Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news  (Read 2713 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4304
  • Last login:March 13, 2019, 03:09:17 am
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« on: February 17, 2019, 02:52:19 am »
Hello,

Of late I have more time on my hands so I fired the old Arcade cab .

I undated to windows 10 and MAME was running sluggish.....

Anyway long story short. What I discovered is:

- Mala isn't really setup to easily use recent versions of Mame
- The website malafe.net has a google unsafe status on it
https://transparencyreport.google.com/safe-browsing/search?url=http:%2F%2Fmalafe.net%2F&hl=en-US

- The Website hosting had expired.   opps... ran out of cash $$$

I will fix this by throwing my own cash at hosting soon and fix the website with the latest version.

If you use the new website (after I fix it) please consider a small donation as Mala is very much a non profit project (just ask my wife  :P ).

Simon
« Last Edit: February 18, 2019, 01:57:47 am by loadman »

rdethloff

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:February 18, 2019, 03:59:10 pm
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2019, 03:59:10 pm »
Nice, good to hear this excellent front-end might be getting a bit of a refresh! I've been using it with Win10 and MAME 0.183 for a year and a half or so and it is mostly fine.

I get an occasional crash but haven't experienced it with the error logging on yet so I'm not sure if it's software or hardware...



loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4304
  • Last login:March 13, 2019, 03:09:17 am
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2019, 05:59:15 pm »
Update:
1) I have the website up but don't want to upload content until I can get it off Googles browsing unsafe list.

https://transparencyreport.google.com/safe-browsing/search?url=http:%2F%2Fwww.malafe.net%2F&hl=en-GB

I have logged a review with them but so far nothing. Crazy as there is nothing on the website at the moment.

Any ideas?

2) I have an issue with my source code repository and building environment. It was on a PC that no longer exists but I have two copies of the drives. Getting Perforce and Delphi to run and be happy with the licence is an upcoming task.


Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2019, 06:04:17 pm »
I'd chip in for hosting!
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

Rattus

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:November 09, 2019, 07:30:11 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2019, 08:08:53 pm »
Thanks for the work Loadman, I have been using MaLa for years
I don't update my cabs often but it would be great to know that I will be able to continue to use MaLa when I do.
I will send a donation as soon as the website is updated with a link.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk


BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8608
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:28:35 pm
  • ...
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2019, 06:40:54 am »
Holy.....
I never thought I'd see Mala revived.
 :applaud:

loadman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4304
  • Last login:March 13, 2019, 03:09:17 am
  • Cocktail Cab owner and MaLa FE developer
    • MaLa
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2019, 01:50:54 am »
Update:
1) I have the website up but don't want to upload content until I can get it off Googles browsing unsafe list.

https://transparencyreport.google.com/safe-browsing/search?url=http:%2F%2Fwww.malafe.net%2F&hl=en-GB

I have logged a review with them but so far nothing. Crazy as there is nothing on the website at the moment.

Any ideas?

Still an issue :-(

2) I have an issue with my source code repository and building environment. It was on a PC that no longer exists but I have two copies of the drives. Getting Perforce and Delphi to run and be happy with the licence is an upcoming task.
Good news on this point. Source code version control is working I am able to build Mala again :-)

Kapistijn

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:August 01, 2019, 05:37:47 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2019, 09:24:39 am »
Update:
1) I have the website up but don't want to upload content until I can get it off Googles browsing unsafe list.

https://transparencyreport.google.com/safe-browsing/search?url=http:%2F%2Fwww.malafe.net%2F&hl=en-GB

I have logged a review with them but so far nothing. Crazy as there is nothing on the website at the moment.

Any ideas?

Still an issue :-(
Hey Loadman,

I am new to this forum but not to Mala, thx for this excellent front end.  :notworthy:
I've been using Mala since I started building cabinets and arcade-pc's. One of the best there is imo (at least without being a rocket scientist :D).

For the Google blacklisting:

Maybe request a second review?  :dunno
We had this with our company website and had to request several reviews before our website was whitelisted.

And maybe another Idea is to start a completely fresh website like malafe.info or mala-fe.net?

Really hope you get this sorted out.

eds1275

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2093
  • Last login:January 18, 2020, 11:05:50 pm
  • Rock and Roll!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2019, 02:43:45 pm »
hellooooooooo


any updated news?

Mr. Peabody

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 810
  • Last login:November 05, 2019, 02:30:42 pm
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #9 on: October 15, 2019, 09:46:35 pm »
Yes, that web alert has been around for faaar too long. Nuke it, and replace with something like 'newmalafe.net' . Also you might ask for donations. I will donate.

nickels

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
  • Last login:December 23, 2019, 10:39:45 am
  • Nerd sans skills... for now.
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2019, 10:25:12 am »
My one and only huge request: add a way to run multiple .EXE files from the otherEMU tab. For example, I have many Stand alone PC programs that I want to be able to select, such as Simpsons Hit and Run, Counter Strike, Tiger Woods 08, etc.

Currently, the only way I can run them is to create an emulator for each game. I have tons of stand-alone PC games so this makes for way too many emu screen. I want to be able to add a single screen for "PC Games" where I can scroll through my list of games, hit start, and the game runs. I have been unable to figure this out on the beta version 1.82. You can only point to one .exe file and not one for each game. Make sense? Is this already possible, if so, how????

EDIT: googled this again and figured it out. Don't put in a path to an exe file, just make a folder full of shortcuts and point the rom path at that. Will test if this works tonight.

If you need any help with your site just PM me. I am a front end web guy as a profession. Love your work, wait til you see mine in action. I've been working on my design for years now. Love MALA.
« Last Edit: December 05, 2019, 10:36:28 am by nickels »
D'oh!

eds1275

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2093
  • Last login:January 18, 2020, 11:05:50 pm
  • Rock and Roll!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2019, 01:21:13 pm »
Hope you got it running. I have it set up that way and it works for me, if you need a hand let me know and I will figure out what I did and step you through it

nickels

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
  • Last login:December 23, 2019, 10:39:45 am
  • Nerd sans skills... for now.
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #12 on: December 16, 2019, 03:39:28 pm »
Hope you got it running. I have it set up that way and it works for me, if you need a hand let me know and I will figure out what I did and step you through it

I eventually got it working. The main thing for anyone searching is that the file name for the shortcut has to exactly match the exe's file name.

OK now I do have one more item on the MALA wish list. Better MP4 support. I could make some crazy animated backgrounds for this making MALA compete with modern front ends if only it was more flawless with supporting large mp4 files.
D'oh!

heyyouguys

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:Today at 12:39:18 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #13 on: January 13, 2020, 07:13:33 pm »
Any update on this? I would be happy to donate as well.

eds1275

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2093
  • Last login:January 18, 2020, 11:05:50 pm
  • Rock and Roll!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #14 on: January 13, 2020, 08:41:11 pm »
:( I don't think so

But since we're talking about it, running Mala in Windows 10 it is viewed as an "older program" and therefore will only respond to one joystick, the one defined in the windows advanced /gamepad joystick dialogue "Select the device you want to use for older programs". I use 2 U360s and it causes me grief because I use player one for some stuff and controls on player two to control other elements, mostly the music.

heyyouguys

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:Today at 12:39:18 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2020, 10:18:05 pm »
:( I don't think so

But since we're talking about it, running Mala in Windows 10 it is viewed as an "older program" and therefore will only respond to one joystick, the one defined in the windows advanced /gamepad joystick dialogue "Select the device you want to use for older programs". I use 2 U360s and it causes me grief because I use player one for some stuff and controls on player two to control other elements, mostly the music.

Thanks.

If running windows 7, do you have the same issue?

mjthompson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:59:41 pm
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #16 on: January 14, 2020, 09:09:24 am »
:( I don't think so

But since we're talking about it, running Mala in Windows 10 it is viewed as an "older program" and therefore will only respond to one joystick, the one defined in the windows advanced /gamepad joystick dialogue "Select the device you want to use for older programs". I use 2 U360s and it causes me grief because I use player one for some stuff and controls on player two to control other elements, mostly the music.
I'm running MaLa on Windows10 with two U360s, a dedicated 4-way, 2 spinners and a trackball.  I don't use the Player2 U360 often but everything has been working for me for quite a while. 

That all being said I've been trying to get RetroArch running under MaLa for console emulation and I'm having trouble getting it to recognize the U360s... so I've been reconfiguring a *LOT* and I don't know what state anything is in at the moment.   I'll try using P2 tonight to see if it's still working. 

I've also messed around with RetroPie because I like the ease of backup.  I had trouble with the U360s under RetroArch there too but I think I convinced myself to stay on Windows because I really like the flexibility of MaLa.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2020, 09:11:52 am by mjthompson »
____________
The Lineup - Monster Bash remake LE #955, Attack from Mars remake LE #361, Medieval Madness remake LE #126, The Addams Family, White Water, Valley Model 35

eds1275

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2093
  • Last login:January 18, 2020, 11:05:50 pm
  • Rock and Roll!
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #17 on: January 14, 2020, 06:26:46 pm »
If running windows 7, do you have the same issue?

My old PC was windows xp, and the new one is windows 10. I'm also using an older version of mame because I set it all up the way I like it and dont want to mess anything up. I can't seem to get win 7 to install on the computer for some reason, but am hoping to get it going in time for my birthday January 25.

aquared

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:Today at 01:05:58 pm
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2020, 03:29:24 am »
waiting for update! mala is a very good frontend even in it current state. for its the ONLY thats run smooth on very old pc's (pentium 4) and its very simple to configure.
i even making a "fake" consoleOS (can run only on old hardware) with mala as the gui thats run very nise! some spoilers attached.

mjthompson

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:59:41 pm
Re: malafe.net Website & latest Mala FE news
« Reply #19 on: January 16, 2020, 10:32:37 pm »
:( I don't think so

But since we're talking about it, running Mala in Windows 10 it is viewed as an "older program" and therefore will only respond to one joystick, the one defined in the windows advanced /gamepad joystick dialogue "Select the device you want to use for older programs". I use 2 U360s and it causes me grief because I use player one for some stuff and controls on player two to control other elements, mostly the music.
I'm running MaLa on Windows10 with two U360s, a dedicated 4-way, 2 spinners and a trackball.  I don't use the Player2 U360 often but everything has been working for me for quite a while. 

That all being said I've been trying to get RetroArch running under MaLa for console emulation and I'm having trouble getting it to recognize the U360s... so I've been reconfiguring a *LOT* and I don't know what state anything is in at the moment.   I'll try using P2 tonight to see if it's still working. 

I've also messed around with RetroPie because I like the ease of backup.  I had trouble with the U360s under RetroArch there too but I think I convinced myself to stay on Windows because I really like the flexibility of MaLa.
Both of the U360s are working in MAME.   

I still can't get RetroArch to configure the U360s so I can't do any console emulation.  Does anyone have any tips on getting the U360s working in RetroArch (under MaLa or stand-alone)?
____________
The Lineup - Monster Bash remake LE #955, Attack from Mars remake LE #361, Medieval Madness remake LE #126, The Addams Family, White Water, Valley Model 35