Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4  (Read 234697 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Trnzaddict

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
  • Last login:October 10, 2019, 08:54:56 pm
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1560 on: September 04, 2019, 10:28:15 am »
Hi Arzoo -

Is there any way to have MAME default button names spoken when a game is started? For example right now it just speaks the game name if there is no entry for the button functions.

So I went into the controls editor and added names like “Button 1”, “Button 2”, etc. to the default controls but they still don’t get spoken when a game with no info is started.

Thanks

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
  • Last login:October 14, 2019, 09:27:08 pm
  • We are not in the 8th dimension. We are over NJ.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1561 on: September 04, 2019, 04:29:54 pm »
Hi Arzoo -

Is there any way to have MAME default button names spoken when a game is started? For example right now it just speaks the game name if there is no entry for the button functions.

So I went into the controls editor and added names like “Button 1”, “Button 2”, etc. to the default controls but they still don’t get spoken when a game with no info is started.

Thanks

I can look into adding this feature but does it really make sense to speak generic button names for MAME? You should be able to do this for non-MAME emulators.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2019, 04:41:54 pm by arzoo »
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

Foxhole

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 137
  • Last login:Today at 05:44:38 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1562 on: September 04, 2019, 11:38:28 pm »
Hi, arzoo, i've sent the debug.zip to your support mail.

duncanator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:September 15, 2019, 11:49:53 am
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1563 on: September 12, 2019, 02:26:09 pm »
This might be meant for the Big Box/Launch Box forums, but I'll ask here first.  When I start up the front end, LEDBlinky starts up, speaks its name, and then the front end animation fires off.  Then, after that, half of the controls go dark.  They still function, but aren't lit.  Does anyone know what setting or file controls what is lit when using the front end?

Also, since I'm here, I have one game that I can't seem to get two buttons lit.  The buttons work in mame and mame through Big Box, but I can't get them to light up.  I've tried manually modifying the mame.xml for the rom, the colors.ini file, as well as the controls.ini file, but just can't seem to get them to light up.  Should I just create a separate color scheme through LED Blinky for that particular rom?  Thank you!

Headrush69

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:October 19, 2019, 10:48:50 pm
  • I have build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1564 on: September 14, 2019, 05:30:23 pm »
This might be meant for the Big Box/Launch Box forums, but I'll ask here first.  When I start up the front end, LEDBlinky starts up, speaks its name, and then the front end animation fires off.  Then, after that, half of the controls go dark.  They still function, but aren't lit.  Does anyone know what setting or file controls what is lit when using the front end?
I beieve that only the controls that actually are used by Launchbox will stay lite after the animation.
In LEDBlinkCOnfig you can enable other options like demo the controls specific to each game highlighted in LB/BB or contrinue to use an animation.

Also, since I'm here, I have one game that I can't seem to get two buttons lit.  The buttons work in mame and mame through Big Box, but I can't get them to light up.  I've tried manually modifying the mame.xml for the rom, the colors.ini file, as well as the controls.ini file, but just can't seem to get them to light up.  Should I just create a separate color scheme through LED Blinky for that particular rom?  Thank you!
I would receommend making all game specific changes in LedBlinkyEditor. Changes here will override what is in those other files.
When you important a MAME rom, if it's in the mame.xml, it should start with that layout making it easy for you to change.

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
  • Last login:October 14, 2019, 09:27:08 pm
  • We are not in the 8th dimension. We are over NJ.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1565 on: September 14, 2019, 05:49:21 pm »
This might be meant for the Big Box/Launch Box forums, but I'll ask here first.  When I start up the front end, LEDBlinky starts up, speaks its name, and then the front end animation fires off.  Then, after that, half of the controls go dark.  They still function, but aren't lit.  Does anyone know what setting or file controls what is lit when using the front end?

Also, since I'm here, I have one game that I can't seem to get two buttons lit.  The buttons work in mame and mame through Big Box, but I can't get them to light up.  I've tried manually modifying the mame.xml for the rom, the colors.ini file, as well as the controls.ini file, but just can't seem to get them to light up.  Should I just create a separate color scheme through LED Blinky for that particular rom?  Thank you!

LEDBlinky reads the LB/BB settings file to determine which buttons the FE is using and tries to light those. Another way to do this is to create a single frame animation with just the buttons you want lit up and set that animation as the FE Active animation.

As for the game that's not lighting correctly, have you tried the Troubleshooting app - it may help identify what's going on. If that doesn't help you can email me the debug.zip file and I'll take a look.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

dino82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:October 07, 2019, 01:00:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1566 on: September 25, 2019, 09:45:59 pm »
    Hi Arzoo, thanks for the software and support, it's really great.

    I'm posting because I have a bit of a problem and I am not sure if it's LEDBlinky, a config issue (probably) or Launchbox acting very strangely.

    At ONE point I had this working, and then I had to go and rebuild my cabinet from scratch...and now I'm here.


    I built a 4 Player control panel made up of:
    • 2 iPac Ultimate I/O (with ID1 and ID2 firmware flashed)
    • 2 U360 Joysticks (Player 1 and Player 2)
    • 2 J-stick Joysticks (Player 3 and Player 4)
    • 8 buttons for Player 1 and Player 2 (each)
    • 4 buttons for Player 3 and Player 4 (each)
    • 2 buttons for each player for Coin and Start
    • 4 Admin buttons

    Software involved:
    •     Latest LEDBlinky (6.6.0.1)
    •     MAME 0.214
    •     Launchbox 10.1

    All controls work as expected, they are mapped in the WiniPac software and respond in MAME accordingly. The issue is that the light controls don't light up the correct buttons. I've pored over many a forum post on arcadecontrols, numerous google searches, and still no actual resolution. I'll provide an example:

    In TMNT (World 4-Player) it's fairly straightforward -- Player 1 lights up blue P1B1/P1B2 controls for jump and attack, Player 2 lights up P2B1/P2B2 yellow, Player 3 lights up P3B1/P3B2 purple and Player 4 lights up P4B1/P4B2 red.

    I've downloaded the colors.ini and controls.ini from LEDBlinky.net site here
http://ledblinky.net/Download.htm
When I launch TMNT, I see this



It's very hard to see with the lighting but I circled the only two buttons that aren't lit up white, they are yellow. I am not sure what config it pulled this from but it's none I'm either aware of or set myself. Here's Street Fighter II Turbo:



Why is Player 3 lit up at all (yellow), and why is Player 1 lighting up B-1,B-4, B-5, B-6 white, and Player 2 is lighting up B-4 yellow?

I've triple checked my LEDBlinky config mapping with the actual controls (Player 1 buttons are Keyboard A thru G, for instance). Where can I continue my investigation? The buttons are consistent, so if I close TMNT and relaunch, the same buttons light up, so it isn't 'random'.

Later, I checked the troubleshooter logs again and it mentioned something strange -- when I run TMNT, it's running tmnt2po, not tmnt. I go to check the actual path to the ROM inside of Launchbox and it is tmnt2po.zip but that file doesn't exist, it exists inside of tmnt.zip. Launchbox appears to be having problems recognizing cloned games and it isn't passing the correct ROM name to LEDBlinky. Here's a screenshot of my CP when I forced the path to use tmnt.zip, it still isn't correct but you can see it's actually getting closer to reality:



Did I screw something up and I'm really in the weeds now?

Edit: Is there some kind of filter going on, I can't type 'B 4', it turns into that BINGO phrase?[/list]
« Last Edit: September 25, 2019, 09:52:44 pm by dino82 »

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7432
  • Last login:Today at 03:15:45 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1567 on: September 25, 2019, 10:50:04 pm »
Is there some kind of filter going on, I can't type 'B 4', it turns into that BINGO phrase?
Yes, the word filter is automatically enabled by default.

You can disable it by selecting "Leave words uncensored" on your profile's Look and Layout page.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?action=profile;area=theme;u=97217


Scott

dino82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:October 07, 2019, 01:00:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1568 on: September 26, 2019, 12:51:38 am »
The troubleshooting app is very handy, I found the source of some of my issues, one being that my Player 2 Button 4 is mapped to KEYMAP_P, and the default UI_PAUSE button in MAME is KEYMAP_P, and it was set to Always Active by default, so it would light up on all games.  I also found that assigned a button twice (Player 1 Button 1) somehow, and it was set to Always Active as well, so AA overrode the color it was mapped to.

The last bits I'm fighting are clones not being recognized, for instance sfa2 correlates to the sfa2.zip actual file as well as the [sfa2] mapping in colors.ini, but the contents of said zip file are all clones, and Launchbox/LEDBlinky is not picking that up (for instance, sfa2u or sfa2j), so all LEDs light up.  Is this a known issue?

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
  • Last login:October 14, 2019, 09:27:08 pm
  • We are not in the 8th dimension. We are over NJ.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1569 on: September 26, 2019, 03:41:56 pm »
The last bits I'm fighting are clones not being recognized, for instance sfa2 correlates to the sfa2.zip actual file as well as the [sfa2] mapping in colors.ini, but the contents of said zip file are all clones, and Launchbox/LEDBlinky is not picking that up (for instance, sfa2u or sfa2j), so all LEDs light up.  Is this a known issue?

LEDBlinky uses the mame.xml to identify all clones. If you've stripped out the clone data then this could be the issue. This support link may help.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

dino82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:October 07, 2019, 01:00:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1570 on: September 27, 2019, 12:31:39 pm »
The last bits I'm fighting are clones not being recognized, for instance sfa2 correlates to the sfa2.zip actual file as well as the [sfa2] mapping in colors.ini, but the contents of said zip file are all clones, and Launchbox/LEDBlinky is not picking that up (for instance, sfa2u or sfa2j), so all LEDs light up.  Is this a known issue?

LEDBlinky uses the mame.xml to identify all clones. If you've stripped out the clone data then this could be the issue. This support link may help.

Thanks for the follow up -- you should have a new email with additional info.

To clarify for the thread, the mame.xml file either is malformatted on creation, doesn't have the data LEDBlinky needs, or LEDBlinky isn't able to load it for some reason.  Here's a screenshot from a freshly re-created mame.xml and the debug.log after starting Launchbox again


tvsian

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:42:28 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1571 on: September 29, 2019, 09:44:46 pm »
I'm having an odd situation since switching my i-pac ultimate io from keyboard to gamepad (basically for better Windows game compatibility, and avoiding Windows hotkey combos).

Whatever button is set to JOYCODE_2_BUTTON1 will only light up in white. I've edited the mapper to swap that button between the player 1 and player 2 sides, and it does the same thing either way (just a note, the i-pac decided gamepad 1 was the player 2 side, and gamepad 2 was the player 1 side, so they're flipped in MAME - functionally everything works and the proper buttons light up).

Making it weirder, if I run an animation, it works fine. If I turn off the "use MAME default control mapping," and set the mappings manually, it works in other emulators. Otherwise, it still comes up white. As an example. I had NES via Retroarch set to have both players' buttons 1 & 2 in red. Whichever side was set to joycode_2 in LEDBlinky would light up button 1 in white. Changing it to not use MAME's settings and manually entering each button worked normally.

Any ideas? I have a debug log available, and the troubleshooter didn't list anything odd. I also verified that I didn't somehow have the same button set to a second function, but it's only set to Select in the UI, so it shouldn't be lighting up separately.

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
  • Last login:October 14, 2019, 09:27:08 pm
  • We are not in the 8th dimension. We are over NJ.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1572 on: September 29, 2019, 10:52:19 pm »
I'm having an odd situation since switching my i-pac ultimate io from keyboard to gamepad (basically for better Windows game compatibility, and avoiding Windows hotkey combos).

Whatever button is set to JOYCODE_2_BUTTON1 will only light up in white. I've edited the mapper to swap that button between the player 1 and player 2 sides, and it does the same thing either way (just a note, the i-pac decided gamepad 1 was the player 2 side, and gamepad 2 was the player 1 side, so they're flipped in MAME - functionally everything works and the proper buttons light up).

Making it weirder, if I run an animation, it works fine. If I turn off the "use MAME default control mapping," and set the mappings manually, it works in other emulators. Otherwise, it still comes up white. As an example. I had NES via Retroarch set to have both players' buttons 1 & 2 in red. Whichever side was set to joycode_2 in LEDBlinky would light up button 1 in white. Changing it to not use MAME's settings and manually entering each button worked normally.

Any ideas? I have a debug log available, and the troubleshooter didn't list anything odd. I also verified that I didn't somehow have the same button set to a second function, but it's only set to Select in the UI, so it shouldn't be lighting up separately.

Email me the debug file and I'll take a look.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

dino82

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • Last login:October 07, 2019, 01:00:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1573 on: September 30, 2019, 03:10:02 pm »
With the help of Arzoo, we were able to determine the cause of the issues...

The short story:  Don't use Powershell to run mame64.exe -listxml > mame.xml, use cmd.exe

Long story:  Powershell by default encodes files to UTF-16 when redirecting output to a file.  mame.xml needs to be ANSI encoded.  This caused the file to be basically unreadable and LEDBlinky didn't know what to do with it.  This caused the mapping of clones to be impossible, so most games were broken as far as lighting up the correct buttons.

rablack97

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2193
  • Last login:October 13, 2019, 12:27:53 am
  • If you don't try, you have no chance at innovation
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1574 on: October 08, 2019, 09:49:52 am »
Hello Arzoo,

Can you give me an idea of the mapping order of a  mame 2plr button layout so the animations makes sense.

They are rgb buttons and pratically all of the animations are just randon blinking lights, i'm not seein a pattern at all.
   

2016 Texas Pinball Festival - Best Arcade In Show - MKX

Propdept

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:October 09, 2019, 07:34:21 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1575 on: October 08, 2019, 07:22:54 pm »
I hope you all can help here
Ok I have led blinky. Before I got my control board set up for my game cab I set up led blinky. On a test board.
Now I have the control board in my cabinet and I have these problems
1. I have BERZERK in my game cabinet.  I decided to remove that rom and change it to BERZERK1. I can’t go into controls editor and set it up.  I used to be able to go into controls editor and pick the type of contrôler and specify the various buttons.  P1  colour blue keyboard button alt. P2 Color red keyboard button  shift etc....(I am just using this for example...  now I cannot in the lower left hand side of the controls editor do that. It is greyed out

2 I cannot add more games to my led blinky. When I do it saves it but it does nothing when I click on the game in hyper spin.  :hissy:

Do I need to start all over again setting up all of my mame games.  Isn’t there a file. A CFG or INI FILE that I can just modify ?

Propdept

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:October 09, 2019, 07:34:21 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1576 on: October 08, 2019, 07:30:02 pm »
This is test

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
  • Last login:October 14, 2019, 09:27:08 pm
  • We are not in the 8th dimension. We are over NJ.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1577 on: October 08, 2019, 10:10:45 pm »
Hello Arzoo,

Can you give me an idea of the mapping order of a  mame 2plr button layout so the animations makes sense.

They are rgb buttons and pratically all of the animations are just randon blinking lights, i'm not seein a pattern at all.

The animations included with LEDBlinky are very generic. For the best results I would recommend using the animation editor to create your own animations for your specific control panel layout.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

Chillijason

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:October 13, 2019, 03:16:44 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1578 on: October 13, 2019, 03:07:35 am »
Hi, love the software, thank you! ... i had ledblinky running perfectly with hyperspin, then i upgraded my CPU due to hardware issues. New CPU is an i7 9700, now ledblinky still works, but the animations are running at super speed.... it's like the high end CPU is making it run faster?? weird. is there a way to slow the animations down? they are all a blur when they run. cheers

SteveB69

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
  • Last login:Today at 12:58:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1579 on: October 14, 2019, 11:49:11 am »
I'm trying to get Ledblinky to work only with Mame (for now) & seriously struggling. It lights up my buttons via Launchbox but once in Mame nothing.
For testing purposes I'd like to be able to use Ledblink within Mame without having to load Launchbox each time.

Running Win 7 I clicked the ledblinky.exe & it is sat in my system tray but when I start Mame nothing is happening light wise.

I'm not very good with command lines, so not sure if I need to be adding something or whether just having the ledblinky open in my system tray is enough. If I need a command line what should I use.

My ledblink is located at c:\games\ledblinky & my mame located at d:\games\Mame64\

Could anyone give me something to copy & paste into my Mame icon properties Target or Start in box please. My head hurts!

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
  • Last login:October 14, 2019, 09:27:08 pm
  • We are not in the 8th dimension. We are over NJ.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1580 on: October 14, 2019, 02:41:14 pm »
I'm trying to get Ledblinky to work only with Mame (for now) & seriously struggling. It lights up my buttons via Launchbox but once in Mame nothing.
For testing purposes I'd like to be able to use Ledblink within Mame without having to load Launchbox each time.

Running Win 7 I clicked the ledblinky.exe & it is sat in my system tray but when I start Mame nothing is happening light wise.

I'm not very good with command lines, so not sure if I need to be adding something or whether just having the ledblinky open in my system tray is enough. If I need a command line what should I use.

My ledblink is located at c:\games\ledblinky & my mame located at d:\games\Mame64\

Could anyone give me something to copy & paste into my Mame icon properties Target or Start in box please. My head hurts!

When starting LEDBlinky from the command line, you should pass a "1" parameter which is FE Startup. Then assuming you have the mame options configured correctly, it should work. If it still doesn't respond to mame games, turn on the Debug Log option, try running again, then email me the debug.zip file so I can help further.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1904
  • Last login:October 14, 2019, 09:27:08 pm
  • We are not in the 8th dimension. We are over NJ.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v6.4
« Reply #1581 on: October 14, 2019, 02:45:03 pm »
Hi, love the software, thank you! ... i had ledblinky running perfectly with hyperspin, then i upgraded my CPU due to hardware issues. New CPU is an i7 9700, now ledblinky still works, but the animations are running at super speed.... it's like the high end CPU is making it run faster?? weird. is there a way to slow the animations down? they are all a blur when they run. cheers

Using the animation editor you can increase the Frame Duration (ms) for all frames in the animation. You may need to do some trial and error to get the speed right.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

RpT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:Today at 12:13:52 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Hi,

New customer here (Hi Arzoo). Loving the LEDBlinky animations editor, very powerful and easy to use :)

Using LEDBlinky currently with ultimate i/o board for my arcade controls on a pinball cabinet. Wondering what options are available to me for functionality within the frontend Pinup system.... assuming there is no support for this yet outside of running a profile on launch but just wanted to put this out there to see what comments come back!


Cheers,


-Rich