Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing  (Read 7679 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #240 on: June 28, 2018, 07:51:51 am »
Paint after installation of the guides, especially if you are also going to paint the inside, you want wood-wood connection for gluing and screwing :)

Thatís what I was thinking. Grain to grain is probably best. I probably shouldnít have even have sanded.

What do people use for guides usually?  4x4?

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1268
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #241 on: June 28, 2018, 02:06:28 pm »
Whats 4 x 4 when it's at home, It Sounds like a rubix cube I haven't figured out how to solve yet.  I'm going to guess its centimetre measurement so nominal of about 1.5" x 1.5"  In which case yeah that will do it :) I'm a fan of 2" x 1" myself

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #242 on: June 28, 2018, 02:27:38 pm »
Whats 4 x 4 when it's at home, It Sounds like a rubix cube I haven't figured out how to solve yet.  I'm going to guess its centimetre measurement so nominal of about 1.5" x 1.5"  In which case yeah that will do it :) I'm a fan of 2" x 1" myself

Did you do screws as well?  Or just glue?

If yes on screws what size/type?

My wood for the sides is 3/4Ē and I got 2x1Ēs.

Drnick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1268
  • Plodding Through Life
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #243 on: June 28, 2018, 03:06:20 pm »
Gorilla Glue (or best quality wood glue you can find) and then size 3x30mm screws.   https://www.screwfix.com/p/turbogold-pz-double-self-countersunk-woodscrews-3-x-30mm-200-pack/14801 (Counter sunk 3mm into battoning)

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #244 on: June 28, 2018, 07:07:51 pm »
Gorilla Glue (or best quality wood glue you can find) and then size 3x30mm screws.   https://www.screwfix.com/p/turbogold-pz-double-self-countersunk-woodscrews-3-x-30mm-200-pack/14801 (Counter sunk 3mm into battoning)

How far between screws?  If I screw it from the inside, do I even need to countersink them?

firedance

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 141
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #245 on: June 29, 2018, 12:33:35 am »
could use these screws for half the price, used them on my bartop No.2

https://www.screwfix.com/p/goldscrew-pz-double-self-countersunk-woodscrews-4-x-30mm-200-pack/18909

i didnt used batons, screwed thru the side to the base, then filled, spaced my screws roughly 2.5-3" apart.

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #246 on: June 29, 2018, 10:21:48 am »
Your using Ēreal woodĒ, not mdf. Only screws will do the job as long in my opinion, but at least the parts you want to still take loose dont glue :). Always drill a small hole before screwing to avoid cracks 👍😎.
Try to avoid screws from visible side, if you need to, just countersink them and use filler before painting. Inside you dont need to worry how it looks, just paint👍.
« Last Edit: June 30, 2018, 06:57:16 am by proplayer77 »

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1921
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #247 on: June 29, 2018, 10:32:53 am »
A good glue joint is stronger than screws and the wood. A screw joint will fail before the glue does, and the wood will fail somewhere else before the glue joint does. That doesn't mean that screws are bad. They just don't hold as well as glue.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #248 on: June 29, 2018, 10:56:08 am »
A good glue joint is stronger than screws and the wood. A screw joint will fail before the glue does, and the wood will fail somewhere else before the glue joint does. That doesn't mean that screws are bad. They just don't hold as well as glue.

I've always heard screw and glue, so I'll be doing both.   :cheers:

luizw81

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • I love the Power Glove. It's so bad.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #249 on: June 29, 2018, 10:56:23 am »
A good glue joint is stronger than screws and the wood. A screw joint will fail before the glue does, and the wood will fail somewhere else before the glue joint does. That doesn't mean that screws are bad. They just don't hold as well as glue.

+1 to this.  "Glue before your screw" is in the woodworkers ten commandments.  I think it's right behind "Always predrill your holes".

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #250 on: June 30, 2018, 06:02:22 am »
My point in not using glue is that if you need to take something apart its not easy if you have glued it. So, dont glue those parts 👍🙂

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1921
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #251 on: June 30, 2018, 06:16:04 am »
That is not what you said before. ;)

Quote
Your using Ēreal woodĒ, not mdf. Only screws will do the job.

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #252 on: June 30, 2018, 06:56:14 am »
That is not what you said before. ;)

Quote
Your using Ēreal woodĒ, not mdf. Only screws will do the job.

Thats what i meant to say, edited :) :).
« Last Edit: June 30, 2018, 06:58:10 am by proplayer77 »

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #253 on: June 30, 2018, 08:21:50 am »
+1 to this.  "Glue before your screw" is in the woodworkers ten commandments.  I think it's right behind "Always predrill your holes".

When you pre-drill I found this nice chart for size of drill bit to screw so Iíll leave that here for my reference later.


obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #254 on: July 01, 2018, 08:28:55 pm »
I started to put the guides on today, and it was going pretty well.



Then I noticed something... one of them did not leave the 1 1/2Ē gap between the end and the guide board...  :hissy:



If anyone wants to know, wood glue is some quality stuff. That stuff wasnít coming off.   :angry:

So I went to Home Depot but thy have to follow silly OSHA and canít cut me a 3/8th inch wide cut of wood almost 5í long.  :blah: 

So I made due:



Anyways, it seemingly worked, and I now have both sides 1 1/4Ē away from the end. The only damage should be that the back panel, after attaching the 3/4Ē board, will have a 1/2Ē instead of 3/4Ē like the rest of the cabinet.



I guess if I had ton make a rookie mistake, at least it was on the back.  :dunno

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #255 on: July 01, 2018, 10:08:48 pm »
Got the nerve to finish the guides and drill all the holes, and hit both sides with 120 grit.  :D

Just need to put the screws in, do a 220 grit sanding, and then paint the sides... I think?  ???



I feel like Iím missing a guide or two.. bottom marquee... one for the monitor... and maybe the bottom part of the ďarm?Ē  ???

Iím going to search others projects, but please pipe in if you see anything!  :cheers:

lcmgadgets

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 441
  • Can u guess this game?
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #256 on: July 04, 2018, 12:33:47 am »
Good for you, man! You've made good progress! I've been at it since 2013 & just started mock up cuts last week (okay, yes, I got caught up with other things). Post till the end!
"Godzilla is a warning. A warning to each and every one of us. When mankind falls into conflict with nature, monsters are born."
Professor Hayashida

jennifer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1845
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #257 on: July 04, 2018, 01:57:29 am »
   Fixing problems is half the battle, Relax, and  think out every move before you commit, Its hard not to get nervous and second guessing your thoughts now that you see it going together.... A template can be made from those panels in the event of major design  issue, so effectively you cant really mess it up now that all the hard work is done,  It could be considered easier to just start over at this point if your not happy about something. you didn't plan on rather than fight it, I have built some complex builds as many as 5 times to just have it right, no shame in that as long as your learning from your mistake ..... You should really lay some rags over those sawhorses however so you don't scratch up your wood (although that can be fixed too just less work).

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #258 on: July 04, 2018, 07:13:26 am »
You should really lay some rags over those sawhorses however so you don't scratch up your wood (although that can be fixed too just less work).
:cheers:

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4717
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #259 on: July 04, 2018, 09:10:40 am »
Looking good!
I agree with Jenn, dont let the mistakes bog you down, Ive made so many I cant count that high.
I chalk it up as experience.
But as far as your fix, looks like that will work. I dont think anyone (but you) will notice the small difference in the back panel, just dont tell anyone about it.

Richie_jones

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 224
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #260 on: July 04, 2018, 09:44:31 am »
Good job so far.

I`d stick some screws in them rails, just for peace of mind. Theres a lot of force on them when moving a fully loaded cabinet around...,

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #261 on: July 04, 2018, 10:08:33 am »
Good job so far.

I`d stick some screws in them rails, just for peace of mind. Theres a lot of force on them when moving a fully loaded cabinet around...,

Yep I already drilled the holes for the screws.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1921
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #262 on: July 04, 2018, 10:34:53 am »
For the billionth time, glue joints are stronger than screw joints. I just use glue and a brad nailer just to hold stuff in place until the glue dries.

Richie_jones

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 224
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #263 on: July 04, 2018, 10:55:29 am »
But glue joints arnt stronger than glue and screw joints...that's my point
For the billionth time, glue joints are stronger than screw joints. I just use glue and a brad nailer just to hold stuff in place until the glue dries.

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2988
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #264 on: July 04, 2018, 11:01:43 am »
For the billionth time, glue joints are stronger than screw joints. I just use glue and a brad nailer just to hold stuff in place until the glue dries.

^ He speaks the truth -- The screws are only there to hold the wood in place while the glue dries once it dries the 2 pieces of wood will break elsewhere before the glue joint breaks.

But glue joints arnt stronger than glue and screw joints...that's my point

But when the glue joint by itself will hold until after the wood itself breaks elsewhere adding the screws later is just a waste of time and money !
« Last Edit: July 04, 2018, 11:05:43 am by JDFan »

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #265 on: July 06, 2018, 11:17:51 pm »
Not to start a new fight, but itís screwed and glued down now....Also took the router on the sides, and the T-molding fits  ;D I donít know why I was worried but I was.



It looks like people usuallly assemble their cabinet before painting, but then do they not sand between paint coats?  Or just hand sand? I may just sand 220 grit on the sides tomorrow, then cut the outside pieces of the cabinet and sand the outside of those  before I start to assemble.

Iím also debating still cutting a small piece on the back for venting the bottom of the cabinet by  the computer, although Iíve been told itís not needed... some with the back top portion because heat rises... right? I would like to hear someone who did it, their opinion on if it was worth it or not.

I also need a plan on how Iím going to access the back of the cabinet on the top for the marquee if needed ever, and the bottom for the computer and power.

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1921
  • Buy a Multimeter
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #266 on: July 07, 2018, 06:11:17 am »
I don't think you put enough screws in it.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #267 on: July 07, 2018, 09:48:36 am »
I don't think you put enough screws in it.

Okay Iíll ad a few more.

luizw81

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • I love the Power Glove. It's so bad.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #268 on: July 07, 2018, 11:22:40 pm »
I don't think you put enough screws in it.

Okay Iíll ad a few more.


Sent from my SM-J320R4 using Tapatalk


JudgeRob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 357
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149265.120.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #269 on: July 07, 2018, 11:58:24 pm »
LOL, dude, you really did screw the ---steaming pile of meadow muffin--- out of those supports.  There's not exactly a lot of sheer sideways force on those puppies.  ;)

But hey, your cab (and your wrist) is strong!

proplayer77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #270 on: July 13, 2018, 02:14:15 am »
Not to start a new fight, but itís screwed and glued down now....Also took the router on the sides, and the T-molding fits  ;D I donít know why I was worried but I was.

It looks like people usuallly assemble their cabinet before painting, but then do they not sand between paint coats?  Or just hand sand? I may just sand 220 grit on the sides tomorrow, then cut the outside pieces of the cabinet and sand the outside of those  before I start to assemble.

Iím also debating still cutting a small piece on the back for venting the bottom of the cabinet by  the computer, although Iíve been told itís not needed... some with the back top portion because heat rises... right? I would like to hear someone who did it, their opinion on if it was worth it or not.

I also need a plan on how Iím going to access the back of the cabinet on the top for the marquee if needed ever, and the bottom for the computer and power.

About the access to top for marque and access to computer i would make a) doors with hinges, or b) 2 pieces with screws that can be removed. On my project i made both, for computer i have a door on front and for marquee, backside of tv and amplifier etc. i can remove a piece from the back by screwing 4 screws.

front door: http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=157256.0;attach=368289;image

Backside:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=157256.0;attach=368431;image

Also notice the ventilation holes you asked about.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #271 on: July 17, 2018, 08:03:05 pm »
Itís  been a while so I had to do something to keep this project rolling.



Nothing sexy this time. Sanded everything to 60 grit and 120 grit.

Do I dare do 220 too?

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5719
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #272 on: July 18, 2018, 02:55:25 pm »
Itís  been a while so I had to do something to keep this project rolling.



Nothing sexy this time. Sanded everything to 60 grit and 120 grit.

Do I dare do 220 too?

I'm not seeing any pics but if you are talking about the bare wood then yes, definitely go to at least 220.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #273 on: July 18, 2018, 02:57:19 pm »
Sanded everything with 220 grit. Glued, screwed, and assembly is started.  Hopefully everything will stay together overnight before I put the two sides together.



« Last Edit: July 18, 2018, 10:26:39 pm by obizues »

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #274 on: July 19, 2018, 08:33:38 pm »
Starting to take shape:



I did make a mistake and now keep the clamps on long enough for the glue apparently, so I used wood filler to fill it in.  :hissy:



Iíll have to cut the door a little more to fit the new shape, but Iím hoping it wonít be so obvious to the eye once I sand it ... plus itís on the back...  or I guess I could cut the actual side frame piece as well to make the hole a rectangle again....  :dunno

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #275 on: Yesterday at 07:03:25 pm »
Closer...


  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31