Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing  (Read 21584 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #400 on: August 10, 2018, 05:52:12 pm »
its a cam lock, they might call it a barrel lock.

Thanks!

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3245
  • Last login:Today at 06:45:00 pm
  • card carrying purist
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #401 on: August 10, 2018, 06:28:38 pm »
I guess my fragile flower ego can't handle your questions. Good luck. I hope you finish your cab successfully.

Buick455

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 145
  • Last login:Today at 02:50:14 pm
  • I MUSTA WRECKED IT!
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #402 on: August 10, 2018, 06:59:58 pm »
You can find cheaper I assume, but here -> https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-KEYWORDS=ARCADE+LOCK

Just get one that is longer then your ply is thick. I prefer a normal key over the tubular ones when being used as a handle.

IDK if you have a coin door or are planing on one, maybe get 2 locks that will work with the same key.. but keep in mind, diff coin doors take diff size cam/barrel locks.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #403 on: August 10, 2018, 07:48:57 pm »
Does anyone know if there is a bezel for a 3Ē Happ trackball?  Iím too-mounting mine with the plate, but I want to see if thereís a way to cover the artwork cut Iíll lay over the Happ plate.

I found one for ultimate as shown above, but thatís only for the u-trak.

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1172
  • Last login:Today at 06:52:00 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #404 on: August 10, 2018, 11:42:45 pm »
Either be helpful, chill out, or just stay out of the thread entirely if you are such a fragile flower your ego canít handle newbie questions.

Bold words for someone asking for help... EVERY. STEP. OF. THE. WAY.
%Bartop

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #405 on: August 11, 2018, 06:42:36 pm »
Either be helpful, chill out, or just stay out of the thread entirely if you are such a fragile flower your ego canít handle newbie questions.

Bold words for someone asking for help... EVERY. STEP. OF. THE. WAY.

Good point.  I'm sure without the consistently condescending remarks it's going to be a lot harder figuring out what I need to do...  especially with the many kind and helpful people that are giving input instead of just jumping on the ---steaming pile of meadow muffin--- throwing wagon.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #406 on: August 11, 2018, 07:06:23 pm »
I put the trackball plate in the recess I routed out, but it seems like I didn't cut out enough at 1/16, it's a little higher than flush.  Do I dare try and make it a little more snug?  I think I should but I don't want to overcorrect. :dunno



Onto my bigger problem..  :embarassed:

The IL Eurostick top base does not fit on the "square" part of the inside of my universal S plate.  You can see in the picture below it's just too wide. 



I thought I may be able to unscrew the base and remove it from the black "plate" like you can on the sanwa or zippy's, but the that top plastic plate is part of the mold that goes down towards the switches.

It lines up with part of the recessed rectangle area of the S plate that I could screw the joystick mount into.. but it would seemingly defeat the purpose of an S plate to keep the stick's base close to the top of the CP to begin with.


Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1172
  • Last login:Today at 06:52:00 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #407 on: August 11, 2018, 07:15:37 pm »
Either be helpful, chill out, or just stay out of the thread entirely if you are such a fragile flower your ego can’t handle newbie questions.

Bold words for someone asking for help... EVERY. STEP. OF. THE. WAY.

Good point.  I'm sure without the consistently condescending remarks it's going to be a lot harder figuring out what I need to do...  especially with the many kind and helpful people that are giving input instead of just jumping on the ---steaming pile of meadow muffin--- throwing wagon.

Consistent questions beget consistent remarks...

This forum contains at least 99% of the information you desire... Start reading and quit asking people to google ---steaming pile of meadow muffin--- for you.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2018, 07:18:33 pm by Nephasth »
%Bartop

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #408 on: August 11, 2018, 07:18:38 pm »

Consistent questions beget consistent remarks...

So you're saying I asked for it, and therefor no one else can control their dickishness...  :lol

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1172
  • Last login:Today at 06:52:00 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #409 on: August 11, 2018, 07:22:29 pm »
I'm saying you're too lazy to do your own homework.
%Bartop

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #410 on: August 11, 2018, 07:24:32 pm »
I'm saying you're too lazy to do your own homework.

Well we can keep having a passing contest or you can help with my questions.

 Iím up for either.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18854
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #411 on: August 11, 2018, 07:33:00 pm »
I'm saying you're too lazy to do your own homework.

Well we can keep having a passing contest or you can help with my questions.

 Iím up for either.

PASS! PASS!

Did I win the contest?

But seriously, I think those S plates were made for Japanese sticks, not IL/Happs.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18854
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #412 on: August 11, 2018, 07:36:30 pm »
Like, doesnít the ďSĒ stand for Sanwa?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1172
  • Last login:Today at 06:52:00 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #413 on: August 11, 2018, 07:40:38 pm »
Like, doesnít the ďSĒ stand for Sanwa?

A bracket with 2 opposite 90 degree bends is commonly called an s-bracket.
%Bartop

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #414 on: August 11, 2018, 07:52:48 pm »
Like, doesnít the ďSĒ stand for Sanwa?

A bracket with 2 opposite 90 degree bends is commonly called an s-bracket.

This is what I thought as well.

Am I SOL with the il eurosticks and and the ďnot so universalĒ S plates?
« Last Edit: August 11, 2018, 07:57:18 pm by obizues »

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #415 on: August 11, 2018, 07:55:08 pm »
PASS! PASS!

Did I win the contest?
  :lol
« Last Edit: August 11, 2018, 07:56:39 pm by obizues »

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • Last login:Today at 09:52:33 am
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #416 on: August 11, 2018, 09:35:59 pm »
What does that mounting plate even do for you?  It looks like either way you are going to have bolt heads showing through the top of the CP.  Why didn't you use threaded inserts?  Your CP looks like it is 3/4" thick, which is plenty of room to bottom mount.  Or you can just have the bolt heads show.  It looks fine honestly. 

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #417 on: August 11, 2018, 09:56:32 pm »
What does that mounting plate even do for you?  It looks like either way you are going to have bolt heads showing through the top of the CP.  Why didn't you use threaded inserts?  Your CP looks like it is 3/4" thick, which is plenty of room to bottom mount.  Or you can just have the bolt heads show.  It looks fine honestly.

I was given advice that bottom mounting with that thing of wood could cause problems and crack the wood. Thus the S plate idea was brought up.

Are you suggesting I route an area large enough all the way close to board to fit the top of the joystick and forget the S plate?

Finally, I assumed I could screw the joystick into the wood shorter than the length to the top of the CP so the screws wouldnít stick out.

Edit: without the extra 1/4Ē the S plate gave me.. so I need to be worried the screws wonít hold the joysticks steady?

When you say it looks fine, what are you suggesting I do?
« Last Edit: August 11, 2018, 09:58:36 pm by obizues »

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18854
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #418 on: August 11, 2018, 10:06:34 pm »
Heís talking about using carriage bolts, like I mentioned a few posts ago.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #419 on: August 11, 2018, 10:12:41 pm »
Heís talking about using carriage bolts, like I mentioned a few posts ago.

Carraige bolts with threaded inserts?  Do you need the threaded inserts, or can you just drill?  I would be scared either way of breaking through the top of the CP. 

From the top or bottom?  It seems to me that going from underneath keeps anything from changing the flatness of the control panel, unless there is a drawback I donít see?

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • Last login:Today at 09:52:33 am
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #420 on: August 11, 2018, 10:13:40 pm »
What does that mounting plate even do for you?  It looks like either way you are going to have bolt heads showing through the top of the CP.  Why didn't you use threaded inserts?  Your CP looks like it is 3/4" thick, which is plenty of room to bottom mount.  Or you can just have the bolt heads show.  It looks fine honestly.

I was given advice that bottom mounting with that thing of wood could cause problems and crack the wood. Thus the S plate idea was brought up.

Are you suggesting I route an area large enough all the way close to board to fit the top of the joystick and forget the S plate?

Finally, I assumed I could screw the joystick into the wood shorter than the length to the top of the CP so the screws wouldnít stick out.

Edit: without the extra 1/4Ē the S plate gave me.. so I need to be worried the screws wonít hold the joysticks steady?

When you say it looks fine, what are you suggesting I do?

Well, first of all, you are not supposed to route out material for the wings of that plate - only the middle piece.  The wings are supposed to sit underneath the CP giving you the full depth to screw into.  So you are already losing depth because you buried the entire plate.  At this point you should forget about using that plate and see if there is a way to just recess the joystick plate.  I can think of a couple of options:

1.  Recess the joystick plate only (it looks thicker than the metal plate you tried so I assume you could remove a little more material.  Maybe not.  Then use round head carriage bolts (like on a DK) and bolt from underneath with the heads showing on top.

2.  Recess the joystick plate so it is flush with the bottom.  Use 4 very short screws to hold the joystick in place.  I might add a few drops of super glue inside each screw hole or something just to be safe.  Then use 2 wood strips on either side of the plate overlapping the bottom of the CP as straps so that the joystick cannot move or fall.

Also, since you aren't sure what you are doing I suggest making a mock-up before using the actual pieces.  This problem could have been avoided using scraps of plywood I'm sure you have laying around.  Get it right there and then copy what you did on the real thing.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • Last login:Today at 09:52:33 am
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #421 on: August 11, 2018, 10:17:13 pm »
Heís talking about using carriage bolts, like I mentioned a few posts ago.

Carraige bolts with threaded inserts?  Do you need the threaded inserts, or can you just drill?  I would be scared either way of breaking through the top of the CP. 

From the top or bottom?  It seems to me that going from underneath keeps anything from changing the flatness of the control panel, unless there is a drawback I donít see?

Carriage blots go all the way through.  Look at this DK control panel.  http://jonjandran.com/pics/jonjandran/reprodkcp3.jpg

There are 8 carriage bolts around the edge of the CP and it looks great.

Threaded inserts from underneath do not, but that ship might have sailed because yo already routed out too much material.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18854
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #422 on: August 11, 2018, 10:26:14 pm »
And before people freak out with OMG BOLTS...











***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18854
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #423 on: August 11, 2018, 10:27:07 pm »
Those are all on MY GAMES. No issues with them.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18854
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #424 on: August 11, 2018, 10:29:02 pm »
Worries about bolts on top of the CP are so overrated. No bolts might look cleaner if youíre worried about that, but having them show isnít janky either. Itís my preferred way of mounting.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #425 on: August 11, 2018, 10:37:34 pm »
So either way it sounds like I need to route the top shape of the joystick, itís just if I want to use carraige bolts or secure it with wood undearneath the CP....?

You guys are right, it doesnít look bad like I thought.  :)

Did you see my question about cutting the artwork around my trackball top mounting plate?  Iím worried there since I donít have any overlap like on buttons or washers to hide a rough cut out around the trackball.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18854
  • Last login:Today at 03:21:04 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #426 on: August 12, 2018, 12:25:15 am »
Just cut with a fresh X-Acto knife blade and youíll be fine
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #427 on: August 12, 2018, 08:01:51 am »
Just cut with a fresh X-Acto knife blade and youíll be fine

Just flip the control panel over and do it from the bottom and follow the cutout?

How do you do the carraige bolts?  Drill holes through the artwork?  Iím scared it will tear.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • Last login:Today at 09:52:33 am
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #428 on: August 12, 2018, 08:49:43 am »
Use the razor to poke a hole in the artwork through screw hole - like an "X".  When you push the bolt through the head will cover the edges and look fine.  Again, practice on scrap first!

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #429 on: August 12, 2018, 08:56:10 am »
Use the razor to poke a hole in the artwork through screw hole - like an "X".  When you push the bolt through the head will cover the edges and look fine.  Again, practice on scrap first!

I sadly donít have any scrap artwork.

javeryh

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6207
  • Last login:Today at 09:52:33 am
    • Bella's Arcade
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #430 on: August 12, 2018, 09:27:17 am »
Do you have duct tape or painter's tape or anything that can approximate the artwork?  Drill a hole in some scrap, cover with thick tape and then try to get the bolt through and looking nice.  This is basic stuff though so you should be able to get it right on the first try but I'd hate to see you ruin your artwork by punching holes in it that you didn't even want to do in the first place.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #431 on: August 12, 2018, 09:48:21 am »
Do you have duct tape or painter's tape or anything that can approximate the artwork?  Drill a hole in some scrap, cover with thick tape and then try to get the bolt through and looking nice.  This is basic stuff though so you should be able to get it right on the first try but I'd hate to see you ruin your artwork by punching holes in it that you didn't even want to do in the first place.

Yeah good call.

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #432 on: August 12, 2018, 05:28:14 pm »
Did the marquee today.  Thereís small imperfections in the  ottom of the cut, but itís the best I could do. I hope thereís something I can use to cover it up when I put the plexi in front or Iím just noticing because I did it.

I put in the trackball and filler around it, and sanded it.



Ready for artwork on the CP.

Practiced cutting a whole for the trackball.. itís. A little rough but Iím hoping itís just my own eye...  :hissy:


yamatetsu

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2194
  • Last login:Today at 04:09:07 pm
  • Just because.
                  

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #434 on: August 12, 2018, 06:14:51 pm »
Take a look at this. http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,130690.msg1426681.html#msg1426681

Whoa, he used a router on the buttons and holes... Iím scared that would pull tear the artwork...

I guess I can try with the tape mock-up I did.

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1172
  • Last login:Today at 06:52:00 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #435 on: August 12, 2018, 06:26:40 pm »
Tape the trackball plate. It's easier to use metal as a guide for a metal blade than sawing the exacto knife into wood...
%Bartop

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #436 on: August 12, 2018, 06:31:30 pm »
Tape the trackball plate. It's easier to use metal as a guide for a metal blade than sawing the exacto knife into wood...

Fair.

Nephasth

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1172
  • Last login:Today at 06:52:00 pm
  • Bitches love Centipede
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #437 on: August 12, 2018, 06:43:10 pm »
It's a joystick... But exact same concept. CPO cut with an exacto knife on a metal CP...
%Bartop

obizues

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 378
  • Last login:February 13, 2019, 11:01:39 am
  • Before you start your next project, donít.
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #438 on: August 12, 2018, 06:48:07 pm »
It's a joystick... But exact same concept. CPO cut with an exacto knife on a metal CP...

Yeah I completely get it. Iíll do that for the trackball.

Iím interested how the guy that was linked above did the button artwork without tearing the art. Looks like he used a flush trim router bit, but I donít know if I want to risk it.  ;)

JudgeRob

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 437
  • Last login:July 18, 2019, 06:33:09 pm
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,149265.120.html
Re: First Cabinet Build: I have no idea what I'm doing
« Reply #439 on: August 13, 2018, 12:51:21 am »
Seriously dude, if you have a 3/4 inch CP, just drill 1/2" in, place threaded inserts in from the bottom and screw in the stick from the bottom with plates.  Mine has not ripped out or anything.