Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?  (Read 1378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

bandontherun

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
  • Last login:May 13, 2017, 06:29:41 pm
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« on: June 26, 2016, 05:48:02 pm »
Multicades allowed what would you do..

Multi-Williams
ArcadeSD
MAME
multi Vector
Dedicated??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18596
  • Last login:Today at 09:56:27 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2016, 05:54:36 pm »
Muticades being allowed makes this a really boring question.

For me, my Moon Patrol and my Asteroids.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

Le Chuck

  • Saint, make a poll!
  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5509
  • Last login:Today at 07:36:47 am
  • <insert personal text here>
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2016, 10:06:59 pm »
Two pinball machines.  One SS one EM. 

harveybirdman

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2528
  • Last login:April 18, 2019, 06:24:48 pm
  • SHMUP'EM
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2016, 10:10:51 pm »
2 multi shmups, one vertical one horizontal

adder

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 639
  • Last login:March 20, 2019, 01:19:00 pm
  • Location: Easy St.
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2016, 10:42:23 pm »
groovymame cab with rotatable monitor, and an outrun upright

Malenko

  • KNEEL BEFORE ZODlenko!
  • Trade Count: (+58)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 13509
  • Last login:Today at 10:02:32 am
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,142404.msg1475162.html
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2016, 10:30:23 am »
1 giant ---smurfing--- gaudy pedestal cabinet with every single control possible , especially tron sticks, star wars yokes, at least 3 trackballs, and mother lovin pinball buttons!
I'd then sell it to Chance Johnson  and he can make a video about it and spam facebook and KLOV about it.
No matter one's station in life, the Dance of Death unites us all.

pbj

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8286
  • Last login:Today at 08:34:15 am
  • Obey.
    • The Chris Burke Band
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2016, 10:58:06 am »
Hmm... probably a pedestal with a giant flat screen and a DDR.

This forum needs more threads about Arcade 1Up cabinets.

markc74

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 694
  • Last login:Today at 04:50:43 am
  • Trademarking 2Up. I'll be RICH. Bwah-ha-ha
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137295.0.html
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2016, 01:15:43 pm »
Groovymame cab and paperboy. Easy.

CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7772
  • Last login:September 11, 2017, 07:34:34 am
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2016, 06:20:21 pm »
MultiWilliams
MultiExidy
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

mclovin

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 257
  • Last login:Today at 07:51:23 am
  • GT newbie
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2016, 10:51:03 pm »
Definitely my #1 would be a golden tee dedicated hands down.
#2 super sprint
#3 ms PacMan

ark_ader

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5645
  • Last login:March 02, 2019, 07:35:34 pm
  • I glow in the dark.
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2016, 04:43:27 am »
Original Ladybird that has been intentionally multi-maimed.

Funhouse Pinball
If I had only one wish, it would be for three more wishes.

Generic Eric

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4518
  • Last login:January 07, 2019, 04:49:29 pm
  • Restore! Don't maim for MAME, build from scratch!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,143226.0.html
Re: Only 2 Cabinets allowed - which ones would you choose?
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2016, 10:29:46 am »


Emulator cabinet isn't a destination.  It's a tool to help you find what you really like.  I really like shumps and beat'em ups.  I know this, because this is what I bothered to configure the pc for.  I thought it would be cool to play fighters, but never bothered to configure the pc to make the multi fighter "work,"  so it was always an underwhelming experience.

Another example.  I bought a bunch of the pinballfx2 tables on steam, because I thought it would be cool to play them on a multipin.  never got that set up.

If you need to scratch an itch to build something, and need to build 2, build a multigame cab in horizontal, and one in vertical. 

The most versatile unit is a pedestal.  Mount the TV to a wall or pole and roll out the pedestal when you need it.  Save your space for dedicated machines. 

 :soapbox:

And another thing.  Now isn't the time to fret over artwork.  Paint it black and start playing games!  A theme will present itself when you start playing games.