Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Pentranic 33" question (pics)  (Read 1863 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

.trunzx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2013, 10:28:21 pm
Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« on: August 06, 2008, 05:29:10 pm »
Hey guys, I just bought a showcase cab with a 33 inch Pentranic monitor. I want to hook it up to a computer but I have a few questions.

First the pictures:













As you can see it has a sticker that says switchable cga/ega. Does that mean it works at both 15KHZ and 25KHZ? Is it auto-detecting or is there a switch to choose which you want to use?

My other question is with regards to the monitor input cable. The red, green and blue wires are the RGB wires, black is ground, but what are the white and yellow wires for? V sync H sync? And which is which?

And finally does anyone know if this specific monitor incurs any damage while the pc is booting up, or does it simply not sync?

Thanks for any help.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5808
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:25:07 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2008, 06:10:35 pm »
not auto detect
15khz/25khz is done via the jumper plug you see in the last pic,all you do is de-power the monitor then take the plug from the 15k and put it to 25k.i very much doubt you will ever need 25khz unless you are running loads of sega boards circa 1994-1998

yellow=vertical sync
white=horizontal(composite sync)

i am sure you can find the schem for this at www.pentranic.co.uk

how are you gonna run this via an arcade vga or soft 15khz,just a little word of warning-pentranic do not like to be over frequencied,it normally blows the horizontal output transistor

.trunzx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2013, 10:28:21 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2008, 06:25:38 pm »
not auto detect
15khz/25khz is done via the jumper plug you see in the last pic,all you do is de-power the monitor then take the plug from the 15k and put it to 25k.i very much doubt you will ever need 25khz unless you are running loads of sega boards circa 1994-1998

yellow=vertical sync
white=horizontal(composite sync)

i am sure you can find the schem for this at www.pentranic.co.uk

how are you gonna run this via an arcade vga or soft 15khz,just a little word of warning-pentranic do not like to be over frequencied,it normally blows the horizontal output transistor

I was going to use an ATI 9200 with soft 15khz. Maybe I'll buy an Arcadevga to prevent damage.


grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5808
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:25:07 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2008, 06:44:31 pm »
maybe get some advice from the 15k soft thread before getting an avga,perhaps you can make sure its nice and safe
not my specialised subject i'm afraid so i can't be of more help

.trunzx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2013, 10:28:21 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2008, 07:01:39 pm »
maybe get some advice from the 15k soft thread before getting an avga,perhaps you can make sure its nice and safe
not my specialised subject i'm afraid so i can't be of more help

I'll check it out, maybe I can just leave the monitor off till windows boots or something.

I found the schematic (http://www.alsmarketing.net/schematics.htm) and if I'm reading it right it's R,G,B,Gnd,H/S,V. So white = vertical and yellow = horizontal?

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5808
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:25:07 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2008, 07:08:23 pm »
well strangely enough the pentranic website shows it as you say r,g,b,gnd,hs,vs.
must be correct,just normally yellow is vert and white is hor
this chassis is also know as a switchable 288 as well for future reference

Rickn

  • Trade Count: (+2)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 476
  • Last login:January 08, 2019, 08:32:03 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2008, 07:37:35 pm »
The board is made by Cheng Hong/ Rodotron. If you e-mail me I will send you a service manual that I made when I worked for another company that used this board.

I use ChengHong extensively... in fact I am their representative in North America/

yes for sure 15Khz or 24khz resolution manualy switchable.

Rick@niemandisplays.com
Always happy to help.., for the best in displays
Rick Nieman
Rick@Niemandisplays.com
www.niemandisplays.com
1023 Rife Rd Cambridge, Ontario Canada N1R5S3
519-621-1722

.trunzx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2013, 10:28:21 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2008, 08:26:17 pm »
The board is made by Cheng Hong/ Rodotron. If you e-mail me I will send you a service manual that I made when I worked for another company that used this board.

I use ChengHong extensively... in fact I am their representative in North America/

yes for sure 15Khz or 24khz resolution manualy switchable.

Rick@niemandisplays.com

Sounds great, I sent you an email. I'm guessing its a PDF file?

.trunzx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2013, 10:28:21 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #8 on: August 07, 2008, 01:14:28 pm »
Alright I made the VGA cable and hooked it all up. I used soft15khz and I'm getting a good picture. However I cannot get the vertical sync right, its a fine line between scrolling up or scrolling down, I can't get it perfect. I tried playing with all the pots but no luck. Horizontal sync works great, its either all fuzzy or perfectly clear, only vertical I cannot get right. :( Any ideas?

gokun

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 155
  • Last login:March 26, 2014, 04:57:18 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #9 on: August 07, 2008, 04:48:03 pm »
I've got the identical monitor, and the only time I've seen it do this is when the sync wasn't quite right...maybe check on that...anyhoo, just trying to help...sorry I couldn't offer anything more.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5808
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:25:07 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #10 on: August 07, 2008, 05:31:46 pm »
connect up the vertical sync?

.trunzx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2013, 10:28:21 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #11 on: August 07, 2008, 05:52:30 pm »
I did, pin 14.

I can adjust how fast the screens scrolls but I cant make it to come to a stop.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2008, 06:21:32 pm by .trunzx »

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5808
  • Last login:Yesterday at 04:25:07 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #12 on: August 07, 2008, 06:26:07 pm »
o.k try linking the vertical sync to the horizontal sync

.trunzx

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
  • Last login:February 08, 2013, 10:28:21 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2008, 12:41:43 am »
o.k try linking the vertical sync to the horizontal sync

Thanks, that did the trick.  :D

Now I have to play with the pots to fix the curvature of the screen, its doing this right now  )__(

gokun

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 155
  • Last login:March 26, 2014, 04:57:18 pm
Re: Pentranic 33" question (pics)
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2008, 02:04:41 am »
ah; that would be the ole pincushion...there should be an adjustment knob on your remote board(the one that has the H.Hold,etc.) Hope that helps. :)