Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: My CP layout  (Read 4455 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
My CP layout
« on: March 14, 2003, 01:18:18 am »
Just thought I'd toss out my CP layout and yes I do know that there aren't any 6+ button games for players 3 and 4.  I'm future proofing (and the like the uniformity of all the players looking the same.)  Anyway let me know what you think.  The only thing I'm trying to figure out is whether to go with 7 or 8 buttons.   ;D

Also I have to send out a thanks to JQ for supplying the character pics!

Anyway let me know what you think.

-Zinfari



« Last Edit: March 17, 2003, 11:17:54 pm by Zinfari »

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2003, 01:38:25 am »
I like it,Its pretty good looking  :) and very colorfull(I like colorfull stuff ;D)

1 thing bothering me though..that 4th button on the top row..thats for what?Neo geo?.

Other then that,GOOD JOB !  :)

And you should go with the second art,you know...play mortal kombat. ;)
« Last Edit: March 14, 2003, 01:40:03 am by SNAAAKE »

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2003, 01:42:30 am »
Thanks Snaaake and yea it did take more than 5 minutes.   ;)  

I'm leaning towards the 8 button... I also have another 7 button that has the MK layout.  The 8th button really serves 2 purposes.

1.  NeoGeo layout is easy
2.  If for some reason I ever decide to try to put a console in as well, as most of them have 8 button controllers.  (may not be practical, but hey this is about me right)  :P

-Zinfari

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2003, 01:45:09 am »
Thanks Snaaake and yea it did take more than 5 minutes.   ;)  

I'm leaning towards the 8 button... I also have another 7 button that has the MK layout.  The 8th button really serves 2 purposes.

1.  NeoGeo layout is easy
2.  If for some reason I ever decide to try to put a console in as well, as most of them have 8 button controllers.  (may not be practical, but hey this is about me right)  :P

-Zinfari
Yeah playing neo geo games would be little better..and there might be some console game that uses 8 buttons all the way.who knows what capcom is cooking now a days(ya never know ;D)?

DeathMonk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 362
  • Last login:April 03, 2015, 02:01:12 pm
    • MameStation.3
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2003, 10:01:32 am »
Looks nice...  But you have to consider is that 4 player games didn't usually use more than 2-3 buttons (someone correct me if im wrong!)..  So the 3rd and 4th player setup would kind of be a waste..  Also, personally, if I did a 4 player cp, I would make more room for the 1 and 2 players since you will probably playing those types of games more..  Not unless you have to have everything evenly spaced  :)


Now with cup beer holders!

Brax

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1427
  • Last login:January 06, 2009, 09:03:48 am
  • Bring on the power tools!
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2003, 10:32:38 am »
Looks really nice. I think it'll work out fine. Reminds me of Gauntlet.

I'm feeling warm and fuzzy!
Uh oh, better get the blue ointment out again.
If you build a frankenpanel, chances are I don't care for you as a person.

Dr. J

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 112
  • Last login:November 26, 2004, 05:53:01 pm
    • DrJsArcade Cabinet
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2003, 04:15:59 pm »
     I like the second one better, and if you do that you may not need the 4th button on the top row.  You could use the bottom row of 3 plus that "run" button for neogeo games.  
     
     I'm guessing your planning on n64 emulation (super smash brothers!) or something in addition to mame.  If you're only running Mame though, it only needs a max of 4 buttons for players 3 and 4 plus additional start buttons for the Dungeons and Dragons games.  That will save you some space on the cp.  
   
 You may want to scrap the labeling of players 1, 2, 3, and 4.  Some games like TMNT have it so Player 1 is always the furthest left, though I guess you chould change that by remapping the coin buttons within mame for that individual game.  The Simpsons is like that as well (another konami game).  

     I like the color separation, but I have an additional idea/suggestion.  Perhaps in photoshop you could enlarge each players graphic (mario) and make it transparent, and saturated with that players color.  So for player1 there would be a large reddish transparent mario filling that section of the cp.  Just throwing that idea in for you.
 
  Looks good.  -Jay

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2003, 04:36:07 pm »
Looks nice...  But you have to consider is that 4 player games didn't usually use more than 2-3 buttons (someone correct me if im wrong!)..  So the 3rd and 4th player setup would kind of be a waste..  Also, personally, if I did a 4 player cp, I would make more room for the 1 and 2 players since you will probably playing those types of games more..  Not unless you have to have everything evenly spaced  :)

Its for future console games..

Like you know,if you wanna play 3 players sfa3 then you CAN ! ;D.

Like how we used to play..me alone against my 2 brothers(dreamcast version of course).

Its really fun !I won most of the time even though I am fighting 2 people at once(yes I know I rule when it comes to any street fighter :o).

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2003, 11:21:58 pm »
DJ good call on the 1-4 player thing... hadn't really thought about it.  I'll either pull the text or replace it with something else that isn't player specifig.  Also means that I need to replace my 1-4 player white buttons I had been planning on useing... hmmm....

I think I'm going to keep all 8 buttons at this point.  Mainly because I like them, I have room and hopefully it future proofs me a bit (at least that's what I"m hoping  :D)

As far as the large transparent images... I tried it out and it looks pretty good, but I just don't have high enough res pictures to pull it off.  I have to scale the images about 500% and they are just to grainy when scaled that far.  I'll post them later when I get a chance so you can see what they look like.

Keep the comments coming!

Thanks,
-Zinfari

SirPoonga

  • Puck'em Up
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8176
  • Last login:September 05, 2017, 09:45:52 am
  • The Bears Still Suck!
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #9 on: March 15, 2003, 01:59:24 am »
I have a hack on my site for mame that will "sense" pnumber of players and you can remap accordingly.

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #10 on: March 15, 2003, 02:08:17 am »
Hadn't even thought of that.... makes me wonder what else I haven't thought of.

Thanks SirPoonga those will definately make things easier.

-Zinfari

radiator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 347
  • Last login:April 18, 2013, 07:14:43 pm
  • SFA OK!
    • :: verticalcircle ::
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2003, 03:09:25 pm »
as everyone has already said - good CP, the whole multi-colour thing is nice...

...but what is the graphic next to player 4?

player 1 = Mario
player 2 = Megaman
player 3 = Pcaman
player 4 = drunk purple fish?
When the Germans bombed the British, the British ducked.
When the British bombed the Germans, the Germans ducked.
When the Americans started bombing, everyone ducked!

radiator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 347
  • Last login:April 18, 2013, 07:14:43 pm
  • SFA OK!
    • :: verticalcircle ::
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2003, 03:12:39 pm »
ah, stupid me not thinking when i looked at it...it's obvious now

red = mario
blue = megaman
yellow = pacman
green = frogger

been at work for 12 hours...brain no worky
When the Germans bombed the British, the British ducked.
When the British bombed the Germans, the Germans ducked.
When the Americans started bombing, everyone ducked!

Brax

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1427
  • Last login:January 06, 2009, 09:03:48 am
  • Bring on the power tools!
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2003, 09:44:24 am »
as everyone has already said - good CP, the whole multi-colour thing is nice...

...but what is the graphic next to player 4?

player 1 = Mario
player 2 = Megaman
player 3 = Pcaman
player 4 = drunk purple fish?

PURPLE?

Where do you work in a nuclear power plant? hehe That brain needs some rest! ;)
If you build a frankenpanel, chances are I don't care for you as a person.

radiator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 347
  • Last login:April 18, 2013, 07:14:43 pm
  • SFA OK!
    • :: verticalcircle ::
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2003, 01:46:38 pm »
mabye it's my eyes, or my monitor, or that stick of plutonium i keep next to my keyboard, but froggers chest looks kinda purple...

 :P
When the Germans bombed the British, the British ducked.
When the British bombed the Germans, the Germans ducked.
When the Americans started bombing, everyone ducked!

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #15 on: March 16, 2003, 01:50:20 pm »
mabye it's my eyes, or my monitor, or that stick of plutonium i keep next to my keyboard, but froggers chest looks kinda purple...

 :P
Have you been smokin weed again? LOL !
Frogger's chest look white and his mouth(inside) looks VERY little purple.

Again,I know you are working hard. :P

Happend to me once.
Thorn posted something about his cabinet and I thought it was Howard casto because same avater and I was bashing him around with "this isnt even your cabinet Howard".
Because I worked like over 16 hours that day.
WASNT FUNNY AT ALL  :P :-X

« Last Edit: March 16, 2003, 01:55:53 pm by SNAAAKE »

radiator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 347
  • Last login:April 18, 2013, 07:14:43 pm
  • SFA OK!
    • :: verticalcircle ::
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #16 on: March 16, 2003, 02:01:04 pm »
my monitor obviously need adjusting...doesn't look white

 :P
When the Germans bombed the British, the British ducked.
When the British bombed the Germans, the Germans ducked.
When the Americans started bombing, everyone ducked!

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #17 on: March 17, 2003, 02:41:26 pm »
Thanks for the reply folks... I have one more question for the Adobe Illustrator folks out ther (I'll probably post to the main forum as well, but thought I'd try here first.)  

Anyway anyone know how you setup dimensions in Adobe.  Apparently (and after you think about it it makes sence) pixels and dpi are different.  So I'm creating my CP overlay and using 150 pixels per inch for my drawing.  When I go to print it's about 4 times larger than than I think it is.  (really dont need a 16' CP  ;D)  Anyone know how to set up printing so 150 pixels = 1 inch?

Thanks,
-Zinfari

radiator

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 347
  • Last login:April 18, 2013, 07:14:43 pm
  • SFA OK!
    • :: verticalcircle ::
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #18 on: March 17, 2003, 06:55:52 pm »
not sure about illustrator, i don't really use it, but couldn't you import the image into photoshop and change the dimensions?

you can enter the dots-per-inch figure and setup the actual print size...

just a thought

 :P
When the Germans bombed the British, the British ducked.
When the British bombed the Germans, the Germans ducked.
When the Americans started bombing, everyone ducked!

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #19 on: March 17, 2003, 11:28:56 pm »
I just updated the pics up top to reflect some of the suggestions.  What do folks think of the Mario/MegaMan/Pacman/Frogger text?  Also how does it look if I go with 7 menu buttons instead of 5?  Less is better, but I don't want to get into a situation where I need more than I thought I did.

Anyway I'm headed to the printer probably tomorrow or Wednesday so if anyone has any other suggestions bring'em on!

Thanks all
-Zinfari

P.S. As promised here's Dr. J's request... it looks cool, but I just don't have hi enough res photos of the chars to pull it off.  Looks nice this size though... enjoy.



And I couldn't resist showing off my 4 player coin door... color coded to match!


And the latest picture... just waiting of the CP.....
« Last Edit: March 18, 2003, 12:05:23 am by Zinfari »

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #20 on: March 18, 2003, 01:49:26 am »
woooooooo...I LIKE IT !  ::)

Its pretty good looking so far.
the top part looks very similer to mamestation 2 cabinet.

Do I see a d9200 monitor up there :D?

SirPoonga

  • Puck'em Up
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8176
  • Last login:September 05, 2017, 09:45:52 am
  • The Bears Still Suck!
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #21 on: March 18, 2003, 06:57:54 pm »
Hadn't even thought of that.... makes me wonder what else I haven't thought of.

Thanks SirPoonga those will definately make things easier.

-Zinfari


Hope you don't mind rolling your own mame.
It's pretty easy to use.  Learn how to use ctrlr files.  Setup default so  the players are in this order:
3124
Then make a player3.ini and player4.ini file with mappings to make it
1234

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2003, 03:15:16 pm »
Well... the CP is pretty much done.  Have a look.  I ended up having the resolution to do the big chars after all (a bit of a mix up on my part on what res I was working in.)






-Zinfari
« Last Edit: March 24, 2003, 03:17:50 pm by Zinfari »

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2003, 04:04:23 pm »
Very nice man !

How much was your print though..I am guessing atleast over $50 right? :(


Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2003, 04:19:10 pm »
$70  :-[ ..... $8.5/sq ft (2' x 4'=8' sq ft).  Almost printed it out on my 8.5x11 color printer....

-Zinfari
« Last Edit: March 24, 2003, 04:21:25 pm by Zinfari »

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #25 on: March 25, 2003, 11:50:52 am »
Any now my marquee... this is pass one.  Let me know what you think.  I'm still looking for a better font to use...



-Zinfari
« Last Edit: March 26, 2003, 06:36:46 pm by Zinfari »

DeathMonk

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 362
  • Last login:April 03, 2015, 02:01:12 pm
    • MameStation.3
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #26 on: March 25, 2003, 02:34:59 pm »
The CP turned out a lot nicer than I thought!  Nice job.


Now with cup beer holders!

Nailz

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 571
  • Last login:April 23, 2014, 08:55:03 pm
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #27 on: March 25, 2003, 06:08:48 pm »
Wow, the CP and the marquee are very sweet indeed, I like them a lot!

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #28 on: March 26, 2003, 06:37:29 pm »
Just updated my Marquee drawing above.  Let me know what you all think.

Thanks,
-Zinfari

Brax

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1427
  • Last login:January 06, 2009, 09:03:48 am
  • Bring on the power tools!
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #29 on: March 27, 2003, 06:14:29 am »
Just updated my Marquee drawing above.  Let me know what you all think.

Thanks,
-Zinfari
Right track, keep goin! Bolder Yet!
Thicker, wider. How about a font with a white border around it?
If you build a frankenpanel, chances are I don't care for you as a person.

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #30 on: March 28, 2003, 12:30:06 am »
I'll give it a shot Brax, just having a hard time finding a font I like.  Might just have to go on a font search...

-Zinfari

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #31 on: March 28, 2003, 12:35:18 am »
I'll give it a shot Brax, just having a hard time finding a font I like.  Might just have to go on a font search...

-Zinfari

http://www.acidfonts.com/

This place has tons of fonts..might wanna try 8).


Brax

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1427
  • Last login:January 06, 2009, 09:03:48 am
  • Bring on the power tools!
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #32 on: March 28, 2003, 08:03:40 am »
I would have your font take up 1/3 of the marquee. I would have it on top of the Space Invaders (since there's lots of them and you could still tell they're there) and your other characters could be in front of the title slightly. I don't think you'd have a problem reading it at all and it would be a nice effect (much like many magazines have pictures overlapping their title sometimes.)
If you build a frankenpanel, chances are I don't care for you as a person.

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #33 on: March 28, 2003, 04:43:58 pm »
More updates to my marquee....what do you think?



-Zinfari

SNAAAKE

  • -Banned-
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3147
  • Last login:July 21, 2004, 03:44:18 am
  • Banned for abusive postings.
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #34 on: March 28, 2003, 06:12:25 pm »
This one is better then the other one if you ask me..the font made a difference.

You could just you know..make the glowing effect around the edges of the writing "Game on...".

You know...since all the marques are like that..other then that..everything looks nice.  :)

Brax

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1427
  • Last login:January 06, 2009, 09:03:48 am
  • Bring on the power tools!
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #35 on: March 28, 2003, 08:18:31 pm »
The size of the font and the characters slightly in front have made a world of difference.
Damn I'm good! ha!

Nice work.
If you build a frankenpanel, chances are I don't care for you as a person.

mkdevo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 130
  • Last login:May 24, 2011, 05:04:43 pm
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #36 on: March 31, 2003, 11:22:13 am »
yup, the latest one is definitely the best!

BASSOFeeSH

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 255
  • Last login:May 29, 2009, 12:46:42 am
  • TD-2779
    • Trooper Armor
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #37 on: April 01, 2003, 12:14:04 pm »
 :o

Extreme envy on my part.  

And what a clean wiring job!

Zinfari

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
  • Last login:August 15, 2007, 10:43:59 am
Re:My CP layout
« Reply #38 on: April 01, 2003, 05:05:06 pm »
Thanks folks... and yea Brax I have to give you credit, thanks for the input.

-Zinfari