Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa Version 1.3.00 now released (1/30/09)  (Read 34251 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
Quote

Hmmm At a guess I would have said that is dependent on Windows...  So maybe install in a different order?
So unplug, restart and plug in one at a time?  Any idea if I should plug the one I want to use in first or last?

To continue with the guessing I would say first (so therefore, it is probably last  :badmood:).


Thanks guys it worked,  I pluged in the two I wanted to use first and it worked.
I b**ch. People listen!!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
Thanks guys it worked,  I pluged in the two I wanted to use first and it worked.


How are you going to handle reboots?
My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
Thanks guys it worked,  I pluged in the two I wanted to use first and it worked.


How are you going to handle reboots?

I rebooted once and all is still good.  See what happens tonight
I b**ch. People listen!!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
Thanks guys it worked,  I pluged in the two I wanted to use first and it worked.


How are you going to handle reboots?

I rebooted once and all is still good.  See what happens tonight

Cool.
My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4304
  • Last login:March 13, 2019, 03:09:17 am
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
 :applaud:

and thanks for the Tip 'Space Fractal / Denmark' I will put that in the MaLa Wiki

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
Hey fatfingers can you help me out with this?

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=67724.0
I b**ch. People listen!!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
I'm having trouble editing the "path" to get this working.   When I follow the instructions up until the edit part I'm not sure what to do next.  Do I just add a semicolon to the end of what's there and then c:\programfiles\ultramap (it's the folder where the ultramapper is installed)?

Any help would be great.  Thanks!   :cheers:

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
I'm having trouble editing the "path" to get this working.   When I follow the instructions up until the edit part I'm not sure what to do next.  Do I just add a semicolon to the end of what's there and then c:\programfiles\ultramap (it's the folder where the ultramapper is installed)?

Any help would be great.  Thanks!   :cheers:

Yes, that is exactly what you do.  Except, the path you need to add probably has a space between program and files.  This is probably what you want to add:

Code: [Select]
;C:\Program Files\UltraMap

If you still cannot get this to work let me know.

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
Thanks.. I'll try right now and post the results in 5 minutes...

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
OK, it didn't seem to work.  After I make the change and launch MaLa I get an error message saying:

Cannot find Unistik game configuration file named:
C:\Documents and Settings\Bella\My Documents\Arcade\MaLa v 1.0 R

When I go to make the change to the path this is what I do:

right click on My Computer -> Properties -> Advanced Tab -> Environment Variables -> then I select "path" under system variables - > Edit

The line that comes up to edit says "%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\system32\Wbem" and then I add ";C:\Program Files\UltraMap" to the end of that line.

I'm probably missing something obvious - any help to get this working is most appreciated!  Thanks!!    :cheers:

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
OK, it didn't seem to work.  After I make the change and launch MaLa I get an error message saying:

Cannot find Unistik game configuration file named:
C:\Documents and Settings\Bella\My Documents\Arcade\MaLa v 1.0 R

When I go to make the change to the path this is what I do:

right click on My Computer -> Properties -> Advanced Tab -> Environment Variables -> then I select "path" under system variables - > Edit

The line that comes up to edit says "%SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\system32\Wbem" and then I add ";C:\Program Files\UltraMap" to the end of that line.

I'm probably missing something obvious - any help to get this working is most appreciated!  Thanks!!    :cheers:

Please do the following for me:

  • Stop MaLa
  • Create a file called umapper.log in the MaLa directory
  • Start MaLa
  • Play a couple of games (some 4-way; some not)
  • Stop MaLa
  • Send me the umapper.log file at email address gmail.com, username fatfingersbyoac

Thanks.

 :cheers:

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
What kind of file should umapper.log be?  I made a wordpad file and it didn't do anything...  how do I create it?  Sorry for being so clueless!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
What kind of file should umapper.log be?  I made a wordpad file and it didn't do anything...  how do I create it?  Sorry for being so clueless!

[confused mode]
That should have been just fine.
[/confused mode]

 :dizzy:

Edit:  Are you sure you put it in the MaLa directory?  Like C:\Program Files\MaLa?
My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
I'll try it again... My MaLa folder is the default name... MaLa v1.0 RC9 and it's not in program files - I installed everything in the "Bella's Documents" folder - I'm not sure it matters but I thought I'd let you know.  I just opened wordpad and saved the file as umapper.log.  I'll post the results!  Thanks for all your help with this.   :cheers:

I just thought of something - is this compatible with RC9?
« Last Edit: July 01, 2007, 08:54:07 pm by javeryh »

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
make sure you are showing file extensions.  Just thought I would mention that incase its named umapper.log.somethingelse

yes its compatible, mine works fine now after a little help from FF
I b**ch. People listen!!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?

It is definitely compatible with RC9 -- I use it all the time.
My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

swindus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 391
  • Last login:July 03, 2013, 06:26:48 am
    • MaLa - M.A.M.E. Launcher

It is definitely compatible with RC9 -- I use it all the time.

Jep, works great here too!

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
make sure you are showing file extensions.  Just thought I would mention that incase its named umapper.log.somethingelse

yes its compatible, mine works fine now after a little help from FF

This is what I'm afraid of - how do I show file extensions?  I'm pretty sure the file is actually named "umapper.log.wpd" or something like it.  I will work this out tonight.   :cheers:

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?

OK, open an explorer window and browse to the MaLa directory.  Then, right click and choose New->Text Document.  Then type in the name of the file (umapper.log) and say yes I want to change the file extension when it asks if you want to.

All should be good.

Stupid windows...

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
To show ALL file extensions open my computer, choose tools from the top menu, folder options, view, make sure there is NO check next to "hide extensions of known file types
I b**ch. People listen!!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
I b**ch. People listen!!

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
OK, thanks to all of your help I was able to create the umapper file.  It has been sent to your gmail account.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2007, 10:55:10 pm by javeryh »

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
OK, thanks to all of your help I was able to create the umapper file.  It has been sent to your gmail account.

I have sent a reply to your account and have attached a new plugin that will hopefully fix your issue.

Let me know how it goes!!!

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
Wow awesome - thanks a lot!!  Grr... now I have to wait like 10 hours to try it...

Was there something different/unexpected in the umapper.log file that wouldn't ordinarily appear?  As soon as I get home I'm going to install the new plugin and change the path... :cheers:

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
Wow awesome - thanks a lot!!  Grr... now I have to wait like 10 hours to try it...

Was there something different/unexpected in the umapper.log file that wouldn't ordinarily appear?  As soon as I get home I'm going to install the new plugin and change the path... :cheers:

Uh...change what path?

The thing I noticed is that some strings were getting chopped off due to buffer sizes so I increased the sizes.  Hopefully I can get that new version released soon-ish.  I've really had it ready for a long time except for the documentation which I cannot seem to get right (I know too much about the plugin).  So, if anyone cares to write a good document for installing the thing and how it works, let me know.

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6225
  • Last login:August 19, 2019, 06:48:26 pm
    • Bella's Arcade
Wow awesome - thanks a lot!!  Grr... now I have to wait like 10 hours to try it...

Was there something different/unexpected in the umapper.log file that wouldn't ordinarily appear?  As soon as I get home I'm going to install the new plugin and change the path... :cheers:

Uh...change what path?

The thing I noticed is that some strings were getting chopped off due to buffer sizes so I increased the sizes.  Hopefully I can get that new version released soon-ish.  I've really had it ready for a long time except for the documentation which I cannot seem to get right (I know too much about the plugin).  So, if anyone cares to write a good document for installing the thing and how it works, let me know.



Don't I have to add ";c:\program files\ultramap" to the path in "my computer -> properties -> advanced -> environment variables"?

Sorry I haven't had a chance to test it yet - my wife just gave birth yesterday and we've bee a little busy!   :cheers:

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
congrats
I b**ch. People listen!!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?

Yeah!  Congrats!!!

And yes, you do have to add that to your path -- I just thought you already had done that.

See you in a few years!!!   :laugh2:

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #150 on: August 25, 2007, 06:27:29 pm »

It has come to my attention that the qbert map file is missing from my package -- sorry.  It isn't clear to me which file is missing, so I'm posting two of them here.  The qbert.txt file must be placed in the Maps folder under the Mala tree and be renamed to qbert.ugc.  The 4-Way, 45 Degree Angle.txt file must be placed in the Maps folder under the Ultramap tree and be renamed to 4-Way, 45 Degree Angle.um.

Enjoy and sorry.

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
  • Last login:May 30, 2018, 12:32:23 am
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #151 on: August 25, 2007, 08:34:36 pm »
you rule fatfingers!!!

because of you my cab is going to rock

BTW could someone confirm whether or not this plugin is needed or if recent mame versions automatically do it? i just love how games feel right now and i dont want to uninstall it to test for myself ;)

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
  • Last login:May 30, 2018, 12:32:23 am
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #152 on: September 11, 2007, 11:56:28 am »
for some reason moving the joystick has no effect in qbert ... before i had d the new map files above, it would error but still work as a regular 8 ways stick

now with the correct map files ... no errors programming the stick any more BUT qbert does not move... :(

what is going on?

squirrellydw

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1584
  • Last login:December 13, 2018, 02:15:55 pm
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #153 on: September 11, 2007, 02:13:30 pm »
works fine for me, did you put the files in the correct directory?
I b**ch. People listen!!

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #154 on: September 11, 2007, 05:52:38 pm »
for some reason moving the joystick has no effect in qbert ... before i had d the new map files above, it would error but still work as a regular 8 ways stick

now with the correct map files ... no errors programming the stick any more BUT qbert does not move... :(

what is going on?

Please post the mala and ultramapper debug log files.


Edit: Oh yeah, and make sure you don't have some funky settings in the mame interface for the qbert game.
My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
  • Last login:May 30, 2018, 12:32:23 am
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #155 on: September 11, 2007, 07:11:31 pm »

Edit: Oh yeah, and make sure you don't have some funky settings in the mame interface for the qbert game.


OK how do I delete thsoe settings and go back to defaults, in case that is the issue - I did go thru that once to try to fix it.

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #156 on: September 12, 2007, 09:50:15 am »

Edit: Oh yeah, and make sure you don't have some funky settings in the mame interface for the qbert game.


OK how do I delete thsoe settings and go back to defaults, in case that is the issue - I did go thru that once to try to fix it.

I believe you have to delete the qbert.cfg file.  But I'm not certain.

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
  • Last login:May 30, 2018, 12:32:23 am
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #157 on: September 12, 2007, 05:26:03 pm »
i did that... no control in qbert at all... :(

fatfingers

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 964
  • Last login:January 26, 2015, 10:15:43 am
  • Got UltraStiks?
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #158 on: September 12, 2007, 06:30:12 pm »

Time to post umapper.log then.

My DK low scores
-------------------
1) 180700
2) 165000
3) 162900
4) 162600
5) 158500


W.W.P.M.D.?                                       I'm here to help ... I just don't do it.

ARTIFACT

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 754
  • Last login:May 30, 2018, 12:32:23 am
    • ARTIFACT - my scratch designed & built arcade cabinet
Re: UltraStik Mapper plugin for MaLa 1.0RC8 Version 1.1 now released (1/18/07)
« Reply #159 on: September 12, 2007, 06:40:03 pm »
ok, will do as soon as i get a chance - thanks!