Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: FFB Arcade Plugin  (Read 6856 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #80 on: August 26, 2018, 07:49:04 am »
Thanks for all  :applaud: :applaud: :applaud:
OffRoad challenge is fun  :o

If you can add FFB to DEMUL rom it could be fun too NAOMI 1 have some racing games
CRAZY TAXI ( not sure if FFB but i think)
18 Wheeler

POOTERMAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
    • My PC Desktop Icon Atwork
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #81 on: August 26, 2018, 11:02:03 am »
Boomslang I'm trying to get this working in Outrun 2 SP in Teknoparrot without any luck. Can I just check that I'm doing this correctly:

1. Copying 'opengl32.dll' and 'SDL2.dll' (overwriting the one that already exists) into my Teknoparrot folder.
2. Copying 'FFBPlugin.ini' to my \Outrun 2 SP Deluxe\disk0\Jennifer folder (your instructions say "same folder as elf file" so I'm assuming this is the executable that runs the game as I don't have any .elf files?)

Does the "DeviceGUID=" need to be entered for this to work or is that just an option to specify a specific controller?

Thanks
« Last Edit: August 26, 2018, 11:06:53 am by POOTERMAN »

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 596
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #82 on: August 26, 2018, 11:22:34 am »
Hey Gary, device GUID needs to be entered into your FFB ini file. If you look in the log that generates you should be able to find it in there. Just copy and paste it into the ini.

POOTERMAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
    • My PC Desktop Icon Atwork
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #83 on: August 26, 2018, 11:30:23 am »
Hey Al, must be me mate, not slept since Friday so I'm going to blame this one on a lack of sleep! What's the usual name of the log file and where is it located, somewhere with the Teknoparrot folder? Aare we talking about the .xml file in the userprofiles folder? I have a line in there that reads "<JoystickGuid>7a555990-cbe5-11e3-8001-444553540000</JoystickGuid>" - is this the magic code I need?

Did I get the correct locations to copy the files to as listed above?

Can I have some sleep now?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2018, 11:36:34 am by POOTERMAN »

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #84 on: August 26, 2018, 11:36:32 am »
like MrThunderwing says you need GUID and you 'll find it in the log.txt who's plugin generate in your folder where's the plugin.ini was after you launch once the game

POOTERMAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
    • My PC Desktop Icon Atwork
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #85 on: August 26, 2018, 11:40:22 am »
thanks bandicoot, I missed that file. I can see a line in the log.txt that reads "Joystick: 0 / Name: XInput Controller #1 / GUID: 78696e70757401000000000000000000" so I'm going to try that - then off to bed! :)

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 245
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #86 on: August 26, 2018, 11:48:40 am »
The new MK1.10 FFB features work great.  Thanks Boomslang!

For some reason i'm struggling with getting FFB to work with the MAME games, which is weird because I got the San Francisco RUSH games to work fine on the previous version with FFB.  Not sure what i'm doing wrong. I'm using MAMEUI64 64 bit version 0.199. I placed the FFB files in the MAME directory folder.  I even tried it with and without the GUID #.  Still nothing.  Am I missing something? Anyone else having issues getting FFB to work with any of the MAME games?  Thanks

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 245
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #87 on: August 26, 2018, 11:50:34 am »
Thanks for all  :applaud: :applaud: :applaud:
OffRoad challenge is fun  :o

If you can add FFB to DEMUL rom it could be fun too NAOMI 1 have some racing games
CRAZY TAXI ( not sure if FFB but i think)
18 Wheeler

I second that. Would love FFB support for Club Kart Europeon Session in Demul.  That game is wicked fun.

segaturbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #88 on: August 26, 2018, 12:33:27 pm »
Thanks for all  :applaud: :applaud: :applaud:
OffRoad challenge is fun  :o

If you can add FFB to DEMUL rom it could be fun too NAOMI 1 have some racing games
CRAZY TAXI ( not sure if FFB but i think)
18 Wheeler

if chance for demul ffb on drivers inc f355 that would be great you are doing a great job with this any chance of this working for fast and furious games  :cheers:

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #89 on: August 26, 2018, 12:38:08 pm »
The new MK1.10 FFB features work great.  Thanks Boomslang!

For some reason i'm struggling with getting FFB to work with the MAME games, which is weird because I got the San Francisco RUSH games to work fine on the previous version with FFB.  Not sure what i'm doing wrong. I'm using MAMEUI64 64 bit version 0.199. I placed the FFB files in the MAME directory folder.  I even tried it with and without the GUID #.  Still nothing.  Am I missing something? Anyone else having issues getting FFB to work with any of the MAME games?  Thanks
Same with the 64 bit try a 32 bit version

MrThunderwing

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 596
  • As I pass, do I give you the ass or the crotch?
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #90 on: August 26, 2018, 12:48:13 pm »
thanks bandicoot, I missed that file. I can see a line in the log.txt that reads "Joystick: 0 / Name: XInput Controller #1 / GUID: 78696e70757401000000000000000000" so I'm going to try that - then off to bed! :)

Heh, I know that feeling of when you really should be getting ready to go to bed, but a nagging little voice in your brain won't let you until you've just given that new emulator a quick try or that brand new arcade game that's just finished downloading, even though it's now past midnight and you have to be in work at 07.30am...

vandale

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 317
  • Id 10 and t error
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #91 on: August 26, 2018, 03:08:21 pm »
Woop woop


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #92 on: August 26, 2018, 03:26:43 pm »
Which mame 64 bit version ain't working?

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #93 on: August 26, 2018, 03:46:53 pm »
mame64 0.199 for me the basic one

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #94 on: August 26, 2018, 03:50:45 pm »
Sorry I meant which mame games lol

They should be working if 32bit are working etc.

Make sure you restart pc before trying just incase anything wierd happening

bandicoot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 46
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #95 on: August 26, 2018, 04:16:03 pm »
rave racer , san francisco rush and off road challenge , that what i test on mame64 0.199 and no FFB nut no probleme with mame32

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #96 on: August 26, 2018, 05:28:38 pm »
Oh damn I know why

I forgot to make a separate 64 bit version for that

Copy the dll from pokken tournament across and it will work on 64bit mame
« Last Edit: August 26, 2018, 05:31:52 pm by Boomslang »

POOTERMAN

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 97
    • My PC Desktop Icon Atwork
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #97 on: August 26, 2018, 06:33:34 pm »
Thanks to Boomslang for these plugins, really improves the racing games now :)
« Last Edit: August 26, 2018, 07:28:10 pm by POOTERMAN »

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 245
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #98 on: August 26, 2018, 09:13:47 pm »
Oh damn I know why

I forgot to make a separate 64 bit version for that

Copy the dll from pokken tournament across and it will work on 64bit mame

So, I can't get any of the MAME games working with FFB in MAMEUI64 0.199.  However, I got the Cruis'ns and Off Road Challenge working in MAME binary 32 v. 0.199, but not CalSpeed or San Frans.  Haven't tried MAME binary 64.  Thanks

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #99 on: August 27, 2018, 12:24:39 am »
Oh damn I know why

I forgot to make a separate 64 bit version for that

Copy the dll from pokken tournament across and it will work on 64bit mame

So, I can't get any of the MAME games working with FFB in MAMEUI64 0.199.  However, I got the Cruis'ns and Off Road Challenge working in MAME binary 32 v. 0.199, but not CalSpeed or San Frans.  Haven't tried MAME binary 64.  Thanks

yeah sorry you also had to copy the 64bit SDL.dll file across, however I have just updated the link to a new zip that contains the 64bit mame to avoid any confusion

SmooveJMY

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #100 on: August 27, 2018, 01:03:08 pm »
Boomslang -- thanks for all of your work on this, I've implemented your plug in on the MAME games and the FFB is working great.  One question I had for you is in reference to your prior comment about "turning off wheel deadzone with command -joystick_deadzone 0 and I set my wheel to 270 degrees rotation".  Before I saw your comment, I had the same thought that I wanted to reduce the deadzone, but I'm not sure where to place that command.  Which file does it go in?

Again, great work, and much appreciated.

segaturbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #101 on: August 27, 2018, 03:07:54 pm »
Boomslang   :applaud:

keep up the great work all mame working here with a few tweaks all good   8)

segaturbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 36
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #102 on: August 27, 2018, 03:10:28 pm »
Boomslang   :applaud:

keep up the great work all mame working here with a few tweaks all good   8)

I got deadzone  set at 0.5

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #103 on: August 27, 2018, 05:32:37 pm »
Boomslang -- thanks for all of your work on this, I've implemented your plug in on the MAME games and the FFB is working great.  One question I had for you is in reference to your prior comment about "turning off wheel deadzone with command -joystick_deadzone 0 and I set my wheel to 270 degrees rotation".  Before I saw your comment, I had the same thought that I wanted to reduce the deadzone, but I'm not sure where to place that command.  Which file does it go in?

Again, great work, and much appreciated.

You're welcome man, really glad you are enjoying it.

I make a bat file to launch my games and that's a command you place after loading Rom it's something like mame.exe sfrush -joystick_deadzone 0

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #104 on: August 27, 2018, 06:29:53 pm »
Anyone tried out the FFBMode toggle on certain games yet?


vandale

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 317
  • Id 10 and t error
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #105 on: August 27, 2018, 06:36:19 pm »
Tested with the new hide cursor feature and itís great however how do I stop my wheel from rocking back and forth when centred?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #106 on: August 27, 2018, 08:32:10 pm »
I would check ini and make min force 0

codeena

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
  • This site is cool
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #107 on: August 27, 2018, 11:15:24 pm »
Hi, I'm really looking forward to this. Thanks for creating and sharing!

After I exit the MameUI 199 64-bit games, no log.txt is created. I just downloaded the updated ffb. Can anyone assist?

Thanks again.

SmooveJMY

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #108 on: August 27, 2018, 11:28:14 pm »
Boomslang -- thanks for all of your work on this, I've implemented your plug in on the MAME games and the FFB is working great.  One question I had for you is in reference to your prior comment about "turning off wheel deadzone with command -joystick_deadzone 0 and I set my wheel to 270 degrees rotation".  Before I saw your comment, I had the same thought that I wanted to reduce the deadzone, but I'm not sure where to place that command.  Which file does it go in?

Again, great work, and much appreciated.

You're welcome man, really glad you are enjoying it.

I make a bat file to launch my games and that's a command you place after loading Rom it's something like mame.exe sfrush -joystick_deadzone 0

Thanks, I added that command to my shortcut (this version of MAME is dedicated to racers, all of which seem to benefit from the reduced deadzone), and it worked great.  For reference, I have a Rush the Rock and several Rush 2049s, and I find the emulated game play with this FFB plug-in to be very comparable to the arcade games themselves.  Again, much appreciated.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #109 on: August 28, 2018, 12:34:03 am »
Hi, I'm really looking forward to this. Thanks for creating and sharing!

After I exit the MameUI 199 64-bit games, no log.txt is created. I just downloaded the updated ffb. Can anyone assist?

Thanks again.

Copy all files to mame folder. Ensure logging=1 in FFBPlugin.ini. launch mame game and after a few seconds exit and you should have log.tzt in mame folder
 Copy the guid to FFBPlugin.ini and you are good to go

Boomslang -- thanks for all of your work on this, I've implemented your plug in on the MAME games and the FFB is working great.  One question I had for you is in reference to your prior comment about "turning off wheel deadzone with command -joystick_deadzone 0 and I set my wheel to 270 degrees rotation".  Before I saw your comment, I had the same thought that I wanted to reduce the deadzone, but I'm not sure where to place that command.  Which file does it go in?

Again, great work, and much appreciated.

You're welcome man, really glad you are enjoying it.

I make a bat file to launch my games and that's a command you place after loading Rom it's something like mame.exe sfrush -joystick_deadzone 0

Thanks, I added that command to my shortcut (this version of MAME is dedicated to racers, all of which seem to benefit from the reduced deadzone), and it worked great.  For reference, I have a Rush the Rock and several Rush 2049s, and I find the emulated game play with this FFB plug-in to be very comparable to the arcade games themselves.  Again, much appreciated.

Excellent! It should be somewhat comparable as I am using the ffb address from game itself :)

codeena

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
  • This site is cool
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #110 on: August 28, 2018, 01:25:29 am »
Hi, I'm really looking forward to this. Thanks for creating and sharing!

After I exit the MameUI 199 64-bit games, no log.txt is created. I just downloaded the updated ffb. Can anyone assist?

Thanks again.

Copy all files to mame folder. Ensure logging=1 in FFBPlugin.ini. launch mame game and after a few seconds exit and you should have log.tzt in mame folder
 Copy the guid to FFBPlugin.ini and you are good to go

Thanks for the reply Boomslang. Unfortunately, still no log.txt generated. I placed all 64-bit files into the MAME folder, ensured logging=1, even tried restarting my PC. Would win7 have anything to do with it? Or are there any necessary files that my PC would require? Thank you

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #111 on: August 28, 2018, 01:42:05 am »
hm what mame are you using?

you positive it's the 64bit mame you putting 64bit files in?

vandale

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 317
  • Id 10 and t error
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #112 on: August 28, 2018, 08:12:06 am »
I finally figured out what was crashing my daytona 3. Initially I followed a guide to get Daytona up and running and this details the need to install all the xinput dlls to allow x360ce to map my wheel.

I ran the game and kept removing them one by one and it turned out to be the first 3 xinput files that donít seem to like being loaded with your ffb dll. Once removed the game no longer hangs and all my controls etc work with your ffb

Thanks again


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #113 on: August 28, 2018, 03:40:45 pm »
Glad you sorted it.

Stuff like that is wierd to me, I have every dll ticked and have no issues at all.  :dunno

Seems to react differently to different pcs

codeena

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
  • This site is cool
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #114 on: August 28, 2018, 11:11:53 pm »
hm what mame are you using?

you positive it's the 64bit mame you putting 64bit files in?

I'm using MAMEUI64 0.199 (Jun 27 2018). I've placed your latest ffb files from the Mame 0199 64bit folder into my Mame folder. Thanks again for helping.

dgrace

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 245
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #115 on: August 29, 2018, 12:28:19 am »
FFB in the MAME games works great now.  Thanks Boomslang! Just a suggestion.  Any way to add FFB when there is a collision (i.e. in Cruis'n USA when you hit a car head on, on the side or ram into a wall or tree, etc.)? If not, no worries.  Game is still 100xs more fun now.  Cruis'n USA is literally my favorite old school arcade racing game of all time and it just got even more fun.  You are awesome.  And i'm only playing with an Xbox 360 controller.  Can't wait to try with a new racing wheel. 

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #116 on: August 29, 2018, 12:34:06 am »
hm what mame are you using?

you positive it's the 64bit mame you putting 64bit files in?

I'm using MAMEUI64 0.199 (Jun 27 2018). I've placed your latest ffb files from the Mame 0199 64bit folder into my Mame folder. Thanks again for helping.

and it works now? ive tested it on mameui64 and ffb appears to be working fine on the supported games

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #117 on: August 29, 2018, 12:50:29 am »
FFB in the MAME games works great now.  Thanks Boomslang! Just a suggestion.  Any way to add FFB when there is a collision (i.e. in Cruis'n USA when you hit a car head on, on the side or ram into a wall or tree, etc.)? If not, no worries.  Game is still 100xs more fun now.  Cruis'n USA is literally my favorite old school arcade racing game of all time and it just got even more fun.  You are awesome.  And i'm only playing with an Xbox 360 controller.  Can't wait to try with a new racing wheel.

well it's using the ffb address, so should be somewhat accurate to the real cab

I think there was issues with crusn usa etc tho as outputs are all mixed in with it

codeena

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 190
  • This site is cool
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #118 on: August 29, 2018, 01:23:50 am »
hm what mame are you using?

you positive it's the 64bit mame you putting 64bit files in?

I'm using MAMEUI64 0.199 (Jun 27 2018). I've placed your latest ffb files from the Mame 0199 64bit folder into my Mame folder. Thanks again for helping.

and it works now? ive tested it on mameui64 and ffb appears to be working fine on the supported games

Unfortunately, it's still not generating the log.txt. I will try another computer or two and see if i could get it to work. Thanks again.

Boomslang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 703
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: FFB Arcade Plugin
« Reply #119 on: August 29, 2018, 02:01:56 am »
If it isnt generating the log.txt then it isn't hooking the executable for some reason

check FFBPlugin.ini and enable Beep when Hook

I'm assuming it doesn't beep upon starting mame at all?

Can you confirm that you have copied dinput8.dll,FFBPlugin.ini and sdl2.dll from Mame 64bit folder you downloaded (from FFB Arcade Plugin) into the mameui64 folder? Should be the one with mameui64.exe in it

if so, have you got any third party apps that run etc when you launch mame or similar? the exe calls dinput8.dll so it should hook fine

« Last Edit: August 29, 2018, 02:37:41 am by Boomslang »

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31