Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build  (Read 37277 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fdv

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:October 11, 2019, 03:28:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #200 on: October 06, 2019, 08:28:11 am »
Maybe it is a matter of compiling with static libraries instead of compiling with dynamic libraries.

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:21 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #201 on: October 06, 2019, 09:03:53 am »
Maybe it is a matter of compiling with static libraries instead of compiling with dynamic libraries.

In that case let's hope haynor666 take this into consideration in order for us to be able to enjoy 0.214 too. 0.211 is working fine fire me too but not 0.213...

Dogway

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 04:15:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #202 on: October 07, 2019, 11:30:02 am »
Does this include an option to save autofire cheat settings?

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 09:10:20 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #203 on: October 07, 2019, 11:39:30 am »
No, but MAME comes with an autofire LUA plugin now, so both standard Groovy and ARCADE variant have it too.

In mame.ini at 'plugin' just write 'autofire'.
GroovyMAME oddball LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @4.1GHz, Rx 570, crt_emudriver 2.0b15

Dogway

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 04:15:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #204 on: October 07, 2019, 03:02:12 pm »
The plugin even with your recommendation doesn't work for me for the joystick (tested dinput and xinput) only the keyboard (hotkey setting), if it worked I could autogenerate autofire .cfg files for all shmups.
The autofire cheat instead does work, but I have to enable it each time (doesn't save)

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 09:10:20 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #205 on: October 07, 2019, 03:33:03 pm »
The LUA autofire plugin does work. I have no emus installed on that computer here to take a look so maybe I forgot what the right setting are but it is a thing (was added to MAME like a few builds ag, I've used it)

EDIT: maybe they've changed how to use it, dunno, i'll have a look tomorrow. It's very new so they've made changes to it like every build since its introduction.

EDIT2: yeah it works as I described. Maybe you meant you couldn't figure how to make it work? me neither the first time, it's pretty confusing, and of course there's no documentation on it.
To begin I think (to be confirmed tho) that the AF-enabled button (hotkey) can't be same as the default one, this is to allow having both the normal and its AF-enabled duplicate on the same controller if desired. So it's up to you to arrange your inputs for that, but you can assign a button away like on the keyboard if you don't want to keep both on the same controller.
Then the frame press/release arrangement is pretty self-explanatory.
Settings are saved in .cfg's
« Last Edit: October 08, 2019, 08:47:34 am by schmerzkaufen »
GroovyMAME oddball LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @4.1GHz, Rx 570, crt_emudriver 2.0b15

antoniomauro

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21
  • Last login:October 24, 2019, 04:41:36 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #206 on: October 08, 2019, 11:09:02 am »
Is the compiled 32bit version planned?

Dogway

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 04:15:59 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #207 on: October 08, 2019, 04:16:00 pm »
@haynor666: thanks for the update!

@schmerzkaufen: finally I made it work, hotkey... well button I'd say. I mapped it to a strange RT and it worked, so I cannot map button_1 or button_2 to autofire... or I might, but then I have to mess with my ctrlr file to repurpose button_1 and button_2 somewhere else in my controller and make room for autofire... I will think something up with a script, gotta be creative.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #208 on: October 10, 2019, 03:55:11 am »
Both editions are online, I forgot to mention ;)

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:21 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #209 on: October 10, 2019, 03:55:45 am »
Is the compiled 32bit version planned?

This is what I'm looking for too!

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:21 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #210 on: October 10, 2019, 03:59:41 am »
Is the compiled 32bit version planned?

This is what I'm looking for too!

Nice thank you!!!! Do you think that the missing dwmapi.dll error some of us getting on 212 a d 213 32bit is going to be fixed on the 214?
« Last Edit: October 10, 2019, 04:01:38 am by mdd45 »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #211 on: October 10, 2019, 04:34:05 am »
I didn't tested 32 build in 32bit env. or XP. I'm affraid error might pop up also here. Mamedev abandoned XP long time ago and I'm abandoning 32 build at the end of year.

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:21 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #212 on: October 10, 2019, 04:35:43 am »
I didn't tested 32 build in 32bit env. or XP. I'm affraid error might pop up also here. Mamedev abandoned XP long time ago and I'm abandoning 32 build at the end of year.

214 32bit file is not on mega folder...

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #213 on: October 10, 2019, 11:37:44 am »
It is now. Thanks for spotting this ;)

fdv

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:October 11, 2019, 03:28:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #214 on: October 11, 2019, 03:28:47 pm »
The missing dwmapi.dll error still happens in 214  :'( Could you, please, provide a fix?

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #215 on: October 11, 2019, 03:41:55 pm »
I'm sorry but I don't know how :(

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:21 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #216 on: October 12, 2019, 12:58:17 pm »
The missing dwmapi.dll error still happens in 214  :'( Could you, please, provide a fix?

if someone finds a workaround for winxp 32bit and dwmapi.dll error, please post it here, even though i don't think that this is going to be fixed. Even the unpatched official mame 0.214 build doesn't boot, giving another error on winxp 32

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #217 on: October 27, 2019, 10:37:55 am »
IMPORTANT NEWS

Two months before I was planning but...

Version 215 will be (probably) last version built for x86 systems. It was always built for XP in mind but mamedev now abandons x86 builds and also abandons 5.3 tools as well (which I use for XP/x86 build due compability reasons).


Robbbert

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 101
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:58:45 pm
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #218 on: October 27, 2019, 11:33:46 am »
Yes 0.215 will be the last for XP. I tried building the latest git (will be in 0.216) with 5.3 and it does not compile. So, the end.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #219 on: October 28, 2019, 03:36:05 am »
Personally not a big problem. I don't use x86 systems from long time not too mention XP. I think most people knew what will happen soon.

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 202
  • Last login:Today at 08:40:54 am
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #220 on: October 28, 2019, 08:28:53 am »
Original mame dev team statement for curious people : https://www.mamedev.org/?p=474

in 2019, maintaining 32bits software is a paradox ... (yeah, same would go for CRT display  ;D)

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 174
  • Last login:Today at 08:45:58 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #221 on: October 28, 2019, 02:01:09 pm »
What about XP's kernel evolutions, namely 64-bit XP and the successive (and last iteration) Windows Server 2003 (which comes in both 32 and 64 bits).

I've been using a super stripped down 2003 installation, 64-bits with huge satisfaction. It's basically the last evolution of Windows XP, but with better hardware support and 64-bits. When you remove everything from it, it's basically an improved Windows XP.

EDIT: before I get flooded with messages like in the past, just google it, it is part of a suite named Windows XP 2003 eXPerience Edition October 2011.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2019, 02:06:14 pm by donluca »
On a scale of fakeness, from more genuine to more fake, we'd have:

1.- Plastic plants (cf. Fake Plastic Trees)
2.- Inflatable dolls
3.- Arcade cabinets with LCD monitors

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #222 on: October 28, 2019, 02:59:30 pm »
CRT is a different thing - we need this CRTs to get picture close to real hardware. groovymame is designed to run on CRTs and we have still options to do this.

On the other hand 32 bit systems are limiting usage of modern hardware and probably limiting mame as well. As for XP itself - I would like to keep compatibility but mamedev abandoned XP long time ago and with recent tools will not be possible to build XP compatible exe. XPx64 it's abandoned long time ago. It was very niche system anyway.

It's time to move on people to at least 7x64.

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 174
  • Last login:Today at 08:45:58 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #223 on: October 29, 2019, 01:41:03 pm »
That's really a pity.

My setup was almost instant-on, with w7 even with an SSD I won't get the same boot times (and I'll have to put some more RAM in it, sadly).
On a scale of fakeness, from more genuine to more fake, we'd have:

1.- Plastic plants (cf. Fake Plastic Trees)
2.- Inflatable dolls
3.- Arcade cabinets with LCD monitors

anchounio

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 82
  • Last login:December 12, 2019, 04:30:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #224 on: November 02, 2019, 09:45:57 am »
Looking forward to 0.215  :notworthy:

shiryu55

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:November 08, 2019, 08:37:50 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #225 on: November 08, 2019, 08:29:43 am »
xp 32bit ,dwmapi.dll is not found. solution was found ?, or in the next and last version 215 will be solved.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #226 on: November 09, 2019, 07:23:22 am »
I'm sorry but I don't have solution for this.

Version 215 is out.

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 174
  • Last login:Today at 08:45:58 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #227 on: November 09, 2019, 07:55:32 am »
xp 32bit ,dwmapi.dll is not found. solution was found ?, or in the next and last version 215 will be solved.

It looks like it's looking for the Destktop Windows Manager extension which is present only from Vista onwards.

Although there's another user here who said that it worked fine on his end (I think it's in the main discussion thread).
On a scale of fakeness, from more genuine to more fake, we'd have:

1.- Plastic plants (cf. Fake Plastic Trees)
2.- Inflatable dolls
3.- Arcade cabinets with LCD monitors

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6790
  • Last login:December 10, 2019, 03:43:48 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #228 on: November 09, 2019, 01:24:21 pm »
It looks like it's looking for the Destktop Windows Manager extension which is present only from Vista onwards.

Although there's another user here who said that it worked fine on his end (I think it's in the main discussion thread).

I think this is caused by the change we introduced in Switchres v0.017o to reduce latency in bgfx. Or does this problem also happen with baseline MAME and XP?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 174
  • Last login:Today at 08:45:58 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #229 on: November 09, 2019, 03:22:00 pm »
No clue unfortunately but one of those days I wanted to bring up a couple virtual machines and do some testing to try understand what's going on.

I've always felt that a stripped down windows 2003 64 bit installation is the best possible OS for GroovyMAME.
On a scale of fakeness, from more genuine to more fake, we'd have:

1.- Plastic plants (cf. Fake Plastic Trees)
2.- Inflatable dolls
3.- Arcade cabinets with LCD monitors

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1759
  • Last login:Today at 07:08:47 am
  • Web Developer.
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #230 on: November 29, 2019, 12:22:00 pm »
mame0216 is an awesome release. Canít wait for the patch update so I can start compiling and testing!

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1242
  • Last login:December 06, 2019, 05:47:22 pm
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #231 on: December 01, 2019, 05:05:26 am »
Version 216 is out.

mdd45

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:21 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #232 on: December 03, 2019, 01:35:14 pm »
according to this: http://www.mameworld.info/ubbthreads/showthreaded.php?Cat=&Number=384077&page=0&view=expanded&sb=5&o=&fpart=1&vc=1

is this possible for anyone to build at least a .215 for WinXP 32 using using GCC 5.3  (gcc7.2  according to user pmc3 or whatever it needs to run on xp), in order to have at least the latest (maybe) possible groovymame for our dinosaur pc?


EDIT: the 0216 builds on emu-france.com works great on my win32 XP! thank you pmc3 !
« Last Edit: December 04, 2019, 04:45:30 pm by mdd45 »

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1759
  • Last login:Today at 07:08:47 am
  • Web Developer.
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #233 on: December 12, 2019, 05:30:16 am »
Thank you for the patch update! Added the following 64-bit bins to https://gitlab.com/arcademvs/mame/

mame0216_64bit_linux_gs
mame0216_64bit_linux_gsv
mame0216_64bit_linux
mame0216_64bit_mac_sv