Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Using a foot pedal for a button?  (Read 748 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

equlizer

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Last login:May 04, 2019, 05:21:06 pm
  • All your base are belong to us
Using a foot pedal for a button?
« on: September 17, 2014, 07:36:47 pm »
I want to use a foot pedal and put a switch in it to use it as a button.  Has anyone done this before? Have any pics?

I want to install a TT2 spinner and use the foot pedal to fire :)

Xiaou2

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3957
  • Last login:April 16, 2017, 01:50:02 pm
  • NOM NOM NOM
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2014, 11:13:45 pm »
Its not hard to hack, make, or obtain a digital pedal solution...

 However,  the real question is.. what are you using it for?

 Any game that requires decent fire rates... will be a big problem for most people. Even drummers need to sit down, use dual pedals, and those pedals are leverage-sprung (Not typical arcade pedals. More akin to a trebuchet -vs- a single axis catapult).

 One idea I had was to use a center axis pedal, with 2 leaf switches, 1 on each end.  That could be use for aiming in the up/down sections of Discs of Tron.  The original spinner is a bit difficult to spin+change vertically. ..at the same time,  so this solution could actually improve the control.

 For non analog racing games, a digital pedal will work fine.  May work ok enough for some analog games too.

 On mame, an analog pedal can be used as a digital button as well.  May not work like that on all games and emulators however.

 You can also fashion a dual mode pedal... where its geared analog, with a leafswitch, or similar,  for digital as well.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7181
  • Last login:Today at 07:39:35 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2014, 02:08:09 am »
The 2-switch rocker pedal here can be connected using a stereo audio jack  (or similar) to wire the pedal switches in parallel with two buttons.   ;D



Works great for the high/low function in Discs of Tron.

Any game that requires decent fire rates... will be a big problem for most people.
Agreed.  Will not work well for Galaga.   :lol

Foot pedal and rapid fire are mutually exclusive unless you use some sort of auto-fire solution.


Scott
« Last Edit: September 18, 2014, 02:20:53 am by PL1 »

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6249
  • Last login:May 23, 2019, 01:06:46 pm
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2014, 12:37:40 pm »

These are a very nice foot switch, and cheap too.  I use them on some of my machinery.

It wouldn't take much to remove the cords and rewire for gaming use.

Thenasty

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4217
  • Last login:Today at 07:56:18 am
    • Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical monitor setup.
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2014, 12:46:59 pm »
Tried playing TRON with a foot button  :banghead:
Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical setup.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=26696.0

Free VGA Breakout Cable
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=38228.0

Ultimate All in One Coin Mech write up (Make your own)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=19200.0

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 18755
  • Last login:Today at 03:56:45 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2014, 12:53:20 pm »
Tried playing TRON with a foot button  :banghead:

 :laugh2:
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

SavannahLion

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5986
  • Last login:December 19, 2015, 02:28:15 am
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2014, 01:11:01 pm »

These are a very nice foot switch, and cheap too.  I use them on some of my machinery.

It wouldn't take much to remove the cords and rewire for gaming use.

Oh wow, that's exactly what I needed. The Big Box Store looked at me like I was smoking crack when I asked for one.
There's a HF near the mall, I'll be able to ditch the kids and spouse for ten minutes to pick one up.

equlizer

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 360
  • Last login:May 04, 2019, 05:21:06 pm
  • All your base are belong to us
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2014, 07:48:50 pm »
It would be for games like DOT and forgotten worlds.  I would have that button set to rapid fire most likely.  My bartop is sitting on a computer desk right now and where the computer would sit i would drill a hole and put a button in there then use my foot to tap it or hold it down to fire. :dunno

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5273
  • Last login:Today at 04:01:48 pm
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2014, 08:00:15 pm »
MAME TIME is using a foot pedal for his Geometry Wars cabinet:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,131784.0.html

Looks pretty awesome, and a viable button for the one-off needs (like the Bomb in GeoWars).  I don't know about using it as a continuously used button, like for main firing.

Xiaou2

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3957
  • Last login:April 16, 2017, 01:50:02 pm
  • NOM NOM NOM
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2014, 08:48:44 pm »
Tried playing TRON with a foot button  :banghead:

 Not Tron.  Discs of Tron... and only for the up and down aiming.

 As for using it as a rapidfire... such as with DOT,  its not a good idea.  Dot requires more precisely timed shots to trick sark, in any but the first few easy levels.  If you shoot all your discs at once,  he will easily evade them all,  and you will be defensless for too long a time.

 There are some games that use autofire, but I believe they are limited in number.

 As for momentary pedals... note that they may work fine for your tools... but may not work so well on your favorite games.  There may be too much or too little travel, spring force, etc.

DaveMMR

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3199
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 11:54:59 am
    • TeeVee Games
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2014, 09:04:39 pm »
What if you had two foot buttons wired to the same input and you alternated your feet for faster firing maybe?  No?


Definitely be good exercise while playing.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7181
  • Last login:Today at 07:39:35 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #11 on: September 19, 2014, 06:11:13 am »
What if you had two foot buttons wired to the same input and you alternated your feet for faster firing maybe?  No?
I'd like to see someone doing this with their toes.   :laugh2:




Scott

HanoiBoi

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 649
  • Last login:April 13, 2016, 09:52:03 pm
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #12 on: September 19, 2014, 06:47:36 am »
Like Xiaou2 said, you cannot successfully play DOT with rapid fire.  Go try it now and you'll understand.

I think many of us believe that maybe the foot pedal could be helpful for up/down aiming in DOT.

Another thought for up/down, depending on your control panel setup (and I have not tried this) would be to try mapping buttons that are within reach of your thumb(s).  If you can reach them, a la Defender, they could possibly be used for up/down.

If you simply want a foot pedal fire button for various other games, then by all means continue on.  That could be fun to play. 

« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 06:49:22 am by HanoiBoi »

DaveMMR

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3199
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 11:54:59 am
    • TeeVee Games
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #13 on: September 19, 2014, 10:34:52 am »
What if you had two foot buttons wired to the same input and you alternated your feet for faster firing maybe?  No?
I'd like to see someone doing this with their toes.   :laugh2:
Scott


Well I suppose for that game you could incorporate the buttons into some sort of layout housed in a cushioned pad so you could run frantically on it. Or, inevitably, slap it with your hands.   ;D
« Last Edit: September 19, 2014, 10:43:58 am by DaveMMR »

shponglefan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1456
  • Last login:May 24, 2019, 11:31:18 pm
  • Correct horse battery staple
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2014, 11:27:26 am »
I want to use a foot pedal and put a switch in it to use it as a button.  Has anyone done this before? Have any pics?

Yes, I actually wired up a pedal designed as a Yamaha keyboard sustain pedal (for music) to use with MAME as a foot switch.  I used it for racing games in conjunction with a TT spinner.

TopJimmyCooks

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2093
  • Last login:May 16, 2018, 08:13:10 pm
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #15 on: September 19, 2014, 12:55:45 pm »
Time Crisis, obviously.

Generic Eric

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4518
  • Last login:January 07, 2019, 04:49:29 pm
  • Restore! Don't maim for MAME, build from scratch!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,143226.0.html
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #16 on: September 19, 2014, 01:00:17 pm »
A foot pedal could be cool as a pause button.



HanoiBoi

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 649
  • Last login:April 13, 2016, 09:52:03 pm
Re: Using a foot pedal for a button?
« Reply #17 on: September 19, 2014, 01:08:00 pm »
A foot pedal would be cool as a 'jump' button, wired instead to NC (or NO?).

You could actually jump to jump.