Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Can't get Groovymame to start [solved]  (Read 470 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

NinpouKageBunshin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Can't get Groovymame to start [solved]
« on: October 01, 2018, 03:35:06 pm »
edit: just needed to use opengl, though it's still not working properly; games are running as if throttling is disabled when it isn't :/ 
« Last Edit: October 01, 2018, 07:38:41 pm by NinpouKageBunshin »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6198
Re: Can't get Groovymame to start [solved]
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2018, 02:18:09 pm »
GM won't work properly on OpenGL. Leave video as auto (it defaults to d3d) and try to fix the issue from there.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

NinpouKageBunshin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't get Groovymame to start [solved]
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2018, 09:14:34 pm »
That's odd. GM ONLY works with opengl in my setup. Setting directly to d3d or auto only flashes a black screen upon launch for me. Using a 6670, if it matters. I'm having other issues too, but I'll start a new thread for those when I get back home. Thanks for the reply!

krick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1927
  • Gotta have blue hair.
Re: Can't get Groovymame to start [solved]
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2018, 10:43:26 pm »
Windows 7 and up requires installing the DX 9.0c redistributable package because the Direct X 10.0 and above are NOT backwards compatible.

Install this package from Microsoft:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109
Hantarex Polo 15KHz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7750 2GB (GCN)
GroovyMAME 0.197.017h_d3d9ex
CRT Emudriver & CRT Tools 2.0 beta 13 (Crimson 16.2.1 for GCN cards)
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Intel Core i7-4790K @ 4.8GHz
ASUS Z87M-PLUS Motherboard

NinpouKageBunshin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Can't get Groovymame to start [solved]
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2018, 12:13:46 am »
Thanks! This is a fresh Win 7 re-installation so I hadn't thought to do that yet. Fingers crossed that it'll help me work out some kinks

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6198
Re: Can't get Groovymame to start [solved]
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2018, 04:29:16 am »
Also, make sure to download my full package, not just the binary alone from someone else. Some files in the hlsl folder have changed recently so if you mismatch versions it won't run.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31