Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)  (Read 15344 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rubberpoultry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:January 05, 2014, 09:32:36 pm
Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« on: December 04, 2006, 07:26:49 pm »
I was looking at this TV for my cabinet about a week ago and decided to wait. If this is the TV for me, I'm glad I did. I just don't know yet if it autopowers if power is cut, and I don't know if it remembers the input. If you have the answer let me know.

Anyway- here's the link:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=7601838&productCategoryId=pcmcat95100050021&type=product&tab=2&id=1130982274848

RubberP

Fozzy The Bear

  • Handbags at dawn in here!!!
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1831
  • Last login:September 18, 2011, 11:29:59 am
  • It's Been One Of Those Days... Don't Ask!
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2006, 07:58:39 pm »
I just don't know yet if it autopowers if power is cut, and I don't know if it remembers the input.

The only way you're going to find that out for certain is to examine the item..... It'd be quicker to drop them an e-mail and just ask those questions. Or if you have a store close to you that stocks these, then go in and find out.

Best Regards,
Julian (Fozzy The Bear)
Most bottles and jars contain at least twenty-five percent recycled Pacman.
And research indicates that Space Invaders are strongly attracted to people who have recently eaten meat pies.

rubberpoultry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:January 05, 2014, 09:32:36 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2006, 08:14:06 pm »
I just found a thread where someone here confirmed that it does remember the last input. I called and they said it does power back on after being switched off (when the power is cut).

So I'm heading over there!

ArtMAME

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
  • Last login:January 26, 2017, 11:28:45 am
  • Hey where the ARCADE MACHINES at???
    • Art's Arcade Lab
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2006, 10:29:25 pm »
Looks like a good choice.  Those component inputs will make even classic games look great.
Nice and clear, not blurry like composite or S-Video

If you plan on using a DVI-to-Component adapter for the component video inputs,
make sure you get at least an ATI 9550 video card or better.  You will have to run your resolution at 640x480 if you are using the component inputs.

Good luck  :cheers:
« Last Edit: December 04, 2006, 10:33:07 pm by ArtMAME »
"Klaatu. .. Verada. ...... Necktie...Nectar...Nickel..."

rubberpoultry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:January 05, 2014, 09:32:36 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2006, 10:53:45 pm »
Thanks! I bought a Saphire Radeon 9600 256MB card. It should arrive in a day or two. I bought a DVI to Compoonet adapter from ebay.

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2006, 01:15:55 am »
Thanks for the headsup!,  anyone happen to know how to access the service menu on Insignia TV's?

AtomSmasher

  • I'm happy to fly below Saint's radar
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3884
  • Last login:April 30, 2017, 06:14:11 pm
  • I'd rather be rich than stupid.
    • Atomic-Train
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2006, 01:26:48 am »
I used a 27'' Insignia in my cab (not sure if its that exact same model) and it does not automatically turn back on when plugged back in.  The good news is that all I had to do is jam a bunch of toothpicks into the power switch to hold it down, which made it so it does power on automatically.

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2006, 02:24:12 pm »
rubberpoultry: did you pick up one of these TV's by chance? Im going to Best Buy today to look and probably purchase one, digital tube (component) for 189.99 is a good deal and even if the quality isnt as good as some TV's it should still beat any s-video TV.

If anyone know hows to get into the Insignia service menus please do tell :)

Im not too worried about the power on after powerfailure feature, like AtomSmasher mentioned all you have to do is jam the power button in and presto, it will turn on everytime.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2006, 02:26:53 pm by jWin »

AgentX

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
  • Last login:September 07, 2010, 04:17:48 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2006, 07:25:20 pm »
I have this on ein my cab at home.

I can't answer to the other questions but picture quality is pretty solid for a TV.

rubberpoultry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:January 05, 2014, 09:32:36 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2006, 08:32:35 pm »
rubberpoultry: did you pick up one of these TV's by chance? Im going to Best Buy today to look and probably purchase one, digital tube (component) for 189.99 is a good deal and even if the quality isnt as good as some TV's it should still beat any s-video TV.

If anyone know hows to get into the Insignia service menus please do tell :)

Im not too worried about the power on after powerfailure feature, like AtomSmasher mentioned all you have to do is jam the power button in and presto, it will turn on everytime.

I don't know how to get into the service menu. I'll try to scour the web at some point to see what I can dig up. I haven't had time to take the TV out of the box yet. I'm waiting for all my parts to come in.

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2006, 12:19:21 am »
Picked up one of these TV's today, it does support power on after power failure(unplug) and also remembers to stay on component input.  Picture quality seems good, reds are a little bright but its like that with any TV I use with ATI -> component, just needs some adjusting.   Need to figure out how to get into the service menu to fix the overscan or fiddle with powerstrip.

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 12:38:28 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #11 on: December 07, 2006, 01:06:01 am »
Can you put a TV in 800x600 interlaced resolution when running over component input?  I hear everyone saying you have to use 640x480 for everything when using component.

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #12 on: December 07, 2006, 02:32:29 am »
As far as I know the max resolution is 640x480 interlaced, the optimal resolution is 640x432.

After much research I found the service menu, to access it you turn down the volume to 0 and then hold down the "Volume Down" button on the TV itself and hold down the "#9" button on the remote control for about 5 seconds and the screen will change to the service menu.  I corrected the overscan/underscan and tilt and the picture looks outstanding.   Heres a few photos, with component connection.

ArtMAME

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 670
  • Last login:January 26, 2017, 11:28:45 am
  • Hey where the ARCADE MACHINES at???
    • Art's Arcade Lab
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #13 on: December 07, 2006, 05:09:33 am »
Glad you got it working...  :cheers:

Have you tried any of the classics like Pacman or Donkey Kong? This is where the component inputs really shine   
:o :o
Nice and clear, not fuzzy like S-Video...
"Klaatu. .. Verada. ...... Necktie...Nectar...Nickel..."

Glaine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 563
  • Last login:April 24, 2013, 12:09:17 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #14 on: December 07, 2006, 09:57:02 am »
I've got 2 19" Insignias in my 2 cabs right now and generally like the pic quality.
Never had much luck with component, but S-Vid has always looked fine to me.
You CAN run things at 800x600, just know that in general the resolution will appear fuzzier. Things look a lot more crisp (especially MAME) at 640x480.

Thanks for posting this, but I haven't the space. I've already filled the guest room with old PC monitors, TVs, keyboards, power supplies, PC cases...  :)

Note: their 19" TV that has the speakers on the SIDES does not remember channel or power up when switched on. My 19" with the speakers UNDER the screen does though. I really should have checked this in the store but the workers always give me a hard time when I get under the displays and start unplugging things.  :D

rubberpoultry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:January 05, 2014, 09:32:36 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #15 on: December 07, 2006, 10:47:48 am »
As far as I know the max resolution is 640x480 interlaced, the optimal resolution is 640x432.

After much research I found the service menu, to access it you turn down the volume to 0 and then hold down the "Volume Down" button on the TV itself and hold down the "#9" button on the remote control for about 5 seconds and the screen will change to the service menu.  I corrected the overscan/underscan and tilt and the picture looks outstanding.   Heres a few photos, with component connection.


Awesome! Thanks for saving me the hassle of looking for that. What MAME and FE are you running?

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 12:38:28 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #16 on: December 07, 2006, 12:20:59 pm »
I've got 2 19" Insignias in my 2 cabs right now and generally like the pic quality.
Never had much luck with component, but S-Vid has always looked fine to me.

Agreed.  Mine is quite crisp using S-video, not sure why everyone is saying it's 'blurry'.  I think correct MAME video configuration makes the biggest difference in video quality.

Quote
You CAN run things at 800x600, just know that in general the resolution will appear fuzzier. Things look a lot more crisp (especially MAME) at 640x480.

Thx for the info, that's just what I needed.  I was a little curious why everyone says you must always use 640x480 using component since you can technically run an HD signal over component.  I run 800x600 over s-video and it IS blurry, but I need to be able to navigate around windows and many of the non-sizable system dialogs do not fit on a 640x480 screen.  Do you any of you using component inputs have Act Labs lightguns that you could try out with your TVs? 

Luljs1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Last login:March 15, 2016, 08:12:35 pm
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #17 on: December 07, 2006, 04:30:34 pm »
Looks like a good deal. Anyone have dimensions on it? How wide is it? I may just pick one up.

AtomSmasher

  • I'm happy to fly below Saint's radar
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3884
  • Last login:April 30, 2017, 06:14:11 pm
  • I'd rather be rich than stupid.
    • Atomic-Train
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #18 on: December 07, 2006, 05:09:32 pm »
Looks like a good deal. Anyone have dimensions on it? How wide is it? I may just pick one up.
It lists its specs on the Best Buy page.  Width is  25-3/5"

waldo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Last login:November 05, 2008, 01:44:00 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2006, 05:36:35 pm »
do best buy ship internationally lo, only brans we can get down here in NZ are the main stayers like sony,panasonic, pioneer -  sad puppy :(

side question, what does component input look like? is it the 4 rca style plugs?
« Last Edit: December 07, 2006, 05:40:42 pm by waldo »

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2006, 06:55:49 pm »
I dont think they ship internationally.   Component inputs look like 3 RCA connectors, the colors RED / GREEN / BLUE.

The only emulators I tried at the moment is MAME32, NeoMAME32, and Daphne(Dragon's Lair).   NeoMAME and MAME32 seem to act a little differently when filling up the screen, I havent figured out the best resolution settings yet for the software emulators.

Is there a guide to setting up the MAME video settings for a television?

TOK

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3604
  • Last login:May 22, 2018, 07:42:41 am
  • The Game Always Wins
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #21 on: December 07, 2006, 09:13:11 pm »
Agreed.  Mine is quite crisp using S-video, not sure why everyone is saying it's 'blurry'.  I think correct MAME video configuration makes the biggest difference in video quality.

I have both working on my machine. The difference with component is very obvious if you see the two back to back.
The colors are richer and brighter, and the edges are more defined. I had some initial setup issues too, and it the difference was what kept me going until I got it figured out.


mccoy178

  • It's hard to work with a straight jacket on
  • Trade Count: (+9)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3127
  • Last login:February 01, 2017, 12:22:39 pm
  • Go Bucks!
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #22 on: December 07, 2006, 09:17:12 pm »
Agreed.  Mine is quite crisp using S-video, not sure why everyone is saying it's 'blurry'.  I think correct MAME video configuration makes the biggest difference in video quality.

I have both working on my machine. The difference with component is very obvious if you see the two back to back.
The colors are richer and brighter, and the edges are more defined. I had some initial setup issues too, and it the difference was what kept me going until I got it figured out.



I agree with this completely.  It made a night and day difference on my cabinet.  I'm going to try the service menu option to adjust the overscan.  Not really that big of a deal, but it would help me with the Z26 emulator.

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #23 on: December 07, 2006, 10:40:44 pm »
Some other information about this particular TV,  Orion has this same TV in black, sold at walmart, model  Orion TVD2710.  The TV (Insignia/Orion) is actually a Toshiba as far as I can tell, the service menu code came from Toshiba.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2006, 10:42:27 pm by jWin »

rubberpoultry

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:January 05, 2014, 09:32:36 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #24 on: December 07, 2006, 10:48:04 pm »
I just added a new post about this TV. It's on sale at Wal-Mart for $179 right now.

ahofle

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4532
  • Last login:March 18, 2019, 12:38:28 am
    • Arcade Ambience Project
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #25 on: December 08, 2006, 11:35:24 am »
Agreed.  Mine is quite crisp using S-video, not sure why everyone is saying it's 'blurry'.  I think correct MAME video configuration makes the biggest difference in video quality.

I have both working on my machine. The difference with component is very obvious if you see the two back to back.
The colors are richer and brighter, and the edges are more defined. I had some initial setup issues too, and it the difference was what kept me going until I got it figured out.

I didn't mean to imply that component wasn't better.  I was simply stating that a crisp picture can be achieved with S-Video with proper video settings in MAME.  A new person reading these threads would incorrectly assume that S-video would always give them a blurry picture which is not the case.

waldo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
  • Last login:November 05, 2008, 01:44:00 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #26 on: December 10, 2006, 03:36:40 pm »
hmm do walmart ship internationally :) hehehe

Glaine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 563
  • Last login:April 24, 2013, 12:09:17 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #27 on: December 10, 2006, 10:56:07 pm »
Agreed.  Mine is quite crisp using S-video, not sure why everyone is saying it's 'blurry'.  I think correct MAME video configuration makes the biggest difference in video quality.

I have both working on my machine. The difference with component is very obvious if you see the two back to back.
The colors are richer and brighter, and the edges are more defined. I had some initial setup issues too, and it the difference was what kept me going until I got it figured out.



I agree with this completely.  It made a night and day difference on my cabinet.  I'm going to try the service menu option to adjust the overscan.  Not really that big of a deal, but it would help me with the Z26 emulator.

Interesting, I might have to look around for a good composite card to try, any suggestions? I tried composite on my RGB to NTSC PCB I bought from JROK and it didn't look nearly as good as S-Video for some reason (no clue why) so thats the main reason I hadn't tried it on PCs.

TOK

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3604
  • Last login:May 22, 2018, 07:42:41 am
  • The Game Always Wins
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #28 on: December 11, 2006, 07:27:39 am »
Glaine, I think that might just a confusion of terms, but composite and component are entirely different things. Composite video (single yellow RCA plug) will give a lower quality image than S-Video.

I used the ATI 9550 with the DVI to component converter. All ATI 95xx and up cards can use it. Not sure about cards from other manufacturers, but I found the ATI will support the 640x432 resolution that gives a non-overscanned component image without a helper app like Powerstrip.

Glaine

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 563
  • Last login:April 24, 2013, 12:09:17 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #29 on: December 11, 2006, 11:32:09 am »
Right, oops. I understand the difference but I still say the wrong one sometimes. Thanks.

Chunce DeLeone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
  • Last login:August 16, 2012, 02:58:11 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #30 on: December 19, 2006, 12:35:36 pm »
jWIn - How did you get full screen on the insignia,  I have the same setup you do but the screen is cropped with a one inch black border around it.  Did you have to use the service mode on the TV to do this?

Neilyboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 11:00:03 am
  • what day is it...
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #31 on: December 19, 2006, 12:47:26 pm »
ill have to look into this tv again.. its the one i wanted to begin with /me heads to store

Neil

Neilyboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 11:00:03 am
  • what day is it...
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #32 on: December 19, 2006, 12:49:57 pm »
crap now its back to 235 wonder why it went on sale a bit and now its back to original price.  oh well ill catch it next time i guess..

Neil

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #33 on: December 19, 2006, 09:44:21 pm »
Chunce DeLeone:  Yes I had to use the service menu, I have a perfect picture on mine at the moment, no over or underscan,  messing with the service menu will most likely mess up other stuff like cable tv, xbox, playstation, etc.  I only use the TV for my computer/arcade so its ok.

Neilyboy: could always check your local walmart for the Orion 27" version, it might be 180-200$.

Chunce DeLeone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
  • Last login:August 16, 2012, 02:58:11 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #34 on: December 20, 2006, 10:15:41 am »
I Bought mine for 235$, still think it is a good price, the picture is awsome,

Jwin - I also only use this TV for arcade purposes, I am afraid to get into service menu and mess around.  Would it be possible for you to tell me what you changed in the service menu and what numbers they are on now,  then I could just copy your service menu config, I know this would be a pain in the A##, Ex. H Size 68, V size 34 etc. etc.

Neilyboy

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 501
  • Last login:March 07, 2019, 11:00:03 am
  • what day is it...
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #35 on: December 20, 2006, 11:34:26 am »
im gonna pick one up for 235 next week. its the tv i was originally going to purchase and use and now youve just shown me in those pics that it is the one i need haha.. i myself am leary of the service menu but ill figure it out haha..
Thanks for the info so far the service menu trick will come in handy.

Neil

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #36 on: December 20, 2006, 12:14:16 pm »
Chunce DeLeone: It differs per TV, just write down the values it has and keep those values safe incase you want to revert back.  The options I messed with are between something like 04 and 08 on the remote, as well as 31 to 33.   It will not break your TV, so just play with it, after you record the default values.  Typing 39 on the remote will shut off the TV and save the values as well.

Chunce DeLeone

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
  • Last login:August 16, 2012, 02:58:11 pm
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #37 on: December 20, 2006, 01:21:36 pm »
Thanks Jwin,  I will do that .....when you say between 04 and 08 on the remote, do you mean that after I get into the service menu I press 04 and a certain option will come up to adjust? then press 05 and adjust that and so on and so on...?

jWin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 77
  • Last login:December 17, 2014, 01:50:10 am
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #38 on: December 20, 2006, 05:20:32 pm »
Yes that is correct, typing in numbers similiar to changing the channel is how you go through the menu options, and use the volume control to adjust the actual setting,  it starts from 00 and goes up to 39,  02 turns the screen into a thin line, just type another number to get out of it.


To add, this TV is very bright on default which makes the blacks look grey, in the normal menu (not service) I keep the brightness down to about 18 (Default 25)
« Last Edit: December 20, 2006, 05:23:39 pm by jWin »

tranq

  • - Banned -
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
  • Last login:January 11, 2007, 05:04:35 pm
  • - Banned -
Re: Best Buy 27" Insignia is on sale for $190 (down from $235)
« Reply #39 on: December 20, 2006, 09:27:26 pm »
.....isn't that stuff in the manual?