Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Sega Rad Mobile Help  (Read 1239 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rawbe

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • Last login:December 04, 2019, 04:25:51 pm
Sega Rad Mobile Help
« on: January 29, 2019, 08:07:16 am »
Hello-
I recently bought Sega's Rad Mobile Deluxe and it needs some work. No power. Is this pic the power supply? Can anyone tell by the pic if it's fixable?

Can you still buy this game’s power supply? Could a standard arcade power supply work?

Thanks,
Robbie
 




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

baritonomarchetto

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 530
  • Last login:Today at 01:01:05 am
Re: Sega Rad Mobile Help
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2019, 12:45:49 am »
It's not possible to "see" if the PSU (or any other electronic device) is not working (sometimes it is really, but those are rare cases). The easyest thing to do is test it. You need the schematics for the psu and a 10 bucks multimeter.

killallhumans

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:August 14, 2019, 04:52:47 am
  • What does this red button do?
Re: Sega Rad Mobile Help
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2019, 02:56:15 am »
Sadly, i've seen this all too often...   and it looks like moisture damage.
Dark spots are where things shorted out. So, what now? Glad you asked.
It all depends on, if you want to keep everything stock, or if you just want it working again.
Answer to both is replace power supply.
(1) Stock: Find part number and search on google.
(2) Make it better than new:
STOP! - - - !!! UNPLUG POWER FROM WALL FIRST !!! - - -
Locking plug with 3 wires is your line input 120-240 volts, 50-60 Hz. Center wire is ground.
Red and black wires, cooling fan, maybe? Please, see where they go.
This only leaves your small plug with ~7 wires. Now you may need some help. One of those
wires turns supply on. Some go to ground rail. Others give regulated voltage(s) to system.
Ok, i searched, system name only, with not much luck. Start by carefully removing bad supply.
Look for any stickers or writing on outside case. Snap some pictures of anything you find.
Post them here, and i will see what information i can dig up. Fingers crossed, pin-out of plug.
Please, for your sake, don't start poking wires in holes, or try to hook up an ATX power supply,
without first learning what each wire is for, and voltage requirements on them.
Come back soon, and i'd be glad help.
Good luck.
- David C

Almost missed blue and white wires soldered in lower right. Follow them too, to where?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2019, 03:18:24 am by killallhumans »
Auto•It 3 fixes everything.
Game loading, lights, sounds,
control mapping, screen rotation...
Compile scripts to EXEs and drop them
into your arcade Frontend.

killallhumans

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:August 14, 2019, 04:52:47 am
  • What does this red button do?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2019, 04:16:43 am by killallhumans »
Auto•It 3 fixes everything.
Game loading, lights, sounds,
control mapping, screen rotation...
Compile scripts to EXEs and drop them
into your arcade Frontend.

rawbe

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • Last login:December 04, 2019, 04:25:51 pm
Re: Sega Rad Mobile Help
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2019, 08:27:15 pm »
Thank you for the info! I have the game working now but the motor driver sparks and burns when plugged in. I am all for finding an alternative motor driver but I am not sure that is possible. I am hunting down transistors and caps now to see if I can repair.

Does anyone here rebuild this type of motor drivers?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

killallhumans

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:August 14, 2019, 04:52:47 am
  • What does this red button do?
Re: Sega Rad Mobile Help
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2019, 06:26:20 am »
Looks like it's been done before.
With snails!   ;D
Start with cleaning 400-5117Y PCB very well.
Then check that motor is not worn out, as this will cause it to draw too
much current from driver board.
NOTE: Your mains voltage may not match their system.
Set your voltage taps, according to pdf documentation, for your country.
However, 12 volt output should be the same, when set correctly.

[French]
https://www.gamoover.net/Forums/index.php?topic=28406.0

[English] ; via Google translate.
https://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&tab=wT&sl=auto&tl=en&u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.gamoover.net%2FForums%2Findex.php%3Ftopic%3D28406.0

You have an exciting project.
Only by working on this arcade system, as whole, would anyone fully
understand what problems it's having.
Sorry i can't be there to dig in with you.
Good luck.
- David C
« Last Edit: February 25, 2019, 03:39:44 pm by killallhumans »
Auto•It 3 fixes everything.
Game loading, lights, sounds,
control mapping, screen rotation...
Compile scripts to EXEs and drop them
into your arcade Frontend.

rawbe

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • Last login:December 04, 2019, 04:25:51 pm
Re: Sega Rad Mobile Help
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2019, 05:06:13 pm »
Thanks David!! It’s on!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk