Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Coin Meter Will Not Increment  (Read 689 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

twisty4678

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:April 02, 2015, 08:52:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« on: May 20, 2014, 06:42:21 pm »
Hi everyone! I'm new to the world of arcade builds/restorations, but i've been reading a lot around the web. I've read numerous threads here on coin counters, as well as Bob Roberts page on them.

I'm restoring an Arkanoid cabinet (originally Gorf), and i'm trying to get the coin door to be fully functional. I ordered a 5 volt coin meter with internal diode from Bob Roberts. I wired a 5 volt line from the power supply to the positive (red) terminal of the power supply, and the coin meter wire (yellow) from the Arkanoid PCB to the black terminal of the coin counter. When I trip the coin switches, the meter will not increment.

I've tested the power line, and it reads a steady 5.12 volts. The coin meter wire was continuous from the board to the meter end. I put my multimeter between the coin meter wire and the ground. It registered a voltage increase from ~100 mv to ~600 mv when the coin switches are tripped, which leads me to believe the board is functioning as it should.

Does my wiring sound correct? Is there perhaps a problem with the meter? Or is the board not sending enough of a signal to trip the meter? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18815
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:42:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 06:45:00 pm »
Well, it SOUNDS like you are on the right track. Not sure why it wouldn't trigger.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

twisty4678

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:April 02, 2015, 08:52:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2014, 08:33:12 pm »
Yep, I'm stumped as well. Is there any way to test the coin counter outside of this circuit?

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18815
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:42:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2014, 08:47:32 pm »
Yep, I'm stumped as well. Is there any way to test the coin counter outside of this circuit?

I've used the +5 and ground off a hacked USB cable to test a coin counter.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

twisty4678

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:April 02, 2015, 08:52:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2014, 09:34:35 pm »
Could you describe this process in more detail? I have some USB cords I could sacrifice...

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18815
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:42:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2014, 12:18:15 am »
Cut the end off a USB cord (the device end, not the end that goes in your computer). Find the red and a black wire. Connect red wires together. Plug the cord in. Then touch the black end of the USB cord to the black end of the coin meter. This should trigger a pulse and flip the meter up one number. Do it a couple of times and see if the numbers move.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

ChanceKJ

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3116
  • Last login:Yesterday at 12:04:42 pm
  • Calgary, Ab, Canada.
    • The Canadian Arcade!
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2014, 12:30:39 am »
Kinda like this... (without the black plug i added)






twisty4678

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:April 02, 2015, 08:52:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2014, 01:06:35 am »
Ah you guys are excellent! I was able to get the meter to successfully increment this way (despite my usb cable attempting to fool me with it's white. blue, yellow and green wires... :banghead:)

So that leaves an error in my wiring, a potential board problem, or some other thing that I must be overlooking... Perhaps Arkanoid does not work like most arcade boards?

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7214
  • Last login:Today at 06:25:15 am
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2014, 01:50:24 am »
You may want to read this KLOV thread on the subject.

Per Ken Layton,
Quote
The Jamma gameboard does not provide power to the meters.

The thread mentions two kinds of meters -- internal diode models and external diode models.

Related pic from the thread showing an external diode model.
(for your 5v meter, substitute a 5v connection instead of the 12v connection shown)




Scott

twisty4678

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:April 02, 2015, 08:52:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2014, 12:27:34 pm »
Thanks for the link. I did read the thread, however my wiring matches what is described in that thread. Still not sure what it is wrong. I have a +5 volt line going to the red terminal of the internal diode 5 volt coin meter, and the coin meter wire from the Arkanoid board (non jamma) going to the black lead of the coin meter.  I will have to test it out more later today.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18815
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:42:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2014, 01:49:20 pm »
It could be the Arkanoid board isn't putting out a meter pulse.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Thenasty

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4218
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:43:26 pm
    • Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical monitor setup.
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2014, 03:58:02 pm »
This should work

Thenasty's Arcademania Horizontal/Vertical setup.
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=26696.0

Free VGA Breakout Cable
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=38228.0

Ultimate All in One Coin Mech write up (Make your own)
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=19200.0

twisty4678

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:April 02, 2015, 08:52:47 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Coin Meter Will Not Increment
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2014, 11:29:26 pm »
Well I've decided that it must just be a board problem, but it appears I can just hook it up to the coin switch similarly to the diagram thenasty posted. Thanks for all the help guys!