Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: So ... 3d Printers....  (Read 44999 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Loafmeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 483
  • Last login:March 22, 2019, 12:49:34 am
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #120 on: October 25, 2017, 02:54:02 am »
Hey instead of putting money into kickstarter why just send it to me instead?  You'll still get absolutely nothing in return, but at least I'll donate it to a charity or something.

I admit itís a chance.  In saying that Kickstarter has been good to me.  I kickstarted the basslet and because the shipping company lost track of all Canadian orders, they felt compelled to recall the first order and send us another.  Only thing, a bunch of us still got the original order, so two for the price of one.  Wonderful little device, brought me back to the days when it was cool to just sit and listen to full albums and relax.  Itís quite immersive if a bit clunky to use because itís not wireless

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3807
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:29:52 pm
  • card carrying purist
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #121 on: October 25, 2017, 09:47:15 am »
You paid actual money for the basslet?

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #122 on: October 25, 2017, 10:36:49 am »
I had to Google what that was. Knowing what it is, Iíd strap it to my nuts and listen to some late 80s rap. The orgasims would be epic.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2017, 12:37:54 pm by yotsuya »
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Titchgamer

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3506
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:20:12 pm
  • I have a gaming addiction.....
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #123 on: October 25, 2017, 11:23:42 am »
I had to Google what that was. Knowing what it is, Iíd strap it to my nuts and listen to some late 80s rap. The organisms would be epic.

Organisms!? ROFL!!

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3807
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:29:52 pm
  • card carrying purist
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #124 on: October 25, 2017, 11:28:43 am »
That's the only use for it that makes sense.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #125 on: October 25, 2017, 07:49:06 pm »
Anyway......

Yots when your printer arrives I've got a list of stuff you need to print.  Some of it can wait, but you need a new fan duct and a power switch housing asap.  You might want to go ahead and buy/salvage a standard computer cord plug and a small on/off switch.  (I pulled mine from a broken pc power supply).  For some unknown reason the a8's don't have a guard over the ac voltage lines, nor is there a power switch.  So you need to print a guard with a switch and plug on it to make everything nice and tidy.  I think it's like a 20-30 minute print so It's a good thing to start with anyway.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #126 on: October 25, 2017, 09:44:27 pm »
Anyway......

Yots when your printer arrives I've got a list of stuff you need to print.  Some of it can wait, but you need a new fan duct and a power switch housing asap.  You might want to go ahead and buy/salvage a standard computer cord plug and a small on/off switch.  (I pulled mine from a broken pc power supply).  For some unknown reason the a8's don't have a guard over the ac voltage lines, nor is there a power switch.  So you need to print a guard with a switch and plug on it to make everything nice and tidy.  I think it's like a 20-30 minute print so It's a good thing to start with anyway.

I have a list of stuff my buddy Arcadenut is printing me to stabilize it. I want to have it on hand when I assemble.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #127 on: October 26, 2017, 01:33:11 am »
So I don't know if I jinxed myself or what, but my power supply burnt out an hour ago.  I think the mosfet inside it blew but the power supplies are so cheap it probably isn't worth it to buy parts.  I can't complain too much as I've been running the poor thing for a year now.  I was running it pretty hard.... I'm printing the Nintendo sign for my world of Nintendo cabinet and it's been printing for about 15-20 hours non-stop. 

I'll have to get out my bench power supply tomorrow and make sure the boards didn't fry, but they should be ok as I did a visual inspection and the damage seems to be localized to the power supply itself. 

The one it comes with is 20 amps and doesn't have a fan.  They have one on amazon right now that is 30 amps with a fan included, which might provide a bit of insurance.  I might get some external mosfets to go with it since I have to re-wire anyway.  Honestly though they don't seem to be needed.  The main board hasn't even gotten a little warm since I bought the thing. 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #128 on: October 26, 2017, 09:16:05 am »
So I don't know if I jinxed myself or what, but my power supply burnt out an hour ago.  I think the mosfet inside it blew but the power supplies are so cheap it probably isn't worth it to buy parts.  I can't complain too much as I've been running the poor thing for a year now.  I was running it pretty hard.... I'm printing the Nintendo sign for my world of Nintendo cabinet and it's been printing for about 15-20 hours non-stop. 

I'll have to get out my bench power supply tomorrow and make sure the boards didn't fry, but they should be ok as I did a visual inspection and the damage seems to be localized to the power supply itself. 

The one it comes with is 20 amps and doesn't have a fan.  They have one on amazon right now that is 30 amps with a fan included, which might provide a bit of insurance.  I might get some external mosfets to go with it since I have to re-wire anyway.  Honestly though they don't seem to be needed.  The main board hasn't even gotten a little warm since I bought the thing.

Iím going to get the external MOSFET for the bed. Did you change out the power connectors?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #129 on: October 26, 2017, 12:32:47 pm »
For the board?  No I still have the stock ones in place.  I think a lot of those melted connector concerns come from people not making sure the wires are properly connected because the main board, even with 20 amps running through it, it doesn't really get warm.

Then again I thought the power supply was ok as well. 

05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1081
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:23:10 pm
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #130 on: October 26, 2017, 12:52:01 pm »
Id like to see what you guys have been designing, so far ill ive seen is downloaded stuff.

Ive been getting better in Fusion 360, (It is free for hobbyist)

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10270
  • Last login:December 14, 2019, 07:21:11 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #131 on: October 26, 2017, 12:58:53 pm »
So far I've been downloading stuff...

I'm trying to learn tinkercad but it's kind of a pain...   :badmood:  maybe I'll have better luck with Fusion 360

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #132 on: October 26, 2017, 12:59:37 pm »
I ordered the MOSFETs, the power connectors, and some IEC power switches this morning. Canít wait for the damn thing to get here.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1081
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:23:10 pm
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #133 on: October 26, 2017, 01:44:46 pm »
So far I've been downloading stuff...

I'm trying to learn tinkercad but it's kind of a pain...   :badmood:  maybe I'll have better luck with Fusion 360

I loved tinker cad but I think I maxed out my level on it. Fusion took a bunch or projects to get used to, I think I have about 4% of its capabilities down. Being able to import a canvas to copy off of is cool, make building up logos way easier.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #134 on: October 26, 2017, 01:46:58 pm »
I just started with Tinkercad. Good stuff. Got Fusion installed.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8600
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:52:32 pm
  • ...
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #135 on: October 26, 2017, 02:03:04 pm »
I just started with Tinkercad. Good stuff. Got Fusion installed.

For me personally, using Tinkercad was a mistake.
It's so easy and I've been able to make everything I've wanted with it. 
So much so that I never moved on to learning "real" 3D design software.
My purpose for buying a cheap little 3D printer was to motivate me to learn CAD software.  :lol



05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1081
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:23:10 pm
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #136 on: October 26, 2017, 02:12:11 pm »
Yeah spending a few hours in Fusion when I knew I could make the same thing in tinker-cad in a few minutes was the hardest part. :banghead:

I still have to talk myself out of using Tinker Cad just so I can get better in fusion.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #137 on: October 26, 2017, 02:22:41 pm »
Tinkercad is great for making functional parts, but not for making art, toys, or anything with compound curves.  So far that's all I've been using, but so far I've mostly been making hinges or project boxes, ect.  I saw a Johnny 5 R/C shell on thingiverse that I'm thinking of doing next, it isn't fully articulated, so I might brush up on my 3dsmax skills by adding full articulation to it. 

On the burnt out power supply front, I hooked it up to the bench supply and everything appears to be ok, so yeah, it was just the shoddy power supply.  So looking at it the transformer appears to have blown or something close to it.... I didn't even know that could happen.  That makes me think it was just defective, but it's been nearly a year, so I doubt its worth it to try and get my money back.

I might pull an old pc power supply to run it while the new one comes in... just so I can get this damn sign finished.  It's coming along nicely, but the slowness of printing something this big is killing me.  It takes approx. 2 hours per letter (1 hour per half of the shell) and it crapped out on the bottom half of the "d" in Nintendo.  So I've got about 10 hours of printing left plus however long it'll take to print the loop around the "Nintendo"  That's really the only thing that kills me about 3d printing, the speed.... it's just too damn slow. 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #138 on: October 26, 2017, 02:44:08 pm »
How big are the pieces youíre printing?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10270
  • Last login:December 14, 2019, 07:21:11 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #139 on: October 26, 2017, 02:48:48 pm »
I printed a 78mm cube, 10% infill, took 8 hours...

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #140 on: October 26, 2017, 02:55:45 pm »
Wow. Why so long?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10270
  • Last login:December 14, 2019, 07:21:11 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #141 on: October 26, 2017, 02:59:20 pm »
Wow. Why so long?

That's just how long?   :dunno

The T-800 skull I just did took about 17.5 hours, 15% infill.

05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1081
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:23:10 pm
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #142 on: October 26, 2017, 03:05:56 pm »
All ya gotta do is

[/URL]

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10270
  • Last login:December 14, 2019, 07:21:11 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #143 on: October 26, 2017, 03:36:26 pm »
Until something fouls up 15 hours into a 17.5 hour print... that'll make you want to  :banghead: :banghead: :censored:

Mike A

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3807
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:29:52 pm
  • card carrying purist
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #144 on: October 26, 2017, 03:38:34 pm »
...or your house burns down.

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #145 on: October 26, 2017, 04:19:43 pm »
^^Both of those ^^

You can speed up prints by doing less infill and adjusting the layer density and move speed, but stuff just takes a long time in general and fiddling with those settings results in a lower quality print.  It's basically slow because you have to print slow enough for the plastic to squirt out and harden before moving on to the next area.  To quote Scotty:  "I CAN'NA CHANGE THE LAWS OF PHYSICS!"

And yeah, you don't have to sit there and stare at the thing, but you need to be in the general vicinity of your printer while it's printing incase the print de-laminates from the hotbed or something goes boom, like what happened to me, ect.  They are far too dangerous to leave them unattended.  It's such a time sink I've seen some people setup an array of webcams so they can step out for a few and still check on things.  I'm thinking of building a metal box to put mine in which would help prevent a fire if something went wrong.  Hmm..... I wonder if the printer would still operate in a vacuum.... that would eliminate the fire risk. 

Actually the pieces I'm doing are pretty small.  Each letter is around 2 inches with 10mm height and they are hollow so I can install red plastic and back-light the whole thing.  One of the main things slowing this print down is I'm using the method where CURA can convert a jpg into a 3d height map, which gives the printer hundreds of points instead of smooth path.  It works really well for what I'm trying to do though and I'll post a step-by-step once I'm done.  If you are crafty about how to set things up and can do a bit of math, you can use this technique to make signs and project boxes and stuff without ever having to crack open the 3d software. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #146 on: October 26, 2017, 11:14:29 pm »
So I ordered a new 30 amp power supply and a mosfet for the hotbed.  Ebay sellers are frikkin scalping these things.  From china the mosfet is like 3 or 4 bucks.. but you'll have to wait 2 or 3 months for it to get here.  The US sellers are selling the exact same thing...they don't even bother to use different pics, only the price is around 10 bucks. 

For the record an ATX supply won't work unless it's an older model.  I tried to use one just to finish up my print but even with a few rails twisted together it kept triggering the overload protection when the hotbed kicked in and the whole psu shut down.  My benchtop faired better as it's made from a really old psu, but I know the wires aren't up to the task so I'll just have to be patient. 

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #147 on: October 26, 2017, 11:41:17 pm »
Found a link I'm interested in.... tri-color a8's baby!

! No longer available

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #148 on: October 26, 2017, 11:50:53 pm »
Found a link I'm interested in.... tri-color a8's baby!

! No longer available

Nice! I canít wait for the damn thing to show up so I can start picking your guys his brains even more.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #149 on: October 26, 2017, 11:54:43 pm »
So I ordered a new 30 amp power supply and a mosfet for the hotbed.  Ebay sellers are frikkin scalping these things.  From china the mosfet is like 3 or 4 bucks.. but you'll have to wait 2 or 3 months for it to get here.  The US sellers are selling the exact same thing...they don't even bother to use different pics, only the price is around 10 bucks. 

For the record an ATX supply won't work unless it's an older model.  I tried to use one just to finish up my print but even with a few rails twisted together it kept triggering the overload protection when the hotbed kicked in and the whole psu shut down.  My benchtop faired better as it's made from a really old psu, but I know the wires aren't up to the task so I'll just have to be patient.

I paid 16.99 for a two pack MOSFET set. Iím not planning to run one for the nozzle, but Iíd like to have a second one on hand just in case.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #150 on: October 26, 2017, 11:55:01 pm »
Do any of you guys have that cable chain on yours for the wiring?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #151 on: October 27, 2017, 12:15:16 am »
I didn't find it necessary.  The wires don't bind in any way and those chains add a lot of weight that could effect the nozzle.  You might want to get some of those mesh wire organizers though as the stuff it comes with is pretty ugly.  Since I'll have it apart for a while anyway I'm currently researching any upgrades that have come out since I built mine.  If I run across anything interesting I'll post a link. 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #152 on: October 27, 2017, 12:23:21 am »
I did buy the wire mesh, but itís on an even slower ---smurfing--- boat. Estimated delivery, December 1.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #153 on: October 27, 2017, 12:25:14 am »
I did order these... I read it helps with the noise level on the machine.

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com%2Fulk%2Fitm%2F172604171126
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #154 on: October 27, 2017, 12:33:15 am »
For the board?  No I still have the stock ones in place.  I think a lot of those melted connector concerns come from people not making sure the wires are properly connected because the main board, even with 20 amps running through it, it doesn't really get warm.

Then again I thought the power supply was ok as well.

If you want to swap the power connectors, PM me your mailing address. I bought a lot of 20 20Amp rated ones and only need a few. Iíll send you some.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Loafmeister

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 483
  • Last login:March 22, 2019, 12:49:34 am
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #155 on: October 27, 2017, 10:42:35 am »
You paid actual money for the basslet?

Yep, it's excellent at what it does.  You try it?

Everyone else on the 3d printer: you're scaring me with this talk of setting webcams and potential fire issues. How the heck did these pass regulations if they are such fire hazards?

05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1081
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:23:10 pm
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #156 on: October 27, 2017, 11:13:51 am »
Anything can blow up if you dont follow instructions.

Like the 2 printers I have, most if not all 3d printers are equipped with sensors which will catch if the hotend or heated bed start to over heat. If the Heat sensor (thermistor) dies or goes bad the system will stop heating and shut everything down.

Most issues ive seen is shotty / cheap PSU's, or the end user crimped some wires wrong.

I would say these are as dangerous as EZ bake ovens, mess up and you get burned. But do it right and you'll get some good tasting muffins.

I installed OctoPrint (Web Cams) on mine simply because I hated hearing the thing all night. I moved both of them to my garage. I can now see and manage my printers from my PC and cell phone, anywhere anytime. I get alert text messages if anything goes wrong (which is very rare). And its nice to give purpose to all these RasberryPi's collecting dust.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19039
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:23:16 pm
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #157 on: October 27, 2017, 12:20:02 pm »
Anything can blow up if you dont follow instructions.

Like the 2 printers I have, most if not all 3d printers are equipped with sensors which will catch if the hotend or heated bed start to over heat. If the Heat sensor (thermistor) dies or goes bad the system will stop heating and shut everything down.

Most issues ive seen is shotty / cheap PSU's, or the end user crimped some wires wrong.

I would say these are as dangerous as EZ bake ovens, mess up and you get burned. But do it right and you'll get some good tasting muffins.

I installed OctoPrint (Web Cams) on mine simply because I hated hearing the thing all night. I moved both of them to my garage. I can now see and manage my printers from my PC and cell phone, anywhere anytime. I get alert text messages if anything goes wrong (which is very rare). And its nice to give purpose to all these RasberryPi's collecting dust.

Tell me more about this ... OctoPrint...
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17924
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:34:55 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #158 on: October 27, 2017, 12:58:43 pm »
With respect... nope, ALL 3d printers are extremely dangerous to leave unattended.  Anything with a heat source shouldn't be left on while you are gone because heat can lead to fire... that's just common sense.  You don't leave the oven on while you are away do you?  How about your soldering iron?  Yeah it's that dumb to just walk away from something that is hot enough to melt plastic. Thermal runaway protection is not 100 percent reliable and if you are relying on it you are literally playing with fire as they only monitor the internal temps of the hotend and heatbed and now any fires on the bed itself from heating contaminated plastic or the psu.

05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1081
  • Last login:Yesterday at 03:23:10 pm
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #159 on: October 27, 2017, 01:26:58 pm »
Tell me more about this ... OctoPrint...

Download HERE

Easy to setup, only thing you need to edit is the WiFi settings, just add your WiFi name and password. Once all setup get the IP address of the PI and plug that into your browser (PC, mobile, anything connecting to that wifi)

You can setup access for outside your network but that involves some IT networking knowledge.

Plug the PI USB into your printer (Assuming that yours will have one) someone can confirm. I tapped my PI power from the PSU provided on the printers.

On my Printrbot I used the Pi Camera module, the quality is fine. On the Folger Tech FT5 I am using a Logitech C920 which works great when it stops trying to focus.

Quality lowered for gif: