Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!  (Read 21151 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18884
  • Last login:Today at 10:00:15 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #40 on: May 25, 2011, 04:03:52 pm »
Oh, it's on, buddy! IT'S ON!!!!
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

HaRuMaN

  • Supreme Solder King
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+45)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10265
  • Last login:Yesterday at 06:56:12 pm
  • boom
    • Arcade Madness
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #41 on: May 25, 2011, 04:11:05 pm »
 >:D

yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18884
  • Last login:Today at 10:00:15 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #42 on: May 25, 2011, 04:13:17 pm »
I figure if worse comes to worse, I can go steal the RoadBlasters conversion Star-Wars at Castles N' Coasters.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

LeedsFan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1042
  • Last login:May 02, 2019, 11:33:03 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #43 on: May 29, 2011, 12:41:27 am »
I'd build one from scratch, but the control panel/plastic bezel part is what throws me for a loop.

Have you checked the ROTJ Vector version? He scratch-built a SW cab with the bezel. Looks pretty easy to make:



http://urbaninteractive.wordpress.com/2009/12/


That looks really cool!  But does anyone know what frontend is being used on this cabinet? I've not seen anything like this before but it's exactly what i would like to use on my own Star Wars project.

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #44 on: May 29, 2011, 08:34:27 am »
He made the frontend, you can grab it from his site. You'll have to go through his build pages month by month to find it though.

taylormadelv

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 377
  • Last login:February 18, 2019, 05:46:59 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #45 on: May 29, 2011, 01:06:37 pm »
Awesome project, I have been watching this one! Funny thing about emulating SW and ESB... I've been playing around with a P4 2.4 2gm ram, Radeon 9250 + ZVG card + Command line mame .137 and basically I always go into some sort of Frameskip on these games, even with zvg rendering off. This rig played most vector games in AAE pretty nicely.
I went back to Macmame OS 9 version .66 and these games all play PERFECTLY on an old, boat anchor G4 and I'm running classic, not even native OS9. The way Macmame OS9 renders vector games rivals even the output of the ZVG to a real WG6100 completely cranked up. Yes, I am comparing a real vector monitor to a VGA powered by Macmame and the way I am testing these, Macmame looks better because there is no frameskip, the intensity of the vectors can be cranked up way beyond any PC flavor of mame I have used. Macmame OS 9 .66 is the best vector game emulator I have used and I own several "real" arcade vectors. The problem is that OS9 has no front end as far as I know and always has that nag screen when you first open the app.

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #46 on: June 20, 2011, 04:41:16 pm »
Not much to report here, having mad problems compiling MAME. Artwork is coming along nicely though, have also sent the acrylic CPO for laser cutting, should be ready in a day or two.


LeedsFan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1042
  • Last login:May 02, 2019, 11:33:03 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #47 on: June 20, 2011, 04:59:07 pm »
I've just been playing around with the PC and software side of things on my own project these last few days. It was quite frustrating but I think I've got there in the end.

I have a separate Star Wars.ini file with Gamma set at 2.0, Beam at 1.2.  I think the Beam will depend on your monitor, just play around with it till it looks good. Default Mame.ini settings suck for all vector games, but you can get them to look nice and bright if you play with those two settings.

Regards PC specs I had two boxes to play around with this past week. The first was a 2.9 GHz "eMachines 4034" box. I had this as favourite to run Star Wars smoothly with that kind of speed processor (Pentium 4). But it slowed to 65% on destryoing the Death Star and the sound stuttered like mad.

Then I tried a second box with only a Sempron 1.99 GHz processor. This was much better! Speed dipped to only 95% on destroying Death Star and the sound didn't skip so I'm happy with that. Both machines were running Windows XP (fresh installs on each) and both had the same onboard Radeon Xpress 200 graphics. The Sempron box did have 1.0 Gig RAM as opposed to the 512 MB RAM in the Pentium box. Both machines seemed run the game at 100% with no Frameskip just fine... until the Death Star sequence. But on a dedicated cab you can't have that sequence screwing up! I'm still surprised at the box that won out in the end though.


EDIT:  Just for info purposes I also have two other machines which I tried Star Wars on.....

1)   Intel Core Duo E8500 @ 3.16 GHz with Windows Vista, Radeon HD4850 and 3.0 GB RAM.   Games runs about the same as the Sempron. It does very slightly drop speed at Death Star sequence with no sound stutter. I'd say it's slightly better than the Sempron but when you factor in the cost the Sempron still wins.

2)  Intel i3 530 OCed to 4.0 GHz with Win7, Radeon HD5570...  blah blah     :laugh2:   Yeah... no flaws whatsoever. It laughs in the face of the Death Star at 100% without a flinch.  Just thought I'd add this in for completeness    :P

ChadTower

  • Chief Kicker - Nobody's perfect, including me. Fantastic body.
  • Trade Count: (+12)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38215
  • Last login:June 17, 2019, 10:20:06 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #48 on: June 21, 2011, 09:03:38 am »
Macmame OS 9 .66 is the best vector game emulator I have used and I own several "real" arcade vectors. The problem is that OS9 has no front end as far as I know and always has that nag screen when you first open the app.


I would like to see this.  The nag screen is easy to remove.

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #49 on: June 24, 2011, 06:41:03 am »
Thanks for the info, LeedFan. I now have my recompiled MAME 0.137 running, computer is a Core 2 1.83Ghz, 2G RAM, Nvidia Quadro FX 550.

No Death Star slowdown/sound stuttering! I can't believe it!

My mame.ini is below (just the video bits) - any video options you think need changing here, ie. hwstretch???

#
# CORE PERFORMANCE OPTIONS
#
autoframeskip             0
frameskip                 0
seconds_to_run            0
throttle                  1
sleep                     1
speed                     1.0
refreshspeed              0

#
# WINDOWS PERFORMANCE OPTIONS
#
priority                  0
multithreading            0
numprocessors             auto

#
# WINDOWS VIDEO OPTIONS
#
video                     d3d
numscreens                1
window                    0
maximize                  1
keepaspect                1
prescale                  1
effect                    none
waitvsync                 0
syncrefresh               0

#
# DIRECTDRAW-SPECIFIC OPTIONS
#
hwstretch                 1

#
# DIRECT3D-SPECIFIC OPTIONS
#
d3dversion                9
filter                    1

#
# PER-WINDOW VIDEO OPTIONS
#
screen                    auto
aspect                    auto
resolution                auto
view                      auto
screen0                   auto
aspect0                   auto
resolution0               auto
view0                     auto
screen1                   auto
aspect1                   auto
resolution1               auto
view1                     auto
screen2                   auto
aspect2                   auto
resolution2               auto
view2                     auto
screen3                   auto
aspect3                   auto
resolution3               auto
view3                     auto

#
# FULL SCREEN OPTIONS
#
triplebuffer              0
switchres                 0
full_screen_brightness    1.0
full_screen_contrast      1.0
full_screen_gamma         1.0



« Last Edit: June 24, 2011, 03:28:15 pm by shrunkenmaster »

rrcade

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Last login:October 28, 2018, 01:28:34 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #50 on: June 25, 2011, 05:58:40 am »
The problem I have with the frontend from urbaninteractive is that if you hit esc more than once you are exited out of the frontend, have you found a way around this?

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #51 on: June 25, 2011, 08:35:39 am »
Hey rrcade,
I'm having mad trouble with the frontend. What yoke/interface are you using? Could you please post your launcher .ini here?
No escape button workaround here, just be careful to press once!

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret! - Artwork Update
« Reply #52 on: June 25, 2011, 08:53:34 am »
Here's the new marquee I've been working on:




and the new yoke overlay:




and the new control panel:



Not sure what to do with the kick panel yet...
« Last Edit: June 25, 2011, 08:56:19 am by shrunkenmaster »

emphatic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1949
  • Last login:May 22, 2018, 12:44:54 am
  • -"Suck it, Donny!" -"No, YOU suck it.... more".
    • Emphatic's Video Game Collection
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #53 on: June 25, 2011, 09:20:03 am »
Artwork looks clean and awesome!  :cheers:

Bender

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1919
  • Last login:November 28, 2016, 08:12:21 pm
    • Happ to Tron Conversion tutorial
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #54 on: June 25, 2011, 12:26:20 pm »
Man this is going to be sweet!!! :cheers:

I want one!!!!

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #55 on: June 25, 2011, 12:51:26 pm »
Thanks for the words of encouragement emphatic & Bender. I'm really looking forward to putting all the pieces together once I get the control panel acrylic back from the shop.

Just flipped the video for the Targetting Computer display, much better the right way up!


LeedsFan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1042
  • Last login:May 02, 2019, 11:33:03 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #56 on: June 25, 2011, 05:47:21 pm »
Hey rrcade,
I'm having mad trouble with the frontend. What yoke/interface are you using? Could you please post your launcher .ini here?
No escape button workaround here, just be careful to press once!

Easiest workaround to this problem is to set your Mame "Escape" key to something else... and then don't have an actual keyboard Escape on the cabinet.

EDIT:  The problem I had with the launcher is that it refused to work in portrait mode on my cab. It just froze every time. I had the config file set to the correct resolution but it was total fail.

Encryptor

  • Trade Count: (+34)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1284
  • Last login:June 30, 2019, 07:45:36 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #57 on: June 25, 2011, 10:37:15 pm »
sm - Very nice artwork dude! This one is going to be as nice as your Tron mini. Nice job!

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #58 on: June 30, 2011, 12:42:03 pm »
Finally got the acrylic overlay back. Have also sent all the artwork to be printed, hope to have it back sometime next week.


Generic Eric

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4518
  • Last login:July 04, 2019, 11:43:48 am
  • Restore! Don't maim for MAME, build from scratch!
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,143226.0.html
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #59 on: June 30, 2011, 02:11:59 pm »
That looks really cool!  But does anyone know what frontend is being used on this cabinet? I've not seen anything like this before but it's exactly what i would like to use on my own Star Wars project.

He made the frontend, you can grab it from his site. You'll have to go through his build pages month by month to find it though.

http://urbaninteractive.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/launcher-released-and-a-couple-facelifts/#comment-156

http://www.urbaninteractive.net/Launcher%20v1.01.zip

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #60 on: July 07, 2011, 11:11:55 am »
After a battle with the urbaninteractive front end, which now only seems to work with the mouse, I decided to go back to my old friend MALA. I created two snapshots, one each for Star Wars and Empire. I made a layout in MALA that just displays the snaps. It works well enough for me.






TopJimmyCooks

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2093
  • Last login:July 31, 2019, 05:46:35 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #61 on: July 07, 2011, 11:23:36 am »
Looks great and really shows the flexibility of Mala.  I like this trick and the other gent here with the superPac where he made only one game show up in the scrolling game list at a time. 

Bender

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1919
  • Last login:November 28, 2016, 08:12:21 pm
    • Happ to Tron Conversion tutorial
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #62 on: July 07, 2011, 11:43:08 am »
Great work on the Art, and the front end!!!!! :cheers:
How long till that Vector ROTJ comes out?
Will you do a triangle setup or 3 across?
Man I really like these Star Wars projects!!
if i didn't already have too many projects going I'd have to build one of these too :banghead:

emphatic

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1949
  • Last login:May 22, 2018, 12:44:54 am
  • -"Suck it, Donny!" -"No, YOU suck it.... more".
    • Emphatic's Video Game Collection
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #63 on: July 07, 2011, 11:58:26 am »
Wow, this is going to be phenomenal.  :notworthy:

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #64 on: July 07, 2011, 11:59:36 am »
Thanks for the encouragement guys.

I have no idea when the ROTJ vector version will be ready. The author was working on the engine last time I looked, but hopefully one day the circle will be complete!

I'm waiting on artwork now, so I can finally install the buttons and finish the CP. In the meantime, I need to find somewhere for the band to play...


Woodshop Flunky

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 681
  • Last login:August 20, 2017, 05:24:57 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #65 on: July 07, 2011, 12:38:43 pm »
This is just getting better and better!   :cheers:

Complete mini arcade cabinet plans available.

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #66 on: July 07, 2011, 01:01:38 pm »
I've had this little Cantina Band Set for a while now, but had nowhere to put it. There's a battery-powered box with a button, which plays the "Cantina Band" music. I've now extended the switch wires and routed the power wires to the computers' 5v supply. Just need to find the ideal place for the band to perform... more soon.




LeedsFan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1042
  • Last login:May 02, 2019, 11:33:03 am
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #67 on: July 07, 2011, 01:25:06 pm »
That is great what you did there with the frontend!  I also had trouble with the Urbaninteractive FE and just could not get it to work in portrait mode. It's a really cool FE but it looks like neither of us can use it.  :-\

I also made a Mala setup but it's not as nice as yours. I'm really crap at artwork and setting up FE's. One thing you could do (dunno if you think it would be as good) is to have the .avi file play in the background but without displaying it. Then as you highlight each game you also get the sound from the game video. That's what I did on mine but all you see is the game list and the marquee.

Oh... and I wanna hear that band play!   :applaud:

Nephasth

  • Guest
  • Trade Count: (0)
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #68 on: July 07, 2011, 01:28:24 pm »
Love your FE for this project! And your targeting display! :applaud:

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #69 on: July 07, 2011, 01:29:28 pm »
TI'm really crap at artwork and setting up FE's.

Cheers mate, let me know if you need any help with your frontend graphics, it would be a pleasure!

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #70 on: July 07, 2011, 03:54:45 pm »
One thing you could do (dunno if you think it would be as good) is to have the .avi file play in the background but without displaying it. Then as you highlight each game you also get the sound from the game video.

I was planning to do this next! Great idea, and another cool thing to do with MALA.  :cheers:

wp34

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4250
  • Last login:July 29, 2019, 06:04:02 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #71 on: July 07, 2011, 04:35:35 pm »
This is so awesome.  I love the targeting computer and your front-end menu.  You've managed to design something very new and creative yet would not look out of place in an arcade circa 1983. 

 :cheers:

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #72 on: July 09, 2011, 04:42:55 pm »

I went back to Macmame OS 9 version .66 and these games all play PERFECTLY on an old, boat anchor G4 and I'm running classic, not even native OS9. The way Macmame OS9 renders vector games rivals even the output of the ZVG to a real WG6100 completely cranked up. Yes, I am comparing a real vector monitor to a VGA powered by Macmame and the way I am testing these, Macmame looks better because there is no frameskip, the intensity of the vectors can be cranked up way beyond any PC flavor of mame I have used. Macmame OS 9 .66 is the best vector game emulator I have used and I own several "real" arcade vectors. The problem is that OS9 has no front end as far as I know and always has that nag screen when you first open the app.

I just dug out MacMAME 0.103u2 and had a play on my PPC G5. All I can say is UNBELIEVABLE.

The vectors, the framerate, everything S**TS on the PC I've currently got in my cab. I'm looking at this on an old G4 LCD monitor too!

Words can't describe how much of an improvement there is.




Bender

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1919
  • Last login:November 28, 2016, 08:12:21 pm
    • Happ to Tron Conversion tutorial
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #73 on: July 10, 2011, 02:23:14 pm »
Where did you get the illuminated buttons?
and how big are they roughly?

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #74 on: July 11, 2011, 04:37:44 pm »
Bender, here's the eBay listing :

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/6pcs-Lighted-Push-Square-Button-Switch-Lamp-LED-12-Volt-/270770343541?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f0b2b8e75

All the dimensions are on there, but let me know if you need any further details.


shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #75 on: August 15, 2011, 03:42:48 pm »
Finally got the artwork back (my printer was on holiday) - all looks good. Only managed to get the yoke overlay applied so far:





Should be able to get the bezel and marquee done over the next couple of days...
« Last Edit: August 15, 2011, 03:48:03 pm by shrunkenmaster »

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #76 on: August 19, 2011, 01:09:41 pm »
Applied the bezel vinyl. Luckily all my measurements came together - the yoke cutout in the vinyl and the acrylic are bang on!



Got the buttons in too:





Hopefully tonight I'll get the buttons and lights wired up. More soon...


yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18884
  • Last login:Today at 10:00:15 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #77 on: August 19, 2011, 01:42:51 pm »
Shrunkenmaster-

The vinyl looks great! How did you apply it? A friend of mine created a 23 by 20 inch vinyl bezel sticker for me, but I'm scared to death to apply it.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***

shrunkenmaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 636
  • Last login:January 25, 2019, 01:11:08 pm
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #78 on: August 19, 2011, 01:56:16 pm »
Shrunkenmaster-

The vinyl looks great! How did you apply it? A friend of mine created a 23 by 20 inch vinyl bezel sticker for me, but I'm scared to death to apply it.

Yes my man, it can be scary! I aligned the vinyl with the acrylic, then clamped one end. At the other end I cut off about an inch of the backing paper and stuck that down. Took the clamps off, then just used my fingers to SLOWLY press down on the vinyl while pulling the paper up inch by inch. Take it slow, make sure the surface is free from dirt (including flecks of backing paper) and it's not as bad as you might think.

You can also make up a solution of slighty soapy water in a spray bottle and apply sparingly to the acrylic beforehand. This will allow you to reposition/peel up the vinyl should you have a problem during application. Some people also use a credit card to smooth things out rather than fingers! Hope that helps.




yotsuya

  • Trade Count: (+21)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18884
  • Last login:Today at 10:00:15 am
  • 2014 UCA Winner, 2014, 2015, 2016 ZapCon Winner
    • forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,137636.msg1420628.html
Re: Star Wars Upright - Custom Cabaret!
« Reply #79 on: August 19, 2011, 02:18:24 pm »
Shrunkenmaster-

The vinyl looks great! How did you apply it? A friend of mine created a 23 by 20 inch vinyl bezel sticker for me, but I'm scared to death to apply it.

Yes my man, it can be scary! I aligned the vinyl with the acrylic, then clamped one end. At the other end I cut off about an inch of the backing paper and stuck that down. Took the clamps off, then just used my fingers to SLOWLY press down on the vinyl while pulling the paper up inch by inch. Take it slow, make sure the surface is free from dirt (including flecks of backing paper) and it's not as bad as you might think.

You can also make up a solution of slighty soapy water in a spray bottle and apply sparingly to the acrylic beforehand. This will allow you to reposition/peel up the vinyl should you have a problem during application. Some people also use a credit card to smooth things out rather than fingers! Hope that helps.


Did you have the masking on the front of the artwork? The bezel I have doesn't have masking on it, but I COULD get some if need be.
***Build what you dig, bro. Build what you dig.***