Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: ATIflash for MSDOS issues [SOLVED]  (Read 155 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Vectorfire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:Today at 04:49:28 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
ATIflash for MSDOS issues [SOLVED]
« on: February 10, 2020, 12:09:18 pm »
http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/viewtopic.php?id=64

Quote
F l a s h   t o o l s

You will need third party software in order to obtain the BIOS from your display card, and to flash the modified BIOS back to the card. Your options are:

- ATIFlash: for MS-DOS. Download here. How-to here.
    1) Boot into MS-DOS from a bootable USB disk, with atiflash.exe in it.
    2) atiflash -s 0 bios.rom
    3) Reboot, into Windows and use atom-15.exe to patch the BIOS, put it in your USB disk.
    4) Boot again into MS-DOS.
    5) atiflash -p 0 bios-mod.rom
    6) Reboot

The link to download ATIflash in those instructions does not contain the atiflash.exe as stated.

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/misc.php?action=redirect&pid=389&to=http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2306/atiflash-4-17/mirrors

The link downloads a file called atiflash_293.zip

In that zip are two executables:
 
amdvbflash.exe
 and
amdvbflashWin.exe

along with a bunch of dll's and system files.

nothing called atiflash.exe

Does anyone have a link to somewhere where I can get the right zip?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2020, 06:15:08 am by Vectorfire »
Groovy_Mame Rig:
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.50ghz
16gb DDR3
Creative SB0730 X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sapphire Dua-X R 280 Radeon: DVI-I-->VGA adapter
Ultimarc Video Amplifier
27" Makvision Tri-Mode Monitor

rxm

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:February 13, 2020, 10:08:44 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2020, 01:12:41 pm »
atiflash.exe is an old outdated filename.   This is the correct link.  Same one I used to flash/program a modified BIOS to my Ati graphics card.  Just use Windows version

http://geedorah.com/eiusdemmodi/forum/misc.php?action=redirect&pid=389&to=http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2306/atiflash-4-17/mirrors

« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 01:41:01 pm by rxm »

Vectorfire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:Today at 04:49:28 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2020, 01:53:53 pm »
I'm unable to get the program to execute when I boot up in dos.

I keep getting "Bad command or file name"

I'm definetly typing the name correct. Tried it uppercase and lowercase even.





Groovy_Mame Rig:
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.50ghz
16gb DDR3
Creative SB0730 X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sapphire Dua-X R 280 Radeon: DVI-I-->VGA adapter
Ultimarc Video Amplifier
27" Makvision Tri-Mode Monitor

donluca

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 180
  • Last login:Today at 01:59:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2020, 01:59:12 pm »
Shorten the name so that it's less than 8 characters otherwise DOS will shrink it and you'll have to use the shortened name.

And, depending on DOS version, you might have to write the extension of the executable as well (ie: flash.exe -blabla instead of flash -blabla)

Welcome to the early 90s! :D
On a scale of fakeness, from more genuine to more fake, we'd have:

1.- Plastic plants (cf. Fake Plastic Trees)
2.- Inflatable dolls
3.- Arcade cabinets with LCD monitors

Vectorfire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:Today at 04:49:28 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2020, 02:33:23 pm »
 
Changing the length helped, but..
"This program cannot be run in dos mode"

« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 02:51:10 pm by Vectorfire »
Groovy_Mame Rig:
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.50ghz
16gb DDR3
Creative SB0730 X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sapphire Dua-X R 280 Radeon: DVI-I-->VGA adapter
Ultimarc Video Amplifier
27" Makvision Tri-Mode Monitor

Vectorfire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:Today at 04:49:28 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2020, 02:49:49 pm »
Reformatted ihe thumbdrive for freedos, same result.



Groovy_Mame Rig:
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.50ghz
16gb DDR3
Creative SB0730 X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sapphire Dua-X R 280 Radeon: DVI-I-->VGA adapter
Ultimarc Video Amplifier
27" Makvision Tri-Mode Monitor

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6825
  • Last login:Today at 02:33:26 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2020, 03:17:56 pm »
You're using the Windows version of Atiflash. Either launch it from Windows, or get the DOS version.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Vectorfire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:Today at 04:49:28 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2020, 04:38:46 pm »
There are two executables in the zip.

amdvbflash.exe
 and
amdvbflashWin.exe

I'm assuming that the first one is the dos one, and then second is the windows version.

I renamed amdvbflash to flash, and that's what I'm executing in dos.

Are you saying that the entire zip, that both of them are from windows?


From the atom 15 folder
Quote
Flash tools
-----------

You will need third party software in order to obtain the BIOS from your display card,
and to flash the modified BIOS back to the card. Your options are:

- ATIFlash: MS-DOS,  http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2306/atiflash-4-17/mirrors

this link isn't for windows?
this is where I got it from
« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 04:44:35 pm by Vectorfire »
Groovy_Mame Rig:
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.50ghz
16gb DDR3
Creative SB0730 X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sapphire Dua-X R 280 Radeon: DVI-I-->VGA adapter
Ultimarc Video Amplifier
27" Makvision Tri-Mode Monitor

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6825
  • Last login:Today at 02:33:26 pm
  • Quote me with care
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2020, 04:56:20 pm »
Both exes are probably for Windows (maybe one calls the other one). Notice how my old link is redirected from within their own site to a newer Windows-only version.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Vectorfire

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:Today at 04:49:28 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ATIflash for MSDOS issues
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2020, 05:02:54 pm »
Those dirty dogs  :angry:

I found another link to a dos only version.
Worked first spin.

Solved. Thank you

SOLUTION
SEARCH AND DOWNLOAD "ATIFLASH_417 FOR DOS"

THANK YOU ALL  :notworthy:
Groovy_Mame Rig:
Windows 7 Home Premium
Intel i7-3770K @ 4.50ghz
16gb DDR3
Creative SB0730 X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Sapphire Dua-X R 280 Radeon: DVI-I-->VGA adapter
Ultimarc Video Amplifier
27" Makvision Tri-Mode Monitor