Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Change buttons to Normally Open?  (Read 483 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

007craft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:March 03, 2013, 09:09:03 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Change buttons to Normally Open?
« on: February 11, 2013, 05:39:28 pm »
So I went and bought some push buttons for my arcade.  They are tiny buttons which I will be using for emulator functions.  Unfortunately, I already drilled holes and put them in my cab only to find out they are Normally closed buttons.  Is there anyway I can convert them to normally open?

Nephasth

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Change buttons to Normally Open?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 05:55:07 pm »
What buttons? Link? Pics?

007craft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:March 03, 2013, 09:09:03 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Change buttons to Normally Open?
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 05:59:10 pm »
Umm, I bought them at a local store.

http://www.leeselectronic.com/index.php?id_product=3277&controller=product

Theres no pics but not sure why that would matter?  they are NC switches with 2 prongs and I want to make them NO switches

Nephasth

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Change buttons to Normally Open?
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2013, 07:01:57 pm »
Theres no pics but not sure why that would matter?

There's thousands of different types of switches. How the ---fudgesicle--- am I supposed to know what one you have without a detailed description or a pic?

they are NC switches with 2 prongs and I want to make them NO switches

If there are only 2 prongs (terminals) on the switch and it is NC... go buy new switches.

Dawgz Rule

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 716
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:33:34 pm
  • The more people I meet, the more I like my dogs
Re: Change buttons to Normally Open?
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2013, 07:10:07 pm »
Because it is a two prong, you are pretty much out of luck.  Your best bet is to simply swap them out with the equivalent "normally open".  Check the part numbers and you will typically see an "NC" or "NO" to indicate what the normal position is.  You may also find it in the description.  Look at the bright side....it was a relatively inexpensive mistake.

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4849
  • Last login:April 06, 2019, 11:07:14 pm
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: Change buttons to Normally Open?
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2013, 12:23:17 pm »
Well you could use electronics to invert the switches, but by far it is simpler, easier to troubleshoot, and probably cheaper to just change the switches to NO, just as everyone else has suggested.

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6249
  • Last login:Yesterday at 01:06:46 pm
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: Change buttons to Normally Open?
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2013, 02:36:20 pm »
Well you could use electronics to invert the switches, but by far it is simpler, easier to troubleshoot, and probably cheaper to just change the switches to NO, just as everyone else has suggested.

It might even be as simple as a resistor or two for each switch, depending on the encoder being used.  But, yes, proper switches would make much more sense.

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10993
  • Last login:April 28, 2019, 09:13:51 pm
  • Awesome face!
Re: Change buttons to Normally Open?
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2013, 03:26:44 pm »
Just replace them, you will spend more time and money trying to get around them than just replacing them.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.