Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Lightguns Arcade1Up --- Bug Reports --- Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

  

Author Topic: Anyone using Arcadevga and Ubuntu??????  (Read 3293 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

moloch

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Last login:May 18, 2019, 01:14:53 pm
  • I'm an ill'llama!
Anyone using Arcadevga and Ubuntu??????
« on: May 12, 2008, 01:28:02 am »
I would really love to build a cabinet using a real arcade monitor and for that I would like to use an ArcadeVga, but I can not find a lot of information about people doing this.....

I see a lot of posts on the net about problems but not a lot about what to do.

I have an AGP ArcadeVga on the way here and a cabinet sitting in my basement. I can go ahead and use XP, but I would love to use ubuntu.

I am going to go out there and wing it and see what happens, but if anyone has any experience please share.......

moloch

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Last login:May 18, 2019, 01:14:53 pm
  • I'm an ill'llama!
Re: Anyone using Arcadevga and Ubuntu??????
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 12:42:35 am »
The more I have looked into this it seems that it is just as easy to get a video card to output 15kHz in Linux as use an Arcade VGA. I am just assuming that is what everyone that is using Linux is doing.

ranma

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 80
  • Last login:October 05, 2014, 08:44:01 pm
Re: Anyone using Arcadevga and Ubuntu??????
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2008, 09:29:14 am »
Yep, you're right. I've come to the conclusion that it was easier to do it with any nvidia out there.

It also depends if you want to use Xorg or framebuffer.

But I had countless problems with my arcadevga PCI-E version, not sure if the AGP one works better. (they are different ATI cards, I didn't know that)

moloch

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
  • Last login:May 18, 2019, 01:14:53 pm
  • I'm an ill'llama!
Re: Anyone using Arcadevga and Ubuntu??????
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2008, 10:04:22 am »
I have had nothing but good experience with the ArcadeVGA cards, until recently. But I am hoping to try this out in Ubuntu at the end of this summer. I am getting a box that I will convert to Ubuntu today and hopefully have it set up and running arcade stuff by the end of summer.

I am a little behind on all of my projects right now.....