Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: FS: mini SLG 2X (scanline generator) (Colorado, USA)  (Read 93932 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Rick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2786
  • Last login:October 20, 2019, 02:22:51 pm
  • Bartop, Cocktail and Pinball Arcade Cabinets
    • Gameroom Designs Canada
Re: Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #280 on: August 08, 2013, 11:26:25 pm »
Hey everyone, I started shipping packages yesterday, running about a day behind but catching up.

Thanks for the great response so far to the mini SLG 2 release!

Woot! Can't wait! Thank YOU for such a smart, innovative product.

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #281 on: August 09, 2013, 11:27:37 am »
Im still setting up the software side, so take your time with mine.  :cheers:
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

Aceisback

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Last login:October 05, 2018, 03:38:22 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #282 on: August 11, 2013, 03:46:26 am »
Got mine. Screen looks better than I expected.

Thanks!

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #283 on: August 11, 2013, 01:47:37 pm »
Great to hear Aceisback!

I shipped another 4 packages on Saturday, and have six orders going out on Monday. If you don't receive a shipping notification from PayPal by Monday morning, then your order will most likely go out on Tuesday.

Thanks for everyone's patience, I will get everyone taken care of over the next few days.  :cheers:
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

Daro6666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:February 15, 2020, 09:29:14 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #284 on: August 13, 2013, 10:16:20 am »
I want to order albo skg 2
Send  me your info

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10271
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:24:07 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #285 on: August 13, 2013, 10:20:25 am »
Got mine yesterday, still need to test it out, thanks!

Daro6666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • Last login:February 15, 2020, 09:29:14 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #286 on: August 13, 2013, 10:31:00 am »
Never mind , got it .
I'll order it today .
Thanks

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #287 on: August 13, 2013, 11:10:49 am »
Never mind , got it .
I'll order it today .
Thanks

Send an email to orders@craftymech.com and I will send you a PayPal invoice.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

mike boss

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2637
  • Last login:Today at 12:11:26 am
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #288 on: August 13, 2013, 06:55:35 pm »
I still haven't had a chance to set get these plugged in!
However the quality of the product, customer service, and shipping have all been bang on.
For anyone on the fence ORDER NOW!

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 19338
  • Last login:Today at 07:11:36 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #289 on: August 13, 2013, 11:59:26 pm »
Got mine yesterday, too. Solid little device. Anyone worried about the exposed board being flimsy has NOTHING to worry about.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #290 on: August 15, 2013, 11:11:18 am »
I am almost all caught up on my BYOAC orders, hope to get the last batch out today or tomorrow.

For everyone that has already received theirs, let me know how it works with your setups! I'm anxious to hear how the new version performs  :cheers:
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

Rick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2786
  • Last login:October 20, 2019, 02:22:51 pm
  • Bartop, Cocktail and Pinball Arcade Cabinets
    • Gameroom Designs Canada
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #291 on: August 15, 2013, 06:58:26 pm »
For everyone that has already received theirs, let me know how it works with your setups! I'm anxious to hear how the new version performs  :cheers:

I can't wait to get mine. I received a sheet of blue plexi (shh! miniproject is top secret) today, and hope to see mine soon! I'll be sure to post when I've got it.

northerngames

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2927
  • Last login:April 09, 2016, 04:18:51 pm
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #292 on: August 17, 2013, 03:46:15 pm »
got my SLG 2 today.

will give it try/review sometime this weekend.

thanks again  :cheers:

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10271
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:24:07 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #293 on: August 18, 2013, 11:29:03 am »
Hooked mine up in my dreamcast bartop, works great! I love that I can turn it off for games like Ikaruga but leave it on for MVC2.

TKW4rr10r

  • Trade Count: (+16)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 379
  • Last login:February 06, 2017, 01:10:01 pm
  • Oh no, he's holding power tools!
    • What I'm selling / looking for:
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #294 on: August 18, 2013, 12:06:57 pm »
Here's a noob scanline generator question:
Say you have a VGA source being converted to another analogue signal before it reaches a monitor, how are the scanlines effected? Anyone done this?

On my X-men project, I was thinking of the possibility of getting two, one for each half of the picture. But my monitor only has one VGA in. The other would have to be run through a VGA to component box (which I have). Both signals will be the same resolution, but having them match as closely as possible is key.

Future Projects: Galaxian Anniversary, Mario VS DK, Rebirth
What I'm selling / looking for

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #295 on: August 18, 2013, 01:28:32 pm »
Here's a noob scanline generator question:
Say you have a VGA source being converted to another analogue signal before it reaches a monitor, how are the scanlines effected? Anyone done this?

On my X-men project, I was thinking of the possibility of getting two, one for each half of the picture. But my monitor only has one VGA in. The other would have to be run through a VGA to component box (which I have). Both signals will be the same resolution, but having them match as closely as possible is key.

The mini SLG needs a separate -vsync signal to operate correctly, so the only option would be to put the mini before the VGA->component box as you mentioned. Hard to tell the effect the conversion will have on the display image, that would be dependent on the quality of the component box. Adding scanlines after the component box, using the SLG HD (component scanline adapter sold by ArcadeForge.de) might be a better option. I believe you can adjust scanline intensity with that product as well, which would make it easier to match both sides of the display. And on that note, not to send you to the competition, but you might consider the SLG-3000 for the VGA scanlines (also sold by ArcadeForge). That unit also has a knob for scanline intensity, and I think in your case you will want both displays to be as adjustable as possible, so that you can get the screens to match.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #296 on: August 18, 2013, 01:31:57 pm »
Hooked mine up in my dreamcast bartop, works great! I love that I can turn it off for games like Ikaruga but leave it on for MVC2.

Awesome :) The Off switch was a frequently requested feature so I'm glad I was able to make that work for the new version.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13665
  • Last login:June 07, 2019, 05:07:28 pm
  • Be the change you want to see in the world.
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #297 on: August 18, 2013, 08:21:52 pm »
Hooked mine up in my dreamcast bartop, works great! I love that I can turn it off for games like Ikaruga but leave it on for MVC2.

Awesome :) The Off switch was a frequently requested feature so I'm glad I was able to make that work for the new version.

Got mine, what exactly is different between mode 1 and mode 2? Both work on the DC but the colors look slightly different when the switch is towards the female end.

New one went into my DC bartop, the old one in the silver case is headed towards the ShoRyuKade.   Any change of getting a DVI version of this?
If you are helping someone and expecting something in return, you are doing business not kindness.

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #298 on: August 19, 2013, 12:22:29 am »
Got mine, what exactly is different between mode 1 and mode 2? Both work on the DC but the colors look slightly different when the switch is towards the female end.

New one went into my DC bartop, the old one in the silver case is headed towards the ShoRyuKade.   Any change of getting a DVI version of this?

Good to hear Malenko, glad the mini found a nice home in your DC bartop!

Mode 2 is for PC compatibility, and Mode 1 is the original "Arcade" setting. For non-PC hardware, modes 1 & 2 will appear pretty much identical, so try both and see if you have a preference.

No plans for a DVI version right now, but I have thought about the possibility.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #299 on: August 19, 2013, 01:19:21 pm »
A new JROK Multi-Williams showed up before the weekend :)

Finally I can get to the bottom of why the mini SLG has compatibility issues with this board. Stay tuned!
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

Rick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2786
  • Last login:October 20, 2019, 02:22:51 pm
  • Bartop, Cocktail and Pinball Arcade Cabinets
    • Gameroom Designs Canada
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #300 on: August 23, 2013, 01:55:27 pm »
My SLG2 finally came! (No thanks to Canada Customs, I'll say.) It looks AMAZING! It was packaged perfectly, and very securely. Once I freed the beast from it's prison, I attached it in between my laptop and my AOC 27" monitor. The screen came to life, and I went into the settings to make the appropriate resolution changes.

DAMN!!! The resolutions I need (640x480 or 1024x768) appear GRAYED OUT! So, it looks like I'll need to setup my system with before I can give my full review.

MANY THANKS to CraftyMech! It looks amazing - well built and packaged. I would definitely recommend the work!

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #301 on: August 23, 2013, 03:08:03 pm »
Glad the package arrived safely Rick!

To adjust your resolution choices in Windows, go to your resolution settings tab, and click on the "Advanced Settings' link. This will open another dialog where there will be a button labeled "List All Modes". From there you can choose 640x480 60hz (recommended), or 1024x768, and you will be in business!
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

Rick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2786
  • Last login:October 20, 2019, 02:22:51 pm
  • Bartop, Cocktail and Pinball Arcade Cabinets
    • Gameroom Designs Canada
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #302 on: August 23, 2013, 03:27:08 pm »
To adjust your resolution choices in Windows, go to your resolution settings tab, and click on the "Advanced Settings' link. This will open another dialog where there will be a button labeled "List All Modes". From there you can choose 640x480 60hz (recommended), or 1024x768, and you will be in business!

I did that - unfortunately, for me, it was a bit more involved. I was using my HP G61 laptop, which has everything but 1280x720, 1366x768 and 800x600 grayed out. As it turns out, I needed to update my ATI Radeon Mobility HD 4200 drivers, and then, I could make the appropriate changes to the resolution. (Interestingly enough, you STILL can't make the changes through the Windows tabs - as above, and as you would think *should* work - and you have to do it through the ATI control panel.)

But, the good news is this: SUCCESS!!! The ATI Catalyst drivers support even 640x480 resolution (as well as 1024x768) and the SLG2 works BEAUTIFULLY!!! I'm totally impressed. It's an amazing piece of hardware I'll be proud to include into my project, as well as my future projects!!!

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #303 on: August 23, 2013, 04:02:41 pm »
Awesome Rick!  :cheers:

Between the two versions of the mini SLG, I have now shipped over 300 units in 2013 . Thanks to everyone who has supported the project!

I'd love to hear from everyone else who received a mini SLG 2 lately, let me know how it has worked with your setups!
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

northerngames

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2927
  • Last login:April 09, 2016, 04:18:51 pm
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #304 on: August 23, 2013, 05:16:39 pm »
I been too busy at work and painting while the weather is good but I will still post soon as I try them.

I have 4 different screens to choose from and two more glass tube monitors to try it out on lol.

Thamiel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:12:04 pm
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #305 on: August 24, 2013, 10:25:40 pm »
Awesome Rick!  :cheers:

Between the two versions of the mini SLG, I have now shipped over 300 units in 2013 . Thanks to everyone who has supported the project!

I'd love to hear from everyone else who received a mini SLG 2 lately, let me know how it has worked with your setups!

Just got mine on Thursday, works perfectly in between my Vigatec FX2 and Gefen VGA to DVI scaler. Been rocking some PS1 all weekend!

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #306 on: August 24, 2013, 10:48:33 pm »
Thanks for the feedback Thamiel, great to hear the mini works great with your setup!
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #307 on: August 26, 2013, 02:53:50 am »
Nearly caught up on orders, built these 10 units over the weekend!
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #308 on: September 02, 2013, 03:12:22 pm »
Good news, I now have a JROK compatible version of the mini SLG!

For the wiring setup, I ignored the 2-pin header on the JROK board (V/H sync), and took the sync/video lines from the Jamma harness (Sync, Ground, R, G, B) and wired those up to a VGA connector, putting the Sync into the VGA H (pin 13).

Next I had to remove the Vsync signal (since it is not connected) from the output VGA connector on the mini SLG. Since Vsync was not involved in the circuit anymore, the switch, and several other parts could be dropped as well.

The result is a mini SLG unit that only has two resistors and the chip (see picture), and works great with the JROK when wired the way I described above (tested on 2 CRTs, and 2 LCDs).

Due to the reduced functionality (only works with the JROK, no off switch) I am going to sell the JROK Multi-Williams version of the mini SLG for a reduced price: $21

« Last Edit: September 02, 2013, 03:52:23 pm by CraftyMech »
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

emphatic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1949
  • Last login:January 30, 2020, 04:51:27 pm
  • -"Suck it, Donny!" -"No, YOU suck it.... more".
    • Emphatic's Video Game Collection
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #309 on: September 02, 2013, 03:47:26 pm »
Hi,

I have a scaler (Cinemateq Picture Optimizer) that I'd like to use with a Supergun to LCD and Plasma TV that apparently won't work with the SLG3000 that I currently own due to the polarity output by the scaler being incompatible with the SLG3000.

Quote from: Shmups Hardware forum
The PO outputs the wrong sync polarity (-/+) for the SLG3000. You'll have to build your own sync inverter (which I never quite managed to do correctly) or use an Extron RGB Interface that can change -/+ to +/+.

What's the deal with the MiniSLG in this case?

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #310 on: September 02, 2013, 04:42:22 pm »
Quote
What's the deal with the MiniSLG in this case?

If the SLG-3000 had issues with the sync polarity of your Cinemateq scaler, the mini SLG will have the same problem. Both devices work in a similar fashion, and require a -Vsync signal.

The work-around I posted for the JROK Multi-Williams works because that board also outputs a composite sync, as well as the VGA standard separate H/V lines.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

ppv

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 236
  • Last login:October 14, 2016, 05:56:59 am
  • The cheap@ss gamer
Re: Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #311 on: September 02, 2013, 08:32:38 pm »
I'd  be  interested in this, but I  would like to  see some comparisons shots with Mame' hlsl mode (which do not work on my ancient video card). Thanks!
Doing arcades, the cheap@ss way!
First Project : ttp://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,151071.0.html
Next one : The Token Muncher [urlhttp://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,135417.0.html[/url]

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #312 on: September 02, 2013, 10:51:05 pm »
The best resource I've been able to find for Mame HLSL (plenty of screenshots) is this thread over on the Shmups forum: http://shmups.system11.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=45026

Ive never played around with HLSL myself, so I don't have any direct comparison shots.

More screenshots for the mini SLG can be found on my website: http://craftymech.com

BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

scumball

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
  • Last login:September 24, 2019, 02:23:47 am
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #313 on: September 03, 2013, 04:59:37 am »
Hooked mine up yesterday.

XBox running Visionary 3 via X2VGA adaptor to Dell 1505 LCD monitor.  Works but does have green tint on all settings, even OFF.

Any ideas? I know this source is untested so not too disappointed...
« Last Edit: September 03, 2013, 05:07:41 am by scumball »

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #314 on: September 03, 2013, 08:40:05 am »
Hooked mine up yesterday.

XBox running Visionary 3 via X2VGA adaptor to Dell 1505 LCD monitor.  Works but does have green tint on all settings, even OFF.

Any ideas? I know this source is untested so not too disappointed...

Sorry you are having trouble with your setup and the mini SLG. PM sent with some questions and suggestions!
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

DGP

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • Last login:January 29, 2019, 05:25:09 pm
  • Gamer4Life
    • My Toys...
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #315 on: September 10, 2013, 05:47:50 pm »
I read something about these being $18 shipped and now see there are 2 versions, is the previous version the one that is $18 or is the v2 the only one available at $27?

Will this work at 1360x768 with the Gonbes 8220?

I need one of these as I am not happy with the smeary look of the 8220.  :-\


Thank You,
Jason
Multi-Cade x2 (full size and bar top) / 3 screen Virtual Pin

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #316 on: September 10, 2013, 06:54:14 pm »
Hi Jason,

I was offering version 2 to my previous customers at a special price of $18 shipped.

Version 2 is normally priced at $27, or $30 shipped in the US.

1360x768 uses a + sync polarity, so unfortunately the mini SLG is not compatible with that resolution.

The recommended resolution is 640x480, and 1024x768 is also supported.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #317 on: September 14, 2013, 07:56:33 pm »
Can someone with an ArcadeSD board tell me what the video output options are?

Can you choose the output resolution? Is the output VGA only, or is there an 240p output option?

Thanks of any info, now that I believe I have developed a fix for the JROK Multi-Williams, I would like to get the mini SLG working with the Arcade SD board.
BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com

DGP

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • Last login:January 29, 2019, 05:25:09 pm
  • Gamer4Life
    • My Toys...
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #318 on: September 14, 2013, 08:15:15 pm »
Received mine today and it's an instant gratification device. :o

I had to recalibrate the Gamma on my lcd display due to the black floor lift but once that was completed my MVS cab is not missing the crt nearly as much.

I have my MVS right next to my multi-cade and the difference is staggering versus mame running the exact same game (even HLSL did not look as good IMHO and they are both running at 1024x768).

I plan to make a short video and post on YouTube later to show just how nice the end result is, I'll link here once it's up.

Thanks Aaron for a fantastic and very cost effective product that delivers exactly what it was designed to do, bravo!
 
:cheers:
Jason
Multi-Cade x2 (full size and bar top) / 3 screen Virtual Pin

CraftyMech

  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 484
  • Last login:April 13, 2019, 12:39:20 pm
  • I love the smell of solder in the morning...
    • craftymech.com
Re: FS: mini SLG 2 (scanline generator) is now available! (Colorado, USA)
« Reply #319 on: September 14, 2013, 10:31:36 pm »
Hey Jason, no problem! Great to hear the mini works well with your setup.  :cheers:

I have one hooked up to my MVS as well and can't imagine playing on an LCD without it now.








BitKit 8bit FPGA Multi - http://craftymech.com