Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?  (Read 22137 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4703
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« on: July 17, 2009, 04:04:55 pm »
Hi,

I'm completely new to Linux, but I thought it would be the best option to recycle an old PII 450mhz machine into a vertical arcade cabinet.

My question is:

Is Ubuntu Linux the only version that MAME supports?  I kind of like Puppy Linux so far, but I'd like to run the following:  MAME, Wahcade.  Most things I've read refer to Ubuntu.  Does anything work with Puppy Linux or is Linux simply Linux?

I'm a vet when it comes to Windows XP but this is the first time I'm delving into Linux.  So go easy on me.  :)

Thanks in advance and take care.

~ DeLuSioNaL
« Last Edit: July 17, 2009, 09:11:07 pm by DeLuSioNal29 »
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

Pinball Wizard

  • Trade Count: (+5)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 04:48:45 pm »
All linux programs will run on any distribution as long as it is the same processor type, which in your case, it is. IIRC you just need a .rpm for Puppy linux to be able to do what you want. I know that Wah!Cade offers a .rpm package so all you need is to find an SDLMame package that qualifies.
Where's my gold star :P

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4703
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2009, 11:20:25 pm »
So I managed to find SDLMAME 0.119.  (I am using MAME .119 on my Windows XP machine so I wanted to remain consistent).

I THINK I found an already compiled version.  Not too sure though.  Can someone confirm this?  I found it here:  http://rbelmont.mameworld.info/sdlmame0119.zip

Again, never used Linux, so I'm learning.  Is there anything special I must do to get it to run properly in Pupply Linux?  Do I simply copy it over to the hard drive and run it?  What executable do I run?

Thanks in advance!

~ DeLuSioNaL
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

tikbalang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
    • MAME BootCD's for DOS
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2009, 10:26:33 am »
there are exisiting mame livecd's for linux. you might want to try them first.

AdvanceCD v2.6.3
http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thread_id=1672273&forum_id=313513

AdvanceCD v2.6.2
http://advancemame.sourceforge.net/

Lincade v0.04
http://www.pc2jamma.org/

Piapara
http://sourceforge.net/projects/piapara/


bloodyviking77

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2009, 07:16:15 am »
I THINK I found an already compiled version.  Not too sure though.  Can someone confirm this?  I found it here:  http://rbelmont.mameworld.info/sdlmame0119.zip

Nope, that's the source. rbelmont is the sdlmame maintainer and the packages available at his site are sourcecode only, meaning you'll need to compile ... It's not difficult and there's some tutorials on the forums (linked from the main sdlmame page) but it might be easier for you to track down a binary.

Never used Puppy Linux so don't know whether there are binaries readily available. I think there are semi-official packages available for ubuntu,  which no doubt Google will find for you. If you do want to try ubuntu, you'll probably actually be better off with "xubuntu" - this runs a less resource-intensive window manager and environment than the standard ubuntu. (There are other alternatives, too!)

I agree with tikbalang that a liveCD is probably a good idea to start with in any event.

Good luck!
Shut up! Bloody Vikings!!

dirkomatic

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 117
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2009, 07:20:03 am »
The .deb files and repositories for sdlmame can be found at http://sdlmame.wallyweek.org

tikbalang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
    • MAME BootCD's for DOS
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2009, 01:51:20 am »
puppy arcade:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=737109340&t=46639

Code: [Select]
Packages: What's in? What's out?

Packages Added:

DosBox - dos in linux - play classic dos games 
FakeNES - famicom/nes emulator, loads of options
FirePup - fastest FireFox around
Gens - best genesis/megadrive emulator
GXMAME - called 'arcade' on the desktop, emulates LOTS of arcade systems
MG - called 'sega' on the desktop. A MasterSystem/GameGear emulator (no frontend).
Mupen64Plus - N64 emulator (requires OpenGL)
pSX - excellent playstation emulator (requires OpenGL)
QEmu - boot any bootable ISOs within puppy linux
SNES9x - great snes emulator with netplay
VBA - called 'gba' on the desktop. A gameboy emulator (no frontend).
..plus all required libs (SDL, allegro, libcups.so.2, libGLU.so.1 etc)

Packages Removed:

Extra gtk, icewm and jwm themes
PERL and ndiswrapper,
PPPoE + Roaring Penguin
PSIP
Samba + pnethood
sane + xsane,
Seamonkey Suite,
..plus any extraneous apps with smaller alternatives (netsetup_retro, pbackup, etc)

Most emulators run without OpenGL, except Mupen64Plus and pSX, which DO require OpenGL.
NOTE: ePSXe doesn't need OpenGL in 'software' mode, and can be installed and used instead of pSX.



tikbalang

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 234
    • MAME BootCD's for DOS
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2010, 11:32:39 am »

DeLuSioNal29

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+6)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4703
  • Build the impossible -"There is no Spoon"
    • DeLuSioNaL's YouTube Videos
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2010, 06:50:45 pm »
Funny, I just went to update this topic and didn't realize someone already beat me to it.  :)

However, there has been an update:

Puppy Arcade 7
http://scottjarvis.com/page105.htm

DeLuSioNaL29
Stop by my Youtube channel and leave a comment:

ArcadeKO

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 18
    • Custom Home Arcade Atlanta
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2010, 04:17:17 pm »
puppy arcade is awesome - i couldn't find a good linux front-end though :(
- Wes
Arcadeko: Home Arcade

nordemoniac

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 282
  • Weee! Hahaha...
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2012, 09:21:12 am »
Anyone tried Puppy Arcade + Wah!Cade?

That would be AWESOME!

As Puppy Linux only saves on shutdown, or by manually saving, you can safely install it directly to a USB-stick. No need for a harddrive. You can normally write 20-50.000 times to a USB-stick. Meaning that f.ex. Windows XP would ruin it in a couple of months.

I have an older mini-ITX (Atom N330) which is crap really, but I would like to run Wah!Cade on a USB stick with that MB. Wouldn't require a big PSU etc. Also heat is a much smaller issue.

I'm going to build a small Bubble Bobble cabinet, and puppy + Wah!Cade would be perfect!

johncl

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 60
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #11 on: September 26, 2012, 04:45:29 am »
Just a quick question, the latest Puppy Arcade 10 works fine on my Via computer but its a bit slow (50% on DK). Assuming its using a rather new version of Mame which I know require a bit more power from the computer than previously. How would one go about getting an older mame installed on the puppy? I have little linux knowledge but can I install any .deb images on the puppy distribution, or do I have to find binaries specifically compiled for puppy?

bellasmith

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
    • hollister uk
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #12 on: January 29, 2013, 03:15:20 am »
so lovely puppy

imzadi3015

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #13 on: December 12, 2014, 11:19:57 pm »
The only luck I had with Puppy, was using Puppy Package Manager to install Wah!Cade. After some frustration, I was able to play a couple of my games, but not in the illusion of an arcade.
With Puppy Arcade, I could never get my mame roms to play.

Illusion of an arcade - I turn my machine on, after it boots, there is a screen filled with games to choose from. I use my joystick to choose the game, pressing 1 PLAYER to start game. This way, I don't have to grab a keyboard  and mouse, load up the program and then start running the game.

as on another post, the best Operating System I have had success with is Lubuntu, running AdvanceMame, AdvanceMenu and AdvanceMess. For some reason, all 3 need to be installed, and the autostart is set to run ADVMENU as my frontend.

General_Faliure

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 84
    • My Arcade Cab
Re: Is Puppy Linux suitable for MAME?
« Reply #14 on: December 14, 2014, 08:27:27 am »
That's what i have with Lubuntu and Mahcade.
The original Wahcade is outdated, check this page for Mahcade: http://www.mameau.com/mahcade/
It takes some effort setting up, my cab autostarts into Mahcade which can be controlled by joystick and buttons.
It's running great for four years now.
My Arcade cab: https://goo.gl/photos/yE1KACHryQjCaaCj7
Core2 duo8400 @3.6 Ghz, 4Gb of mem, Geforce 9500.
Linux Mint 17.3 XFCE, Mame, Mess, Daphne FS-Uae, Mednafen and some more.
Mah!cade

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31