Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Wells K4500  (Read 1446 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Wells K4500
« on: April 03, 2006, 06:40:27 pm »
So I finally did the cap kit on my wells k4500 in my galaxian machine and now it doesnt work. I cvan hear the monitor "running" but I dont get a picture.. I'm fairly certain I reconnected everything. I may end up pulling the boards off the monitor again and double checking. But I have no idea where to start looking for the problem.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5809
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:21:27 am
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2006, 06:47:29 pm »
sometimes when you change the caps your picture will go dark,first turn up your screen volts on the lopti to see if you have any sort of picture(also look for an orange glow from the tube neck)

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2006, 06:52:26 pm »
no glow from the neck

"lopti"?

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5809
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:21:27 am
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2006, 06:58:23 pm »
loads of stuff,fuse,h.o.t,caps,lopti,dry joint,broken track-what was your original fault?

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2006, 06:59:39 pm »
Screen was blurry and dim, but it did work.
Fuse is ok.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5809
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:21:27 am
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2006, 07:05:48 pm »
blurry and dim denotes a lopti fault,but as your fault has changed you should retrace your steps-look for bad/broken tracks,check your values and polarity of your caps also all your plug/connections-in the end its gonna be something that you have done during the recapping process,oh and double check your neck card and pins

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2006, 07:08:06 pm »
I'm not familair with the term "lopti"
I was thinking it was somthig I did, but the problem is WHAT lol.
I'll retrace my steps and see what I can come up with.

What should I check for on the neck card?

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+23)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12944
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:57:14 pm
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2006, 07:11:02 pm »
Darn weirdos and their 'lopti'.

He means flyback.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5809
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:21:27 am
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2006, 07:19:54 pm »
o.k then flyback transformer,we're not wierd YOU ARE. :cheers:,ON THE NECK CARD check for bent pins(tube itself) and broken track-do you get any noise from the chassis like a ticking or a buzz
« Last Edit: April 03, 2006, 07:23:26 pm by grantspain »

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2006, 07:25:33 pm »
i hear buzzing.
the pins are slightly bent on the neck.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5809
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:21:27 am
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2006, 05:56:00 am »
i reckon you have a bad piece of track on one the caps you changed,your gonna have to get a meter out and check continuity on all areas you worked on,have you turned up your screen volts pot on the FLYBACK yet,when i was talking about pins i mean't the pins on the tube itself.Line Output Transformer=lopti or loptx

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2006, 03:45:25 pm »
I turned the black level pot all the way the other way and now I get a pink screen with vertical lines that keep flashing back and forth.


grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5809
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:21:27 am
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #12 on: April 04, 2006, 04:34:16 pm »
well your monitor works,its just a problem with signal or adjustments,you need to check your contrast controls as well as the screen volts,and check your signal cable is good/plugged in correctly

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #13 on: April 04, 2006, 06:06:52 pm »
Finally got it working. I tweaked the black level some more and i now have a picture but I can't seem to get the vertical hold set now.... More tweaking another day i guess. Thanks for all your help. I have alot more confidence in myself now.  :)

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #14 on: April 09, 2006, 03:58:06 pm »
I still cant get the vertical hold to stay. I can get it to stay for a few min then it starts to roll again.
I tried spray cleaner on the pot but that didn't help. Any ideas?

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5809
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:21:27 am
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2006, 05:39:33 pm »
check your caps values are correct,if it locked before you capped it then its likely to be something you did

cw

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 771
  • Last login:May 25, 2019, 05:04:14 pm
  • Game over man game over
    • The Cab
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2006, 07:28:52 pm »
sync

20eyes

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 54
  • Last login:July 01, 2009, 05:41:10 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Wells K4500
« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2006, 10:06:03 am »
sync

I just checked my randy fromm book and you are exactly correct. Thanks!