Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up Try the site in https mode Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Discharging my Wells Gardner Monitor  (Read 725 times)

trenish

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:April 21, 2023, 11:21:59 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Discharging my Wells Gardner Monitor
« on: April 07, 2023, 10:34:23 pm »
Hey guys, total CRT noob here.  I followed the instructions found on various YouTube videos to discharge the monitor but got no pop.  I tried using the 2 huge brackets that protrude from the back of the monitor from top to bottom thinking they are a good ground point.  I also tried going to a wall outlet's ground pin, still nothing.  So I removed the anode cup from the tube without incident.  I followed the attempting grounding of both the cap and the exposed CRT hole once again and got nothing.

Being totally paranoid here with a question: am I good to go in safely removing the monitor?  I'm changing it out to an LCD because there's something about seeing CRT up close that causes me migraines :|

trenish

• Offline Offline
Re: Discharging my Wells Gardner Monitor
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2023, 10:35:48 pm »
FWIW, I'll be selling it as a local purchase (SF Bay Area) once it's out.  I don't want to make the attempt to ship it.  Again, maybe that's paranoia speaking...

buttersoft

• Trade Count: (+1)
  • Offline Offline
  • Last login:May 13, 2024, 07:03:28 am
  • Is running at 15kHz