Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?  (Read 5408 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5092
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 11:23:02 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« on: July 03, 2009, 10:22:54 pm »
What can I use to edit my jukebox.db file?   There are a few entries that while the tags look fine via a tag editor,  they get jacked up when the jukebox.db file is created for some reason.
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4575
  • Last login:September 21, 2019, 04:59:49 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2009, 01:38:15 am »
What can I use to edit my jukebox.db file?   There are a few entries that while the tags look fine via a tag editor,  they get jacked up when the jukebox.db file is created for some reason.
It is a plain text file; you can edit it with WordPad.
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5092
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 11:23:02 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2009, 01:27:22 pm »
What can I use to edit my jukebox.db file?   There are a few entries that while the tags look fine via a tag editor,  they get jacked up when the jukebox.db file is created for some reason.
It is a plain text file; you can edit it with WordPad.

I did that but the resulting file crashed the program...strange.  I'll try again.
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5092
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 11:23:02 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2009, 01:53:19 pm »
I just tried that very same thing again... i opened JUKEBOX.DB with wordpad... I edited a few fields and then saved... crash...

So I then took the working jukebox.db file,  simply loaded it in wordpad then resaved without touching the actual data... I tried that .db file...

Guess what.  It crashed.  So there is SOMETHING being saved wrong when using WORDPAD?!?





Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

xk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
  • Last login:October 05, 2019, 06:55:18 am
Re: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2009, 05:35:23 pm »
I always use notepad,never had any problems

Dermbrian

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 292
  • Last login:August 15, 2017, 07:13:27 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2009, 09:09:27 pm »
What can I use to edit my jukebox.db file?   There are a few entries that while the tags look fine via a tag editor,  they get jacked up when the jukebox.db file is created for some reason.

It sounds like you have the issue that I ran into.  Take a look at this thread....

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=84719.msg891958#msg891958


Brian

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5092
  • Last login:November 21, 2019, 11:23:02 am
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2009, 04:11:45 pm »
For those interested...

WORDPAD is not what you want to use.  It corrupts the file somehow (perhaps it adds extra characters or something?).

NOTEPAD is what you want to use. 
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 6-27-19)

DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4862
  • Last login:November 02, 2019, 05:17:50 pm
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: What to Use to Edit jukebox.db?
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2009, 06:58:32 pm »
Could it be because wordpad, by default, saves the file in rich text format?