Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Please, please help me!! I don't know how to do this?!  (Read 490 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

zzaz3

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 124
  • Last login:May 12, 2012, 02:46:49 am
Please, please help me!! I don't know how to do this?!
« on: August 16, 2009, 11:37:28 pm »
I just made a VGA breakout cable and now I have no idea how to output onto the arcade monitor.  I've tried soft-15khz, but I can't tell if it's actually working or not?  All I see when I connect it into the monitor is a wave-y green screen.

In fact, I'm not ever sure if my monitor is 15khz.  It's a Sanyo 20-EZV from a Nintendo cabinet.  I've already set it up to run without inverting the colors.  I just need to configure my computer to output everything to that monitor.

I don't have arcadeVGA and I'm probably not going to buy it anytime soon.  I've read that it's possible without it.  But I'm not sure.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!  Thank you!

« Last Edit: August 16, 2009, 11:42:41 pm by zzaz3 »

Ginsu Victim

  • Yeah, owning a MAME cab only leads to owning real ones. MAME just isn't good enough. It's a gateway drug.
  • Trade Count: (+10)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 10059
  • Last login:Today at 09:02:22 am
  • Comanche, OK -- USA
Re: Please, please help me!! I don't know how to do this?!
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2009, 09:55:51 am »
In fact, I'm not ever sure if my monitor is 15khz.  It's a Sanyo 20-EZV from a Nintendo cabinet. 

It is 15KHz

discgolfer72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Last login:October 12, 2015, 10:27:10 am
Re: Please, please help me!! I don't know how to do this?!
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2009, 06:52:19 pm »
you need to set your resoultion to under 640x480 and  at the lowest refresh rate possible
then adjust the sync on the monitor using the pots on the chassis board
here is a pic of the ez 20 controll sheet




ps where are you located id trade you a nice wg monitor for that ez as i need one bad for my dk im restoreing  id hate to see a good ez used in mame when wg monitors are a dine a dozzen

zzaz3

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 124
  • Last login:May 12, 2012, 02:46:49 am
Re: Please, please help me!! I don't know how to do this?!
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2009, 07:51:16 pm »
I'm in Georgia, near Atlanta. 

I guess I'd be willing to trade.  What size is your monitor and how old is it?

discgolfer72

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
  • Last login:October 12, 2015, 10:27:10 am
Re: Please, please help me!! I don't know how to do this?!
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2009, 08:12:08 pm »
damn way to far to make a trade lol im in ks

i have a 19 inch ey-ego and a wg 19 inch dont rember the model but it has the remote adj board so its made after 1995



let me know if you need any more help getting that ez to sync up

zzaz3

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 124
  • Last login:May 12, 2012, 02:46:49 am
Re: Please, please help me!! I don't know how to do this?!
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2009, 08:21:57 pm »
actually, the computer I was using for this cab wont boot now for some reason.  Just my luck.  I thought I was so close...  Guess I'll just have to wait a little bit longer to set it up. 

Thanks for the help though!  Should come in handy by the time I get this sucker fixed.