Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!  (Read 907 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« on: August 03, 2019, 06:00:57 am »
I managed to get a stretched LCD from eBay for £120 (delivered) and it arrived yesterday.

I messed around with BigBox last night and got it working on a few games... very very very excited ....

Still a loooong way away from building my cab but this has really got me excited. Now I have the dimensions I can hopefully get the design finalised next week.

:-)

J_K_M_A_N

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 827
  • Last login:Today at 03:43:39 pm
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2019, 07:33:14 am »
Those are SO cool. I really want one. Congrats.  :applaud:

J_K_M_A_N

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2019, 07:46:50 am »
Those are SO cool. I really want one. Congrats.  :applaud:

J_K_M_A_N

Thanks matey!

I've said to the guy who sold it me that if he gets any more in to let me know and I'll post them on here for him. The one I got came from Gatwick airport apparently.

Cheers :-)

markc74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 720
  • Last login:Yesterday at 02:08:13 am
  • Trademarking 2Up. I'll be RICH. Bwah-ha-ha
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137295.0.html
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2019, 01:08:05 pm »
Nice  ;D

Now the fun of chasing up missing marquees...

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2019, 01:30:00 pm »
Nice  ;D

Now the fun of chasing up missing marquees...

Ha ha!! Yep, already posted on the LaunchBox forums. Half the pleasure of this hobby for me is the OCD of collecting the images :-)

mimic

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 705
  • Last login:September 09, 2019, 11:03:15 pm
  • The Original TRUE Gamer
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2019, 04:26:01 pm »
Nice  ;D

Now the fun of chasing up missing marquees...

I'd think generic MAME marquee should do. Or even just getting the name from the HyperSpin name set on white background should be plenty good.

negative1

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 515
  • Last login:Today at 03:47:25 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2019, 12:13:50 am »
Looks good, but very expensive.

I went with a much cheaper route: US $50 for the adapter, the monitor, and cables
option number 6
==================================
LCD

17.1 inch 1440x900 res $14-$20 + $20 converter + $8 power = $50 HDMI
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,159201.0.html



Also some other options:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,153060.0.html

later
-1

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17680
  • Last login:Today at 01:36:30 am
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2019, 01:15:49 am »
Except real arcade cabinets aren't 17 inches wide, they are around 23-24 inches wide.  According to your own chart that's 300-1000 bucks, so this actually comes out cheaper. 

But hey thanks for playing and don't worry, for being such a good sport you'll go home with a copy of our home game along with a year's supply of rice-a-roni, the San Francisco treat!

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2019, 03:20:08 am »
Looks good, but very expensive.

I went with a much cheaper route: US $50 for the adapter, the monitor, and cables
option number 6
==================================
LCD

17.1 inch 1440x900 res $14-$20 + $20 converter + $8 power = $50 HDMI
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,159201.0.html



Also some other options:
http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,153060.0.html

later
-1

Yes, I did look at all those options as well. To get these screen brand new was coming out at hundreds of pounds so probably wouldn't have shelled out that much. But for £120 it was a no-brainer for me. Your solution is superb though and much easier to fix/replace if it goes wrong.


Beretta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 753
  • Last login:September 13, 2019, 02:30:16 am
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2019, 02:23:36 am »
whoa.. these are a thing? I always though this would be a cool idea.. but ouch the price..

very neat though.
Anyone got change for a dollar?
PLEASE HELP NEED Fastmame .70 and .9* releases

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2019, 04:06:46 am »
whoa.. these are a thing? I always though this would be a cool idea.. but ouch the price..

very neat though.

Yep they're not cheap but I think £100 is worth it.

I can email the guy and see if he has any left if you're interested?

He had quite a few to sell when I bought mine.

Cheers :-)

shaolindrunkard

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 530
  • Last login:September 10, 2019, 04:17:05 pm

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5496
  • Last login:Today at 03:27:14 pm
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2019, 04:19:38 pm »
@uptown47

What are the specs of that LCD?  Resolution, etc?


uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #13 on: September 10, 2019, 04:50:08 pm »
@uptown47

What are the specs of that LCD?  Resolution, etc?

Hi mate

It's a litemax.com one.

Model: SSD2815-ENB-G02

I'm not sure of the resolution but hopefully a Google search on that model will give you the details. If not, let me know and I'll power it up tomorrow when I'm home from work (just sat in bed at the mo!) and let you know what the computer says the resolution is.

Cheers :-)

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8755
  • Last login:Today at 05:18:01 pm
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2019, 04:57:19 pm »
$150?  Man.  These things are creeping down to temptation territory.

This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #15 on: September 10, 2019, 05:00:23 pm »
$150?  Man.  These things are creeping down to temptation territory.

Yep, those were my thoughts too. I want to build an 'ultimate' (for my needs) can and I think a dynamic marquee really adds a bit of shazam to them! :-)

opt2not

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5496
  • Last login:Today at 03:27:14 pm
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2019, 05:43:00 pm »
@uptown47

What are the specs of that LCD?  Resolution, etc?

Hi mate

It's a litemax.com one.

Model: SSD2815-ENB-G02

I'm not sure of the resolution but hopefully a Google search on that model will give you the details. If not, let me know and I'll power it up tomorrow when I'm home from work (just sat in bed at the mo!) and let you know what the computer says the resolution is.

Cheers :-)

Found some info:

Model No. SSD2815   
Description 28”Resizing LCD, 1000nits LED backlight, 1366x256
Display Area 697.68x130.7mm
Brightness 1,000cd/m2
Resolution 1366x256
Aspect Ratio 16:3
Contrast Ratio 2500:1
Pixel Pitch (mm) 0.51075x0.51075
Viewing Angle 176°(H),176°(V)
Display Colors 16.7M
Response Time (Typical) 6.5ms
Sync LVDS
Power Consumption 28W
Dimensions (mm) 740.2x167.2x56
Weight (Net) 7.2kg(1/pcpacking),13.5kg(2/pcspacking)

What control board do you have?  It looks like there are 2 types, one that takes VGA+DVI and the other that takes VGA+DVI and optional AV/S-Video/Component.

Also, it has a 70,000 hr life expectancy.  That's about 8.5 years!

Yeah, I'm with pbj.  This is getting really tempting now as a build option.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2019, 05:44:50 pm by opt2not »

gingecko

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 114
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:36:03 pm
  • I'm working on it!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #17 on: September 10, 2019, 06:31:39 pm »
Damn, that's sweet. Would've saved me quite a bit of work of figuring out how to get the marquee setup too.

Beretta

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 753
  • Last login:September 13, 2019, 02:30:16 am
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2019, 01:55:07 am »

Yep they're not cheap but I think £100 is worth it.

I can email the guy and see if he has any left if you're interested?

Im working on something but this is out of the budget, and the projects I'd be willing to spend the money like this on would need bigger like 26-28in I think.

But thank you for the offer.

Now that I know they do exist I'll keep it in mind though cause this is really the ultimate marquee setup imo.
Anyone got change for a dollar?
PLEASE HELP NEED Fastmame .70 and .9* releases

uptown47

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 75
  • Last login:Today at 08:58:02 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2019, 02:09:10 am »
@uptown47

What are the specs of that LCD?  Resolution, etc?

Hi mate

It's a litemax.com one.

Model: SSD2815-ENB-G02

I'm not sure of the resolution but hopefully a Google search on that model will give you the details. If not, let me know and I'll power it up tomorrow when I'm home from work (just sat in bed at the mo!) and let you know what the computer says the resolution is.

Cheers :-)

Found some info:

Model No. SSD2815   
Description 28”Resizing LCD, 1000nits LED backlight, 1366x256
Display Area 697.68x130.7mm
Brightness 1,000cd/m2
Resolution 1366x256
Aspect Ratio 16:3
Contrast Ratio 2500:1
Pixel Pitch (mm) 0.51075x0.51075
Viewing Angle 176°(H),176°(V)
Display Colors 16.7M
Response Time (Typical) 6.5ms
Sync LVDS
Power Consumption 28W
Dimensions (mm) 740.2x167.2x56
Weight (Net) 7.2kg(1/pcpacking),13.5kg(2/pcspacking)

What control board do you have?  It looks like there are 2 types, one that takes VGA+DVI and the other that takes VGA+DVI and optional AV/S-Video/Component.

Also, it has a 70,000 hr life expectancy.  That's about 8.5 years!

Yeah, I'm with pbj.  This is getting really tempting now as a build option.

The board I've got has just the VGA and DVI. Yep, they are designed to sit on the top part of the carriage of tube trains etc and advertise stuff so, I imagine, they'll need to be quite hardy as they'll just be left on for large portions of the day. These ones came out of Gatwick airport apparently? I suppose the downside is we don't know how long they were in situ for but I would guess that with the amount of use an arcade cabinet gets they would last for many years. :-)

djjasonp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:Today at 04:33:51 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #20 on: Today at 03:43:19 pm »
@uptown47   I would be very interested in this display if your contact has any other stock on hand.

Thanks!

bperkins01

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 353
  • Last login:Today at 05:51:26 pm
  • Plenty of skills.. gaining experience..
Re: My dynamic marquee has arrived!!!
« Reply #21 on: Today at 05:50:04 pm »
That Litemax is the exact one I've been eyeballing for a while.

Seems like $500 for me to get one..
It gets a little less $$ and I will definetely get one
My Arcade Build and other projects here:
https://bperkins.wordpress.com/