Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Groovymame howto  (Read 4485 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rexel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:January 14, 2012, 01:40:37 am
Groovymame howto
« on: September 24, 2011, 12:29:34 am »
HI
Is there a Groovymame howto??
Iam trying to get things setup but stuck with either going down the soft 15khz path or using groovymame.
But iam stuck on finding out what to do first to get things going.
Cheers

Calamity

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6640
  • Last login:June 22, 2019, 12:06:55 pm
Re: Groovymame howto
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2011, 10:14:39 am »
Hi rexel,

Unfortunately there's no 'howto' yet, info exists but is spread. Let us know which video card/monitor/OS you're trying to set up because depending on that you'll need to follow a different path.
Important note: posts reporting GM issues without a log will be IGNORED.
Steps to create a log:
 - From command line, run: groovymame.exe -v romname >romname.txt
 - Attach resulting romname.txt file to your post, instead or pasting it.

CRT Emudriver, VMMaker & Arcade OSD downloads, documentation and discussion:  Eiusdemmodi

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
  • Last login:November 04, 2018, 12:58:03 pm
Re: Groovymame howto
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2011, 01:35:51 pm »
I can give an account of my setup path here, maybe it'll be a similar case for you.

I have a Radeon 2400 HD card, Windows XP x64 and and Nanao MS9 arcade monitor to work with.

First thing I did was download and install Calamity's ATI drivers (Catalyst version 9.3 for my card) and GroovyMAME from the GroovyMAME homepage: http://mame.groovy.org/

Then I installed the ATI drivers and restarted the machine.

Next I unzipped GroovyMAME to a folder on my C drive and configured the VMMaker software also available from the GroovyMAME site. This is done by editing the VMMaker.ini with notepad and I chose "GENERIC" as my monitor type since the default "CUSTOM" setting gave some odd resolutions first time I tried it. I also had to set my dotclock to 7.3 as anything below that did not agree with my GFX card. Apparently 2xxxHD cards and up have this issue, though your mileage may vary. Finally I set up the path to my MAME executable and told the ini to create an XML and read that XML after to generate the resolutions I needed. It then generated the most suitable list of resolutions/refresh rates for my setup (limited to 120) and wrote that info to the registry. I then reset the machine again.

At this point you can use arcade_osd to check the available resolutions (those installed and usable via groovymame) to make sure you can actually use them. No problems here.

Lastly I needed to run the games I wanted to play and made sure they all worked as expected. The only games I had an issue with were the Midway Wolf/Y/T unit games (termintor 2, MK 1,2,3, NBA Jam etc) which would be squashed in the middle of the screen. I simply then made an ini for each game (e.g. mk.ini) in a "ini" subdirectory of my groovymame folder for each game and formatted them like this:

Code: [Select]
modeline         1
resolution        401x256

This probably isn't ideal for whatever reason but it did work for me and I have no stutter, tearing or pixel deformities on these games. You may need to experiment with different resolutions to get it looking correct.

These games also had another issue where they rocketed at about 450% speed which was fixed (albeit not an ideal solution) by enabling tripplebuffering. This also fixed huge Tekken Tag slowdowns while fighters were moving ingame while still keeping the benefits of the setup.

I hope this helps a bit, I can expand upon any points here if needed.
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

rexel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:January 14, 2012, 01:40:37 am
Re: Groovymame howto
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2011, 11:39:57 pm »
Hi rexel,

Unfortunately there's no 'howto' yet, info exists but is spread. Let us know which video card/monitor/OS you're trying to set up because depending on that you'll need to follow a different path.

im looking to get started using a p4 with ATI x300, running windows xp sp2 and i would like to hook this upinto an arcade monitor using a Kortek Kt2623M chasis.

Would appreciate any guidance with the setup..

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
  • Last login:November 04, 2018, 12:58:03 pm
Re: Groovymame howto
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2011, 01:17:20 am »
The Kt2623M is 15k right? Just do what I said above.
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

rexel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:January 14, 2012, 01:40:37 am
Re: Groovymame howto
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2011, 06:23:45 am »
do u mean 15khz?

retrorepair

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 242
  • Last login:November 04, 2018, 12:58:03 pm
Re: Groovymame howto
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2011, 11:47:40 am »
Yes
My arcade racing setup:
My Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/RetroRepair
My Twitter: http://twitter.com/retrorepair

rexel

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
  • Last login:January 14, 2012, 01:40:37 am
Re: Groovymame howto
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2011, 10:38:06 pm »
Iam wondering if anyone else would like to contribute with a how-to on groovymame.. ? it would be pretty useful considering there not an official one yet (not that i could find anyway..)



I can give an account of my setup path here, maybe it'll be a similar case for you.

I have a Radeon 2400 HD card, Windows XP x64 and and Nanao MS9 arcade monitor to work with.

First thing I did was download and install Calamity's ATI drivers (Catalyst version 9.3 for my card) and GroovyMAME from the GroovyMAME homepage: http://mame.groovy.org/

Then I installed the ATI drivers and restarted the machine.

Next I unzipped GroovyMAME to a folder on my C drive and configured the VMMaker software also available from the GroovyMAME site. This is done by editing the VMMaker.ini with notepad and I chose "GENERIC" as my monitor type since the default "CUSTOM" setting gave some odd resolutions first time I tried it. I also had to set my dotclock to 7.3 as anything below that did not agree with my GFX card. Apparently 2xxxHD cards and up have this issue, though your mileage may vary. Finally I set up the path to my MAME executable and told the ini to create an XML and read that XML after to generate the resolutions I needed. It then generated the most suitable list of resolutions/refresh rates for my setup (limited to 120) and wrote that info to the registry. I then reset the machine again.

At this point you can use arcade_osd to check the available resolutions (those installed and usable via groovymame) to make sure you can actually use them. No problems here.

Lastly I needed to run the games I wanted to play and made sure they all worked as expected. The only games I had an issue with were the Midway Wolf/Y/T unit games (termintor 2, MK 1,2,3, NBA Jam etc) which would be squashed in the middle of the screen. I simply then made an ini for each game (e.g. mk.ini) in a "ini" subdirectory of my groovymame folder for each game and formatted them like this:

Code: [Select]
modeline         1
resolution        401x256

This probably isn't ideal for whatever reason but it did work for me and I have no stutter, tearing or pixel deformities on these games. You may need to experiment with different resolutions to get it looking correct.

These games also had another issue where they rocketed at about 450% speed which was fixed (albeit not an ideal solution) by enabling tripplebuffering. This also fixed huge Tekken Tag slowdowns while fighters were moving ingame while still keeping the benefits of the setup.

I hope this helps a bit, I can expand upon any points here if needed.