Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(  (Read 1265 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

*ShAgGy*

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Last login:August 30, 2008, 10:03:00 pm
  • I have a monkey
    • cool like stuff
SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« on: October 06, 2006, 12:36:12 am »
hey ho Arcadeareeno's!!
ive got myself a Street Fighter II Hyper Fight PCB
as u can see from the pics
we aint getting much pleasure from it
wats the prob? EEProm?
ive got pics of the board as well
love any help guys!!!!!

[edit] btw i have sound no problems at all
i can get all the way to the selection screen then after that
its nothing but blank stares!!
so in closing,
sound OK
picture Stuffed
then blank after selection screen

thanks guys

-*ShAgGy*
« Last Edit: October 06, 2006, 12:48:10 am by *ShAgGy* »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5807
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:03 am
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2006, 03:37:33 am »
have you checked all the voltages from the psu are o.k?

*ShAgGy*

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Last login:August 30, 2008, 10:03:00 pm
  • I have a monkey
    • cool like stuff
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2006, 12:00:38 pm »
urgh!? semi n00b
like ived used other boards and they work fine
like
Major Golf 2 and Outzone
does that hlep?

hypernova

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2753
  • Last login:November 25, 2016, 12:52:48 pm
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2006, 12:10:44 pm »
Like, um, no.  That didn't really answer his question, nor provide any more useful information.
I'll exercise patience when you stop exercising stupidity.
My zazzle page.  I've created T-shirts!

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5807
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:03 am
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2006, 12:44:49 pm »
i am sure you are interested in gaining some knowledge of fault finding
if so get yourself a multimeter and inform us when you are ready
yes you have a board fault,but some boards are more voltage tolerent than others-your fault could be low +5volts,bad board connections or i.c failure

Havok

  • Keeper of the __Blue_Stars___
  • Trade Count: (+17)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4505
  • Last login:December 26, 2018, 02:53:34 pm
  • No law or ordinance is mightier than understanding
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2006, 03:48:21 pm »
Those are scanlines. No problem found...

 :laugh2:

*ShAgGy*

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Last login:August 30, 2008, 10:03:00 pm
  • I have a monkey
    • cool like stuff
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2006, 08:49:22 pm »
no worries i'll check that out,
im only new when it comes to the PSU's or anything similar on these monkeys
so imma check it out,

does the problem yield fixable?

Timoe

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1662
  • Last login:July 14, 2009, 09:50:12 am
  • Team-Oh-tAy-Oh
    • Rattlin' Trash
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2006, 03:27:39 am »
no worries i'll check that out,
im only new when it comes to the PSU's or anything similar on these monkeys
so imma check it out,

does the problem yield fixable?

Yes, It might be something as simple as a chip that is not seated properly.

*ShAgGy*

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
  • Last login:August 30, 2008, 10:03:00 pm
  • I have a monkey
    • cool like stuff
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2006, 12:25:49 pm »
ok i have returned!

whipped out the ol multimeter and all things are fine

the thing i actually just noticed is,
no actual game sprites are displayed
as in selection screen and well as soon as the fight is suppose to appear
we get nothing ubt dead silence

played with a few chips and noticed the one next to number 19 was gettin hot
could be normal but again i dont know much in regards to PCB's
but i only fleetinging played with a few

any suggestions guys?

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5807
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:03 am
Re: SF II HF stuffed!!! :'(
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2006, 02:38:50 pm »
if the chip is too hot to touch then its more than likely dead but that usually only happens if you put the chip in back to front
is there any sign of spillage on the board anywhere?
if it were me i would reseat all the chips and boards first then read the +5volts on the edge connector(should be about 5.05 to 5.15)
just for information,today i had a daytona board showing a strange grid constantly.
i removed all the boards and washed them in a sink with washing up liquid and a paint brush then washed off with water and then used an air compressor to dry off,it worked a treat