Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build  (Read 58350 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Moneyhead

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:August 08, 2020, 07:06:07 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #280 on: August 07, 2020, 12:04:25 pm »
Calamity used to have a patch for vertical games like Frogger/Scramble (which are based on the galaxian driver) to force 256 rows in switchres instead of 768 rows when played on a horizontal screen.

This patch was removed in the official groovymame since switchres v0.015k.

Could you reapply this patch to your version?

Best regards,

Sascha

josete2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:Today at 01:55:42 am
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #281 on: August 11, 2020, 01:18:46 am »
Groovy mame ARCADE 0223 XP 32bit

https://www.mediafire.com/file/zrcr9x2h3jtp4to/groovymamearcade_0223_x86.rar/file

no custom patches, only suppression and old video cards

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #282 on: August 20, 2020, 04:57:49 pm »
Version 223 is out.

totozero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:Today at 09:32:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #283 on: August 20, 2020, 09:41:53 pm »
My hero  ;D
Thanks man, waiting for this.

totozero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:Today at 09:32:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #284 on: August 21, 2020, 07:07:03 am »
Anyone having issues with Legend of hero tonma ?
Game doesn't run since 0.222 on my side, my romset is up to date.
Works fine with 0.212 build though.

cyb

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • Last login:October 26, 2020, 08:40:40 pm
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #285 on: August 22, 2020, 01:32:19 am »
Anyone having issues with Legend of hero tonma ?
Game doesn't run since 0.222 on my side, my romset is up to date.
Works fine with 0.212 build though.

just tested with haynor's .223 build and it's working fine for me.

totozero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:Today at 09:32:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #286 on: August 22, 2020, 04:58:13 am »
Thanks, I don't know what broke it.

R-type or hammering harry run as intented, but with this one, no dice.  :badmood:
The ui says it's mlssing a file ie "tom_c-pr-b.ic1" and cannot be run but the file is in the zip.
I tried to extract the archive, recompress it to zip, 7z whatever, same issue.

Well since it's working on your side, the problem must be on my hand but I have no clue atm.
No biggie mind you, I'll just stick with gm 0.212 on this one. It's just I don't like not solving such simple matters.

PL1

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8009
  • Last login:Today at 04:14:51 pm
  • Designated spam hunter
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #287 on: August 22, 2020, 07:59:43 am »
The ui says it's mlssing a file ie "tom_c-pr-b.ic1" and cannot be run but the file is in the zip.
Team Europe recently dumped that MCU and confirmed that the version MAME had been using is good.
https://team-europe.blogspot.com/2020/08/legend-of-hero-tonma-world.html

The M72 driver was updated 3 days ago with this commit showing that the hash for that file should still be SHA1(ca800ce7467efb877d0fff4c47d72478a991e2a9).

Check the SHA1 hash for your version of that file to see if it's an incorrect/corrupted ROM or if there's a problem with your installation of MAME.

If the ROM is incorrect/corrupted, try copying/renaming "c8751h.bin" from lohtb3.
- File contents and hash should be the same.


Scott

totozero

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 37
  • Last login:Today at 09:32:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #288 on: August 22, 2020, 09:14:02 am »
Hey, thanks for pointing out directions. Sha1 and crc values are OK, I've alreading checked them.
What's driving me insane is that amongst all versions, only lohtb2 and lohtj are correctly working, all others kick me out.
Since it's a split romset, I'll try with a merged and then a non merged one.

EDIT : OK problem solved, I'm dumb as f..., mame.ini wasn't pointing to the correct rom folder  :banghead:
Thanks everyone.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2020, 10:44:04 am by totozero »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #289 on: August 22, 2020, 03:10:10 pm »
Just to remind - I never change roms definitions in my builds like like groovymame official.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #290 on: September 11, 2020, 04:00:15 pm »
Version 224 is out.

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:September 24, 2020, 04:44:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #291 on: September 11, 2020, 06:26:49 pm »
Version 224 is out.

thanks a lot!
Haynor, did you apply the nonag patch as well? seems no longer working in 0.224 :)

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #292 on: September 12, 2020, 02:39:50 pm »
I'm rebuilding this version. Perhaps I miss this patch  ::)

Sky25es

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:28:31 pm
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #293 on: September 12, 2020, 06:46:54 pm »

thanks a lot!
Haynor, did you apply the nonag patch as well? seems no longer working in 0.224 :)

Maybe it has something to do with this?:

https://git.redump.net/mame/commit/?id=ea764f2a5e3071ee5d39fb7da8cd08948af086f6

Robbbert

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116
  • Last login:Today at 03:17:54 am
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #294 on: September 13, 2020, 01:46:12 am »
That commit is for 0.225.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #295 on: September 13, 2020, 08:10:34 am »
Should be fixed now. Please re-download last version.

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:September 24, 2020, 04:44:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #296 on: September 13, 2020, 10:05:51 am »
working perfectly now! once again, thanks for your awesome work!  :cheers:

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #297 on: September 18, 2020, 06:54:06 am »
Add this code to patch Terry train stage on Garou - Mark of the Wolves:

Code: [Select]
void mvs_led_state::garou(machine_config &config)
{
mv1_fixed(config);
cartslot_fixed(config, "sma_garou");
m_screen->set_visarea(38, 342-1, NEOGEO_VBEND, NEOGEO_VBSTART-1);
+ m_maincpu->set_clock_scale(0.98);
}

This underclock the cpu to 11.76MHz


I forgot to add this fix last time. Will be in 225. For segas32 fix I have to examine carefully this because source is really old.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2020, 06:55:46 am by haynor666 »

alex2005

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 99
  • Last login:September 24, 2020, 04:44:24 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #298 on: September 22, 2020, 02:14:27 pm »
Hi! just curious, can a similar hack be implemented to slow down the speed on sf2hf?

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 663
  • Last login:Today at 08:22:04 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #299 on: September 22, 2020, 03:06:05 pm »
Fort f. sake. The braindead obtuseness of the regular old nerds at the groovy subforum is why GroovyMAME's not aknowledged nor understood by the bulk of emulators users despite it being superior in so many ways to everything else in the world of arcade emulation, I want to slap people every time I visit.

@alex2005: basically there's a saving CPU% slider in Groovy since iirc v0.205, you can overclock and underclock while playing any game and your settings will be saved (in the cfg folder)

Read the previous page for more details and how to use that.

Hardcoding machineconfig patches for overclocking/underclocking games has become totally obsolete since the implementation of that obvioulsy superior feature.
The '98%' CPU fixing Garou's buggy background @ train stage is what I've found some time ago thanks to that feature, it took me only minutes to find it, and someone wasted time turning that find into a patch because they're too lazy to read Groovy's main release thread and actually realize the awesome features Calamity & Co. have been implementing.

Like, hey, something incredible they've made like days ago again, huge progress for tons of users with that new feature, and there's like only a handful of ppl - not exaggerating - who noticed.
Imagine if Groovy had like, what, just a single f*ing twatter account - the only way ppl will notice anything on the internet these days - well NOPE.  :dunno

GroovyMAME LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @3.9GHz, Rx Vega 56 (temporary), crt_emudriver 2.0b15 18.5.1

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6957
  • Last login:Yesterday at 08:43:34 am
  • Quote me with care
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #300 on: September 23, 2020, 05:42:56 pm »
Imagine if Groovy had like, what, just a single f*ing twatter account - the only way ppl will notice anything on the internet these days - well NOPE.  :dunno

I'm thinking of jumping directly into tik tok.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

Substring

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 481
  • Last login:Today at 03:26:04 pm
  • Forking GroovyArcade
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,160023.0.html
    • GroovyArcade active fork
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #301 on: September 24, 2020, 08:06:44 am »
I'm thinking of jumping directly into tik tok.

Best 2020 idea ever ! so retro, so CRT  :laugh2:
GroovyMAME / GroovyArcade discord: https://discord.gg/YtQ6pJh
GroovyArcade doc: https://gitlab.com/groovyarcade/support/-/wikis/home

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 663
  • Last login:Today at 08:22:04 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #302 on: September 24, 2020, 08:38:32 am »
If he wears nekomimi that'll go smoothly. =^^=
GroovyMAME LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @3.9GHz, Rx Vega 56 (temporary), crt_emudriver 2.0b15 18.5.1

josete2k

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 61
  • Last login:Today at 01:55:42 am
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #303 on: October 02, 2020, 04:06:47 pm »
GroovyMame 0.225

ARCADE XP 32bit
Nonag active
HiScore active


http://www.mediafire.com/file/jgur9kk00pg7rmq/groovymamearcade0225x86.rar

Warning!!! Custom "mame.ini" included, please backup your ini before.

ID4

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 79
  • Last login:October 24, 2020, 11:40:15 am
    • ID4 Retrodev
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #304 on: October 03, 2020, 11:15:14 am »
Hi!

I have compiled my own versión for my cabs.

Quote
Mame 0.225

Patchs:

- 0225_groovymame_017s
- d3d9ex
- 224_03_various_fixes (Haynor666)
- suppression_0224u3 (No nag)

Compiled only the arcade part and only the executable is included.
Use over GroovyMAME 0.225 distribution.

You can download here:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1GL8Tk4Jv9R7Nt2ShvdYAiQsduYdLkTlr/view?usp=sharing

0zzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5
  • Last login:October 11, 2020, 05:55:16 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #305 on: October 05, 2020, 02:01:03 pm »
-j5 is for quadcore cpu - j3 if you re using a dual core for compiling.

You can add target=ARCADE for arcade only builds (non mess).

Hi josete2k, i have compiled as suggested from antoniomauro, but when i run my compiled mame.exe on xp x32i receive this error:
The procedure entry point GetTickCount64 could not be located in the dynamic link library kernel32.dll.
why? can you help me? i need to compila mame 0.217 with no nag and highscore for my old ati 9250

this is my how-to for dummies:

Code: [Select]
C:\msys64>win32env.bat
Copying skeleton files.
These files are for the users to personalise their msys2 experience.

They will never be overwritten nor automatically updated.

'./.bashrc' -> '/home/ala//.bashrc'
'./.bash_logout' -> '/home/ala//.bash_logout'
'./.bash_profile' -> '/home/ala//.bash_profile'
'./.inputrc' -> '/home/ala//.inputrc'
'./.profile' -> '/home/ala//.profile'
'./.vimrc' -> '/home/ala//.vimrc'


[MINGW64] C:\msys64\src>C:\gnu\bin\patch.exe -p0 -E < C:\msys64\suppression_0217u2.diff
patching file src/emu/render.cpp
patching file src/frontend/mame/ui/mainmenu.cpp
patching file src/frontend/mame/ui/ui.cpp



[MINGW64] C:\msys64\src>C:\gnu\bin\patch.exe -p1 -E < C:\msys64\0217_groovymame_017p.diff
patching file scripts/src/emu.lua
patching file scripts/src/osd/sdl.lua
patching file scripts/src/osd/sdl_cfg.lua
patching file scripts/src/osd/windows.lua
...
...
...


[MINGW64] C:\msys64\src> cd ..
[MINGW64] C:\msys64\> cd win32
[MINGW64] C:\msys64\win32> config32.bat
[MINGW64] C:\msys64\win32> cd ..
[MINGW64] C:\msys64\> cd src
[MINGW64] C:\msys64\src> make SYMLEVEL=1 SYMBOLS=1 STRIP_SYMBOLS=1 NOWERROR=1 -j5


EDIT: ok sorry i think i have found, i was on MINGW64, i think i din't run config32.bat  or booh
« Last Edit: October 05, 2020, 02:39:25 pm by 0zzy »

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #306 on: October 07, 2020, 03:38:29 pm »
Fort f. sake. The braindead obtuseness of the regular old nerds at the groovy subforum is why GroovyMAME's not aknowledged nor understood by the bulk of emulators users despite it being superior in so many ways to everything else in the world of arcade emulation, I want to slap people every time I visit.

@alex2005: basically there's a saving CPU% slider in Groovy since iirc v0.205, you can overclock and underclock while playing any game and your settings will be saved (in the cfg folder)

Read the previous page for more details and how to use that.

Hardcoding machineconfig patches for overclocking/underclocking games has become totally obsolete since the implementation of that obvioulsy superior feature.
The '98%' CPU fixing Garou's buggy background @ train stage is what I've found some time ago thanks to that feature, it took me only minutes to find it, and someone wasted time turning that find into a patch because they're too lazy to read Groovy's main release thread and actually realize the awesome features Calamity & Co. have been implementing.

Like, hey, something incredible they've made like days ago again, huge progress for tons of users with that new feature, and there's like only a handful of ppl - not exaggerating - who noticed.
Imagine if Groovy had like, what, just a single f*ing twatter account - the only way ppl will notice anything on the internet these days - well NOPE.  :dunno

That's true but some people does not know hot to fix/change this so I think it's still good idea to put this into source. Besides some CPS2 games like Giga Wing still have  underclocked CPU speed in official source :)

schmerzkaufen

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 663
  • Last login:Today at 08:22:04 am
  • I want a large cream coffee
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #307 on: October 07, 2020, 05:10:27 pm »
Yes CPS2 games are undeclocked by default (74% IIRC) by mamedev's choice but that's far from always being ideal.

Anyway, no matter how you present it, it's silly to hardcode that. The slider is the best solution to search and do many fine-adjustments.
Anyone can do it.

The only reason people are not using the saving CPU slider is that they ignore it exists, or are inept enough that they don't know how to turn 'cheats' on in the mame.ini

OR because as I've said so many times here and there but it's ignored by mamedev and Calamity & Co., the problem is the CPU% slider's full granularity not appearing in the UI (no decimals) which leaves the user blind for fine-tuning and forced to check and edit the .cfg's

Cools suggested it would be even better to directly show the Hz there instead of a %, in which he's probably right but that might not be easy to do, while showing just the decimals might be a simpler and quicker modification.

As per usual, I'll basically have to be the token a-hole wrestling devs in the mud for a year or two until one hears me over the "Im a victim dev slaving for evil ungrateful users" song that blasts in his head every time a user points an issue or requests something even worth consideration, and actually fixes that absurdity (the one who originally created the UI clearly made some odd choices btw, too bad he just abandoned it there)

I think haynor666 demonstrates it well there, it's the same story as with vsync_offset and the specific.ini's overlapping bug before, or even nvidia prescaling bug waaaaay before (Ive mentioned that one to mamedevs many times in like 15 years and it just got fixed); people are either so inept when it comes to using software - or way too skilled like the real nerds who dont use the UI nor inis and therefore dont experience the same problems as the plebs - that until the matter of useability is fully attended, an emulator's (or whatever other software) features have no chances to be noticed/understood/used by them, only the more or less power-users little demographics will know and that's how things stays stuck in the niche.

RetroArch is crap, but almost everything, including the incredible shaders settings (the only good reason to use RA), is controlled through the UI and the settings actually save.
When you ask something like that to mamedevs there's an absolute psychopath that pops up telling you to hang yourself and like finish dying with your entire family in a fire. I'm not even exaggerating.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2020, 05:21:49 pm by schmerzkaufen »
GroovyMAME LCD user: W7 64, viewsonic vx3211-mh, i5-4690k @3.9GHz, Rx Vega 56 (temporary), crt_emudriver 2.0b15 18.5.1

Max_FS

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:October 20, 2020, 03:51:19 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #308 on: October 18, 2020, 02:54:08 am »
Hi everyone,

I was just wondering if there will be a version 0.225 by Haynor himself or not, as josetek and ID4 already uploaded their versions.
On this occasion, many thanks for this great patch, I can't imagine running my cab without it.

haynor666

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1273
  • Last login:October 19, 2020, 11:48:14 am
  • retro maniac
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #309 on: October 19, 2020, 11:47:59 am »
It's uploaded. I've uploaded patch some time ago but I forgot to upload exe :)

Max_FS

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
  • Last login:October 20, 2020, 03:51:19 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #310 on: October 20, 2020, 03:04:39 pm »
And now I found it :D
Many thanks!

kamirik

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • Last login:October 20, 2020, 09:13:07 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: GroovyMAME/ARCADE32/64 custom build
« Reply #311 on: October 20, 2020, 07:40:59 pm »
thank you very much
« Last Edit: October 20, 2020, 09:02:31 pm by kamirik »