Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: 2 player spinner help  (Read 795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pixelpalace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2019, 10:31:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
2 player spinner help
« on: January 18, 2019, 12:39:21 pm »
I am trying to get Forgotten worlds to work but running into an issue. I am using push/pull spinners. Player 1 works beautifully but when I add player 2, the spinner for player 2 controls player 1 as well. The push/pull works independently for each player but i cant figure out why player 2 is controlling player 1.  They are are on separate boards and separate USB inputs.

processedmeat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 05:39:02 pm
  • Ikeakade Here I come!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2019, 12:56:49 pm »
Try setting multimouse to "1" in the mame.ini file.

pixelpalace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2019, 10:31:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 12:59:21 pm »
Try setting multimouse to "1" in the mame.ini file.

I should add that I am using advancemame and configuring everything in the advmame.rc file. Should I still change it in the .ini file?

processedmeat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 05:39:02 pm
  • Ikeakade Here I come!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2019, 01:05:19 pm »
Sorry, just realized I responded to the raspi post.  On normal mame you would do that.  Not sure about Advancemame.

processedmeat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 05:39:02 pm
  • Ikeakade Here I come!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2019, 01:07:59 pm »
Did you look at this link yet for Advancemame? 

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Spinners,-Trackballs,-Lightguns,-and-other-Mouse-Devices

Scroll down a bit until you get to the advancemame section for mouse/spinners

pixelpalace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2019, 10:31:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2019, 01:29:55 pm »
Did you look at this link yet for Advancemame? 

https://github.com/RetroPie/RetroPie-Setup/wiki/Spinners,-Trackballs,-Lightguns,-and-other-Mouse-Devices

Scroll down a bit until you get to the advancemame section for mouse/spinners

Yup. And while it was very helpful in initially getting the spinners running, its not much help now.  :)

processedmeat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 05:39:02 pm
  • Ikeakade Here I come!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2019, 01:39:00 pm »
When you cat /dev/input/mice do you get two separate axes?  Have you tried another emulator?

processedmeat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 232
  • Last login:October 08, 2019, 05:39:02 pm
  • Ikeakade Here I come!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2019, 01:42:43 pm »
I assume this is the same issue as your TurboTwist post.  I know that this product uses the X axis exclusively so maybe if you have both masters they are using the same axis?  Yeah, I would try to get a hold of RandyT to see if he has more insight on this.

pixelpalace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2019, 10:31:12 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: 2 player spinner help
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2019, 03:29:42 pm »
I assume this is the same issue as your TurboTwist post.  I know that this product uses the X axis exclusively so maybe if you have both masters they are using the same axis?  Yeah, I would try to get a hold of RandyT to see if he has more insight on this.

I actually got the main issue resolved. The push-pull works great. And i actually had them both working perfectly. I shut down the machine, came back and this new problem popped up.

Knowing they use X exclusively, gives me an idea. In the config, it currently is setup this way.

input_map[p1_dialx] mouse[0,x] mouse[1,x] mouse[2,x] mouse[3,x]
Input_map[p2_dialx] mouse[0,y] mouse[1,y] mouse[2,y] mouse[3,y]

I am going to try changing p2_dialx to p2_dialy