Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: DB25 cable wires too thin?  (Read 1486 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Dan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Last login:February 09, 2010, 11:52:34 pm
  • I want to Build My Own Arcade Controls!!
DB25 cable wires too thin?
« on: March 04, 2002, 08:13:47 pm »
I got a DB25 male-to-female extension cable and cut it in half.  I started stripping the wires for connecting to the I-PAC and have noticed that the wires are really thin.  Are there different kinds of DB25 cable wires?  They look stranded and definitely don't look copper.  I plan on using the .187" female QD's.  Will I run into a problem with these wires?

Thanks,
Dan
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Jonathan_the_Red

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 39
  • Last login:Never
  • Cab-buildin' fool
    • Jonathan's Cab-in-progress
Re: DB25 cable wires too thin?
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2002, 10:03:46 pm »
Yup, you definitely will run into trouble crimping those into quick connects. Don't. Screw them into terminal blocks, and have wider-gauge wire running from the blocks to the quick connects.

Even if you decide to go with a terminal block, depending on the type of terminal block you go with the wires might still be too thin. Solution: strip about four times what you need, then fold the wire back on itself twice. No problemo.

They'll work just fine as conductors for your switches, thin or not.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

ddebuss

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
  • Last login:January 20, 2015, 07:48:10 am
  • Stuck in the 80's
Re: DB25 cable wires too thin?
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2002, 05:00:52 am »
I found the same thing.

The wires from a DB15 are thicker.  This gives you 16 contacts.  15 + ground.

The wires from a DB9 serial are a lot thicker.  This gives you 10 contacts - 9 + 1 ground.

I ended up using 2 of these.  1 for each player.  This way I could also create a separate control panel for player 2 if I wanted.  Just use a much longer cable.  They are very cheap so I thought I would splurge the extra $1.59 for the second cable.

Depending on the number of contacts you need, you could use 2 - monitor extension cables ($2.02 each at cyberguys) or 2 serial cables ($1.59 each at cyberguys) .
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »

Dan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 53
  • Last login:February 09, 2010, 11:52:34 pm
  • I want to Build My Own Arcade Controls!!
Re: DB25 cable wires too thin?
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2002, 01:50:37 pm »
Thanks for the info.  I was thinking about using Molex connectors and use my own wire.  Is this too much of a headache?  I'm trying to plan ahead and don't think I'll need anymore than 24 connections in a panel (I have an ArcadePC and the panel is only 21.5" x 9.5").  The Molex connectors look pretty sturdy for continuous plugging/unplugging.  Plus, I may even be able to mount them so they'll plug in when the panel is put into place.  Am I dreaming? :)

Dan

Quote
I found the same thing.

The wires from a DB15 are thicker.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 07:00:00 pm by 1026619200 »