Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards  (Read 434660 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1164
  • Last login:July 16, 2019, 09:07:14 am
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #640 on: May 17, 2008, 02:30:55 am »
http://www.ultimarc.com/images/jpachi.jpg

The jumpers should be self explaining.
(Although you can ignore the USB/PS2 etc. jumpers, they are gone on newer models).

The lowest one is to "enable" 15kHz, the center one is to enable 25kHz and the topmost is for 31kHz.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


chairhome

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 50
  • Last login:February 04, 2010, 10:07:32 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #641 on: May 17, 2008, 10:42:29 am »
Thanks... I'm an idiot.  I was looking at the area on the left and going to put jumpers on there.  Thanks.

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #642 on: May 19, 2008, 12:28:25 am »
Does it at least output 640x480 in 15kHz?

Guess you just hit the Matrox drivers "Pixel Clock Limit".

I dunno. Possibly. I thought Matrox were supposed to be hot ---steaming pile of meadow muffin---. Maybe just the 350 and 450? I took the card out of that system, but I'll have to sometime try interlace on it.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

Haggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • Last login:February 13, 2017, 05:12:32 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #643 on: May 19, 2008, 05:18:59 am »
Hi SailorSat,
I don't know if it was already asked, but I want to ask you if  there is any way to use this piece of software with an ArcadeVGA.

It would be fantastic to have this option to add custom resolutions, like a 50Hz Amiga resolution.

Thx anyway for you great work.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 05:21:15 am by Haggar »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1164
  • Last login:July 16, 2019, 09:07:14 am
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #644 on: May 19, 2008, 11:33:59 am »
Nope, doesn't work with the AVGA (yet).
However, for AMIGA PAL just use 800x600 :)
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


Haggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • Last login:February 13, 2017, 05:12:32 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #645 on: May 19, 2008, 03:39:24 pm »
Right, but I think that the non interlaced 640 x 288 @50Hz (that Soft-15KHz has) it's far away better :)
800x600 it's horrible to see on a 15Khz monitor (and eye killer)  :-\

doesn't work with the AVGA (yet).
So are you planning to introduce ArcadeVGA support in next releases? It would be fantastic! THE solution for all monitor resolution relative issues :notworthy:

« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 03:45:50 pm by Haggar »

Haggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • Last login:February 13, 2017, 05:12:32 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #646 on: May 19, 2008, 03:43:18 pm »
Double post, sry...
« Last Edit: May 19, 2008, 03:45:20 pm by Haggar »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1164
  • Last login:July 16, 2019, 09:07:14 am
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #647 on: May 19, 2008, 04:50:24 pm »
Depends on the monitor :)
Interlace looks nice on my hantarex polo...

Whatever...
Once I figure out how the f*ck the ArcadeVGA driver differs from the normal (it's actually a catalyst 6.1)
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


Haggar

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 146
  • Last login:February 13, 2017, 05:12:32 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #648 on: May 20, 2008, 06:29:35 am »
I think you can ask informations in Ultimarc. I think they would sell more ArcadeVGA cards with Soft-15KHz support.

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #649 on: May 20, 2008, 05:42:17 pm »
I dunno about that. I've asked Andy about supporting a second set of resolutions - high refresh resolutions like SS has provided - and he said that was beyond the basic design principle.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

Ninja-chicken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
  • Last login:September 27, 2009, 05:06:08 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #650 on: May 21, 2008, 04:11:52 am »
I used soft 15 and set my nVidia GeForce 8500GT to display 15kHz and it worked pretty well. I still get a kinda red blur around everything though.

My questions are:

1) What's with the red blur :P
2) Is there any way I can get this to work with DOS at all?

Cheers

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #651 on: May 22, 2008, 09:41:01 pm »
The red could be a fault in your card - or it can't totally handle 15khz. Try another card; try another monitor with that card, if you can. As for dos, there are other things you have to worry about long before video display. You might look into an optimized linux.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

moloch

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Last login:June 18, 2019, 06:16:01 pm
  • I'm an ill'llama!
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #652 on: May 23, 2008, 01:59:44 am »
maybe I missed this in some of the earlier replies, but I did not see it any where.

Where can I get access to the interlaced resolutions? Or how am I not seeing these.

If I set my monitor to anything greater then "x" by 288 it looks like crap on my arcade monitor.

I am doing this using an Nvidia GeForce 4 MX and using quickres. I do not see anything that says interlaced. I only see 16 and 32 bit resolutions.

I am doing this in a new machine that I am building, and I am running it through an J-Pac.

Ninja-chicken

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 62
  • Last login:September 27, 2009, 05:06:08 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #653 on: May 23, 2008, 04:26:47 am »
The red could be a fault in your card - or it can't totally handle 15khz. Try another card; try another monitor with that card, if you can. As for dos, there are other things you have to worry about long before video display. You might look into an optimized linux.

Well I've had too many problems with a software solution so I bottled it and bought an ArcadeVGA card. In the meantime I'm worried that the weird red blur im getting is down to the monitor, not the graphics card. The reason I think this is because I used "Advanced Cab" to display 15kHz on DOS and I get the same red blur, whether I use on-board or my GeForce 8500 GT.

I guess I'll know for sure whether it's the monitor when I get my ArcadeVGA card, but it's not looking good :(

If it is the monitor, do you think it's repairable?

Thanks :)

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1164
  • Last login:July 16, 2019, 09:07:14 am
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #654 on: May 23, 2008, 05:52:36 am »
@Ninja-chicken:
Hm... You got an 8500GT to display 15kHz? Maybe I should look into the GeForce8 Series again :)


@moloch:
What do you mean by "look like crap"?
Also, all Modes with more than 288 lines (iE. 480, 600, 768 etc.) are interlaced, those will flicker more than the others.

If you can see a picture at 640x480, you're fine, if not, your MX card doesn't support interlace.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


moloch

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Last login:June 18, 2019, 06:16:01 pm
  • I'm an ill'llama!
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #655 on: May 23, 2008, 10:17:42 am »
Then I am guessing it is the card, because at anything greater then 288 I can see the images but it is unusable. I will otry to take a picture of it later to post.

This does make sense, because when I said looks like crap - the crap part is that I am seeing like half the lines and the other half seem to flicker.

I have a box of old video cards laying around somewhere, I will test some more then.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #656 on: May 23, 2008, 06:20:34 pm »
I wonder how Nvidia 9800 GX2 works with Soft 15khz.

Sailor when do you think you can make ur frogger/galaxian hack into a .diff

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #657 on: May 24, 2008, 06:52:57 pm »
I wonder how Nvidia 9800 GX2 works with Soft 15khz.

Sailor when do you think you can make ur frogger/galaxian hack into a .diff


??....why not just get the full build?  Actually, as I mentioned to Haze in another thread, Advancemame apparently already had the feature.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

bent98

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 477
  • Last login:February 02, 2019, 03:35:00 pm
  • Hyperspin Moderator
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #658 on: May 24, 2008, 09:32:21 pm »
I compile my own mame, So I would like to have the ability to just add the .diff


Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
  • Last login:July 07, 2019, 04:35:44 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #659 on: May 24, 2008, 09:41:42 pm »
... as I mentioned to Haze in another thread, Advancemame apparently already had the feature.

Advancemame doesn't work with many videocards under windows,  and Advancemame only works with OLDER versions of Mame.
Check out my completed projects!


Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #660 on: May 26, 2008, 07:14:37 pm »
... as I mentioned to Haze in another thread, Advancemame apparently already had the feature.

Advancemame doesn't work with many videocards under windows,  and Advancemame only works with OLDER versions of Mame.

First off, the thing you're missing is that the starfield way back in Advancemame .106 appears to be correct. Did he re-write the driver? What did he do? Haze seems to be ignoring this.

Next, all the cards I've tried work just fine, both ATI and Nvidia over a range of models. I think it's not understanding how to initially configure Advancemame, which is well-documented but not well-presented, that gets people. My experience over time went from, 'How the hell does this work?!', to, "I can get this work....", to, "I can pretty much get it to do anything".

Like the night before where I was having conflicts between games because having a pclock of 5-50 got me better results and a more usable device_video_format than 0-50. However, for a few games - for example, the Mr. Do series - I just made the following entry for:

(ie) dowild/device_video_clock 0-50 / 15.72-18 / 50-90

Whereas before this I was using the sdl mode 240x240, now I was getting a generated mode that worked right off. However, I might go back and see if maybe I was wrong on the 0-50 pclock not working as well. I dunno...it's weird, but I swear some things have changed over time, despite no hardware changes. (Wrong thing to say, heh.)

Another possible issue is there might be some conflicts between cards and mobos. An ATI card I have that ran flawlessly in a 1.5ghz P4 had some troubles with a different make P4 computer. However, all my nvidia's work fine in all the computers I've tried.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
  • Last login:July 07, 2019, 04:35:44 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #661 on: May 26, 2008, 10:22:54 pm »
There's no doubt that AdvanceMame is a pain in the rissole to configure.  It is not officially supported under windows, and only goes up to Mame106 for now.  Documentation sucks big-time. I'm no fool, but I've tried AdvanceMame a few times under Windows with ATI cards and all I got was a headache.  I moved on to Powerstrip (and since then, to Soft15khz).

A friend of mine who is a bit of a Linux-guru has been trying to get Linux to do 15khz properly, outside of Advancemame/Advancemenu or WINE (windows emulator 4 Linux), for well over a year (in between other things), but with only limited success.  He seems to have accepted that he is stuck with Advancemame 106 on his Linux-boxes for now.

Soft15khz does what I need for the Windows XP environment, and that includes much more than just playing Mame games.  For example, old kids games like Freddi Fish and Reader Rabbit look simply fantastic on a RGB-CRT TV, and my kids simply *love* playing them this way MUCH MORE than on a PC monitor (bigger screen and the colours are brighter).

At the moment, I use Soft15khz for playing .AVI movies on my 27" Panasonic RGB SCART TV more than playing games anyway.  My movies look damn fine, and many thanks to SailorSat for this  :cheers:



Check out my completed projects!


SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1164
  • Last login:July 16, 2019, 09:07:14 am
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #662 on: May 27, 2008, 11:39:02 am »
Hahaha :)
Watching Battlestar Galactica on my 33" Giant Cab right now :D
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Last login:June 05, 2019, 01:03:25 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #663 on: May 27, 2008, 12:48:03 pm »
So this program, basically turns your GFX card into a Ultimarc ArcadeVGA card?

amadama

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
  • Last login:February 21, 2017, 06:22:53 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #664 on: May 27, 2008, 02:45:40 pm »
Hi,
Has anyone had success with Intel based onboard graphics such as 865G (Integrated Extreme Graphics 2) or higher?
Thanks,
Alex
« Last Edit: May 27, 2008, 02:49:36 pm by amadama »

SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1164
  • Last login:July 16, 2019, 09:07:14 am
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #665 on: May 27, 2008, 02:56:00 pm »
GMA 900 and newer works, but sucks because of max 5 custom resolutions.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


amadama

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
  • Last login:February 21, 2017, 06:22:53 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #666 on: May 27, 2008, 03:00:31 pm »
Thanks SailorSat!

amadama

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
  • Last login:February 21, 2017, 06:22:53 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #667 on: May 27, 2008, 04:05:48 pm »
What's the recommended Catalyst version to use? I see from SailorSat's webpage that 6.1 was used in testing but have read in the forum thread that versions 8.x have been used too.
I am going to try a 9800 video card on XP.
Thanks!
Alex

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:June 19, 2019, 01:30:23 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #668 on: May 27, 2008, 04:54:58 pm »
What's the recommended Catalyst version to use?

http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=66402.msg824199#msg824199

Read a few posts down from there.  I got my 9800 Pro working with version 6.5.

amadama

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
  • Last login:February 21, 2017, 06:22:53 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #669 on: May 27, 2008, 07:17:22 pm »
Awesome! Thanks ahofle and thanks SailorSat for the links to ATI archive for older versions of Catalyst!
Alex

G A R R E T A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Last login:July 21, 2008, 05:54:15 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #670 on: May 28, 2008, 03:54:45 am »
is soft-15khz only for dedicated video cards only or will onboard video work as well?   I have ati radeon xpress200...

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #671 on: May 28, 2008, 06:46:41 pm »
is soft-15khz only for dedicated video cards only or will onboard video work as well?   I have ati radeon xpress200...

Read her post above as well as the hardware compatibility section in her thread over there.

And on that note, how do you know which resolutions are available on the Intel sets? The first five in sequence? (I forgot to test thoroughly with my 945 chipset and don't recall which worked or not.)


@Zeb: oh sure, soft15 is very useful for lots of things. Because I'm not using the dos version of Advancemame, I have to set the desktop to something my arcade monitor can handle so I can run advcfg. In any case, if your bud's got it running, how come he didn't show you or get yours going? Also, if interested, check out my tutorial in Advancemame for beginners. It's really very easy.


@lettuce: no, it enables your card to operate in the same manner as the avga. Check out PC2JAMMA. It was doing exactly the same thing as soft15 back in '99. And you've been around here long enough to know about this stuff. Whatchu been doin?
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

Zebidee

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1125
  • Last login:July 07, 2019, 04:35:44 am
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #672 on: May 28, 2008, 09:48:25 pm »
@Zeb: ....  if your bud's got [Advancemame] running, how come he didn't show you or get yours going? Also, if interested, check out my tutorial in Advancemame for beginners. It's really very easy.

Because my mate uses Linux.  He did show me how to get advancemame running, but that was under Linux.  I prefer to use the latest version of Mame under Windows.  He probably wouldn't like me saying this, but he's a bit envious of my setup under windows.

I've got a CDROM lying around somewhere to setup Advancemame under a limited Linux install.  It isn't the AdvanceCD thing that you can download - same idea, but a couple of steps more sophisticated/less hacked.  But I don't use it.  I would use it if I wanted to set up a simple Mame-box on an old PC, perhaps dedicated to playing old-time 80's classics like Galaga.

I think that Advancemame has some cool features.  For example, changing video resolution on the fly. But I just don't need Advancemame in Windows so much that I'll spend another few days trying to get it to work, possibly without any success.  Maybe probably - it depends a lot on your video card I think.

Where is your tutorial found?  I might give it a go sometime if it makes sense.





Check out my completed projects!


amadama

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 201
  • Last login:February 21, 2017, 06:22:53 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #673 on: May 29, 2008, 12:38:52 pm »
Zebidee, give the Advancecd a try. It works great (I use it on two cabs, both booting from a USB thumb drive). I think in the end using something like Soft15Khz or an ArcadeVGA card gives you more flexibility because you can run most emulators and PC games too right off the Arcade monitor.
Advancemame under windows, not really worth it my opinion...
Good luck!
Alex

Ummon

  • Trade Count: (+13)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5244
  • Last login:June 09, 2010, 06:37:18 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #674 on: May 30, 2008, 06:55:57 pm »
@amadama: oh, certainly it is worth it.

@zeb: dude, tell me about it. It took me some months to figure out everything - I was just too damn curious not to. Here's the thread Advancemame for beginners with current corrections/additions.
Yo. Chocolate.


"Theoretical physics has been the most successful and cost-effective in all of science."

Stephen Hawking


People often confuse expressed observations with complaint, ridicule, or - even worse - self-pity.

lettuce

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Last login:June 05, 2019, 01:03:25 pm
  • Make It So!
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #675 on: May 31, 2008, 11:55:17 am »
Removed
« Last Edit: June 01, 2008, 05:44:56 pm by lettuce »

northerngames

  • Trade Count: (+18)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2927
  • Last login:April 09, 2016, 04:18:51 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #676 on: May 31, 2008, 01:28:48 pm »
is there some adventage to running a older version of the catalyst like 6.1 over the most current drivers?

I still am runnnig the Sapphire X1950 pro 512MB DDR3 AGP version with catalyst 8.4 + hot fix and anything I throw at it displays great and I dont have any out of sync or terrible display issue's at all.


SailorSat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1164
  • Last login:July 16, 2019, 09:07:14 am
    • For Amusement Only e.V.
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #677 on: May 31, 2008, 02:27:53 pm »
SOME cards (for example my X600 pro) don't work with newer catalysts.
I do all that stuff even without a Joystick ;)
Soft-15kHz, cabMAME, For Amusement Only e.V.


mikefr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:December 23, 2008, 08:22:57 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #678 on: May 31, 2008, 11:58:16 pm »
Nice software.  I have a Raedon 800XT running through a J-PAC on my 25k7195 monitor.  So far the games I have tried run perfect.   Windows looks really good too and I have no trouble reading any text.   I will test out more games tomorrow.





mikefr

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • Last login:December 23, 2008, 08:22:57 pm
Re: Soft-15KHz - slim new tool for 15KHz on normal vga cards
« Reply #679 on: June 01, 2008, 10:40:36 pm »
I have tried some other games.  Most work flawlessly like (Killer Instinct, Neo Geo, lots of old games).  I am having a problem with the Mortal Kombat series.  They load and display fine except the bottom part the the screen is cut off (I only can see from their waist up....  Quickres shows 400x254 so I believe my card supports it. 

My Hardware: ATI 800XT, Catalist 7.1, JPAC, and a 25K7195 monitor.  Windows is in 640x480 and displays just fine.