Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx  (Read 5619 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Usul

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx
« on: January 04, 2010, 04:39:49 pm »
Hi folks,

I have recently acquired a Megatouch Maxx (1998) in working condition. I want to convert it into a jukebox (while keeping the original games), but can't get the touchscreen work under Windows XP.
The Megatouch has a m3 microtouch controller (serial port). So I have downloaded and installed the appropriate drivers, trying all available versions. I keep getting the error message that "the touchscreen cannot be found on Com 1". The same happens on my 2nd pc.

I have no idea what to do about that and highly appreciate your advice.

Option B: I also have an ELO 15' Touchscreen TFT LCD that I could use to replace the original monitor....

Thanks a lot!


Tinydane

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
Re: Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2010, 06:30:57 pm »
Couple things come to mind.  Ensure the touchscreen is powered up before you plug in the serial cable.

Check your computer BIOS and make sure that COM1 is enabled.

Also check the device manager in XP and see if it shows com1 as recognized.

It sounds overall like a driver version issue though even though you said you installed the drivers.  Double check you have the latest XP specific drivers.

Just some things to try.

HanoiBoi

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 649
Re: Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 06:36:54 pm »
I kinda like Option B, but I'd have a hard time reaching the top of a 15 foot monitor.  ;)

(Sorry, as a Spinal Tap fan I couldn't resist)

On a serious note, I'd keep trying drivers.  You might think you've got the right one installed, but the fact that you've installed 'all available versions' of the 'appropriate drivers' kinda sounds like you aren't sure of the one correct driver (as is usually the case for all of us).

Kevin Mullins

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4504
    • Me on Myspace
Re: Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2010, 01:14:24 am »
Which specific drivers are you using ?

This set seems to work for most 3M touchscreens I have worked with -
http://www.touchscreens.com/drivers/microtouch/mt7.12.sr1.zip
And I test touchscreens with XP.

Ditto on the make sure your COM ports are enabled and that the serial port on your PC is recognized as COM1.
Not a technician . . . . just a DIY'er.

Usul

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
Re: Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2010, 09:53:52 am »
Thanks guys for helping out!
Special thanks to Kevin, because of him confirming I am using the correct driver I focused on other parameters and discovered that the power supply cable of the controller was loose :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

Now everything is working perfectly. Once again thank you!!

nipsmg

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1298
  • ROONEY!! ERRGH!!
    • Arcadia
Re: Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2010, 01:05:06 pm »
I'm confused as to how you plan on keeping the original games too?  Are you setting up some kind of switching/kvm mechanism for this?

Usul

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
Re: Touchscreen problem Megatouch Maxx
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2010, 07:08:41 pm »
I'm confused as to how you plan on keeping the original games too?  Are you setting up some kind of switching/kvm mechanism for this?

good question. Havn't really figured that out yet. Any suggestions/experiences?

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31