to try it.... or not

I have a 6 button + neogeo layout and I just use

XX0
XX0  the x buttons!


Tried this and it ROCKS.   :cheers:
Careful what you wish for you may get it!!
There are 10 kind of people in the world those that understand binary and those that do not!!

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1973
  • Last login:February 22, 2021, 08:59:19 pm
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #28 on: March 22, 2008, 07:01:11 pm »
I use the U360s and it's matter of loading a simple map (totally seamless thanks to FatFingers!)   :cheers:

I can't seem to get QBert to recognize my 360. When I try to set the up/down/left/right, it won't accept input from the 360 (which is in diag mode).  :dunno
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

wp34

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4624
  • Last login:February 02, 2021, 12:25:40 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #29 on: March 23, 2008, 09:48:12 pm »

Yes.  Mame has automatic default maps for 8-way, 4-way, diagonal 4-way, and (sort of) 2 way games.  If the u360 is in analog mode when mame starts, mame will use the correct map.  You can also make your own maps if you don't like mame's default ones.  More info can be found in docs/config.txt, under -joystick_map option.

I finally got a chance to test the automapping.  You are correct.  The newer version (.122) did not recognize diagonals on 4-way games.  Defender still recognized left and right (which is I think what you meant by "sort of") but the game was playable.  Interestingly Qbert worked fine as well.  Thanks again for the tip!  :cheers:

u_rebelscum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3633
  • Last login:April 21, 2010, 03:06:26 pm
  • You rebel scum
    • Mame:Analog+
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #30 on: March 24, 2008, 04:14:39 pm »
I can't seem to get QBert to recognize my 360. When I try to set the up/down/left/right, it won't accept input from the 360 (which is in diag mode).  :dunno

Are you just talking about not accepting in game, or while remapping in-game mame too?

If the later, did you enable joysticks in mame? ("joystick 1" in mame.ini)

If just in game, try remapping in mame (tab, "Input (this game)", go to left, press enter, move stick up left, wait, repeat of other directions).



... automapping.... Defender still recognized left and right (which is I think what you meant by "sort of") but the game was playable....

Yup.  It's just the 8-way map, but signal-wise the 8-way map is just two 2-way maps superimposed on each other.
Robin
Knowledge is Power

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1973
  • Last login:February 22, 2021, 08:59:19 pm
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #31 on: April 27, 2008, 10:09:46 pm »
I can't seem to get QBert to recognize my 360. When I try to set the up/down/left/right, it won't accept input from the 360 (which is in diag mode).  :dunno

Are you just talking about not accepting in game, or while remapping in-game mame too?

If the later, did you enable joysticks in mame? ("joystick 1" in mame.ini)

If just in game, try remapping in mame (tab, "Input (this game)", go to left, press enter, move stick up left, wait, repeat of other directions).


Well, I finally got back to messing with the QBert config. I do have the analog joystick enabled in mame. When the u360 is mapped as a 4-way diagonal - then the mame in-game config won't accept the diagonal mapping - I can't remap the up/down/left/right. When the u360 is mapped as an analog stick, then the mame in-game config allows me to map up/down/left/right, but these are not diagonals and the game does not play correctly - move the stick up and the game moves left/up, move left and the game moves down/left, etc. I'm running mame 121. I'm stumpted!
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

ArtMAME

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
  • Last login:August 05, 2020, 12:59:17 pm
  • Hey where the ARCADE MACHINES at???
    • Art's Arcade Lab
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #32 on: April 27, 2008, 10:47:22 pm »
I just finished a CP with standard Fighter layout plus 3" trackball plus dedicated Qbert joystick.  I used a Happ universal in 4-way mode and rotated 45 degrees.  Plays wonderfully.
"Klaatu. .. Verada. ...... Necktie...Nectar...Nickel..."

Zobeid

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 238
  • Last login:August 08, 2019, 09:27:55 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #33 on: April 28, 2008, 07:36:55 am »
Well, I finally got back to messing with the QBert config. I do have the analog joystick enabled in mame. When the u360 is mapped as a 4-way diagonal - then the mame in-game config won't accept the diagonal mapping - I can't remap the up/down/left/right.

The standard 4-way diagonal map that UltraStik comes with isn't any good for Q*Bert.  You need to make a special map that translates diagonals into non-diagonals.  Looks like this. . .



I tried this map and it worked like a charm for me.


Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10083
  • Last login:October 06, 2020, 04:03:24 pm
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #34 on: April 28, 2008, 08:37:07 am »
That map actually didn't work for me. For some I had to move all the arrows counter-clockwise.

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1973
  • Last login:February 22, 2021, 08:59:19 pm
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #35 on: April 28, 2008, 11:11:53 pm »
Well, I finally got back to messing with the QBert config. I do have the analog joystick enabled in mame. When the u360 is mapped as a 4-way diagonal - then the mame in-game config won't accept the diagonal mapping - I can't remap the up/down/left/right.

The standard 4-way diagonal map that UltraStik comes with isn't any good for Q*Bert.  You need to make a special map that translates diagonals into non-diagonals.  Looks like this. . .



I tried this map and it worked like a charm for me.


Worked for me also  :applaud: Thanks!
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

Jdurg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1127
  • Last login:October 04, 2020, 09:26:27 pm
  • A young guy feeling older than sin......
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #36 on: April 29, 2008, 12:04:18 am »
Inebriated!   :P

Seriously though, I'll probably play with my 8-way joystick and just figure out how to do what I want to do.  Will probably cost me quite a few "practice" games.  ;D
Donkey Kong High Scores:
1): 49,500
2): 35,600
3): 30,100
4): 29,400
5): 28,200

TheShanMan

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1909
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 02:25:33 pm
    • My Arcade (updated 1/30/13)
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #37 on: April 29, 2008, 12:18:42 am »
Jdurg, see my post at the top. It's easy to configure an 8-way to work with diagonal games so that the diagonals work as expected.
My Collection: Mame cab, 34 dedicated cabs, pin, skeeball, coin op air hockey table, and token machine (VAPS, pics at Arcade Crusade, updated 1/30/13 with Sprint 2, Centipede, and Bubbles)

Add Ambience to your mame cab setup

GAJoe

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 122
  • Last login:September 05, 2012, 03:35:51 pm
  • Bluster Blaster will DESTROY YOU!
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #38 on: April 30, 2008, 06:45:46 am »
Personally, I learned to play Q*Bert on the Atari 2600, so my brain is trained to play it with a regular joystick.  I considered getting an eStik for it, but couldn't justify getting a fancy stick just for it that wouldn't even feel right to me after playing Q*Bert for 20+ years the other way.

marlboroa

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 41
  • Last login:February 05, 2013, 06:41:13 pm
Re: How do you play Q-bert?
« Reply #39 on: April 30, 2008, 07:23:41 pm »
this is how i play Qbert