Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: New Arcade Controller Interface board  (Read 3582 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

atarimuseum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:August 16, 2010, 11:55:30 am
New Arcade Controller Interface board
« on: July 31, 2010, 11:36:51 pm »
Hi,

  Someone suggested I post over here and get a little feedback, I have a new controller I'm going to release in two weeks, but I'd like to just finalize a few things and get some feedback from anyone who's used various interface boards and such...

This is the Arcades32 interface:

2 player joystick inputs (4 way controllers on each side, mapped as an HID game controller)
6 standard buttons per player + plus 1 extra (also mapped as an HID game controller buttons)

Player 1 and Player 2 start buttons (mapped as HID keyboard keys 1 and 2)
Coin credit on each player (mapped as HID keyboard key 5)

2 Grounds on each player side
1 5vdc+ on each player side (for light up joysticks and other accessories)

Trackball -or- 2 spinner controls (mapped as a HID mouse device X/Y)


2 versions:

Basic with solder points ($32.99)
Deluxe with screw terminals ($39.99)

Now on the 7th buttons on each player side, let me ask everyone this:

1. would you prefer they be kept as game controller buttons like the other 6?

-or-

2. Have them mapped an HID keyboard keys like (ESC) one player 1 side and perhaps (TAB) on Player 2 side?

I'd like to hear everyone input before I finalize the firmware on them.


I expect to start selling these Mid-August.


Thanks,
Curt


Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10059
  • Last login:Today at 11:38:29 am
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2010, 11:58:22 pm »
Need more inputs.

Blanka

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2248
  • Last login:January 25, 2018, 03:19:28 pm
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2010, 03:10:37 am »
I would add the spinner as second mouse X channel. That way you can handle most analog controls with one pad.
Does it have mouse buttons?
Can you remap buttons?
Does it have shift?

I would either make it a budget solution under 25 $ (it looks as complicated as an Arduino, and they sell under 25$ pre soldered), or make it a serious alternative to the MiniPac Opti (still with a lower price as you are new on the market).

Blanka

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2248
  • Last login:January 25, 2018, 03:19:28 pm
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2010, 03:14:20 am »
Oh, and do the Ryan-Air trick with shipping if 25$ is too low. Maybe you can send it in a bubble evelope through the world for 2-3$, yet you charge 10$ worldwide shipping.
With Ryan-Air you pay 10$ for creditcard use, per person, so 5 tickets in one buy is 50$ credit-card fee  :cheers:

atarimuseum

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
  • Last login:August 16, 2010, 11:55:30 am
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2010, 07:10:55 pm »
Great info and feedback, thanks --- let me go back and have a look at adding more features.    I was looking last night and yes I could implement a function shift and give the inputs all additional functionality....

I think I could redo the inputs into a matrix and expand the inputs for 4 players/6 buttons per player.   I don't think I would be able to add a spinner AND trackball side by side in this design....


Thanks everyone!


Curt


DaOld Man

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4855
  • Last login:Yesterday at 10:47:47 pm
  • Wheres my coffee?
    • Skenny's Outpost
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2010, 11:41:53 am »
Also, maybe I missed something here, but coin credit for player 2 is keyboard number 6, for mame default anyway. Player 1 credit is number 5.

Turnarcades

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1973
  • Last login:May 13, 2017, 08:14:29 am
  • Craig @ Turnarcades
    • Turnarcades
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2010, 03:30:29 pm »
Still can't quite gather if this is programmable or not. Sterling work on asking the community for input, but if it's not programmable then I think it would need to be significantly cheaper than established and feature-loaded encoders like the I-PAC family and GP-WIZ to warrant a purchase, particularly given the support offered with these existing products.

Rick

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2786
  • Last login:August 03, 2019, 10:22:37 am
  • Bartop, Cocktail and Pinball Arcade Cabinets
    • Gameroom Designs Canada
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2010, 03:37:54 pm »
Still can't quite gather if this is programmable or not. Sterling work on asking the community for input, but if it's not programmable then I think it would need to be significantly cheaper than established and feature-loaded encoders like the I-PAC family and GP-WIZ to warrant a purchase, particularly given the support offered with these existing products.

I completely agree with this statement, while personally providing nothing new of value, myself.

Ok, so here's my thing.  (I lied - here's something of value.)  If it's comparable to a IPAC/GPWiz/Keywiz that's great.  It's certainly in the ballpark.  What I note is that, for the 'deluxe' model with what looks like a bit less configurability (is it configurable via software - if so, we need to know) than a KeyWiz/GPWiz, yet costs a dollar more.

Your thoughts?

KuddlKat

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • Last login:June 17, 2016, 02:19:37 pm
  • Where has the time gone?
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2010, 05:40:34 pm »
I'm still a newbie here working on my first controller... but I'd think that 6 buttons per player is fine, 1P/2P start and use the other two for coin, pause, escape... if those are options.

The controller I bought has double row headers and came with wire and connectors (although I doubt everything will reach when I'm done making the box), so using headers and including header connectors might be an option too.

Unrelated to the actual question... I wanted to ask if the board has mounting holes?  Sorry, I'm in QC/Assembly...

Marsupial

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 345
  • Last login:May 02, 2014, 11:40:04 am
  • I am teh Mars!
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2010, 01:43:18 am »
mid-august came and went... what happenned?
-Mars

shateredsoul

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1412
  • Last login:January 25, 2013, 08:23:51 pm
Re: New Arcade Controller Interface board
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2010, 03:15:51 am »
I think he realized he has more work to do =)