Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab  (Read 631 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

processedmeat

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 178
  • Ikeakade Here I come!
Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« on: May 09, 2018, 05:46:00 pm »
Hi, I have a 13" CRT TV that I want to use in a cabaret that I'm building that will be running mame off a PC or Pi.  The TV only has composite and coax inputs.  Considering effort and quality of resulting display, which of the following would you do?

1) Use a VGA to Composite converter
2) Try to mod the TV for RGB
3) Get an 13"" chassis and try to turn it into CGA monitor (I have a j-pac that I can use but otherwise is this possible?)
4) Something else I haven't considered?

Thanks for your replies.

paigeoliver

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10938
  • Awesome face!
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2018, 08:24:46 pm »
#4. Ask around until you can find an old 15" PC crt monitor (the tube is only a fraction of an inch larger than a 13" tv), then you can hook it right up to the PC.

#5. Use a game console instead of a PC.
Acceptance of Zen philosophy is marred slightly by the nagging thought that if all things are interconnected, then all things must be in some way involved with Pauly Shore.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1067
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2018, 08:55:54 pm »
PI has native 240p out over composite with a software update and a line in the config file.
no flicker and real scan lines.
If you already have a pi and the TV this is the easiest way to do what you want.

keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1451
  • Web Developer.
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2018, 06:02:37 am »
PI has native 240p out over composite with a software update and a line in the config file.
no flicker and real scan lines.
If you already have a pi and the TV this is the easiest way to do what you want.

It works well. Ps Iím selling my rpi already working 15khz composite. I finished it and donít have time to use it so I started a different project that I think my daughter would use. See for sale page.

Retrotink implanted a hat with many different outputs and automatic modeling switching I believe it, if your looking for more that just 240p with a fixed refresh rate.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8379
  • ...
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2018, 02:24:17 pm »
If using a PC I'd get an old graphics card with composite out and run the default at 640x480.
Introducing conversion devices just complicates things.

You'll probably have to tweak the front end to work with the low resolution (larger fonts for example).

I've used S-video at 1024x768 before and thought it looked good.

When it comes to old TVs: Component>S-Video>composite




keilmillerjr

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1451
  • Web Developer.
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2018, 09:28:20 pm »
If using a PC I'd get an old graphics card with composite out and run the default at 640x480.
Introducing conversion devices just complicates things.

You'll probably have to tweak the front end to work with the low resolution (larger fonts for example).

I've used S-video at 1024x768 before and thought it looked good.

When it comes to old TVs: Component>S-Video>composite

Good advice. ^^^^

Donít let people talk you out of composite. Itís not the best. But growing up in USA it was RF or composite for everything, and composite is still used today. So your experience might not be the best, but it would be true to what people where I live experienced. Honestly, as a kid, I didnít care about connections. An upgrade to a color tv with vcr was awesome, and visiting my grandma who lived 600 miles away and had an nes (RF) was the best week of the year!week

gurbzs

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
  • Creamy arcade graphics
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2018, 09:37:47 am »
Hi, I have a 13" CRT TV that I want to use in a cabaret that I'm building that will be running mame off a PC or Pi.  The TV only has composite and coax inputs.  Considering effort and quality of resulting display, which of the following would you do?

1) Use a VGA to Composite converter
2) Try to mod the TV for RGB
3) Get an 13"" chassis and try to turn it into CGA monitor (I have a j-pac that I can use but otherwise is this possible?)
4) Something else I haven't considered?

Thanks for your replies.
Google groovymame, check that out.


Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 13115
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2018, 01:41:36 pm »
get an original xbox, softmod it, use coinops.
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1067
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Best way to use a CRT TV in a MAME cab
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2018, 08:28:40 pm »
get an original xbox, softmod it, use coinops.

A wii is cheaper and more plentiful and does 240p also.
forgot about this.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31