Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: WinCab Exit Questions  (Read 2484 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4949
  • Last login:April 18, 2019, 07:02:02 pm
    • Idaho Garagecade
WinCab Exit Questions
« on: August 11, 2008, 12:08:06 pm »
Hello,

I currently run WinCab in my cocktail along with MALA and MAME.  Currently the system loads to MALA and I load WinCab from MALA.  I find that I use the cocktail cab 90% of the time as a juke and I'd like to be able to load directly in to WinCab...which isn't a problem (of course) until exiting.  I'd like to be able to either: (A) Exit to a menu allowing me to select to exit and shut down or exit to Mala... or (B) Exit and shut down as normal,  but enable some way to load MALA from WinCab...

...is this functionality built-in in any way?
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 4-05-19)

Kevin Mullins

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4504
  • Last login:November 11, 2018, 03:00:41 pm
    • Me on Myspace
Re: WinCab Exit Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 05:13:59 pm »
When MALA loads.... will it automatically load WinCab ?

WinCab has two methods of shutdown that I know of.

1. Shut down WinCab and it just returns to your desktop or DOS or whatever happens to running in the background.

2. Shuts down WinCab  AND  the PC.
Not a technician . . . . just a DIY'er.

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4949
  • Last login:April 18, 2019, 07:02:02 pm
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: WinCab Exit Questions
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2008, 05:46:49 pm »
When MALA loads.... will it automatically load WinCab ?

WinCab has two methods of shutdown that I know of.

1. Shut down WinCab and it just returns to your desktop or DOS or whatever happens to running in the background.

2. Shuts down WinCab  AND  the PC.

Maybe I should check to see if that's an option...
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 4-05-19)

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4572
  • Last login:December 22, 2014, 10:29:47 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: WinCab Exit Questions
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 11:20:32 am »
Kevin is correct; there is a failsafe in that shutdowns have to be enabled as well, so if shutdowns are not enabled both exit methods behave the same way.
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

FrizzleFried

  • no one listens to me anyway.
  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4949
  • Last login:April 18, 2019, 07:02:02 pm
    • Idaho Garagecade
Re: WinCab Exit Questions
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 03:05:32 pm »
Is there a way to enable a hotkey to load MALA from WinCab?
Visit my arcade blog at: www.idahogaragecade.com (Updated 4-05-19)

Chris

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4572
  • Last login:December 22, 2014, 10:29:47 pm
    • Chris's MAME Cabinet
Re: WinCab Exit Questions
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2008, 03:15:23 pm »
No, there are no functions in WinCab to load other software.  However, you could theoretically have a batch file that launches WinCab and MaLa sequentially, and then have keys for both shutdown functions in WinCab. 
--Chris
DOSCab/WinCab Jukebox: http://www.dwjukebox.com

Space Fractal

  • Wiki Master
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1887
  • Last login:April 10, 2013, 05:07:30 pm
  • Space Fractal
    • Space Fractal
Re: WinCab Exit Questions
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2008, 03:57:44 am »
If you plans to support JPS plugins in your app, I could easy to create a JPS plugin to launch any software.

Elsewice a batch file would been best way too.
Currectly in work: Greedy Mouse || Previous Work: MultiFE Frontend, ArcadeMusicBox Jukebox || Music for various games (Tardis.dk + Greatflash.co.uk).