Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Rotate a TV??  (Read 2630 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rurdy4me

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Rotate a TV??
« on: May 07, 2002, 05:07:17 am »
Would you or could you rotate a Color TV in a cabinet as long as it had enough air pushing it. I'm using a 19" tv and horizontal games look fine but of course vertical games would look a lot better if tv was rotated.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Thenasty

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4207
    • Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical monitor setup.
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2002, 07:28:00 am »
You can rotate anything  as long as you have the room. Also when a monitor is rotated after its ben turned, it will discolor, so need to either wait for 30 minitues then turn monitor back on, or get a degaussing coil and use that.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »
Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical setup.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=26696.0

Free VGA Breakout Cable
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=38228.0

Ultimate All in One Coin Mech write up (Make your own)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=19200.0

Lilwolf

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4937
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2002, 02:40:22 pm »
before you start.. I've heard it will take more time to rotate your monitor then the time to build the rest of your cabinet... by far...

make sure it physically can be rotated in your cabinet.  The diagonals will be the issue.

Then take your TV you want to use and turn it on a table (after it's been on for a few hours) and see what it's like.  Make sure you can get rid of the bleeding when you turn it off/on or degausing (like above).

then search on the example pages on rotating monitors.  Some great ones out there.  

I personally like cutting a round piece of plywood and attaching it inside that.  Then on a slight angle back, add some wheels on the board or your cabinet... Then add some at the bottom.  You you have a few wheels on the outside of the wooden wheel (bottom and slightly on the side).... but the wheel itself leans slightly back, and there  are wheels on the back.

Then to turn it... some ropes that wrap around it a 1/2 turn, the go out the top.. So when you pull on one cord, it rotates it... then stops when the other cord's knot gets to the top.... then pull on the other to make it 'right'.

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Paladin

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2002, 05:45:01 pm »
Check this out - I found it surfing the web.  It seems like a pretty simple solution, with the only problem I see being if the monitor is on a steep angle it will have to be made not to fall out:

http://reachdisability.org/tetra/projects/tv_tiller_page.html
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Frostillicus

  • Arcade Artist
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1291
    • My MAME cabinet site
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2002, 08:04:14 am »
how does a degaussing coil work? is that permanently attached to the monitor?
also, that Tv Tiller thing looks like a nice solution - has anyone tried something like that mounted on an angle?  I'm all about pushing a button and watching the monitor rotate 90 deg's. :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

tetsu96

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • MAME On...
    • My Old Cabinet / MAME32 build site
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2002, 10:35:11 am »
That TV Tiller thing looks pretty similar to what most people ere do for rotating TVs/Monitors.  I don't like it personally because that forces you to give up a lot of real estate - I'd rather just take it out of the cab and rotate it once and then leave it in there...

As far as the degausser goes, I've never seen one built into regular Televisions, but it's standard in PC monitors and a lot of Arcade Monitors.  An external degausser is pretty simple - it's just a big electro magnet shaped in a circle (coil).  You press a button to activate it, and then wave it in front of the monitor while it's on, pulling it back slowly, and the "gaussed" image gets less degaussed as you get further away.  I think I've seen them online for around $20 although Happs will give you one for 3 times as much if you want...
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Carsten Carlos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 579
  • Projects: Centipede extended, Asteroids
    • Carlos' Centipede-extended
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2002, 01:44:17 pm »
Quote
As far as the degausser goes, I've never seen one built into regular Televisions

Maybe I just got you wrong - every(!) color-TV has a degaussion-coil in it, there simple doesn't exist any modell without it. Same for monitors.
If you are not an electronician, the external degausser is sure the easiest way, so you don't have to hack the TV, which I won't recommend to people who don't know exactly what they are doing. If you fire the coil to often in a to short moment, it might burn up, so be careful!

Best solution would be a circuit that don't allows you to start the degaussion to often without leting it cool down.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »



tetsu96

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 262
  • MAME On...
    • My Old Cabinet / MAME32 build site
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2002, 02:48:02 pm »
My bad, I meant I never saw a button or control for manually performing a Degauss.  I suppose they all degauss if the circut is cold on startup, but the Arcade monitors I've played with both had a button for degaussing....
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Carsten Carlos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 579
  • Projects: Centipede extended, Asteroids
    • Carlos' Centipede-extended
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2002, 06:15:04 pm »
Oki, I see!  :)
Yep, that's a shame -I never had a monitor having just a additional switch for that, but that would be the easiest hacking you ever could have. Plus, as it is usely on the users panel, it must have a build-in protection against fireing the coil to rapidly.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »



delta88

  • I didn't try to trick anyone - Fair warning was given
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 639
  • This place is still here?
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2002, 08:57:49 am »
I took the coil outta an old 25inch monitor that I had..I just wired it up to a wall plug with a sutible button in line and tada ...worx fine.....just cannot leave it on for long or it will burn up and or burn your had...wave it in a circular motion whille moving it away from the screen...but do not touch the screen!!!
good luck!!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Cfish

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2002, 11:44:24 am »
Yeah, the degauss coil over-heat protection is usually built into the circuit in most monitors - it's a thermistor of sorts that will not function while hot - and hitting it will cause it to heat up quickly.  That's why after you degauss your monitor for the first time, and you hear that pang, it won't pang again for a little while - like 20 minutes or so - until the thermistor cools down.  You can bypass this circuit, but you don't really want to unless you know what you're doing.  I've seen where some people bypass this with a manual switch that they can hit it everytime they turn their monitor to prevent the discoloration / distortion that rotation will bring about.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Carsten Carlos

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 579
  • Projects: Centipede extended, Asteroids
    • Carlos' Centipede-extended
Re: Rotate a TV??
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2002, 04:07:11 pm »
Quote
it's a thermistor of sorts that will not function while hot

Yep, there is a PTC sitting in line with the coil and most likely connected to 110/220V.

I don't remember it exactly, but on most older TV's this circuit was always closed as soon as you switched the TV on - the PTC was kept hot due to the closed circuit, so it took about 10-20 minutes before it could fire again.
My thought is to trigger a coil with a PTC in between -don't know if this would be protection enough, but it should be the same as if you would turn your TV off and on in a short distance.
If the PTC isn't held hot all the time, degaussing should be possible after 10 minutes normal operation - no need to power the monitor down! I can't test this though for it'll take some times to get the monitor I want plus I don't know if I can hack something without voiding the warranty. Depends on if the degaussion-coil is easy pluggable and I can plug it on a circuit of my own.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »



  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31