Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: So ... 3d Printers....  (Read 39518 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8819
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:49 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #200 on: November 03, 2017, 09:43:47 am »
I watched that video.  That was basically the worst example imaginable.  Why didn't that guy make a second attempt that wasn't a shitshow?

This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #201 on: November 03, 2017, 12:36:56 pm »

Haven稚 assembled yet, but I did upgrade my bearings to the Ingush DryLins...
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10267
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:07:24 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #202 on: November 03, 2017, 12:54:36 pm »
You're supposed to suffer through the stock build first, then print upgrades as you go.  Wimp.   ;D

RandyT

  • Trade Count: (+14)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6254
  • Last login:October 10, 2019, 01:02:12 pm
  • Friends don't let friends hack keyboards.
    • GroovyGameGear.com
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #203 on: November 03, 2017, 01:40:18 pm »
I watched that video.  That was basically the worst example imaginable.  Why didn't that guy make a second attempt that wasn't a shitshow?

You aren't kidding.  Looks like they spent a lot of time and money to make a piece of scrap.

Based on some reviews, a better material for lost wax is found here.  Lower melt-out temp, and supposedly leaves the mold much cleaner in the end.  The Moldlay material has been reported by some to leave a lot of charred residue in the mold.  Your mileage may vary.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #204 on: November 03, 2017, 01:52:42 pm »
You're supposed to suffer through the stock build first, then print upgrades as you go.  Wimp.   ;D

I知 picking up a ton of printed upgrades tomorrow from Arcadenut.

You going to the repair party, homes?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10267
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:07:24 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #205 on: November 03, 2017, 01:55:47 pm »
You're supposed to suffer through the stock build first, then print upgrades as you go.  Wimp.   ;D

I知 picking up a ton of printed upgrades tomorrow from Arcadenut.

You going to the repair party, homes?

Nope, got too much going on.  Soccer for the boy, roller skating birthday party for the girl, not to mention the 20 or so bartop orders waiting to be slot & shipped. 

Really wanted to go, I've got like 4 dead KI pcb's and would love to make a working one out of them.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1209
  • Last login:September 28, 2019, 04:49:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #206 on: November 03, 2017, 04:16:32 pm »
I watched that video.  That was basically the worst example imaginable.  Why didn't that guy make a second attempt that wasn't a shitshow?

You aren't kidding.  Looks like they spent a lot of time and money to make a piece of scrap.

Based on some reviews, a better material for lost wax is found here.  Lower melt-out temp, and supposedly leaves the mold much cleaner in the end.  The Moldlay material has been reported by some to leave a lot of charred residue in the mold.  Your mileage may vary.

Slow work day.
Learning how to use a 3d printer to make molds for the molten aluminum i'm going to have after I melt down some lawnmower engines in the diy smelter i now want to build. :)

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3156
  • Last login:April 26, 2019, 02:25:09 pm
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #207 on: November 03, 2017, 11:26:50 pm »
...molten aluminum i'm going to have after I melt down some lawnmower engines in the diy smelter i now want to build. :)

You too?  I've got two large trash cans of crushed aluminum cans out back waiting for that exact same thing!

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17735
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:30:40 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #208 on: November 04, 2017, 12:55:48 am »
I've been wanting to do one and it doesn't look that hard, but the thing is, I'm a bit on the clumsy side and I'm afraid I'll burn my face off. 

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1209
  • Last login:September 28, 2019, 04:49:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #209 on: November 04, 2017, 02:54:12 pm »
get an LCD welding mask.
covers the face and only goes dark when it senses dangerous levels of light like a welder spark or an eclipse. :)

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17735
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:30:40 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #210 on: November 04, 2017, 10:00:25 pm »
I might try that. 

My mofset came in today.  I was looking at pre-made mofset holders for the a8 and I'm not a fan.  Most put it too close to the board.  The whole point of using one is to get heat away from the main pcb.  I drilled a couple of holes and mounted mine a couple of inches above the pcb.... Mine has a housing around it and heat rises, so it should be good.  I've gotta hunt up some wire tomorrow and finish the install. 

jdbailey1206

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2454
  • Last login:Today at 07:53:27 am
  • No. It's your top score on Pole Position.
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #211 on: November 05, 2017, 07:48:56 am »
« Last Edit: November 05, 2017, 07:50:58 am by jdbailey1206 »

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #212 on: November 05, 2017, 09:34:34 pm »


I知 sorry, I知 still trying to figure out a way to integrate a fish tank.



I just need to finish solidifying the wiring. I plan to do it right the first time.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #213 on: November 05, 2017, 09:45:14 pm »
Oh, what痴 a good way to level the heater bed?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17735
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:30:40 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #214 on: November 05, 2017, 09:56:09 pm »
Move the bed via either the on-board menu or within cura to a corner with the tape or whatever you use already on the bed.  Stick  a piece of typing paper under the nozzle.. you should feel a bit of tension as you move it in and out, but the paper should go under... use the included screw driver to adjust.  Now repeat for the other three corners of the bed.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #215 on: November 05, 2017, 10:01:15 pm »
Move the bed via either the on-board menu or within cura to a corner with the tape or whatever you use already on the bed.  Stick  a piece of typing paper under the nozzle.. you should feel a bit of tension as you move it in and out, but the paper should go under... use the included screw driver to adjust.  Now repeat for the other three corners of the bed.
Thanks, Howard!!

Anyone here do the auto-level upgrade?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1070
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:51:11 am
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #216 on: November 06, 2017, 04:47:14 am »
On both of my printers I cleared the auto level Gcode. I just manually level like Howard mentioned. Once you do it a few times, it will only take a minute or two.

Im excited to see that test cube when you're set.

05SRT4

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1070
  • Last login:Yesterday at 11:51:11 am
  • Check out my Pow Pow
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #217 on: November 06, 2017, 07:01:40 am »
I知 sorry, I知 still trying to figure out a way to integrate a fish tank.
:laugh2: I love this site

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #218 on: November 06, 2017, 08:25:47 am »
On both of my printers I cleared the auto level Gcode. I just manually level like Howard mentioned. Once you do it a few times, it will only take a minute or two.

Im excited to see that test cube when you're set.

I got all the wiring set and fired that mother up. Tested all the connections, seems good. Hope to print the cube tonight.

When I start the machine, it says 展elcome to Omni. Should I play around with the default firmware or just flash it to Skynet before I do anything?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17735
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:30:40 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #219 on: November 06, 2017, 12:09:52 pm »
The default firmware is crap.  Go ahead and switch to Skynet/Marlin

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #220 on: November 06, 2017, 12:25:05 pm »
The default firmware is crap.  Go ahead and switch to Skynet/Marlin

Will do. Thanks!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17735
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:30:40 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #221 on: November 06, 2017, 12:40:17 pm »
Oh and also.... most of the included test models are horribly optimized.  Unless you don't mind wasting a lot of time and filament, just skip them.  Do the cube, then go to thingiverse and start finding stuff there until you are ready to 3d model. 

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10267
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:07:24 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #222 on: November 06, 2017, 01:19:25 pm »
Yup just start with the 20mm cube and go from there.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #223 on: November 06, 2017, 02:07:46 pm »
Yeah, I just plan to do the cube.

So I downloaded Skynet 2.2 and am looking at the directions, Seems simple enough, but I do have a question. It sys you need to select the correct probe configuration before you compile. There are two choices I think that would apply to me - Stock A8 with front left tubular sensor or Stock A8 with official rear sensor. My machine is totally stock, so which applies to me? According to the comments in the code, it says "I recommend for the A8 that you use the front mounted sensor (8MM) because they give greater sensing distance). Or is this for a auto-level sensor and I don't need to uncomment anything here? Advice?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17735
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:30:40 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #224 on: November 06, 2017, 02:35:21 pm »
Full stop.  The latest version of Skynet is 2.3.2.  You don't really comment or uncomment anything.... you download the master zip file, go to the Skynet folder, go to the anet a8 folder and then select the appropriate configuration file to put in the main Skynet folder.  There's an illustrated readme if you scroll down the included link. 

https://github.com/thijsk/Skynet3d

I believe cura isn't included in this zip, but I have the older version of the zip file if you need it. 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #225 on: November 06, 2017, 02:39:05 pm »
Thanks for the link - yeah, that's different than what's in 2.2.

Pretty chuffed - should have some time this week to print my cube!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #226 on: November 07, 2017, 04:36:02 pm »
I installed Skynet 3D last night. Compiled & flashed flawlessly. I want to finish cleaning up my wiring tonight and then I will be ready to print The Cube.

I did order some inexpensive but I highly rated filament to start testing out. The funny thing is the first set of things I plan to print out is upgrades for the printer.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #227 on: November 07, 2017, 04:37:19 pm »
ProTip request - do you print out one thing at a time, or do you print out a bunch a little things all at once?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8819
  • Last login:Today at 08:16:49 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #228 on: November 07, 2017, 04:54:26 pm »
This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

nitrogen_widget

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1209
  • Last login:September 28, 2019, 04:49:35 am
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #229 on: November 07, 2017, 05:03:16 pm »
Jeff Dunham printed this things head on his 3d printer.
took 8 days.


yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #230 on: November 07, 2017, 05:49:27 pm »
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #231 on: November 07, 2017, 07:29:16 pm »


***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #232 on: November 07, 2017, 07:46:04 pm »
I will post more in just a bit, but let me say right now that bed leveling is a pain in the dick.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Slippyblade

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3156
  • Last login:April 26, 2019, 02:25:09 pm
  • And to the death god we say, "Not today!"
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #233 on: November 07, 2017, 07:57:29 pm »
What infill % is that?  Looks very dense.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #234 on: November 07, 2017, 08:00:58 pm »
What infill % is that?  Looks very dense.

Mexican I don稚 know, everything is the default right now.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Howard_Casto

  • Idiot Police
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17735
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:30:40 pm
  • Your Post's Soul is MINE!!! .......Again??
    • The Dragon King
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #235 on: November 07, 2017, 08:27:35 pm »
ProTip request - do you print out one thing at a time, or do you print out a bunch a little things all at once?

Print out one thing at a time.  If a print screws up it's better to screw up one thing instead of 8 things.  Of course once you are more confident you might want to print batches of parts.... I'm still not that brave yet. 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #236 on: November 07, 2017, 08:45:55 pm »
Ok, here痴 my cube pix...









The edges are nice and crisp, as you can see. I知 curious about the layer fill. Also, on the Z sides, you can clearly see some gaps.

Now, I didn稚 change a thing in Cura, just loaded the cube from Thingiverse, hit print, and this was the result. Any tips?

***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #237 on: November 07, 2017, 08:49:50 pm »
 Btw, this was the THIRD try. Back to auto-leveling being a PITA, I thought I had it leveled once, but clearly it was too high, as nothing stuck to the bed. So I adjusted... and the nozzle ended up tearing up the tape. I have thick painters tape, so I tore up that yellow and put the blue down. I finally got the nozzle low enough, adjusted the Z stop switch, and then success. But my dick be painin.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10267
  • Last login:Yesterday at 09:07:24 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #238 on: November 07, 2017, 09:16:12 pm »
Wow that's ugly. 

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18940
  • Last login:Today at 02:11:20 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: So ... 3d Printers....
« Reply #239 on: November 07, 2017, 09:27:30 pm »
Wow that's ugly.



So what I do I to fix it, homes?
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***