Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Switchres query  (Read 586 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nierlaika

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Switchres query
« on: May 23, 2018, 05:44:08 pm »
Hey guys,

I'm still not too sure what Switchres does, I have an nvidia card in my cab build so afaik it won't help for me.

Is there anyway to stop the switchres pop up saying "switchres: could not find a video mode that meets your specs" every time I try to start a game.

Doesn't seem to stop gameplay or anything, just gets in the way lol. I went through the ini file and changed a few 1s to 0s, even removed the section and tried again, but that made no diff

Thanks

buttersoft

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 605
  • Is running at 15kHz
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2018, 07:38:30 pm »
Open the mame.ini file and edit the core switchres options. I think the one you want to turn off is...

modeline generation    0

Or you can just specify a "resolution" where you see that variable, either in mame.ini again, or for particular game/driver inis.

Switchres is the modeline generation engine within GM. It looks at the native modeline of a game, and the stretching/scaling options in MAME.ini, compares the result to the list of video modes in your system, picks one that suits and recalculates the framerate to match the original game. If it can't do that, it complains :)
« Last Edit: May 23, 2018, 07:42:12 pm by buttersoft »

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5941
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2018, 03:24:48 am »
Sometimes I wonder if the correct behaviour should be preventing GM to start altogether.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

cools

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 519
  • Arcade Otaku sysadmin...
    • Arcade Otaku
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2018, 04:25:42 am »
Sometimes I wonder if the correct behaviour should be preventing GM to start altogether.

I like those programs that require you to read the documentation first before they tell you what the "make it work" configuration kill switch is.
Please don't PM me with support questions. Ask in public so everyone can learn!

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5941
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2018, 05:08:29 am »
What kind of monitor are you using? Is an LCD?
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

nierlaika

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2018, 05:25:20 am »
What kind of monitor are you using? Is an LCD?

Yeah, LCD with nvidia gfx  :(

I've read that my experience will be "way more limited and unreliable than the standard one." but I've been told this is the most accurate software whilst still compatible with newer CAVE games.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 05:29:34 am by nierlaika »

nierlaika

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #6 on: May 25, 2018, 05:38:39 am »
Open the mame.ini file and edit the core switchres options. I think the one you want to turn off is...

modeline generation    0

Or you can just specify a "resolution" where you see that variable, either in mame.ini again, or for particular game/driver inis.

Switchres is the modeline generation engine within GM. It looks at the native modeline of a game, and the stretching/scaling options in MAME.ini, compares the result to the list of video modes in your system, picks one that suits and recalculates the framerate to match the original game. If it can't do that, it complains :)

No joy with the resolution option, I did try the modeline generation option before with the same result.
Even deleted the whole section from the ini and no effect.

:(

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5941
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 06:17:06 am »
Create a new mame.ini, from command line:

groovymame.exe -cc

Then edit this in mame.ini:

monitor lcd
modeline_generation 0
aspect 16:9

(I'm assuming it's a 16:9 LCD, if it's something else edit accordingly)
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

nierlaika

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Switchres query
« Reply #8 on: May 25, 2018, 06:59:06 am »
Create a new mame.ini, from command line:

groovymame.exe -cc

Then edit this in mame.ini:

monitor lcd
modeline_generation 0
aspect 16:9

(I'm assuming it's a 16:9 LCD, if it's something else edit accordingly)

You legend!

not too sure what you mean about the first few lines, but I edited my ini file that I already had and that worked.

Thanks again,

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31