Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls  (Read 1711 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« on: October 24, 2017, 09:30:00 pm »
Just saw this- new reproductions in final testing.  Says they are doing a run of 500.   

Hopefully the copied link gets there properly...


New Star Wars Yoke with Aluminum gears (Alan-1)

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url=https%3A%2F%2Fforums%2Earcade-museum%2Ecom%2Fshowthread%2Ephp%3Ft%3D415071&share_tid=415071&share_fid=19164&share_type=thttps://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url=https%3A%2F%2Fforums%2Earcade-museum%2Ecom%2Fshowthread%2Ephp%3Ft%3D415071&share_tid=415071&share_fid=19164&share_type=t


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

jdbailey1206

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2244
  • No. It's your top score on Pole Position.
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2017, 06:53:42 am »
The fact that no one has mentioned a price is not surprising.

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2017, 08:54:51 am »
it will be ridiculously high for a toy since it involves engineering.

I sold a restored yoke with the control panel plate, RamControls USB interface, and the plastic shroud on ebay a year or two ago.  It sold for $550 if I recall correctly.

Then you'll need an Ultimarc A-pac to build the interface.

And at the end of the day the MAME emulation of Star Wars lacks the magic of a real machine due to the vector to raster process introducing timing issues into the gameplay.    But at least it is an option, that otherwise wouldn't exist beyond a $2500 game that is difficult to keep working.

wp34

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4018
  • 8 Bit...16 Shy
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2017, 09:35:10 am »
I would love to build a cabaret like Le Chuck's at some point and initially was excited to read through that posting. 

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152903.0.html

I agree with both of your comments on pricing though.  It looks so well engineered it will likely be beyond my budget.  It is however exciting to see someone working on a major product like this.



1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2017, 10:30:00 am »
hadn't seen that project yet. extremely well executed.  That should have been a real release back in the arcade era.

Vidiot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 298
  • John 3:16
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2017, 11:46:18 am »
I would love to build a cabaret like Le Chuck's at some point and initially was excited to read through that posting. 

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,152903.0.html

I agree with both of your comments on pricing though.  It looks so well engineered it will likely be beyond my budget.  It is however exciting to see someone working on a major product like this.

I was thinking the same thing. Hopefully I can build a Star Wars cabaret someday like LeChuck's. I got on the list for one. Hope they aren't too expensive.


pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7702
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2017, 12:21:06 pm »
Lol.  This won't end well.


1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 557
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2017, 12:29:43 pm »
in the other thread he specifically says he isn't taking pre-orders due to what happened with ram controls.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7702
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2017, 02:14:11 pm »
Oh yes, of course.  THIS time they'll warn you before they blow their load.  They promise.

 :lol

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4703
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2017, 03:28:01 pm »
it will be ridiculously high for a toy since it involves engineering.

I sold a restored yoke with the control panel plate, RamControls USB interface, and the plastic shroud on ebay a year or two ago.  It sold for $550 if I recall correctly.

Then you'll need an Ultimarc A-pac to build the interface.

And at the end of the day the MAME emulation of Star Wars lacks the magic of a real machine due to the vector to raster process introducing timing issues into the gameplay.    But at least it is an option, that otherwise wouldn't exist beyond a $2500 game that is difficult to keep working.
And now with Fred Konopaska's Raster-to-Vector CRT conversion kit, there is another option that is cheaper than an original machine.   
Granted his kit is a bit expensive, (and takes a bunch of work to install) last I heard it was $350? It's really too bad the KLOV cunts ran him off.  I've been following his work on his facebook group page and I gotta say it looks too good to be true, but the results look amazing.  I believe it can be installed on any consumer CRT, at any size.  Imagine a 39" Vector monitor!  :o
Say this yoke will be $350-500, buy a cheap CRT and Fred's conversion kit for around $400, build a cabinet, grab a old PC, install VectorMAME; You're definitely looking under $2500 for a multi-vector cabinet with a proper yoke and monitor to relive the glory.

Times are interesting on the vector front these days.

mydentist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2017, 03:08:06 am »
Just saw this- new reproductions in final testing.  Says they are doing a run of 500.   

Hopefully the copied link gets there properly...


New Star Wars Yoke with Aluminum gears (Alan-1)

https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url=https%3A%2F%2Fforums%2Earcade-museum%2Ecom%2Fshowthread%2Ephp%3Ft%3D415071&share_tid=415071&share_fid=19164&share_type=thttps://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?url=https%3A%2F%2Fforums%2Earcade-museum%2Ecom%2Fshowthread%2Ephp%3Ft%3D415071&share_tid=415071&share_fid=19164&share_type=t


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks for linking to my KLOV post / star wars yoke Alan-1 announcement.  I know I'm new over here, but years ago I found a lot of inspiration lurking here.  I've purchased a few i-pac's in my day! 

Most of my time is now spent working on teeth, running Flynn's Retrocade in Roy, Utah, and running a little company that does dental billing for folks.  I even created a pinball2000 virtual pinball back in 2014.  Although I've spent the last few years collecting restored arcade cabinets, rather than building MAME cabinets, the work done by this community is important to me.

With that being said, part of what we are creating is a plug and play yoke to USB adapter.  I've attached pictures of it.  It has LEDs that help trouble shoot if buttons are working, etc.  We included a dip-switch to switch between the device being recognized as a mouse or a gamepad.  But I think we're going to dump that feature and keep it only as a gamepad.  In our MAME testing, it seems to work better that way. 

We're setting the price at $500 for the yokes and $85 for the adapter.  We will have a run of 500 3 months after we're finished testing it in our arcade.  We've found a flaw in the atari designed plastic thumb buttons, so we want to have them retooled as black stainless steel instead.  The aluminum gears are working great!  So much better than the plastic / nylon originals--right?

If you are in Utah, come visit Flynn's Retrocade (www.flynnsretrocade.com) to test the yoke yourself on our star wars cockpit.  I'd love to know what you think and if you have any ideas on how to improve it!

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4703
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2017, 02:42:01 pm »
$500 + $85! That definitely doesn't seem like a community price.

pbj is going to have to give a lot of blood and pee samples to afford this one.

Le Chuck

  • I want a new quote!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5441
  • Yots is an Arrogant Tallywacker
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2017, 02:46:38 pm »
Considering a complete ROTJ just sold on here for $250

mydentist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2017, 03:33:47 pm »
Considering a complete ROTJ just sold on here for $250

I've seen a lot of used parted-out of machines Atari star wars yokes go for 650 this year on eBay.  Most are going for around 500.  Who knows what kind of condition they are in.  We've been wanting to do this for a long time, but the economics didn't work until now.

We wish I could sell it for less.  The yokes cost a lot to make. Our first factory we were going to use in California wanted $1500 a yoke to manufacture it.   We're getting them for a lot less now, but they are still very expensive to build with or without aluminum gears with a minimum order of 500 paid for in advance by us.  We are NOT collecting pre-order cash to fund it.  We'll never do that.  But it is important that we break even over time so we can offer more high quality products like this in the future. 



jdbailey1206

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2244
  • No. It's your top score on Pole Position.
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2017, 05:11:09 pm »
$500 + $85! That definitely doesn't seem like a community price.

pbj is going to have to give a lot of blood and pee samples to afford this one.

No worries.   PBJ is curing feline aids so he should be able to afford one for everyone here with the revenue he pulls in.

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10935
  • Awesome face!
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #15 on: October 26, 2017, 07:07:32 pm »
I was selling hydra yokes 12 years ago for $250-$300 and they would sell almost immediately, and those aren't even proper star wars.

Considering a complete ROTJ just sold on here for $250

I've seen a lot of used parted-out of machines Atari star wars yokes go for 650 this year on eBay.  Most are going for around 500.  Who knows what kind of condition they are in.  We've been wanting to do this for a long time, but the economics didn't work until now.

We wish I could sell it for less.  The yokes cost a lot to make. Our first factory we were going to use in California wanted $1500 a yoke to manufacture it.   We're getting them for a lot less now, but they are still very expensive to build with or without aluminum gears with a minimum order of 500 paid for in advance by us.  We are NOT collecting pre-order cash to fund it.  We'll never do that.  But it is important that we break even over time so we can offer more high quality products like this in the future.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

mydentist

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #16 on: July 04, 2018, 01:57:06 pm »
Hi guys.

Happy to report that we've made a lot of progress on our star wars flight yoke repro and USB interface.  We're calling it the Alan-1 Flight Yoke and USB adapter.  The yoke is an improved version of the original Atari design with aluminum gears (small and large) and aluminum thumb buttons (to keep them from breaking so easily).  Our team in the factory has said that they should be ready for final assembly in a few weeks.  I'm not sure when we will take delivery, but I thought posting this update would be newsworthy.

Our USB yoke adapter testing has helped us improve the code and make the response of the curser in Star Wars much more like the arcade--a real improvement over the RC version.  We have LED's the light up on the chip with each button press (there are 4 that register differently) as well as the XY movements to help with troubling shooting.  We'll be compiling a manual with detailed MAME settings instructions to get the best results.  Some images the recommended MAME settings for the adapter & other yoke images are found here https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1-r8_ZdzZ_wpbrvQTK8TPzmhE6UDffRu5?usp=sharing

Read more about updates and progress by following the link below

https://forums.arcade-museum.com/showthread.php?t=415071

Thanks for your patience and interest.  Long live Atari!

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10935
  • Awesome face!
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #17 on: July 05, 2018, 10:19:11 pm »
As long as I was able to flip hobby money into it and not pay cash I would have no problem with that price.

$500 + $85! That definitely doesn't seem like a community price.

pbj is going to have to give a lot of blood and pee samples to afford this one.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

tony.silveira

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 621
    • my baby
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #18 on: July 17, 2018, 11:01:33 pm »
is there a list to sign up for one of these?

jdbailey1206

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2244
  • No. It's your top score on Pole Position.
Re: Repro Star Wars yoke- not ram controls
« Reply #19 on: July 18, 2018, 09:17:57 am »
is there a list to sign up for one of these?

Go here and read on.  This is where most people are claiming both the controller and board.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31