Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: PCB from schematic  (Read 9491 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pdco_arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:13:07 pm
  • Nothing for now.
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #80 on: November 03, 2023, 04:17:19 pm »
Yes, great job to get all the PCB working OK.
I had been wondering since the schematic(s) had been floating around the 'net so long had anyone actually constructed a PCB and that it really worked.

To make the changes your requested would be easiest if Mourix could do the work with the CAD original files.

For me would need to create the project from scratch.
Or maybe my CAD tools could import the native files from the CAD tool used by Mourix if he could send them.
Available to me are OrCAD Capture and OrCAD / Allegro PCB Editor.
Looks like Mourix possibly uses Altium tools.  Not sure I can import those formats.  Can try though.
Might take a week or so to fit it in.
How long to wait for Mourix to comment?
Ever think about using surface mount components?  All you need is a toaster oven.  And magnifier! And tweezers.

Your customized control looks nice.

Something to consider about the LED's in the buttons - be mindful of the current needed to illuminate them.
I do not know how much current is available however the controller port voltage supply might not have sufficient output to drive all the LED.
Figure 10ma / LED is not crazy.  So 60ma draw on the game controller port might be too much.
The controllers themselves do use CMOS logic components.  Just because is the way it was done or to keep the loading on the controller port supply pin to minimum?

pdco_arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:13:07 pm
  • Nothing for now.
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #81 on: November 03, 2023, 10:48:31 pm »
Forgot to ask - what is the series of JST connector are you using.  JST manufactures a lot of them.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10808
  • Last login:Today at 09:26:28 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #82 on: November 03, 2023, 11:13:20 pm »
XH 2.54mm, ordered from here.

https://www.aliexpress.us/item/3256803220110303.html

Iíve private messaged mourix here and found him on LinkedInÖ. Címon, bro.

 :cheers:

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 263
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:11 am
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #83 on: November 04, 2023, 02:32:02 pm »
Hey guys, I've been offline for a bit due to some adulting had to deal with. Sorry bout that.

It's amazing that pdco_arcade stepped in and found my net label mistake. And the stick looks so nice too!

I'll fix the bug, add the connector pad and upload the source files for good measure ;)

pdco_arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:13:07 pm
  • Nothing for now.

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 263
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:11 am
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #85 on: November 05, 2023, 08:43:12 am »
Update..I fixed the SEL bug and have attached all the Altium source files for this projects as well.

The JST NH connectors won't fit unless we go beyond the pretty 5x5cm PCB size. Is that something you want, PBJ?

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10808
  • Last login:Today at 09:26:28 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #86 on: November 05, 2023, 03:40:48 pm »
My hands arenít steady enough to manually pin a tiny 15 pin connector.  Itís current year, letís do something more accessible.

Iím good with a slight expansion of PCB size for easier soldering.  Iím in so deep at this point that all reason has left the building. 

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10808
  • Last login:Today at 09:26:28 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #87 on: November 08, 2023, 05:23:29 pm »
I also wanted to point out that the donor joystick I used is down to $21 shipped on Ebay now.  I think it would be impossible to assemble anything cheaper than this.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/385364892973

I ordered some regular size 8 Pin DIN connectors, so now I can make these for TurboGrafx 16 or make PCE -> TG16 adapters. (or I guess go the other way if one is crazy enough)

 :cheers:

 

mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 263
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:11 am
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #88 on: November 11, 2023, 05:40:26 pm »
Too bad shipping that stick to the Netherlands is like 25 bucks.. But to continue the party, here is a slightly larger rev B that adds JST connectors all over the wazoo:



Is it possible for pdco_arcade to do a quick review? I might have done parts of this project over beers.... :cheers:
« Last Edit: November 11, 2023, 05:50:31 pm by mourix »

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10808
  • Last login:Today at 09:26:28 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #89 on: November 13, 2023, 06:48:39 pm »
Oh man, that's the stuff.  Nice work. 

I've assembled a couple PC Engine -> TG 16 controller adapters.  Since my after market controller is really TG-16 and came with a PC Engine adapter, I can now daisy chain two adapters to test everything out.

I'm happy to report I actually remembered to put the boot on the cable the second go around.  First one I had to cut the boot, slide it over, tape it back together.

I also found that with my high tech wiring diagram (in background) and a rough idea of which color wire is which, it's easier to just solder 1-4, 8, and then 5-7.  I buzz out continuity on each wire right before I solder it.  Much quicker than trying to label them first.  It's just 8 wires, bro.

Anyway, point being that if anyone is interested in one of these things, I can now assemble it either way.



pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10808
  • Last login:Today at 09:26:28 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #90 on: November 14, 2023, 06:42:22 pm »
So this is pretty much 100% done.  I'll make some overlays for the artwork to clarify what the buttons do, but this is functionally complete.




Here's the final layout I went with.  Decided to use that fifth toggle switch to control button III - it can be either a III or I.  Might make a few 2 button games more comfortable.  Putting Run and Select as redundant inputs at the bottom means you can more easily play the '3 button' games like Bloody Wolf and Forgotten Worlds.


 


Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13988
  • Last login:November 29, 2023, 06:49:24 pm
  • Have you played with my GingerBalls?
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #91 on: November 20, 2023, 08:10:01 pm »
I can make art, just need templates.  Im better at it than you anyway.
If you're replying to a troll you are part of the problem.
I also need to follow this advice. Ignore or report, don't reply.

pdco_arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:13:07 pm
  • Nothing for now.
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #92 on: November 21, 2023, 07:11:41 pm »
Sorry, have not been keeping up with the project.  Took a look at REV B from mourix.  Looks OK to me.  Really I just checked what changed from the previous version.  I can a deeper look in the next days.  The real test will be for pbj to get some pcb's fabricated, assembled and tested.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10808
  • Last login:Today at 09:26:28 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #93 on: November 21, 2023, 09:26:38 pm »
If you take the deeper look, I will have the boards made.

 :cheers:

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10808
  • Last login:Today at 09:26:28 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #94 on: November 29, 2023, 06:58:09 pm »
I went ahead and ordered 10 pcbs.  Why not?  Iím in so deep itís beyond any realm of reason.


mourix

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 263
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:52:11 am
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #95 on: November 30, 2023, 02:21:18 pm »
Awesome!
I so badly want to follow your insane footsteps but my gf quit her job this summer so she could finish her studies..:banghead:

pdco_arcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
  • Last login:Yesterday at 05:13:07 pm
  • Nothing for now.
Re: PCB from schematic
« Reply #96 on: December 01, 2023, 06:47:59 am »
Looked like the PCB should work.  One point is the pin out / pin positions used for the connectors is backwards when compared to the connector datasheet.  I mean the PCB connector pin #1 is at the opposite end of the connector from where the datasheet shows pin #1.  I tried to show this in the attached PDF which is part pf the complete connector datasheet.  Compare the connector orientation shown on the datasheet with the PCB picture mourix posted above.

That is how it looks to me. Other opinions welcome.

The PCB should work OK like this just need to keep the pin position designations  in mind when wiring the connectors.  If the pin positions are used like shown on the schematic ( pin #1, #2, etc. ) then all should be OK however if pin positions are referenced to the connector datasheet then thing will not be wired and function as expected.