Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper  (Read 34791 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
(I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« on: November 23, 2013, 01:40:56 am »
Ok so over the course of this weekend I fixed the official Disney version of Fix-it Felix Jr. that was leaked this spring.  Fullscreen on horizontal monitors is now possible as well as all of the configuration options you would expect and the ability to save high scores!


You can download the latest version on my website (click the Dragon King logo below)

Preview:



Enjoy!

*EDIT 8/17/15*

Attention Windows 8 and Windows 10 users!!!  If you are having trouble getting the wrapper to resize the game or trouble with getting the game to exit do the following:

Step 1:  Right click FixitFelixJr.exe go to properties and set compatibility to windows xp service pack 3. 
Step 2:  Do the same for FixitFelixJrFP.exe. 
Step 3:  Right click on FIFJ.exe go to properties and check the "run as administrator" box. 

Now you should be good to go
« Last Edit: August 17, 2015, 02:10:02 am by Howard_Casto »

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2013, 03:23:03 am »
Well done Howard!

Thanks for all your hard work.  :applaud:

I hope Disney doesn't find you....
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2013, 01:19:53 pm »
Eh they can't do anything.  The game itself didn't have a commercial license, and even if it did I don't include it.  Besides, I'm pretty sure I could take Goofy in a one-on-one fight. 

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5065
  • Last login:April 16, 2021, 06:48:16 pm
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2013, 03:46:02 pm »
Excellent work!!!  :applaud: :applaud: :applaud:

wp34

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4675
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:22:23 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2013, 05:37:40 pm »
Well done and bonus points for your thread title. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2013, 07:00:40 pm »
Heh yeah I'm pretty punny like that. 

I've been installing this on my own cab and have found a few minor bugs so I'll do another release soon.  Also someone contacted me via email (sorry I've been too busy to respond) about adding the ability to mute the audio in attract.  I'm not sure how possible that would be, but I will look into it. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2013, 01:33:43 am »
I added a cocktail mode.  It takes advantage of that easter egg where the screen rotates if you scroll the mouse wheel.  It isn't perfect, but it gets the job done.  Again, probably not a popular feature, but it was really easy to implement once I stumbled across the variable. 

Zombiii

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:March 26, 2014, 12:46:16 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #7 on: December 04, 2013, 09:17:15 am »
Thanks for this.  Was using the other Fix it Felix I had found and it didnt let me easily assign buttons.  Yours was so easy and worked like a charm in my cab.  Awesome work!

EMDB

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 865
  • Last login:July 15, 2020, 09:39:01 pm
  • Project RetroCade
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #8 on: December 04, 2013, 01:37:03 pm »
Would it be possible to add a pause feature?

owlnonymous

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:June 26, 2014, 05:37:37 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2013, 01:44:53 pm »
Thanks a million for this!

TacoTownCharlie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:03:13 pm
  • Old enough to know better
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2013, 05:47:55 pm »
Howard, for the cocktail mode can you add an option in the setup to not allow this?  I've got a spinner on my control panel mapped to the z-axis and when the spinner gets hit it rotates the entire game.  Thanks for all your great work, I really appreciate it.
TacoTownCharlie

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2013, 08:36:30 pm »
Sorry, I haven't found a way, no.... it might be possible though, I just haven't had a chance to look. 

Anyway, 5.2 is out, this fixes forced polling, adds a cocktail mode and fixes a bug preventing really large high scores from saving. 

purql8

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:February 04, 2014, 05:55:42 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2013, 11:57:54 pm »
Howard, I cant find the link to fix it felix 5.2 on your site only the link to 5.1.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #13 on: December 11, 2013, 12:18:55 am »
That's weird, I guess I forgot to save my changes. 

Anyway, it's up now. 

purql8

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Last login:February 04, 2014, 05:55:42 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2013, 10:11:51 pm »
Thank You. Awesome work :applaud:

Baker

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:October 22, 2014, 11:55:16 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #15 on: December 14, 2013, 03:49:59 pm »
Thanks for this, kids will love the high scores.

With the cocktail mode, is it possible to flip the screen a bit earlier (i.e. have it flipping at the "2 Player Ready" screen)? Also, have you managed to find 2nd player controls in the code, or are we just going to have to put up with controls being shared?

Another thing, I've found on my cab, it'll start in a small windowed mode ~50% of the time. I've got it set to 90 degree rotation, full screen, no bezel. This doesn't happen if it's launched from the original EXE (i.e. outside of your wrapper) with the "-rotate=90 -fullscreen" commands - is there any way to get your wrapper to launch it in this way? I've tried adjusting the delay for resize (50ms, 500ms, 1000ms), but I don't think it's for this.

(Sorry for another edit) - I know I might be being a bit of a pain, but is it possible to add a checkbox to decide if you want it to save the coins in the highscore.dat file - I've got a three year old who loves pressing the "insert coin" button on my cab, and it'd be nice to start the game without 99 credits every time :).
« Last Edit: December 14, 2013, 05:42:43 pm by Baker »

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #16 on: December 14, 2013, 05:36:24 pm »
This stuff is addressed in the readme.  Cocktail mode doesn't exist, I made it.  I'm using a bit that indicates the current player to flip the screen.  Since the current player doesn't change until after the ready screen it's impossible for me to flip it early. 

You can use ahk or whatever you prefer to clone the controls... 2p controls don't exist.  Since in every arcade cocktail I've ever seen, the controls are all wired to the same inputs, I didn't bother to make extras. 

RetroBorg

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 818
  • Last login:December 26, 2020, 03:13:37 am
  • Your arcade games will be assimilated!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #17 on: December 17, 2013, 07:01:07 am »
Just wanted to say thanks for this Howard, the wrapper makes the game so much better.

Cheers.  :cheers:

mrmikey73

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:March 05, 2014, 07:30:16 am
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #18 on: December 17, 2013, 09:02:42 pm »
Just heard about this from another forum and honestly didn't expect it to work on my horizontal cab. Man was I wrong, thank you very much as I had given up hope. Just wanted to say thanks!!!

Denhomer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:March 07, 2016, 01:54:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2013, 09:14:09 am »
Lovely wrapper, but it seems to only work consistently when I change my keyboard layout to US English (QWERTY), while I'm normally working in Belgian - AZERTY.
Are you sending raw commands which might be interpreted differently on my keyboard?

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:02:05 am
  • Brakes are overrated
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #20 on: January 02, 2014, 11:10:59 pm »
Hello Howard. Thank you for this wrapper. It miles better than the previous one I had from a different forum. :applaud: :applaud: I updated to 5.2 today and noticed something(it may have been in the earlier versions but, i may have not noticed) , it seems that hitting "R" rotates the screen in game and well "R" is what I have mapped as my start button on my CP by default in everything. It there a way I can edit that? if not, Its fine, if I hit start again it rotates back. 

Thanks

pinballsmith

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
  • Last login:October 05, 2019, 12:25:40 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #21 on: January 03, 2014, 11:12:00 am »
Took some hardware adjustments on my PC, but it runs flawlessly now. This was very well done and I thank you for all the effort you put into this. On a side note, does anyone know what brand monitor Disney used in their cabs?

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19700
  • Last login:Today at 01:14:16 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #22 on: January 03, 2014, 01:04:28 pm »
I nominated this bit of software for a UCA. Thanks, Howard! For everyone else, If you found it useful, go second it!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #23 on: January 03, 2014, 03:32:36 pm »
The rotation thing is on my list... people were posting bug reports on the wrong thread.  I just haven't had a chance to upload the new version yet... sit tight. 

twistedsymphony

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 580
  • Last login:August 15, 2018, 08:57:58 am
  • Play stupid games... win stupid prizes.
    • solid-orange.com
    • CollectorsEdition.org
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #24 on: January 13, 2014, 02:08:25 pm »
This is really fantastic, basically adds everything into the game that I needed (freeplay, remapped buttons, and quit shortcuts)....

Le Chuck

  • Saint, make a poll!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5509
  • Last login:April 08, 2021, 11:56:43 am
  • <insert personal text here>
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #25 on: January 13, 2014, 02:52:29 pm »
Howard, just wanted to drop in and say what a bang-up awesome job you did/are doing on this.  Great stuff!!!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #26 on: January 13, 2014, 09:20:10 pm »
Thanks guys, it's nice to be appreciated.  :)

I forgot about that final release to fix the rotation issue along with a sanity check to see if your monitor is already rotated in hardware.  It's been a rough month so far.  I'm currently waiting for the DEP to say it's safe to drink water again in my region so I'll be up all night anyway.  I'll go ahead and see if I can get that last version out later tonight.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19073
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:35:06 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #27 on: January 14, 2014, 01:53:35 am »
Ok 5.3 is up.  This is most likely the final version barring any bugs.  Download from my site as usual.

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2645
  • Last login:January 21, 2021, 10:17:21 am
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #28 on: January 14, 2014, 08:54:28 am »
thank u sir !

Denhomer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:March 07, 2016, 01:54:36 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #29 on: January 22, 2014, 03:10:46 pm »
Thanks Howard_Casto, for those of us not running a QWERTY layout, but AZERTY, I'm using the following ahk script to fix the wrapper that fixes Fix it Felix...  :D

"
SetWorkingDir, C:\FIFJ5.3\
Run, C:\FIFJ5.3\FIFJ.exe
SetTimer process_watcher, 100
::2

process_watcher:
   Process, WaitClose, FIFJ.exe
    Exitapp
Return
"

The only thing this does is make sure the press on the "2" key, which in AZERTYis the "" key, is translated to 2 for the zoom function to work.
Adjust paths as necessary.

SegaOutrun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 406
  • Last login:March 28, 2019, 03:02:05 am
  • Brakes are overrated
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #30 on: January 23, 2014, 01:32:44 am »
Thanks Howard! I gave it a quick test and it doesnt rotate anymore when I hit R. Thanks again for the wrapper

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4756
  • Last login:April 12, 2021, 07:48:24 pm
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #31 on: January 27, 2014, 01:39:57 pm »
Would it be possible to add a pause feature?
If you are running the Hyperspin front end, the new HyperLaunch 3 has a new feature called Hyperpause which may be able to help you out.
http://www.hyperspin-fe.com/content.php?186-HyperLaunch-3-Your-Favorite-Front-End-Companion

DeLuSioNaL29
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

lamprey

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 17, 2019, 07:03:11 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #32 on: January 29, 2014, 12:27:32 am »
Thank you!!!

This is very cool!

If you do decide to do any more enhancements, I had one request. I'm one of those 3 oddballs that runs (or will be running) my cab in Portrait mode. :) The built-in scaling using the Bezel Zooms works like a champ, but it's would be super cool to be able to adjust the positioning vertically. In my particular case, I'd like to shift the screen up a bit.

I just made some modifications to my bezel artwork in order to center it on my monitor, so all good for now!

Again thanks for putting this together! Much appreciated!

 :cheers:

the_gamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
  • Last login:September 02, 2020, 03:44:06 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #33 on: January 30, 2014, 12:30:45 pm »
Hi,

it seems like I am the only person running into this but no matter what I start, settings.exe or FIFJ.exe a box pops up saying "Game Exe Missing! - Fix it Felix Jr. not found!"
How to fix it? Help me felix! Oh, uhm, I mean Howard_Casto?

Le Chuck

  • Saint, make a poll!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5509
  • Last login:April 08, 2021, 11:56:43 am
  • <insert personal text here>
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #34 on: January 30, 2014, 12:40:41 pm »
Did you put the game in the same folder as the wrapper?  It won't do to just download the wrapper and run that by itself. 

JDFan

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3438
  • Last login:April 13, 2021, 10:46:57 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #35 on: January 30, 2014, 12:45:45 pm »
Hi,

it seems like I am the only person running into this but no matter what I start, settings.exe or FIFJ.exe a box pops up saying "Game Exe Missing! - Fix it Felix Jr. not found!"
How to fix it? Help me felix! Oh, uhm, I mean Howard_Casto?

You need to also download the game itself -- this is just a wrapper to launch and adjust the original disney leaked version of the game and you need that download - should be able to find it if you search for it. (we're not able to provide links here since it is like the game roms - OK to talk about but not OK to provide links to download) :dunno
« Last Edit: January 30, 2014, 12:51:09 pm by JDFan »

the_gamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
  • Last login:September 02, 2020, 03:44:06 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #36 on: January 30, 2014, 01:27:50 pm »
Oh, sry, I misunderstood it. Thanks a lot :)

Changing the keys doesn't work for me :( It saves, shows my changes when reopening it but it doesn't change any controls ingame.
Second Problem: Escape doesn't really end the game only turn the game window black and end fullscreen. I still have to click x to end felix. How to end it?
And I have no bezel, how did you get that one in (I read the Readme and have the file but it isn't shown)?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2014, 02:40:48 pm by the_gamer »

the_gamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
  • Last login:September 02, 2020, 03:44:06 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #37 on: January 31, 2014, 01:10:20 am »
And I have another question besides the ones from above:
Does anybody know how to do that "superfix" where Felix spins around and fixes everything?

Le Chuck

  • Saint, make a poll!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5509
  • Last login:April 08, 2021, 11:56:43 am
  • <insert personal text here>
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #38 on: January 31, 2014, 06:11:22 am »
And I have another question besides the ones from above:
Does anybody know how to do that "superfix" where Felix spins around and fixes everything?

You have to eat a second pie while still flashing from the first and the do the dragon punch combo from SFII. Simple.

the_gamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
  • Last login:September 02, 2020, 03:44:06 pm
Re: (I) Fix(ed)-it Felix Wrapper
« Reply #39 on: January 31, 2014, 06:14:54 am »
And I have another question besides the ones from above:
Does anybody know how to do that "superfix" where Felix spins around and fixes everything?

You have to eat a second pie while still flashing from the first and the do the dragon punch combo from SFII. Simple.

You are kidding, right? Or is it not possible in the game? That move is shown in the movie.