Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Groovymame, problem with 288x224 resolution  (Read 552 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

anchounio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Groovymame, problem with 288x224 resolution
« on: September 02, 2018, 11:22:27 am »
I'm using CRT Emudriver + groovymame 0.200. My arcade monitor is a big one, a Hantarex 28''.
Everything is perfect except for some vertical games. To be concrete: Vertical games that uses resolution 288x244 (most of them are from NAMCO), 288x216 and 280x216

The games are the following:

digdug, digdug2, galaga88, galaga, gaplus, mspacman, pacman, pengo, super pacman, xevious, alpha mission, ikari warrios, victory road, pacmania and contra.


The problem in these games is that their screen is too large, so a part of the top and bottom is cut-off. Just check the screenshot I've attached of the game pac-man. It is missing the whole score panel at the top, and half of the lives panel at the bottom.
I know I could solve this by using the "screen horiz stretch" slide in MAME but this leaves some image errors.
Is there any other possible solution for this issue?

Thank you :)

« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 01:13:08 am by anchounio »

terranigma

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2018, 01:45:18 pm »
As far as I know, vertical size of the picture is not related with software and can't be adjusted via software settings. You have to adjust it via service menu or any related adjustment potentiometer on pcb.

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1927
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2018, 01:45:50 pm »
You have to adjust the vertical size potentiometer on your monitor to allow vertical games to fit.

This will have the side effect of slightly letterboxing horizontal games.

Check out this recent thread:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,158167.0.html

Also this thread started by Calamity that explains the problem and has a video showing someone adjusting the vertical size pot for each game:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,134915.msg1392201.html
« Last Edit: September 02, 2018, 01:59:04 pm by krick »
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1100
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2018, 05:42:26 pm »
Vertical games that uses resolution 388x244 (most of them are from NAMCO), 388x216 and 380x216

The games are the following:

digdug, digdug2, galaga88, galaga, gaplus, mspacman, pacman, pengo, super pacman, xevious, alpha mission, ikari warrios, victory road, pacmania and contra.

I don't understand - galaga, xevious, pacman etc are all 288x224 mode games. I imagine that they would look weirdly stretched in 388x modes. Don't know the others offhand, but something strange must be going on with your setup. Do you have any 288x line modes installed? 288x240 should work well, no stretching required for those games I mentioned + probably all the others.
Check out my completed projects!


krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1927
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2018, 06:38:30 pm »
Vertical games that uses resolution 388x244 (most of them are from NAMCO), 388x216 and 380x216

I don't understand - galaga, xevious, pacman etc are all 288x224 mode games. I imagine that they would look weirdly stretched in 388x modes.

I just assumed it was a typo.  3 is right next to 2 on the keyboard.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 731
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2018, 08:11:48 pm »
If it's a horizontal monitor, take a look at Krick's post.

If it's a vertical monitor, and the top and bottom edges of the image are cut off (top and bottom being just that, as you're looking at the monitor) then you just use ArcadeOSD to shrink the modeline, and feed the timings back into mame.ini


anchounio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2018, 01:13:56 am »
Vertical games that uses resolution 388x244 (most of them are from NAMCO), 388x216 and 380x216

I don't understand - galaga, xevious, pacman etc are all 288x224 mode games. I imagine that they would look weirdly stretched in 388x modes.

I just assumed it was a typo.  3 is right next to 2 on the keyboard.

Yes, it was a typo. I meant 288.
I've edited the original post with the correction ;)

anchounio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 67
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2018, 01:28:48 am »
You have to adjust the vertical size potentiometer on your monitor to allow vertical games to fit.

This will have the side effect of slightly letterboxing horizontal games.

Check out this recent thread:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,158167.0.html

Also this thread started by Calamity that explains the problem and has a video showing someone adjusting the vertical size pot for each game:

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,134915.msg1392201.html

Thank you!
This is the kind of answer I was looking for. I needed to know if this was a normal "issue" in Groovymame or not. So I understand these are the only games whose vertical resolution doesn't fit into my horizontal monitor.
I prefer not touching the pots everytime I run those games. So, in my case I contemplate two possible solutions:
1) Doing nothing. I mean, I can live without knowing my score or number of lives. They don't look that bad on my monitor.
2) Creating an ini file per each game modifying their resolution to something similar that fits into my monitor.


Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1100
Re: Groovymame, problem with 288x224 resolution
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2018, 01:42:44 am »
Ah, so it is a horizontal monitor.

Can't you just create a mode like 352x288 or 384x288 or 448x288, 512x288 for your Hantarex? Then you wouldn't have to squeeze your games into a smaller vertical resolution. The last two modes would allow for natural clean stretching, which looks better.
Check out my completed projects!


krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1927
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Groovymame, problem with 388x224 resolution
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2018, 02:58:35 am »
I prefer not touching the pots everytime I run those games. So, in my case I contemplate two possible solutions:
1) Doing nothing. I mean, I can live without knowing my score or number of lives. They don't look that bad on my monitor.
2) Creating an ini file per each game modifying their resolution to something similar that fits into my monitor.

Unless you want to run all the vertical games in a non-optimal interlaced resolution like 640x480 (defeating the whole reason for running GroovyMAME + CRT Emudriver), there's no way to force them to fit with an ini file.

The problem isn't the resolution as much as the capabilities of the monitor.  You can't force it to display more lines than you have it adjusted to show.

If you don't want to touch the pots then just load pacman, adjust the monitor so it just barely fits, and then you're done.

Horizontal games will be slightly letterboxed, but it's really not that noticeable.
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31