Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?  (Read 1054 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

GaryMcT

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 745
  • Last login:September 24, 2014, 11:19:27 am
    • GaryMcT's arcade blog
How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« on: June 19, 2009, 10:06:31 pm »
I'm contemplating buying a Pacman machine for vertical Mame and a Defender machine for horizontal Mame.  I can get replacement control panels here for both:

http://www.arcadeshop.com/cabinets/cabinets.htm

Have any of you built multiple control schemes this way and made it easily swappable via a connector?  How did it turn out if so?

Thanks!
My blog on learning how to develop FPGA versions of arcade boards: http://garymct.blogspot.com


daywane

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2345
  • Last login:Today at 12:13:49 am
  • GRRRR!
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2009, 07:33:36 pm »
only thing like that I did was Pac Man , Ms Pac, Super Pac CP swapable

Turnarcades

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1973
  • Last login:May 13, 2017, 08:14:29 am
  • Craig @ Turnarcades
    • Turnarcades
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2009, 09:02:09 pm »
If making a modular or swappable panel, just using interfaces that have a USB connection should be sufficient as you just unplug the cable from the interface mounted on the panel and plug it into the interface on the swapped panel.

CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7772
  • Last login:September 11, 2017, 07:34:34 am
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2009, 09:00:40 am »
I'm contemplating buying a Pacman machine for vertical Mame and a Defender machine for horizontal Mame.  I can get replacement control panels here for both:

http://www.arcadeshop.com/cabinets/cabinets.htm

I didn't know that Steve stocks Defender panels (and even after checking don't see any).
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

daywane

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2345
  • Last login:Today at 12:13:49 am
  • GRRRR!
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #4 on: June 21, 2009, 02:50:02 pm »
I have the GPWiz wired to a 25 pin femal port.
CPs are wired to 25 pin male port.
Radio Shack

GaryMcT

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 745
  • Last login:September 24, 2014, 11:19:27 am
    • GaryMcT's arcade blog
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #5 on: June 21, 2009, 03:53:51 pm »
I'm contemplating buying a Pacman machine for vertical Mame and a Defender machine for horizontal Mame.  I can get replacement control panels here for both:

http://www.arcadeshop.com/cabinets/cabinets.htm

I didn't know that Steve stocks Defender panels (and even after checking don't see any).

you are right.  Doesn't look like he has defender layout control panels, but he does sell early Williams-style machines. If he sells tha control panels separately, especially blanks, that would work for me
My blog on learning how to develop FPGA versions of arcade boards: http://garymct.blogspot.com


CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7772
  • Last login:September 11, 2017, 07:34:34 am
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #6 on: June 21, 2009, 04:27:59 pm »
I'm contemplating buying a Pacman machine for vertical Mame and a Defender machine for horizontal Mame.  I can get replacement control panels here for both:

http://www.arcadeshop.com/cabinets/cabinets.htm
I didn't know that Steve stocks Defender panels (and even after checking don't see any).
you are right.  Doesn't look like he has defender layout control panels, but he does sell early Williams-style machines. If he sells tha control panels separately, especially blanks, that would work for me

While I don't have a Defender in the house now, I'm pretty sure that the panels from Joust/Robotron/Stargate won't fit a Defender cab ... which is why he sells overlays in two sizes -- one for Joust/Robotron and one for Defender.

 :cheers:
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

GaryMcT

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 745
  • Last login:September 24, 2014, 11:19:27 am
    • GaryMcT's arcade blog
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #7 on: June 21, 2009, 10:25:38 pm »
I'm contemplating buying a Pacman machine for vertical Mame and a Defender machine for horizontal Mame.  I can get replacement control panels here for both:

http://www.arcadeshop.com/cabinets/cabinets.htm
I didn't know that Steve stocks Defender panels (and even after checking don't see any).
you are right.  Doesn't look like he has defender layout control panels, but he does sell early Williams-style machines. If he sells tha control panels separately, especially blanks, that would work for me

While I don't have a Defender in the house now, I'm pretty sure that the panels from Joust/Robotron/Stargate won't fit a Defender cab ... which is why he sells overlays in two sizes -- one for Joust/Robotron and one for Defender.

 :cheers:

Doh!  I emailed him to be sure.

Worst case, I have to make them myself I 'spose. 
My blog on learning how to develop FPGA versions of arcade boards: http://garymct.blogspot.com


GaryMcT

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 745
  • Last login:September 24, 2014, 11:19:27 am
    • GaryMcT's arcade blog
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2009, 03:35:11 pm »
I'm contemplating buying a Pacman machine for vertical Mame and a Defender machine for horizontal Mame.  I can get replacement control panels here for both:

http://www.arcadeshop.com/cabinets/cabinets.htm
I didn't know that Steve stocks Defender panels (and even after checking don't see any).
you are right.  Doesn't look like he has defender layout control panels, but he does sell early Williams-style machines. If he sells tha control panels separately, especially blanks, that would work for me

While I don't have a Defender in the house now, I'm pretty sure that the panels from Joust/Robotron/Stargate won't fit a Defender cab ... which is why he sells overlays in two sizes -- one for Joust/Robotron and one for Defender.

 :cheers:

You are absolutely correct! :)

Thanks for the info.  Turns out that making a Defender control panel is far easier than I had imagined. :)
My blog on learning how to develop FPGA versions of arcade boards: http://garymct.blogspot.com


mytymaus007

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1022
  • Last login:November 08, 2017, 08:10:47 am
  • http://gameroom.atozmicro.com
    • http://gameroom.atozmicro.com
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2009, 07:22:49 am »
whats the latest on your control panel journey would like to see if you built anything yet

TOK

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3604
  • Last login:May 22, 2018, 07:42:41 am
  • The Game Always Wins
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2009, 07:34:31 am »
If making a modular or swappable panel, just using interfaces that have a USB connection should be sufficient as you just unplug the cable from the interface mounted on the panel and plug it into the interface on the swapped panel.

You mean having a separate keyboard encoder for each panel? That'd get spendy.
I think it would be better to have the encoder stay with the cabinet and have all inputs wired to a connector that connects it to the panel. I think people have used printer cables for this in the past.

I considered swappable panels when I did my first machine, but then decided I would rather have multiple games... I ended up with a horizontal a vertical and one with a dedicated Stargate layout that will also work for Defender and a bunch of other 1 or 2 button games.

bkenobi

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1666
  • Last login:October 18, 2017, 12:08:50 pm
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #11 on: October 23, 2009, 04:47:42 pm »
You mean having a separate keyboard encoder for each panel? That'd get spendy.
I think it would be better to have the encoder stay with the cabinet and have all inputs wired to a connector that connects it to the panel. I think people have used printer cables for this in the past.

I considered swappable panels when I did my first machine, but then decided I would rather have multiple games... I ended up with a horizontal a vertical and one with a dedicated Stargate layout that will also work for Defender and a bunch of other 1 or 2 button games.

So instead of spending an extra $20-40 on an extra encoder, you chose to spend a few hundred on more cabinets (including extra encoders)?  My wife would have seen right through that logic!   :laugh2:

GaryMcT

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 745
  • Last login:September 24, 2014, 11:19:27 am
    • GaryMcT's arcade blog
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #12 on: October 23, 2009, 04:53:20 pm »
whats the latest on your control panel journey would like to see if you built anything yet

It's still in the prototyping phase.  I keep building new versions and moving stuff around.  I think I'm pretty close though now so that I can start thinking about getting some art on there and building a final one.  I'll try to remember to put a picture up soon of where it's at.
My blog on learning how to develop FPGA versions of arcade boards: http://garymct.blogspot.com


CheffoJeffo

  • Cheffo's right! ---saint
  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7772
  • Last login:September 11, 2017, 07:34:34 am
  • Worthless button pusher!
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #13 on: October 23, 2009, 04:55:43 pm »
My wife would have seen right through that logic!   :laugh2:

So apparently you aren't the Jedi that you would have us believe that you are ...

 ;)
Working: Not Enough
Projects: Too Many
Progress: None

TOK

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3604
  • Last login:May 22, 2018, 07:42:41 am
  • The Game Always Wins
Re: How easily swappable are Pacman/Defender control panels?
« Reply #14 on: October 23, 2009, 07:23:01 pm »
You mean having a separate keyboard encoder for each panel? That'd get spendy.
I think it would be better to have the encoder stay with the cabinet and have all inputs wired to a connector that connects it to the panel. I think people have used printer cables for this in the past.

I considered swappable panels when I did my first machine, but then decided I would rather have multiple games... I ended up with a horizontal a vertical and one with a dedicated Stargate layout that will also work for Defender and a bunch of other 1 or 2 button games.

So instead of spending an extra $20-40 on an extra encoder, you chose to spend a few hundred on more cabinets (including extra encoders)?  My wife would have seen right through that logic!   :laugh2:

I used to bring motorcycles in the house. She considers this great.
Ya gotta break 'em in right.  ;)