Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0  (Read 284406 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1680 on: July 13, 2020, 11:08:55 am »
Hi Arzoo,
I'm loving LEDBlinky now I'm getting my head around it. I can only imagine how many hours you've poured into it.

I've got a weird issue which isn't really a problem but I thought I'd mention it to you.

On the screen that allows the user to Pick a Key to turn off the voice - whenever I click the button to 'listen' to a key press - my system is auto-populating the box with "J1HATSWITCHU" ?

I initially assumed it was an issue with my IPac Ultimate board and so I emailed Andy at Ultimarc to see if he could help. After a bit of fault finding it looks like it might be an LEDBlinky issue?

I systematically unplugged everything USB based from my computer and it still happens.

Then I remembered that Future Pinball has a similar system for choosing keys (i.e. you can tell the software to 'listen' for the next key press) but this behaviour doesn't happen in Future Pinball (i.e. it listens for the key and works correctly when I press one).

It's like LEDBlinky is receiving the "J1HATSWITCHU" input every 0.5 seconds or so?

It's not affecting anything else as far as I can tell (games still play fine etc) but thought I'd mention it.

:-)

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1952
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 11:50:17 am
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1681 on: July 13, 2020, 07:57:17 pm »
Hi Arzoo,
I'm loving LEDBlinky now I'm getting my head around it. I can only imagine how many hours you've poured into it.

I've got a weird issue which isn't really a problem but I thought I'd mention it to you.

On the screen that allows the user to Pick a Key to turn off the voice - whenever I click the button to 'listen' to a key press - my system is auto-populating the box with "J1HATSWITCHU" ?

I initially assumed it was an issue with my IPac Ultimate board and so I emailed Andy at Ultimarc to see if he could help. After a bit of fault finding it looks like it might be an LEDBlinky issue?

I systematically unplugged everything USB based from my computer and it still happens.

Then I remembered that Future Pinball has a similar system for choosing keys (i.e. you can tell the software to 'listen' for the next key press) but this behaviour doesn't happen in Future Pinball (i.e. it listens for the key and works correctly when I press one).

It's like LEDBlinky is receiving the "J1HATSWITCHU" input every 0.5 seconds or so?

It's not affecting anything else as far as I can tell (games still play fine etc) but thought I'd mention it.

:-)

Do you by any chance also have a u360 joystick connected?
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1682 on: July 14, 2020, 02:33:46 am »
Do you by any chance also have a u360 joystick connected?

No I have a ServoStik. I've replied to your PM with all the details.

Thanks for your help :-)

scheerce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Last login:July 16, 2020, 03:06:16 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1683 on: July 14, 2020, 09:19:22 am »
Thank you arzoo for your guidance.  I did a dual install and I have things working now.

JRobATL

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 10:00:08 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1684 on: July 16, 2020, 02:34:46 pm »
Hi Arzoo,

I have decided to try ikari warriors on my standard 6-button per player Mame cabinet (I know, I know), using the 1 button to rotate left and the 3 button to rotate right. Is there a way to assign an LED to the Positional Analog Dec and Inc inputs? I've tried just using buttons 1 and 3 and some of the dial options, but they don't seem to work.

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1952
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 11:50:17 am
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1685 on: July 16, 2020, 06:27:17 pm »
Hi Arzoo,

I have decided to try ikari warriors on my standard 6-button per player Mame cabinet (I know, I know), using the 1 button to rotate left and the 3 button to rotate right. Is there a way to assign an LED to the Positional Analog Dec and Inc inputs? I've tried just using buttons 1 and 3 and some of the dial options, but they don't seem to work.

Give the Troubleshooting app a try - it should tell you which input codes are used by the game. Then you can add those to the LED ports. If that doesn't help, email me the debug.log and I'll take a look.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1686 on: July 17, 2020, 08:54:41 am »
Do you by any chance also have a u360 joystick connected?

No I have a ServoStik. I've replied to your PM with all the details.

Thanks for your help :-)

Hi Arzoo,

Just to thank you for the mod you did to LEDBlinky. I've been up and tried the machine today and the problem is completely fixed. You're a star!!

Just another quick question that I'm sure you'll know the answer to.

I have LaunchBox/BigBox launching the Atari 2600 via a core from Retroarch.

If I want to set up Controls for that system the manual says that I must set the Emulator field to the exact wording that the Front End sends to the emulator?

My Front End seems to just launch Retroarch for the Atari 2600, but it also launches Ratroarch for lots of other systems. Does that mean that I can't set up bespoke controls for each system (as they are all under the 'retroarch' emulator)??

Or is there a way of seeing what the front end actually 'sends' to Retroarch and then using that to put into the Emulator field?

Many thanks for all your help :-)

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1952
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 11:50:17 am
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1687 on: July 17, 2020, 09:29:53 am »
Do you by any chance also have a u360 joystick connected?

No I have a ServoStik. I've replied to your PM with all the details.

Thanks for your help :-)

Hi Arzoo,

Just to thank you for the mod you did to LEDBlinky. I've been up and tried the machine today and the problem is completely fixed. You're a star!!

Just another quick question that I'm sure you'll know the answer to.

I have LaunchBox/BigBox launching the Atari 2600 via a core from Retroarch.

If I want to set up Controls for that system the manual says that I must set the Emulator field to the exact wording that the Front End sends to the emulator?

My Front End seems to just launch Retroarch for the Atari 2600, but it also launches Ratroarch for lots of other systems. Does that mean that I can't set up bespoke controls for each system (as they are all under the 'retroarch' emulator)??

Or is there a way of seeing what the front end actually 'sends' to Retroarch and then using that to put into the Emulator field?

Many thanks for all your help :-)

Using the Controls Editor Import Unknown Games menu option you can see a list of all the emulators and roms that your FE (Retroarch) has sent to LEDBlinky. If you're not seeing distinct values for each emulator, then you would have to modify Retroarch to somehow pass the distinct data. I can't really help with FE config. Maybe post this question on the Retroarch forum?
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1688 on: July 17, 2020, 12:57:12 pm »
Using the Controls Editor Import Unknown Games menu option you can see a list of all the emulators and roms that your FE (Retroarch) has sent to LEDBlinky. If you're not seeing distinct values for each emulator, then you would have to modify Retroarch to somehow pass the distinct data. I can't really help with FE config. Maybe post this question on the Retroarch forum?

Brilliant!!! That's cracked it!!! So easy!!!

Yep, I just delete the Emulator I'd made and imported Unknown Games. And then set up the "default" for the Atari 2600 and it's working great now.

Your software is absolutely superb!! Really enjoying it. Thank you :-)

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1952
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 11:50:17 am
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1689 on: July 17, 2020, 01:24:51 pm »
Using the Controls Editor Import Unknown Games menu option you can see a list of all the emulators and roms that your FE (Retroarch) has sent to LEDBlinky. If you're not seeing distinct values for each emulator, then you would have to modify Retroarch to somehow pass the distinct data. I can't really help with FE config. Maybe post this question on the Retroarch forum?

Brilliant!!! That's cracked it!!! So easy!!!

Yep, I just delete the Emulator I'd made and imported Unknown Games. And then set up the "default" for the Atari 2600 and it's working great now.

Your software is absolutely superb!! Really enjoying it. Thank you :-)

 :cheers:
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1690 on: July 19, 2020, 07:42:50 am »
Another quick question - is there a way of having an emulator selected as a 'jukebox' and still put in Player 1 controls? I suspect not but thought I'd ask.

I have some Jukebox software that uses the "Player 1 Coin" button to put a coin in and uses the Tab key as part of the navigation of the software.

Because it's selected as a Jukebox in LEDBlinky controls editor it only seems to be speaking the Common controls.

I've tried editing the xml but to no avail.

If I turn off the 'jukebox' setting then it reads out the Player 1 controls correctly (the Player 1 controls aren't allowed to be selected in the Common Controls dropdown).

However, without it being selected as a Jukebox I can't run my Jukebox specific LEDs.

Is there a workaround? Or a way of getting all buttons into the Common Controls dropdown?

Thanks :-)

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1952
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 11:50:17 am
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1691 on: July 19, 2020, 10:38:01 am »

Is there a workaround? Or a way of getting all buttons into the Common Controls dropdown?

Thanks :-)

Just use any of the UI controls on the Common tab. It doesn't matter what the control name is. Just make sure you select the input code(s) mapped to the LED ports you want to light, and also select Always Active. That should work.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1692 on: July 19, 2020, 11:27:47 am »

Is there a workaround? Or a way of getting all buttons into the Common Controls dropdown?

Thanks :-)

Just use any of the UI controls on the Common tab. It doesn't matter what the control name is. Just make sure you select the input code(s) mapped to the LED ports you want to light, and also select Always Active. That should work.

Hi Arzoo,
Thanks (as always) for the help. I've done what you suggested and just mapped a random "UI_" code to the button but then given it the 'real' keyboard code.

The UI_PAUSE and UI_SELECT light the relevant button and speak the control (which is what it did previously).

The 'new' UI_UP button doesn't do anything, and the UI_EDIT_CHEAT doesn't do anything.

The UI_WATCH_VALUE button speaks "put coin in the jukebox" but *doesn't* light up the LED.

And it also reads on the Primary control Joystick part at the bottom?

So that seems weird but I'm obviously missing something? I've set them all to be Always Active.

Any other ideas? Thanks :)


arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1952
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 11:50:17 am
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1693 on: July 19, 2020, 12:23:31 pm »
Hi Arzoo,
Thanks (as always) for the help. I've done what you suggested and just mapped a random "UI_" code to the button but then given it the 'real' keyboard code.

The UI_PAUSE and UI_SELECT light the relevant button and speak the control (which is what it did previously).

The 'new' UI_UP button doesn't do anything, and the UI_EDIT_CHEAT doesn't do anything.

The UI_WATCH_VALUE button speaks "put coin in the jukebox" but *doesn't* light up the LED.

And it also reads on the Primary control Joystick part at the bottom?

So that seems weird but I'm obviously missing something? I've set them all to be Always Active.

Any other ideas? Thanks :)

Please turn on the Debug Log option (misc options tab), run your jukebox, then email me the debug.zip and/or debug.log files and I'll take a look.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1694 on: July 19, 2020, 01:25:33 pm »

Please turn on the Debug Log option (misc options tab), run your jukebox, then email me the debug.zip and/or debug.log files and I'll take a look.

Sent mate, thanks. :)

zestyphresh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • Last login:Today at 05:55:28 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1695 on: August 01, 2020, 07:02:16 am »
Quote
Hi Arzoo,

Just to thank you for the mod you did to LEDBlinky. I've been up and tried the machine today and the problem is completely fixed. You're a star!!

I had this exact same issue with J1HATSWITCHU, what was the solution in the end?

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:55 am
  • Just takin' life one game of Frogger at a time...
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1696 on: August 01, 2020, 07:59:19 am »
Quote
Hi Arzoo,

Just to thank you for the mod you did to LEDBlinky. I've been up and tried the machine today and the problem is completely fixed. You're a star!!

I had this exact same issue with J1HATSWITCHU, what was the solution in the end?

Arzoo released an update (7.1) which fixed it for me. So just update to the latest version and that should sort it fingers crossed :)

arzoo

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1952
  • Last login:August 02, 2020, 11:50:17 am
  • Robots WILL kill you.
    • LEDBlinky
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1697 on: August 01, 2020, 11:45:37 am »
Quote
Hi Arzoo,

Just to thank you for the mod you did to LEDBlinky. I've been up and tried the machine today and the problem is completely fixed. You're a star!!

I had this exact same issue with J1HATSWITCHU, what was the solution in the end?

Arzoo released an update (7.1) which fixed it for me. So just update to the latest version and that should sort it fingers crossed :)

That's correct, v7.1.0.1 fixes the J1HATSWITCHU issue.
Robots will kill you.



Arcade Addiction

zestyphresh

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
  • Last login:Today at 05:55:28 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: LEDBlinky - Arcade LED Control software and Animation Editor - v7.0
« Reply #1698 on: August 02, 2020, 07:40:52 am »
Thanks, that fixed it.