Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Installing MAME updates with patch.exe? newbie question  (Read 1536 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 551
  • Last login:November 20, 2018, 01:44:12 pm
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Installing MAME updates with patch.exe? newbie question
« on: March 07, 2012, 08:36:59 am »
Hello,
I have spent some time researching on google and experimenting on my own, but can't figure it out.
So I am seeking some assistance. thanks in advance.


Have MAME 145 from mamedev. need to apply the 3 updates ( http://mamedev.org/updates.html )

--Exactly which folder, by name, do I place the 3 diff files in my MAME folder structure?
--exactly which folder should I navigate to for running the patch command from (from DOS)
--What do I do once the patch.exe window appears with a blinking cursor and blank screen.

Thank you.

BadMouth

  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8600
  • Last login:Yesterday at 07:52:32 pm
  • ...

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 551
  • Last login:November 20, 2018, 01:44:12 pm
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: Installing MAME updates with patch.exe? newbie question
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2012, 12:17:55 pm »
Thank you, the visuals are a big help but I am still stuck.

At the section labeled "Apply the "u" Update DIFFs."

I have everything installed prior to this installed as suggested including editing the batch files for the bin path.

PROBLEM- When I go to the command prompt and run "patchmame 0145u1"  it opens the patch.exe program to a blank black window and just sits.

I'm using Windows 7 64-bit.
any ideas how to get it to start patching file as the instructions explain?

1500points

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 551
  • Last login:November 20, 2018, 01:44:12 pm
    • How to succeed at Robotron
Re: Installing MAME updates with patch.exe? newbie question
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2012, 12:25:12 pm »
figured it out it was the silly Elevated command prompt issue. had to run command prompt  by right click and run as administrator. ahem.  thanks again! very cool.