Main Woodworking Reviews Software Monitor/Video Maximus Arcade
Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Project Announcements Artwork Consoles Buy/Sell/Trade Meet Up
Arcade Miscellaneous Everything Else Politics n Religion Forum Discussion Wiki Discussion GroovyMAME
DOS/WinCab Merit/JVL Touchscreen Automated Projects Driving & Racing Project Arcade Old Boards
Linux Restorations Pinball MaLa Frontend controls.dat Old Archives

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Arcade | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS


  

Author Topic: I need a new power supply  (Read 949 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

thehammer12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
  • Arcade Breaking Specialist
I need a new power supply
« on: October 03, 2009, 02:42:39 pm »
Power supply keeps going in an out, I have a tekbuilt model 30820. Does anyone know where I can find it or something similar to it that I can use.

Kevin Mullins

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4477
    • Me on Myspace
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2009, 06:25:26 pm »
You should be able to use any branded "Peter Chou" style arcade power supply with a 15 amp rating on the +5v.

What is this in ?
Not a technician . . . . just a DIY'er.

Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6391
  • Technician
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2009, 09:49:59 pm »
You can repair the Tekbilt. Both the models 30820 (12 amp) and the 30920 (15 amp) have a couple of resistors that go bad causing intermittent operation.

Check/replace resistors R4 and R8. They are both 270k @ 1/2 watt in value.
« Last Edit: October 03, 2009, 09:51:56 pm by Ken Layton »

thehammer12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
  • Arcade Breaking Specialist
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2009, 09:07:58 pm »
Its in a 99 Golden tee,  Do I have to open up the box to see the resistors??

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+22)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12945
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2009, 09:31:09 pm »
No Clark, just use your x-ray vision, of course!  :D

Yes, you'll have to open it.

thehammer12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
  • Arcade Breaking Specialist
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #5 on: October 04, 2009, 10:14:43 pm »
Thanks for making me feel super stupid hahahah

Kevin Mullins

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4477
    • Me on Myspace
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #6 on: October 04, 2009, 10:38:31 pm »
Aw c'mon.... that was more of a common sense ribbing.  ;)

poke, poke  :lol
Not a technician . . . . just a DIY'er.

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+22)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12945
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #7 on: October 05, 2009, 06:54:42 am »
Yeah, that was just some gentle ribbing.  :) Crack it open and see what you've got.

thehammer12

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 240
  • Arcade Breaking Specialist
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #8 on: October 07, 2009, 02:43:56 pm »
Ok guys lets assume I cant repair, is there a specific model or power supply I can get that will be "plug and play" lol.

SirPeale

  • Green Mountain Man
  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+22)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12945
  • Arcade Repair in New England
    • Arcade Game and Other Coin-Op Projects
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #9 on: October 07, 2009, 02:53:05 pm »
Let's see a picture of the front.  I did a Google and came up with almost nothing.

You probably need just a regular Peter Chou style power supply.

Level42

  • Wiki Contributor
  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5963
  • A Suzo stick is a joy forever...
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2009, 05:36:35 pm »
I'm going nuts over those Peter Chou PSU's. What's so  special about these things that they ALWAYS get mentioned on all the arcadeforums. Is is just that all people were taught by the "arcade school" to use them ?

Peter Chou sounds like a name that the Chinese/Taiwanese use. Often their surname is the real surname but they assume a western (English) sounding first name because their real first name is too hard to pronounce for us Westerners. (I know this because I worked for a Taiwanese company for a year.My boss there (a woman) was named something like Shua-wan so she used Sharon as her Western name.)

I see nothing special about these Peter Chou PSU's when I compare them to other modern switching power supplies.



Ken Layton

  • Guru
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6391
  • Technician
Re: I need a new power supply
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2009, 06:07:32 pm »
Mr. Peter Chou started his company "U-San Electron Co. Ltd" manufacturing an enclosed screw terminal switching regulator power supply in Taiwan about 25 years ago.

The power supplies his company makes are inexpensive to purchase, reliable, and if broken are easy & cheap to repair. I use them exclusively.

They are officially distributed in the USA by Betson.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28